EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Website Related Info (No Post Increase) > Official EOC Folding @ Home Team

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2007, 09:55 AM   #121
cuog
Render/Folding Farmer
Senior Member
 
cuog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Powhatan VA
Age: 25
Posts: 292
iTrader: 0 / 0%
It is quite possible that it is just you however I did write this using 6.06 which is still very much supported by ubuntu and is probably a good choice since there are plenty of things that are known to work on it.
__________________


s754 Sempron @ 2.45 Ghz, 1.5GB RAM
dell Inspirion 1525 Core 2 Duo T5550 1.83GHz, 3GB RAM
I should probably get back to folding...

Offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:29 PM   #122
THEnumber337
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
I'm currently running SMP + VMware. If you want to use Linux but don't want to set it up as a service. Can you just set it up like you do in VMware with this:

mkdir -p ~/folding/FAH
cd ~/folding/FAH
w
get http://folding.stanford.edu/release/FAH_SMP_Linux.tgz
tar xzf FAH_SMP_Linux.tgz


and run it each time you go into Linux?

Also, one time I accidentally closed the Terminal Window so I couldn't monitor the client anymore but I knew it was still going in the System Monitor. Is there anything I can type in a new Terminal Window that can still monitor the process of the client without having to stop the client somehow and then restart it in a new terminal window?
Offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 11:28 PM   #123
frozndevl
mo' frozn foldin'
Senior Member
 
frozndevl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 36
Posts: 888
iTrader: 1 / 100%
You could always use the 'tail' command on the FAHlog.txt to see its current status.
__________________

DFI LanParty n4 Ultra-D (704-2bta)
Opteron 165 CCBBE 0615 EPMW @ 316x9 idle - 35c load -
52c
2x1gb G.Skill Extreme HZ PC4000 3-4-4-8-1T @ 166=RAM/FSB:5/6 DDR520
EVGA 7600GT KO 580x750 (not OCed yet)
Zalman CNPS9500
LED
Antec NeoHe 550W
TT Armor 8003SWA
Penguin Power!!
Offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 09:37 AM   #124
THEnumber337
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
What's the "tail" command?
Offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 09:54 AM   #125
DSwarP
J.D. Freeman
Senior Member
 
DSwarP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 29
Posts: 5,614
iTrader: 27 / 100%
As far as I can tell, it "watches" a text file you specify for updates. So if you "tail" the FAHlog.txt file, it will show it updating.

tail -s 60 -f foldingathome/CPU1/FAHlog.txt
Offline  
Old 03-14-2007, 10:22 AM   #126
runlinux
MC Number Cruncher
Senior Member
 
runlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 30
Posts: 2,131
iTrader: 15 / 100%
all tail does is display the last few bytes of the file.

EDIT* read the man page and the -s 60 tells the command to check the file every 60 seconds, while sleeping in between checks.
Online  
Old 03-14-2007, 11:31 AM   #127
THEnumber337
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks guys.

Also, would there be any difference between running the SMP in Kubuntu vs. Ubuntu since the only real main difference is KDE vs. Gnome?
Offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 06:35 PM   #128
jaysavesthedayy
never had a Barton
Senior Member
 
jaysavesthedayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rivendell
Age: 32
Posts: 372
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Could anyone shed some light on my install problem.. Im just about to give up.. thanx: http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...93#post2665893
__________________
2.40 GHz e4300 | DS3 | Ballistix | GF2 =] | Folding on Ubuntu 24/7
2.10 GHz AMD Duron | 1.0GB | ATi 9800pro

Offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 06:44 PM   #129
NM_JJ
Need more cowbell
Senior Member
 
NM_JJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tularosa, NM
Age: 53
Posts: 408
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Is it possible to fold without leaving a trace on the computer? I have a work laptop I can bring home at night to fold on. The only problem is that I can't leave a trace I've done so. Can I boot off LiveCD and put my fah on a thumb drive? Can I set it up to boot off the thumb drive? The bios is password protected, however, I can choose to boot off CD or other attached media. Will this leave my hd untouched? Thanks for the help.
__________________


1st build: Gigabyte DS3 rev 3.3 (G)MCH +0.1V; e6600 400x8, 1.45V, 52C folding; Crucial Tracers DDR2 1066 2x1GB 800MHz, 2.1V, 5-5-5-18; Zalman CNPS9500 AT; XCLIO GOODPOWER 500W, Liteon Blu-ray, XFX-8800GTS.
HTPC: P-D 930 based Walmart HP w/XFX 7950GT. Folds 24/7.
Folding for Annoying Competition!
Offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 10:34 PM   #130
MrObvious
I has a Vostro!
Senior Member
 
MrObvious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hutchinson KS
Age: 29
Posts: 11,469
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Yeah a LiveCD should do fine.
__________________
irc.freenode.net #eocf <-Check it out!
I'd hump it's tail pipes with no lube, while exclaiming how much I would respect it afterwards.-Rabid Dog
one guy in our class did ride his horse thru the school just before graduation, no major injuries but it shat in the math wing on the way out.-ironman28
Let me help. A hat goes on your head. The one with 2 ears, 2 eyes, a nose, and mouth. It will take about 3-6 seconds to put it on, depending upon how coordinated you are.-retslag1 giving Daniel56 hair advice
discobiscuits: make love to me
bjoci: It's OK, he's canadian.
jeremy: most of the cats i've slept with told me that they like scare people that way.
Dell Vostro 1700 1.6 GHz C2D 2GB RAM 8600m 1920x1200 17" display (850 PPD too!)
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking