EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Processors

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2012, 06:28 PM   #1
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
Senior Member
 
901-Memphis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florence, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 7,652
iTrader: 41 / 100%
updated: 965BE Temperature Issues

Picked up an Asrock 990FX EXTREME 3 and amd fx 4100 today. Also got 2x4 gb xms 1600 c9 and a hyper 212 plus. Anyone have insight on over clocking this combo before I put it together?

Looking for typical oc at what vcore.

Also what temperature monitor software are available for amd and what's max temps under load?
__________________
Intel i5 6600k @ 4.7 ghz w/1.375v
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
EVGA GTX 970 4GB SSC ACX 2.0 1455 boost clock
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev C. HSF
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT
2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
LITE-ON iHAS124-04, Corsair HX-520 PSU
Asus VS247H LED, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
PNY XLR8 CS2111 - 240 gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB



Last edited by 901-Memphis; 05-01-2012 at 08:46 PM.
Offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 06:44 PM   #2
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
usually Core temp, believe the Cpu temp only.

Your gonna have a handful of bios options. Pages worth

But that'll make for a good board.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 06:49 PM   #3
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Senior Member
 
Mr.Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Spencerport N.Y.
Age: 54
Posts: 12,429
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Quote:
usually Core temp, believe the Cpu temp only.
Huh??
__________________
Online  
Old 04-21-2012, 07:05 PM   #4
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
what I can't play around a little or what?
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 04-21-2012, 07:15 PM   #5
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Senior Member
 
Mr.Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Spencerport N.Y.
Age: 54
Posts: 12,429
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShrimpBrime View Post
what I can't play around a little or what?
You scare me sometimes.
__________________
Online  
Old 04-21-2012, 07:20 PM   #6
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Serious about everything else though. You can go buy the Cpu temperature only 901. No point in watching the cores unless your doing a long term burn in. Then the offset gets smaller and you can keep an eye on em.

But the 4100 is a pretty cool runner. 4.8ghz-5ghz is doable on liquid for 2/4/7.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 03:35 AM   #7
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
Senior Member
 
901-Memphis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florence, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 7,652
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I am going to be using the Hyper 212 Plus and sticking with that most likely. Wondering what the typical overclocks are before i need to start giving it more voltage. I would like to get the highest overclock while keeping the v-core safe and close to stock with the temperatures being under control.

Also still looking for the max temp under load on this thing, can't seem to locate it yet.

Additional Comment:


The Vid is 1.4125. I couldn't get 4.40 ghz 100% stable under Intel Burn test but its mostly stable. Right now trying to get Intel Burn test 10+ runs in 4.30 ghz @ 1.375 and if that works i will try 4.40 from there.
__________________
Intel i5 6600k @ 4.7 ghz w/1.375v
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
EVGA GTX 970 4GB SSC ACX 2.0 1455 boost clock
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev C. HSF
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT
2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
LITE-ON iHAS124-04, Corsair HX-520 PSU
Asus VS247H LED, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
PNY XLR8 CS2111 - 240 gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB



Last edited by 901-Memphis; 04-22-2012 at 06:24 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 06:34 AM   #8
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
I'm running one under stock air. your Hyper isn't doing any better.

Run this one at 4.4ghz 1.440v pretty stable. (My last one had a lower v-core for mhz)

You want to keep it under 70c, the TDP max is a little higher. http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Bulldo...20FX-4100.html

Naturally you can set the board for a lower temp.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 06:50 AM   #9
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Just run a Prime 1024m for you so you can see the temps. Stock cooling with Thermal Paste upgrade to Antec Formula 6 and stuffed in a HP case to top it all off.

I won't bother aiming higher with this cooling solution.

Oh and as a side note, my 565BE (which I sold ) did 550.353 secs at the same clock speed and 2 less cores.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FX-4100 WPrime 4.4ghz air 1024m.png
Views:	90
Size:	175.9 KB
ID:	163120  
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 08:30 AM   #10
Doglips
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Doglips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,034
iTrader: 12 / 100%
I've been running at 4.8ghz with 1.46v on water. Just added a second Rad and a GPU block last night and a my temps dropped quite a bit so need to work on pushing this chip higher. I had suicide runs of 5.3ghz when I first got the chip but settled in at 4.8ghz for a 24/7 oc.
__________________
Sabertooth FX4100 4.8 24/7
Mushkin Redlines
VisionTek 6970 2GB
Samsung830
WD150 V-Rapter
Seasonic X850
HAF 932/Custom Paint
Rasa/EK
MCR320QP/Coolgate140
Alphacool VPP655/MCRES
Samsung 27"SyncMaster
Acer 22"
Offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 08:57 AM   #11
DrGuns4Hands
Come on Piledriver
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Age: 26
Posts: 218
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Okay so I know prime 95, super pi 32m, and intel burn, what is prime 1024m for?
__________________
------------------------------------------------------
Offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 09:14 AM   #12
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGuns4Hands View Post
Okay so I know prime 95, super pi 32m, and intel burn, what is prime 1024m for?
It's a benchmark. Some of us are on teams and such just for benchmarking hardware. http://hwbot.org/
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 04-22-2012, 06:36 PM   #13
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
Senior Member
 
901-Memphis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florence, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 7,652
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Looks like im stable on intel burn test @ 4.40 ghz with 1.450 volts. Think i will stop there for now , its hitting 52C by my marks.
__________________
Intel i5 6600k @ 4.7 ghz w/1.375v
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
EVGA GTX 970 4GB SSC ACX 2.0 1455 boost clock
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev C. HSF
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT
2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
LITE-ON iHAS124-04, Corsair HX-520 PSU
Asus VS247H LED, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
PNY XLR8 CS2111 - 240 gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB


Offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 09:35 AM   #14
DarkFox
Semi-Pro Nerd
Senior Member
 
DarkFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Deltona, FL
Age: 32
Posts: 1,643
iTrader: 3 / 100%
what do you get for speed in gflops? Mine is stable just gets low results there. pretty much just slightly over a dual core it seems. Heres my wifes rig, also with a 212+ (non evo.)

Been meaning to go higher, just havent messed with it yet.



ignore core temps, they never worked right
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	jessica.jpg
Views:	374
Size:	491.6 KB
ID:	163134  
__________________
Gaming Rig:
Asus P8P67 WS Revolution
Intel I7 2600K @ 5Ghz
G.Skill 16gb DDR3 @ 1866Mhz
OCZ Vertex 3 120gb max IOPs edition, 1TB RAID 1
Custom watercooling
Buld Log Here

Media Rig:
Asus Maximus Formula
Intel E6850 @ 3.6; 6gb Corsar Dominator DDR2 @ 1066
2TB RAID 1
EVGA GT 520
Offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 05:53 PM   #15
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Nice volts! pretty low. It made me pump the multi to 4.6 at 1.44v and see how it handles it. I'll have no issues cause it never gets loaded up. Just sits here.....
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 04-24-2012, 03:04 AM   #16
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
Senior Member
 
901-Memphis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florence, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 7,652
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkFox View Post
what do you get for speed in gflops?
I get 15.44 gflops @ 4.40 ghz
__________________
Intel i5 6600k @ 4.7 ghz w/1.375v
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
EVGA GTX 970 4GB SSC ACX 2.0 1455 boost clock
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev C. HSF
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT
2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
LITE-ON iHAS124-04, Corsair HX-520 PSU
Asus VS247H LED, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
PNY XLR8 CS2111 - 240 gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB


Offline  
Old 04-24-2012, 05:12 AM   #17
DarkFox
Semi-Pro Nerd
Senior Member
 
DarkFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Deltona, FL
Age: 32
Posts: 1,643
iTrader: 3 / 100%
ok then its not just me. My buddys old core 2 quad is hitting like 30 something and my i7 hits 60+. I guess I just expected that little guy to do a little better.

The rig is good for what it does, really think AMD should have stuck to some naming convention where they didnt call work units "cores" and people wouldnt have come down on them so hard. The way they set themself up its like they took a last generation true quad core and people compare that to a 4100 which would be a lot closer to a dual core with hard ware version hyper threading. If they had just said something like that, at least people would have the more true expectation of that chip and it would be considered a very strong dual core instead of a very weak (marketing nightmare) quad core.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
Asus P8P67 WS Revolution
Intel I7 2600K @ 5Ghz
G.Skill 16gb DDR3 @ 1866Mhz
OCZ Vertex 3 120gb max IOPs edition, 1TB RAID 1
Custom watercooling
Buld Log Here

Media Rig:
Asus Maximus Formula
Intel E6850 @ 3.6; 6gb Corsar Dominator DDR2 @ 1066
2TB RAID 1
EVGA GT 520
Offline  
Old 04-24-2012, 05:29 AM   #18
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkFox View Post
ok then its not just me. My buddys old core 2 quad is hitting like 30 something and my i7 hits 60+. I guess I just expected that little guy to do a little better.

The rig is good for what it does, really think AMD should have stuck to some naming convention where they didnt call work units "cores" and people wouldnt have come down on them so hard. The way they set themself up its like they took a last generation true quad core and people compare that to a 4100 which would be a lot closer to a dual core with hard ware version hyper threading. If they had just said something like that, at least people would have the more true expectation of that chip and it would be considered a very strong dual core instead of a very weak (marketing nightmare) quad core.
Sorry I cannot agree....
It's not even a strong dual core. you can't make less transistors be faster processor even if they share cache. Just doesn't happen.

The New FX is a flop.

You can DL W7 updates for processor scheduling in the stickie. I added it, probably going to remove it....

Since threads can't be split in two, it's useless.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 04-25-2012, 11:06 PM   #19
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
Senior Member
 
901-Memphis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florence, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 7,652
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I didn't know anything about this but i am seeing more and more now about the quad core thing. I guess i will need a processor upgrade in the future.

Had i known that i wouldn't have got it but it looks like i am stuck with it for now.

Does anyone know if AMD will be releasing any better compatible processors with my 990FX motherboard in the next 8-12 months?
__________________
Intel i5 6600k @ 4.7 ghz w/1.375v
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
EVGA GTX 970 4GB SSC ACX 2.0 1455 boost clock
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev C. HSF
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT
2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
LITE-ON iHAS124-04, Corsair HX-520 PSU
Asus VS247H LED, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
PNY XLR8 CS2111 - 240 gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB


Offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:02 AM   #20
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,255
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Supposed 8 core Phenom II cpu May be released, but it's all talk right now.

Any Phenom II processor would be an upgrade really. Heck Llano would be an upgrade and for a couple extra, it comes with a Gpu.....

Lemme put it this way Memph.... My Llano rig at 2.9ghz does a faster WPrime time than a 4.4ghz FX-4100. If you need a screen shot, I'll gladly post it. I didn't already cause the Cpu is really that bad and it's really hard to look at. But sad that a sub 3ghz APU clobbers the FX chips.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking