EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Video Cards, TV Tuners, Monitors > ATi Technologies

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2011, 06:07 AM   #1
jwright77
AMD eyefinity..woot!
Senior Member
 
jwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Cackalaky
Age: 39
Posts: 784
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Dissapointing FPS with 6850's in crossfire & eyefinity

Hey all,

It's been a long time since I built a gaming PC and all that fun stuff. So I built a Core i5 760(4.0 GHz 24/7), 8 GB of RAM (4gb x 2), 2 x 64 GB SSD drives in raid 0, and then a pair of 6850's in crossfire and I am running 3 x 22'' LCD screens for eyefinity.


I really play just Bad Company 2, and at 5040 x 1050 I am very dissapointed with the performance. I have even used MSI overclock to add some volts and I run 970/1160 on the cards.

So in BC2, I get maybe 30 fps at medium details, with all AA/Anis turned off. So the odd thing is, I use to have for about a week a pair of 5770's in crossfire, and honestly they seem to run 5040 x 1050 about the same.

But in benchmarks, say 3dmark06 & 11, I score about 9K higher and P2600 higher.

So the 68's are better, am I missing something??

Thanks!
Jeremy
__________________

^^Eyefinity in 5040 x 1050 SS
Offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 11:24 AM   #2
jmknsd
Caffeine Overclocker
Senior Member
 
jmknsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 469
iTrader: 0 / 0%
AMD rejiggered their product stack, the 6800 series is now the mid end series, and performs worse than the high end 5900 series, but with lower power consumption, lower cost and a few other improvements. The 6970 is AMDs new flagship GPU and is a single die; it performs on par with a GTX 570. They will probably be releasing an X2 version of this later, but I haven't been following it recently.
__________________

OCZ Vertex Turbo 30GB
Currently running Ubuntu 11.10, Windows 7, Centos 5.3
Lenovo T420, i5 2520m with an Intel 310 40GB

Offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 03:28 PM   #3
Macro9
Master of my domain
Senior Member
 
Macro9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 170
iTrader: 1 / 100%
They're definitely the better cards. They are probably struggling at that resolution, though.

For better performance you're probably going to want to run a 69XX with 2GBs worth of Vram. That is if you can't live with the performance you get now.
__________________
e8400@4.27 1.27vcore stable
Batch#Q828A087
eVga 680i A1
Corsair XMS2 2x1gb
eVga 8800GTS 800/2000/2200
Corsair VX550
CM690

16074 3DMarks
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 05:50 AM   #4
jwright77
AMD eyefinity..woot!
Senior Member
 
jwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Cackalaky
Age: 39
Posts: 784
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Ok so here is something weird. I was researching online, and people we saying with the 5 series that crossfire & eyefinity just didn't work well. So I disabled crossfire and tried BC2. I get about 20-40 more fps on one card, then when I run Crossfire. So now BC2 runs 5040 x 1050 all high and 2x/4x....


I don't get it??I benched the one card and it scores a ton lower than in crossfire...but in game and eyefinity it runs terrible. Am I better off just selling both cards and buying a 6950?
__________________

^^Eyefinity in 5040 x 1050 SS
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 05:57 AM   #5
SlaveOnDope
Please do go on.
Senior Member
 
SlaveOnDope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Kakalaky
Age: 31
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: 15 / 100%
You need 2gb of ram no other way for that resolution to be playable.

BTW it Kakalaky with a K
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:56 AM   #6
jwright77
AMD eyefinity..woot!
Senior Member
 
jwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Cackalaky
Age: 39
Posts: 784
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlaveOnDope View Post
You need 2gb of ram no other way for that resolution to be playable.

BTW it Kakalaky with a K
My FPS with 1 card is about 60 FPS (960/1160 OC on the card) this is on high 5040 x 1050 and 4x/4x. With crossfire enabled and the same settings. (OC and all) So this would mean 2GB of ram and my FPS is around 30 to 15. So something is up

Yep...ok...I am not even a native of SC


Fact: Cackalacky is the name of America's original all-inclusive zesty topping for hamburgers, hotdogs, and baked beans - that was born in the Carolina's. As a matter of fact, The Cackalacky Classic Condiment Company is the first known entity to ever use our famously funny name in commerce. It was trademarked in 2001

From Urban Dictonary:
1. Cackalacky
slang for Carolina (north or south), american states
Always wear my jeans baggy, saggy
you know georgia,
flor'da,
nor', sou' cackalacky
__________________

^^Eyefinity in 5040 x 1050 SS

Last edited by jwright77; 01-23-2011 at 11:08 AM.
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 11:11 AM   #7
SlaveOnDope
Please do go on.
Senior Member
 
SlaveOnDope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Kakalaky
Age: 31
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: 15 / 100%
The K runs deeper


Kak•a•lak (kak ' a lak) n. (Colloq.) (various spellings including Cacalacky) 1. A folksy slang for "Carolina"--an amalgamation with "Appalachia". 2. an endearment of the Carolinas, especially by people raised in the area who have moved elsewhere. Conveys a tongue-in- cheek quality, a willingness to laugh at oneself and one's origins, while still remaining proud and affectionate towards them.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jwright77 View Post
My FPS with 1 card is about 60 FPS (960/1160 OC on the card) this is on high 5040 x 1050 and 4x/4x. With crossfire enabled and the same settings. (OC and all) So this would mean 2GB of ram and my FPS is around 30 to 15. So something is up
You still only have 1GB of ram. Each card gets the same 1gb max of map's/textures then processes them in parallel.

Last edited by SlaveOnDope; 01-23-2011 at 11:18 AM.
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 12:00 PM   #8
ELItheICEman
#define i 0x15
Senior Member
 
ELItheICEman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 29
Posts: 2,948
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwright77 View Post
Ok so here is something weird. I was researching online, and people we saying with the 5 series that crossfire & eyefinity just didn't work well. So I disabled crossfire and tried BC2. I get about 20-40 more fps on one card, then when I run Crossfire. So now BC2 runs 5040 x 1050 all high and 2x/4x....
I just tried the same thing with my CF 5870s and saw massive improvement in Eyefinity. I'm just as dumbfounded as you are. It really makes it seem like a freaking waste to have two cards now.

Oh well - thanks for posting this. I learned something today.
__________________
MAIN:
Intel i7 920 + EVGA E757 SLI LE + 3x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600 + OCZ Vertex 2 120GB + 2x WD Black 640GB (RAID0) + 2x XFX 5870 1GB Crossfire + Enermax EVO Galaxy 1250W + PreSonus Audiobox USB + Custom Swiftech Water Cooling + Antec 1200 (Custom Mod) + Windows 7
SERVER
:
Intel i7 950
+ Gigabyte EX58-UD3R + 4x4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 + 500GB WD Scorpio Black HDD + 2x WD Black 1TB (RAID1) + 2x Seagate 4TB (ZFS) + Intel Pro 1000T NIC + ESXi 5.0
MOBILE:
2012 13" MacBook Air
+ Core i5 (Ivy Bridge) @ 1.8GHz + 4GB DDR3 1600 + 128GB SSD + OSX 10.10 + Windows 7
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 12:10 PM   #9
jwright77
AMD eyefinity..woot!
Senior Member
 
jwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Cackalaky
Age: 39
Posts: 784
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELItheICEman View Post
I just tried the same thing with my CF 5870s and saw massive improvement in Eyefinity. I'm just as dumbfounded as you are. It really makes it seem like a freaking waste to have two cards now.

Oh well - thanks for posting this. I learned something today.
No joke. What a total waste. I might return the cards and buy one 6950, flash it to a 6970 and call it a day. Other than benchmarking or single screen gameplay (which is a huge bump in FPS and I am sure the majority of their sales) I wouldn't recommend crossfire and eyefinity.

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlaveOnDope View Post
The K runs deeper


Kak•a•lak (kak ' a lak) n. (Colloq.) (various spellings including Cacalacky) 1. A folksy slang for "Carolina"--an amalgamation with "Appalachia". 2. an endearment of the Carolinas, especially by people raised in the area who have moved elsewhere. Conveys a tongue-in- cheek quality, a willingness to laugh at oneself and one's origins, while still remaining proud and affectionate towards them.




You still only have 1GB of ram. Each card gets the same 1gb max of map's/textures then processes them in parallel.
Ok I give in, at least it says various spellings include my way But I am not from SC...just happen to live here. ( I am a Yankee. muhhaaaaaaa)

As for the cards. The game runs smooth as butter on 1 card at 5040 x 1050 on high. So all the textures go to 1 card and play 40-60 fps. With crossfire you would think it would just improve on gameplay. Not drop 30 fps.
__________________

^^Eyefinity in 5040 x 1050 SS

Last edited by jwright77; 01-23-2011 at 12:11 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 12:18 PM   #10
SwiftSnipeR
Overclock?
Senior Member
 
SwiftSnipeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: kansas
Age: 28
Posts: 531
iTrader: 15 / 100%
sounds like a driver problem to me. you try using a freash windows install?
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 12:47 PM   #11
SlaveOnDope
Please do go on.
Senior Member
 
SlaveOnDope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Kakalaky
Age: 31
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Now I see what your saying you have better fps with 1 card that with 2.
Drivers for sure.

BTW Im not a native, from Kansas ya hear
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 05:58 PM   #12
jwright77
AMD eyefinity..woot!
Senior Member
 
jwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Cackalaky
Age: 39
Posts: 784
iTrader: 9 / 100%
I just formatted the pc. And I'll see what happens. But I was using 10.12 w/ profiles. And I tried the beta 10.1a (Jan 13 release) along with driver cleaner each time. And still the same performance. So I formatted and I am installing drivers and stuff now.

I'll let you know.
__________________

^^Eyefinity in 5040 x 1050 SS
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 06:46 PM   #13
vai0
<><
Senior Member
 
vai0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Florida
Age: 24
Posts: 3,007
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The combination of eyefinity and crossfire is bound to have the most driver problems. You may want to return those if possible and get a single 6970. I think you still have to have 2 nvidia cards for surround.

Bad Company 2 is a pretty popular game so if it is driver problems I'm sure ATI will eventually fix them, however the 6850 has been out awhile now, and eyefinity/bc2 even longer.
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 07:18 PM   #14
Almost Tactf
DT770 Pushed By PA2v2
Senior Member
 
Almost Tactf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Unreal Engine
Age: 35
Posts: 9,597
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlaveOnDope View Post
You need 2gb of ram no other way for that resolution to be playable.

BTW it Kakalaky with a K
No you don't, I used to get 60FPS @ 5760X1080 which is a higher res of a single 5870 1GB
__________________
Laptop - ASUS G55VW-DS71 | 3610 | 16GB RAM | 660M 2GB | Mushkin Chronos 120GB SSD | 750GB SG GDD | 1920X1080 | Win 7 64
Home - Intel X58 | i7 920 @ 3.4 | 12GB RAM | 260 GTX | WD 1TB Black | 55" 240HZ TV | Win 7 64
Work - Intel X58 | i7 975E @ 4.2 | 16GB RAM | GTX 680 | Intel 52 512GB SSD | 7680X1200 (4 24" IPS Displays)
Perifs - Logitech G9x | (2) Logitech G19 | Beyerdynamic DT770 250 oHm | Schiit Lyr | Gunnar Weezer | Everki Black Beacon

My Portfolio Site - www.amorton.com
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 08:29 PM   #15
SlaveOnDope
Please do go on.
Senior Member
 
SlaveOnDope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Kakalaky
Age: 31
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almost Tactf View Post
No you don't, I used to get 60FPS @ 5760X1080 which is a higher res of a single 5870 1GB
In what game and how much AA/AF?
Offline  
Old 01-23-2011, 08:39 PM   #16
ELItheICEman
#define i 0x15
Senior Member
 
ELItheICEman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 29
Posts: 2,948
iTrader: 19 / 100%
I'm with AT on this one. Just tried it today when I read this thread. 5760x1200 was buttery smooth maxed except for 1xAA, 4xAF and no HBAO. Didn't try any higher settings.

1GB of GDDR is fine for most games, even in Eyefinity.
__________________
MAIN:
Intel i7 920 + EVGA E757 SLI LE + 3x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600 + OCZ Vertex 2 120GB + 2x WD Black 640GB (RAID0) + 2x XFX 5870 1GB Crossfire + Enermax EVO Galaxy 1250W + PreSonus Audiobox USB + Custom Swiftech Water Cooling + Antec 1200 (Custom Mod) + Windows 7
SERVER
:
Intel i7 950
+ Gigabyte EX58-UD3R + 4x4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 + 500GB WD Scorpio Black HDD + 2x WD Black 1TB (RAID1) + 2x Seagate 4TB (ZFS) + Intel Pro 1000T NIC + ESXi 5.0
MOBILE:
2012 13" MacBook Air
+ Core i5 (Ivy Bridge) @ 1.8GHz + 4GB DDR3 1600 + 128GB SSD + OSX 10.10 + Windows 7
Offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 01:37 PM   #17
jwright77
AMD eyefinity..woot!
Senior Member
 
jwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Cackalaky
Age: 39
Posts: 784
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Ok update:

Fresh install.....and the same problem. It's gotta be drivers. But for now I just leave the 2nd card in and even the bridge attached. When I need the power, click crossfire in CCC.


But playing BC2 with 1 card 5040 x 1050 and I am running 2x/16 aniso and it runs smooth as butter, lowest FPS is 38-40. Usually runs much higher.

So I have 30 days to return the cards, I might as well just get a 6950 and flash it for the time being. Since I really play with 1 card.
__________________

^^Eyefinity in 5040 x 1050 SS
Offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 07:33 AM   #18
rich9cinti
I Likes Hardware...
Senior Member
 
rich9cinti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 48
Posts: 432
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELItheICEman View Post
I'm with AT on this one. Just tried it today when I read this thread. 5760x1200 was buttery smooth maxed except for 1xAA, 4xAF and no HBAO. Didn't try any higher settings.

1GB of GDDR is fine for most games, even in Eyefinity.
I'm with AT and ELI on this. Buttery smooth with my single 5870 1GB @ 5760 x 1080... all day long. 2GB for 6 monitors... but for three, 1GB is fine for smooth gaming.

I hate to say this but never will do CF nor SLI kinda stuff again. Not saying that it doesn't work but it is inconsistent. I've done dual cards with Nvidia and ATI and at times it is game specific and will leave you with a second card that needs to be disabled. It may work great with one game then not on another. F that. Get the best single card solution you can afford and be done with it. I spent $$$ and many frustrating days with CF'd 3870's back in the day and people say that things have gotten better... nope, not exactly.

See if ya can sell the 68xx and get a 69xx... I would prefer the 6970 if I were you... just sayin'

Cheers.

Last edited by rich9cinti; 01-27-2011 at 07:39 AM.
Offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 08:40 AM   #19
jwright77
AMD eyefinity..woot!
Senior Member
 
jwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: South Cackalaky
Age: 39
Posts: 784
iTrader: 9 / 100%
I'll try the 11.1a drivers tonight. They just came out on 1/26...so here is hoping!
__________________

^^Eyefinity in 5040 x 1050 SS
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking