EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Network Hardware (Wired & Wireless)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2012, 11:37 PM   #1
justinsn95
Blow it up Lexx.
Senior Member
 
justinsn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,949
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Ping 110 ms?

Since I have had this connection, it has had an awful ping. It used to be about 57 milliseconds, but now its finally worked its way all the way to 110 milliseconds. Is there anything I can do to get this down to a reasonable number? Does paying for faster speeds get you a faster ping?
__________________

"There's a finite amount of memory, you can't use it for everything.." -Dennis Nedry
Offline  
Old 04-03-2012, 07:54 AM   #2
T0mmy1977
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
T0mmy1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 187
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinsn95 View Post
Since I have had this connection, it has had an awful ping. It used to be about 57 milliseconds, but now its finally worked its way all the way to 110 milliseconds. Is there anything I can do to get this down to a reasonable number? Does paying for faster speeds get you a faster ping?
Is it DSL? Comcast/cable gets you a good ping.
Offline  
Old 04-03-2012, 08:32 AM   #3
kwiksilver
: فͤ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ
Super Moderator
 
kwiksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Age: 30
Posts: 4,428
iTrader: 52 / 100%
killernic

/troll
__________________

Primary
| 2011 Macbook Pro 15" | i7 2720QM | 16GB DDR3 | 500GB Samsung Evo SSD | 750GB Toshiba | ATI 6750 1GB | Hengedock | 27" Apple Cinema Display [2560x1440] | OSX Mavericks 10.9 & Win7 Ult | Click for a Pic |
Primary Gamer
| Intel Core i7 4930k | ASUS Rampave IV Extreme | 32GB DDR3 | AMD R290x Crossfire | 250GB Samsung Evo | 500GB Storage | CM 690 II Adv |
Secondary Gamer
| Intel Core i7 920 | ASUS Rampave III Extreme | 24GB DDR3 | AMD R280x Crossfire | 160GB Intel SSD | 320GB Storage | Hiper Osiris |
HTPC / Livingroom Gamer
| Intel Core i7 3770k | Gigabyte H67N-USB3-B3 | 8GB DDR3 | AMD 7850x | 180GB Intel SSD | 320GB Storage | Silverstone Sugo SG07 |
UNRAID Pro Server
| AMD A10 5800k | MSI FM2-A85XA-G43 | 8GB DDR3 | 22 TB Storage | UNRAID 6 PRO | Norco 2420 |
ESXi VM box
| AMD FX-4130 | ASRock 970 Extreme4 | 16GB DDR3 | VMWare ESXi 5.5 | Rackmount Rosewill 4u |
Mobile
| iPhone 6 | 64gb | iOS 9 | Jailbroken | | iPad Mini Retina | 16gb | iOS 9 | Jailbroken |

Streamers:
| Google Chromecast | Roku 2 XS | FireTV | Raspberry Pi Model B 512MB | HD HomeRun 2 ASTC |


Aفͤ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ҈ͭ҉ͮ҈ͯ҉ͨ҈ͬ҉ͧ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ҈ͭ҉ ͮ҈ͯ҉ͨ҈ͬ҉ͧ҈ͨ҈ͧ͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏ ͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏҉ͯ҈ͮ҉ͭ҈ͤ҉ͦ҈ͥ҉ͧ҈ͩ҉ͭ҈ͨ҉ͣ҈ͪ҉ͧ҈ͭ҉ͩ҈
k҉͔̣͇͉̠̩͎̺w̵̞̙̱i̪̣̺̗̜͠k̭̹̀̕ș͙͜i̢̫̘̭l̨͉̟͓̙̘̻͢v̧͓̹͡ ̙̟ͅe̢̺̺̫̹̹r҉̸̖̤̫̫̹̣
Offline  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:07 AM   #4
Tomek
Just Monkeying Around
Senior Member
 
Tomek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver
Age: 42
Posts: 1,448
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Paying for a faster connection should not attain lower latency (unless something is wrong).

Your ping is 110 to where? The 1st gateway outside your home?

Have you run a trace to see where the bottleneck is?
__________________
FX-8320 / 8GB / 2x6950 / M4 SSD / RAID0 Raptors / Bla Bla Bla
Offline  
Old 04-03-2012, 11:32 PM   #5
justinsn95
Blow it up Lexx.
Senior Member
 
justinsn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,949
iTrader: 2 / 100%
No I have not run a trace yet. I'm afraid I'm a bit of a networking noob. Can I do it with some piece of software?
__________________

"There's a finite amount of memory, you can't use it for everything.." -Dennis Nedry
Offline  
Old 04-04-2012, 12:24 AM   #6
Spartacus
HULK SMASH!
Senior Member
 
Spartacus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 29
Posts: 1,787
iTrader: 19 / 100%
go to the command prompt and type in:
tracert "server name or IP" (minus the quotes)

example:

tracert google.com

and list what your results are
__________________
My Rig:

HTPC:

We named our server racks at work to correspond with "evil" locations such as Death Star, Romulus, and Mordor.
I placed our FTP server in Mordor solely so I can use the phrase "One does not simply FTP into Mordor"

Offline  
Old 04-04-2012, 09:40 AM   #7
Scubar
Arsenal
Senior Member
 
Scubar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Surrey
Age: 32
Posts: 4,302
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwiksilver View Post
killernic

/troll
If you get two and team them together you can 1/2 your ping
__________________
Offline  
Old 04-04-2012, 09:45 AM   #8
Tomek
Just Monkeying Around
Senior Member
 
Tomek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver
Age: 42
Posts: 1,448
iTrader: 0 / 0%
anyone ever try RAIDing four?
__________________
FX-8320 / 8GB / 2x6950 / M4 SSD / RAID0 Raptors / Bla Bla Bla
Offline  
Old 04-07-2012, 02:57 AM   #9
pheonix991
Hehe
Senior Member
 
pheonix991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northwest, AR
Age: 26
Posts: 3,597
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Are you on wifi?
__________________
RMA Count:3 Video card, 6 Mobos, 1 Cpu, 2 Psu... My luck sucks...
Resurrected 2 Video Cards, 1 XBOX 360
"I live my life a quarter mile at a time, and for 19 seconds, I'm free."
-Nagoshi
"They don't get the whole date a chick to just bang and occasionally watch crappy TV shows with and keep the bed warm because natural gas is really expensive this year."
-@dmin
"
On a more serious note, I actually love Pheonix."
-Clone of 501
"That girl hasn't been touched because I get to play with lots of others and even get paid to play with some."-ZJChaser
Offline  
Old 04-07-2012, 03:54 AM   #10
thread
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
thread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Age: 30
Posts: 2,261
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by T0mmy1977 View Post
Is it DSL? Comcast/cable gets you a good ping.
ADSL can be good... I get 20s to a lot of local gaming servers.

Mind you, I get about 120 to the US, maybe the OP is pinging Australia .
__________________
Online  
Old 04-07-2012, 07:39 PM   #11
justinsn95
Blow it up Lexx.
Senior Member
 
justinsn95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,949
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Here's the results of the trace:

__________________

"There's a finite amount of memory, you can't use it for everything.." -Dennis Nedry
Offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:38 PM   #12
Tomek
Just Monkeying Around
Senior Member
 
Tomek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver
Age: 42
Posts: 1,448
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The first hop is the time from your computer to the router in your house (or modem).

That looks normal, but the 2nd hop (from your router / modem) to the outside world is ****.

You will see a 50ms delay tacked on no matter where to try and go as you always, have to go through that router / gateway.

I'm guessing you are on A/DSL, so that's due to the distance you physically are from that gateway.

Call your provider's tech support and ask if 50ms in normal latency for their service within your proximity to the gateway.

Edit - just re-read your initial post. Where did the connection use to have 57ms ping to and then jumped to 110ms?

Also, do you have another computer to do the same test with?
__________________
FX-8320 / 8GB / 2x6950 / M4 SSD / RAID0 Raptors / Bla Bla Bla

Last edited by Tomek; 04-08-2012 at 04:25 PM.
Offline  
Old 04-08-2012, 04:44 PM   #13
prudhomb
NAVIDIA Rocks!!!!!!
Senior Member
 
prudhomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oahu
Posts: 5,491
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Im happy with anything under 130. Pings aren't great when the signal has to travel 1/4 around the planet.
__________________
i5 750 / 1075T
p7p55d pro / M99X Evo
5770x1 :( / 5450
sandforce 120 / 1tb caviar green
caviar blue 500 /...
H70 /Antec Khuler 620
950 TX / 500 earthwatts
690II adv /Sonata III

phonenix991- And hell no, I won't give up on you girls, I love the breasteses and your vag too much to give up. Plus, I don't think my butt can take a pounding...

Odanez-- The Navidia disease has manifested itself in Prudhomb, and we need to cure him
Offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 07:50 PM   #14
killermodz
Its Christmas n July
Senior Member
 
killermodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring City, TN
Age: 28
Posts: 1,940
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Call your provider (looks like ATT from the sbcglobal hints) and try to get into higher up technical support. I'd make bets your running on an interleave profile (also called a noise profile). Running interleave can cause higher and erratic pings as the system compensates for error correction.

Log into your modem and post up some profile, level, and snr results if you can find them.
__________________
<SyStEm_BoMbEr> u realise the liquid inside the tubing of the water cooling is not actually water
<SyStEm_BoMbEr> since water is confuctive

<krone6> Of course, because wireless works better from bottom up then top down. It would be stronger in the basement on any wireless device. Physics, for the win.
Offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 05:13 PM   #15
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Jahova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1,722
iTrader: 1 / 100%
http://speedtest.net/

Here is mine:
8ms, 24.17Mbps, 4.24Mbps - ComcastCable



Go and get your results from there. Maybe it will help explain.
__________________
Project: Nanosuit
ExtremeOCforum: Jahova
Games: B-e-t-a, =OSF=B-e-t-a, beta
Mobo : Sabertooth Processor : Sandybridge 2600K Memory : G.skill Ripjaws Video : EVGA GTX 460 PSU : Antec 750W Cooling : XSPC Rasa |
OCZ Hydropulse 500 | 120.3 Black Ice Radiator
Comcast Blast (or something):
http://results.speedtest.xfinity.com...1238529584.png
Comcast Prefered Internet:
http://speedtest.net/result/2510948610.png
Comcast Basic Internet:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2608647893.png
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking