EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Motherboards

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2010, 12:23 PM   #1
voodoo1226
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Question Overclocking the Dell Optiplex 745

Hi All,

Is it possible to overclock this PC? If it's, could someone please point me to the right direction, as how to do it? I searched but could not find (actually I found some threads on this, but not with this mobo that's in my PC.) Thank you in advance!

The following is taken from CPU-Z (sorry for the long copy and paste - hope I did not break any forum rules):

CPU-Z TXT Report
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Binaries
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU-Z version 1.55
Processors
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Number of processors 1
Number of threads 2
APICs
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Processor 0
-- Core 0
-- Thread 0 0
-- Core 1
-- Thread 0 1
Processors Information
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Processor 1 ID = 0
Number of cores 2 (max 2)
Number of threads 2 (max 2)
Name Intel Pentium D 945
Codename Presler
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz
Package (platform ID) Socket 775 LGA (0x2)
CPUID F.6.5
Extended CPUID F.6
Core Stepping D0
Technology 65 nm
Core Speed 2394.1 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 12.0 x 199.5 MHz
Rated Bus speed 798.0 MHz
Stock frequency 3400 MHz
Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, EM64T
L1 Data cache 2 x 16 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Trace cache 2 x 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
L2 cache 2 x 2048 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control yes
FID range 14.0x - 17.0x
VID range 1.116 V - 1.324 V

Chipset
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Northbridge Intel Q965 rev. C1
Southbridge Intel 82801HB/HR (ICH8/R) rev. B0
Memory Type DDR2
Memory Size 3072 MBytes
Memory SPD

Last edited by voodoo1226; 08-11-2010 at 12:39 PM.
Offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 12:27 PM   #2
Carozzeria
▲▼▲
Senior Member
 
Carozzeria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R.O.T.
Posts: 2,001
iTrader: 22 / 100%
You can remove the CPUz TXT Report. Your options are to either replace the motherboard with one that has BIOS options or try Clockgen to modify your phase locked loop frequency. The powersupply is also likely insufficient for overclocking.
__________________
◄AMD FX6300 @ 5.4Ghz
◄Gigabyte UD4 R5.0
◄8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1600 @ 2072 CL10
◄Gigabyte Radeon 7870 OC
◄PC Power and Cooling Silencer 610
◄Gigabyte KM7600
◄Cooler Master N200
◄Dedicated Box Chiller
◄Xigmatek S1283

Josie Wales - Don't bring shame on me, Carozzeria, and everyone else
from the Twin Cities. Do I have to drive you to Microcenter?

PSA: PD is designed to run 24/7 at 1.55V per their AOD software. Please spread the words.

Last edited by Carozzeria; 08-11-2010 at 12:42 PM.
Offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 12:40 PM   #3
voodoo1226
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carozzeria View Post
You can remove the CPUz TXT Report. Your options are to either replace the motherboard with one that has BIOS options or try Clockgen to modify your phased locked loop frequency. The powersupply is also likely insufficient for overclocking.
Ok, thanks.
Offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 12:48 PM   #4
brownn74
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
brownn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 185
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Cant overclock any mainstream pc's unless you can find the PLL and use a utility to OC
__________________
Main Rig:
antec 900 case; Core i7 920 c0 @ 3.8ghz @1.275V; Corsair H50; evga x58 3way sli mobo; 6gb gskil 1066 ddr3 memory 9/9/9/24/74/1
evga gtx 260 725/1563/1150; 850W antec truepower psu; intel x25-m 120gb SSD, 1tb & 500gb WD 7200rpm hdd

HTPC:
e7300 @ 3ghz; 2x2gb ddr2 800 samsung mem; radeon 4830 @ 585/910; msi g31tm-p21; 80g barracuda 7200 rpm; 500gb wd 7200 rpm; gen 430 psu; gen black gase

Need help determining which CPU to get, check this!
i7 + EVGA mobo oc guide
Offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 12:49 PM   #5
kwiksilver
: فͤ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ
Super Moderator
 
kwiksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Age: 30
Posts: 4,423
iTrader: 52 / 100%
But a new motherboard
__________________

Primary
| 2011 Macbook Pro 15" | i7 2720QM | 16GB DDR3 | 500GB Samsung Evo SSD | 750GB Toshiba | ATI 6750 1GB | Hengedock | 27" Apple Cinema Display [2560x1440] | OSX Mavericks 10.9 & Win7 Ult | Click for a Pic |
Primary Gamer
| Intel Core i7 4930k | ASUS Rampave IV Extreme | 32GB DDR3 | AMD R290x Crossfire | 250GB Samsung Evo | 500GB Storage | CM 690 II Adv |
Secondary Gamer
| Intel Core i7 920 | ASUS Rampave III Extreme | 24GB DDR3 | AMD R280x Crossfire | 160GB Intel SSD | 320GB Storage | Hiper Osiris |
HTPC / Livingroom Gamer
| Intel Core i7 3770k | Gigabyte H67N-USB3-B3 | 8GB DDR3 | AMD 7850x | 180GB Intel SSD | 320GB Storage | Silverstone Sugo SG07 |
UNRAID Pro Server
| AMD A10 5800k | MSI FM2-A85XA-G43 | 8GB DDR3 | 22 TB Storage | UNRAID 6 PRO | Norco 2420 |
ESXi VM box
| AMD FX-4130 | ASRock 970 Extreme4 | 16GB DDR3 | VMWare ESXi 5.5 | Rackmount Rosewill 4u |
Mobile
| iPhone 6 | 64gb | iOS 9 | Jailbroken | | iPad Mini Retina | 16gb | iOS 9 | Jailbroken |

Streamers:
| Google Chromecast | Roku 2 XS | FireTV | Raspberry Pi Model B 512MB | HD HomeRun 2 ASTC |


Aفͤ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ҈ͭ҉ͮ҈ͯ҉ͨ҈ͬ҉ͧ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ҈ͭ҉ ͮ҈ͯ҉ͨ҈ͬ҉ͧ҈ͨ҈ͧ͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏ ͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏҉ͯ҈ͮ҉ͭ҈ͤ҉ͦ҈ͥ҉ͧ҈ͩ҉ͭ҈ͨ҉ͣ҈ͪ҉ͧ҈ͭ҉ͩ҈
k҉͔̣͇͉̠̩͎̺w̵̞̙̱i̪̣̺̗̜͠k̭̹̀̕ș͙͜i̢̫̘̭l̨͉̟͓̙̘̻͢v̧͓̹͡ ̙̟ͅe̢̺̺̫̹̹r҉̸̖̤̫̫̹̣
Offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 02:04 PM   #6
jaykar
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
jaykar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 653
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwiksilver View Post
But a new motherboard
Having owned #4 Dells With two still in service, a laptop and newer
XPS9000, Overclocking and Dell a total joke.

Processor changes when possible help, if thier locked bios's permit, but thats about it.

And trying to fit a new motherboard into a Dell case, your pretty much
certain to run into a (Few) problems.

Performance and quality, Build your own

later
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E
i7-930-Lapped- 4.51 HT ON- 24/7/ STABLE.
Corsair Dominator 1600 6gigs 8-8-8-24@1820
Cooling-ST XT- EK 240+XSPC 240+120 Rads-600.5- ST 355 Pump
CM 690 II Advanced #9 fans/ Swiss cheezed.
CM 850W 82amp Single Rail Modular
Sapphire 7970 OC Edition 1275/1700/1.120V
SB Titanium Sound card/ Bose 2.1
Crucial M4 128 ssd-Boot /WD 640 Sata III Storage
Plextor/Samsung DVD Burners
Logitech G-15
Lamptron 6 channel 45W fan controller+5 pole
Samsung 26" 1920x1200

Last edited by jaykar; 08-11-2010 at 03:06 PM.
Offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 03:44 PM   #7
voodoo1226
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
I am thinking of just getting a "Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q6700 2.66GHz 1066MHz 8MB LGA775 EM64T CPU, OEM" to replace the PD 945. I wonder if it would work in the current mobo though (800MHz. )
Offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 03:53 PM   #8
ballzjohnson
Build4Fun OC2Brag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S. FL
Age: 30
Posts: 142
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I'm not sure but I think that the chipset on that board will only support the 65nm core 2 duo's at best. Didn't see anything quad listed for that.
__________________

Offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:41 PM   #9
voodoo1226
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
I did ordered the Q6700 after I read from many posts that said it would work with the Optiplex 745.

In the meantime, I am trying to check my CPU temp now and again, will check after I replaced the Pentium D 945 with the new Q6700, to see if I need a new fan. The only problem is I downloaded a few different CPU temp software but none is compatible with my current system. I've tried Real Temp, Core Temp, Speed Fan, and none seems to work. Does anyone has any other software suggestion?

Thanks!
Offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:42 PM   #10
Deluded
Pushing into redline
Senior Member
 
Deluded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 27
Posts: 3,674
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Try hwmonitor.
__________________
--Baron Deluded XVII Esquire the Third
Offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:57 PM   #11
ballzjohnson
Build4Fun OC2Brag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S. FL
Age: 30
Posts: 142
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Everest? I don't know too many and I've rarely heard of compatibility issues.
__________________

Offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 02:04 AM   #12
voodoo1226
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deluded View Post
Try hwmonitor.
Just tried this. All it shows is my hard disk. No CPU. Too bad I can't attach image file or paste it here to show you.
Offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 02:06 AM   #13
Deluded
Pushing into redline
Senior Member
 
Deluded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 27
Posts: 3,674
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by voodoo1226 View Post
Just tried this. All it shows is my hard disk. No CPU. Too bad I can't attach image file or paste it here to show you.
That is impossible. Every processor comes with a temperature sensor.

Chances are the Dell optiplex you are trying to overclock isn't really yours and actually belongs to your school -- being locked down with Novell -- so... Is it yours?
__________________
--Baron Deluded XVII Esquire the Third
Offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 02:13 AM   #14
voodoo1226
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballzjohnson View Post
Everest? I don't know too many and I've rarely heard of compatibility issues.
This I tried before already. The 1st time it ran after installation it pops up a message something about not compatible. Then when the program loaded, no where in it can I see the temperature of anything.

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deluded View Post
That is impossible. Every processor comes with a temperature sensor.

Chances are the Dell optiplex you are trying to overclock isn't really yours and actually belongs to your school -- being locked down with Novell -- so... Is it yours?
Yes. Btw, I am not overclocking it anymore. I am just trying to see the temperature before and after (after I replaced it with Q6700 processor.)

I just read something about Speedstep and that it should be on. I think I saw in the BIOS it's off at default setting. I wonder if that makes any difference.


Oh craps, I just thought of something else. I bought this used. I assumed the guys that sold it to me also bought it. Hmmmm......

Last edited by voodoo1226; 08-13-2010 at 02:18 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 02:29 AM   #15
Deluded
Pushing into redline
Senior Member
 
Deluded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 27
Posts: 3,674
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Did you reformat the windows if you bought it from the other guy?
__________________
--Baron Deluded XVII Esquire the Third
Offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 03:05 AM   #16
voodoo1226
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deluded View Post
Did you reformat the windows if you bought it from the other guy?
Yes. Replaced with a brand new 2TB drive.

I just read this post from someone (and of course, I have no such luck):
"Just Find Out What Kind Of MOBO (Motherboard) It Uses And Go Directly To The Manufacturer Of The Board (Not Dell) And [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Flash[/color][/color] To An OEM BIOS For That Board It Would Open Alot Of Settings That Dell Hid Or Didnt Include, Including The "Health" Section... I Did That On M Brothers 2.7GHZ [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Celeron[/color][/color] HP And I Now Have It Running At 3.2GHz And It Now Has A Temperature Report"

The problem is it doesn't seems that this mobo is very common because I can't find any info on it. Here are the basic specs again:
Motherboard
Manufacturer: Dell
Model: 0WF810
Chipset: Intel Q965 Rev: C1
Southbridge: Intel 82801HB/HR (ICH8/R)

Additional Comment:

I think I am at a point to just get a new motherboard for the Q6700 and build a separate system.

Thank you all for trying to help!

Last edited by voodoo1226; 08-13-2010 at 03:05 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 06:16 AM   #17
brownn74
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
brownn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 185
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by drdeathx View Post
This is not correct. Some you can.
make and model of mainstream computers you can overclock
__________________
Main Rig:
antec 900 case; Core i7 920 c0 @ 3.8ghz @1.275V; Corsair H50; evga x58 3way sli mobo; 6gb gskil 1066 ddr3 memory 9/9/9/24/74/1
evga gtx 260 725/1563/1150; 850W antec truepower psu; intel x25-m 120gb SSD, 1tb & 500gb WD 7200rpm hdd

HTPC:
e7300 @ 3ghz; 2x2gb ddr2 800 samsung mem; radeon 4830 @ 585/910; msi g31tm-p21; 80g barracuda 7200 rpm; 500gb wd 7200 rpm; gen 430 psu; gen black gase

Need help determining which CPU to get, check this!
i7 + EVGA mobo oc guide
Offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 06:30 AM   #18
kwiksilver
: فͤ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ
Super Moderator
 
kwiksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Age: 30
Posts: 4,423
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by drdeathx View Post
This is not correct. Some you can.
This I would love to see, and don't say alienware. We said mainstream as in Dell, HP, Compaq, Lenovo, Acer, Emachine, Gateway.
__________________

Primary
| 2011 Macbook Pro 15" | i7 2720QM | 16GB DDR3 | 500GB Samsung Evo SSD | 750GB Toshiba | ATI 6750 1GB | Hengedock | 27" Apple Cinema Display [2560x1440] | OSX Mavericks 10.9 & Win7 Ult | Click for a Pic |
Primary Gamer
| Intel Core i7 4930k | ASUS Rampave IV Extreme | 32GB DDR3 | AMD R290x Crossfire | 250GB Samsung Evo | 500GB Storage | CM 690 II Adv |
Secondary Gamer
| Intel Core i7 920 | ASUS Rampave III Extreme | 24GB DDR3 | AMD R280x Crossfire | 160GB Intel SSD | 320GB Storage | Hiper Osiris |
HTPC / Livingroom Gamer
| Intel Core i7 3770k | Gigabyte H67N-USB3-B3 | 8GB DDR3 | AMD 7850x | 180GB Intel SSD | 320GB Storage | Silverstone Sugo SG07 |
UNRAID Pro Server
| AMD A10 5800k | MSI FM2-A85XA-G43 | 8GB DDR3 | 22 TB Storage | UNRAID 6 PRO | Norco 2420 |
ESXi VM box
| AMD FX-4130 | ASRock 970 Extreme4 | 16GB DDR3 | VMWare ESXi 5.5 | Rackmount Rosewill 4u |
Mobile
| iPhone 6 | 64gb | iOS 9 | Jailbroken | | iPad Mini Retina | 16gb | iOS 9 | Jailbroken |

Streamers:
| Google Chromecast | Roku 2 XS | FireTV | Raspberry Pi Model B 512MB | HD HomeRun 2 ASTC |


Aفͤ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ҈ͭ҉ͮ҈ͯ҉ͨ҈ͬ҉ͧ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ҈ͭ҉ ͮ҈ͯ҉ͨ҈ͬ҉ͧ҈ͨ҈ͧ͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏ ͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏҉ͯ҈ͮ҉ͭ҈ͤ҉ͦ҈ͥ҉ͧ҈ͩ҉ͭ҈ͨ҉ͣ҈ͪ҉ͧ҈ͭ҉ͩ҈
k҉͔̣͇͉̠̩͎̺w̵̞̙̱i̪̣̺̗̜͠k̭̹̀̕ș͙͜i̢̫̘̭l̨͉̟͓̙̘̻͢v̧͓̹͡ ̙̟ͅe̢̺̺̫̹̹r҉̸̖̤̫̫̹̣
Offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 07:06 AM   #19
bravotsx
Space Monkey
Senior Member
 
bravotsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 3,743
iTrader: 8 / 100%
@brown74 & kwik
i overclocked my dell vostro 200 just fine....but i did a BSEL mod
it went from 2.0GHz to 2.66GHz on stock volts and it's perfectly stable.
I also adjusted the memory timings using a software program, though I couldn't change the CAS.
http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/t285171.html

@voodoo1226
don't worry about the heat too much. the quad has 10W higher TDP than your PD945...but on average i suspect it would run a lot cooler. (you would only have to worry about overheating if you ran high cpu load for extended periods of time). even if it started to overheat, the system would automatically throttle down...you could always put some Arctic Silver 5 or Ceramique and replace the stock grease for some extra cooling.
__________________
Offline  
Old 08-16-2010, 07:10 AM   #20
brownn74
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
brownn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 185
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravotsx View Post
@brown74 & kwik
i overclocked my dell vostro 200 just fine....but i did a BSEL mod
it went from 2.0GHz to 2.66GHz on stock volts and it's perfectly stable.
I also adjusted the memory timings using a software program, though I couldn't change the CAS.
http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/t285171.html

@voodoo1226
don't worry about the heat too much. the quad has 10W higher TDP than your PD945...but on average i suspect it would run a lot cooler. (you would only have to worry about overheating if you ran high cpu load for extended periods of time). even if it started to overheat, the system would automatically throttle down...you could always put some Arctic Silver 5 or Ceramique and replace the stock grease for some extra cooling.
Yeah i mentioned it was possible with a overclocking utility IF it was even possible.
__________________
Main Rig:
antec 900 case; Core i7 920 c0 @ 3.8ghz @1.275V; Corsair H50; evga x58 3way sli mobo; 6gb gskil 1066 ddr3 memory 9/9/9/24/74/1
evga gtx 260 725/1563/1150; 850W antec truepower psu; intel x25-m 120gb SSD, 1tb & 500gb WD 7200rpm hdd

HTPC:
e7300 @ 3ghz; 2x2gb ddr2 800 samsung mem; radeon 4830 @ 585/910; msi g31tm-p21; 80g barracuda 7200 rpm; 500gb wd 7200 rpm; gen 430 psu; gen black gase

Need help determining which CPU to get, check this!
i7 + EVGA mobo oc guide
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking