EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Network Hardware (Wired & Wireless)
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2012, 11:37 PM   #1
justinsn95
Blow it up Lexx.
justinsn95's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,851
Last Seen: 11-27-2012
From: DFW
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Ping 110 ms?

Since I have had this connection, it has had an awful ping. It used to be about 57 milliseconds, but now its finally worked its way all the way to 110 milliseconds. Is there anything I can do to get this down to a reasonable number? Does paying for faster speeds get you a faster ping?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-03-2012, 07:54 AM   #2
T0mmy1977
Learning To Overclock
T0mmy1977's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 145
Last Seen: 04-09-2014
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinsn95 View Post
Since I have had this connection, it has had an awful ping. It used to be about 57 milliseconds, but now its finally worked its way all the way to 110 milliseconds. Is there anything I can do to get this down to a reasonable number? Does paying for faster speeds get you a faster ping?
Is it DSL? Comcast/cable gets you a good ping.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-03-2012, 08:32 AM   #3
kwiksilver
Fear the Ban Key!
kwiksilver's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 4,265
Last Seen: 04-14-2014
Age: 28
From: 127.0.0.1
iTrader: 51 / 100%
killernic

/troll
Aauria Hibedi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-03-2012, 10:07 AM   #4
Tomek
Just Monkeying Around
Tomek's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,421
Last Seen: Today
Age: 40
From: Vancouver
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Paying for a faster connection should not attain lower latency (unless something is wrong).

Your ping is 110 to where? The 1st gateway outside your home?

Have you run a trace to see where the bottleneck is?
Canada  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-03-2012, 11:32 PM   #5
justinsn95
Blow it up Lexx.
justinsn95's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,851
Last Seen: 11-27-2012
From: DFW
iTrader: 2 / 100%
No I have not run a trace yet. I'm afraid I'm a bit of a networking noob. Can I do it with some piece of software?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-04-2012, 12:24 AM   #6
Spartacus
HULK SMASH!
Spartacus's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,688
Last Seen: Today
Age: 27
From: Austin, Texas
iTrader: 17 / 100%
go to the command prompt and type in:
tracert "server name or IP" (minus the quotes)

example:

tracert google.com

and list what your results are
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-04-2012, 09:40 AM   #7
Scubar
Arsenal
Scubar's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4,291
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 30
From: Surrey
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwiksilver View Post
killernic

/troll
If you get two and team them together you can 1/2 your ping
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-04-2012, 09:45 AM   #8
Tomek
Just Monkeying Around
Tomek's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,421
Last Seen: Today
Age: 40
From: Vancouver
iTrader: 0 / 0%
anyone ever try RAIDing four?
Canada  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-07-2012, 02:57 AM   #9
pheonix991
Such profit
pheonix991's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,570
Last Seen: Today
Age: 24
From: The Ghetto, AR
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Are you on wifi?
United States  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-07-2012, 03:54 AM   #10
thread
Mad Warranty Voider
thread's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,229
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 28
From: Melbourne, Aus
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by T0mmy1977 View Post
Is it DSL? Comcast/cable gets you a good ping.
ADSL can be good... I get 20s to a lot of local gaming servers.

Mind you, I get about 120 to the US, maybe the OP is pinging Australia .
Australia  thread Folds For EOC!  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-07-2012, 07:39 PM   #11
justinsn95
Blow it up Lexx.
justinsn95's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,851
Last Seen: 11-27-2012
From: DFW
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Here's the results of the trace:

United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-08-2012, 03:38 PM   #12
Tomek
Just Monkeying Around
Tomek's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,421
Last Seen: Today
Age: 40
From: Vancouver
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The first hop is the time from your computer to the router in your house (or modem).

That looks normal, but the 2nd hop (from your router / modem) to the outside world is ****.

You will see a 50ms delay tacked on no matter where to try and go as you always, have to go through that router / gateway.

I'm guessing you are on A/DSL, so that's due to the distance you physically are from that gateway.

Call your provider's tech support and ask if 50ms in normal latency for their service within your proximity to the gateway.

Edit - just re-read your initial post. Where did the connection use to have 57ms ping to and then jumped to 110ms?

Also, do you have another computer to do the same test with?

Last edited by Tomek : 04-08-2012 at 04:25 PM.
Canada  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-08-2012, 04:44 PM   #13
prudhomb
NAVIDIA Rocks!!!!!!
prudhomb's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,477
Last Seen: 04-16-2014
From: Oahu
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Im happy with anything under 130. Pings aren't great when the signal has to travel 1/4 around the planet.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-09-2012, 07:50 PM   #14
killermodz
Its Christmas n July
killermodz's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,934
Last Seen: 04-18-2014
Age: 26
From: Dayton, TN
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Call your provider (looks like ATT from the sbcglobal hints) and try to get into higher up technical support. I'd make bets your running on an interleave profile (also called a noise profile). Running interleave can cause higher and erratic pings as the system compensates for error correction.

Log into your modem and post up some profile, level, and snr results if you can find them.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-22-2012, 05:13 PM   #15
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Jahova's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,699
Last Seen: 03-07-2014
From: United States
iTrader: 1 / 100%
http://speedtest.net/

Here is mine:
8ms, 24.17Mbps, 4.24Mbps - ComcastCable



Go and get your results from there. Maybe it will help explain.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking