EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > General System Help & Questions

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2012, 05:49 PM   #1
dEaFTOLiGhT
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
First-Time Overclocker, System Unstable when RAM is 1 MHz over rated frequency

First post!

I'm new to overclocking (never tried it until the other night). Read through the clunk's, graysky, and wolfram beginner's guides and got a good idea of it. I was overclocking fine when it came to booting and temps, until I realized the system wasnt stable cause there would be jitters... mainly there would be huge FPS drops in 3dmark.

Anyway, I am doing it on my 4-year-old build:
E6750
4x1GB G.SKILL DDR2-800 RAM F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ (1.8-2.0V, 5-5-5-15)
Asus P5K-E WiFi AP mobo
EVGA GeForce 9800 GX2
COOLER MASTER Real Power Pro RS-750-ACAA-A1 750W Power Supply

Now this sounds like an entire noob question with a simple answer, but I have spent the last 2 hours googling and couldn't find one. I set my BIOS according to clunk's guide (http://www.clunk.org.uk/forums/overc...s-p5k-add.html). I set my ram timings manually to 5-5-5-15 and ram voltage to 1.8. I set my FSBRAM to a 1:1 ratio, for mine that is 333:667.

Here is the problem: When I overclock my FSB up to to 399 MHz, (DRAM 799 Mhz), I can benchmark in 3DMark and the FPS remains high and the final score raises. But as soon as I bring the FSB up one more interval to 400 MHz (DRAM 801 MHz), the FPS drops severely in 3Dmark, and the final score is about cut in half. The CPU score raises, but the SM2.0 and SM3.0 scores severly drop. Also I notice some jittering in the mouse, or trying to scroll down fast in a browser... which, according to what I've read, sounds just like basic symptoms of an unstable overclock.

I had started initially overclocking it far higher, to around 3.6 GHz, with boots, temps, and 8 hours of stress testing OK. I thought I had achieved a very successful overclock, but it was the 3DMark FPS that clued me that something was wrong.

Things I have tried:
I thought maybe it was the PCI-E bandwidth messing with the graphics card, although CPU-Z never said 1x instead of 16x. I tried setting the bandwidth to 100 and that did not help. I then set it back to auto, and tried increasing the RAM voltage to 1.9V. Did not help.
Before bringing the clock back down a notch, I went ahead and ran Memtest with the 400:801 set. I ran it overnight (about 7 hours) and had no errors.

I've heard of people getting to 3.6 and above with an E6750... Do I just need faster RAM? I know people clock their RAM faster than it's rated all the time, so I don't see how 1 Mhz over is causing the 3dmark score to immediately cut in half.

I'm pretty sure I've covered everything in excruciating detail, but if I'm forgetting anything, please let me know. Thank you!

Last edited by dEaFTOLiGhT; 04-26-2012 at 12:00 PM. Reason: Added RAM model # F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ
Offline  
Old 04-25-2012, 06:20 PM   #2
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,264
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Well you can try different voltages. 1.8v is a good starter voltage. You probably can safely push it up to 2.1v. Actively cooling ram helps keep it stable. So if it's getting pretty warm while you load it, putting a fan on it will help.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 01:03 AM   #3
dEaFTOLiGhT
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Increasing voltages haven't helped. Here is everything I tried tonight:

I tried changing the strap to 400, which brought the RAM down to 800 MHz instead of 801. Still had the choppiness. I then set the strap back to auto, but this time adjusted the timings to 6-6-6-12 instead of 5-5-5-15 (rated).
So with the timings at CL6, went ahead and tried the 3Dmark benchmark again and it ran smoothly.

So now I figured lowering the timings would allow me to clock up the FSB, and in turn push the RAM clock above 800. I tried 420:841, and then ran the benchmark. Immediately I could see the huge performance drop, so I rebooted and tried pushing the RAM voltage to 1.9V, but that didn't help. Set it back to 1.8V, and brought the FSB down to 410:821, then 405:811, then 402:805, and finally 401:803. Every one of these had the same severely reduced performance in the benchmark.

Just now, I set it back to 400:801 (while maintaining the CL6 timings), which worked earlier as I had mentioned... and oddly enough, I had the same poor performance issue on this run. I did not expect that at all, being that it worked a couple of hours ago.

So to recap, with 5-5-5-15 or 6-6-6-18 timings, 399:799 runs the benchmark smoothly, and 400:801 or anything above cuts it in half.

I have no idea what is causing this!

Additional Comment:

Adjusting the FSB strap to 333 hasn't helped either. Could it be possible that because I'm running a 9800GX2, the dual GPUs don't play nice with overclocking? Just a thought

Additional Comment:

bump. any other theories?

As soon as the RAM hits the rated speed or above, the graphics card performance diminishes immensely.

Additional Comment:

I just figured out for sure it's not the RAM. I set the RAM divider to 800, and set the FSB back to stock speed of 333, making the RAM run at 889 (333:889). The performance issue does not happen. So the RAM can be overclocked. So this means the performance issue with the graphics card only happens when the FSB is clocked to 400 and above. FSB<399, no graphics issue. FSB>=400, graphics performance issues and jittery computer. Does that shed any light on the issue?

Last edited by dEaFTOLiGhT; 05-01-2012 at 01:03 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:17 AM   #4
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 28
Posts: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by dEaFTOLiGhT View Post
Increasing voltages haven't helped. Here is everything I tried tonight:

I tried changing the strap to 400, which brought the RAM down to 800 MHz instead of 801. Still had the choppiness. I then set the strap back to auto, but this time adjusted the timings to 6-6-6-12 instead of 5-5-5-15 (rated).
So with the timings at CL6, went ahead and tried the 3Dmark benchmark again and it ran smoothly.

So now I figured lowering the timings would allow me to clock up the FSB, and in turn push the RAM clock above 800. I tried 420:841, and then ran the benchmark. Immediately I could see the huge performance drop, so I rebooted and tried pushing the RAM voltage to 1.9V, but that didn't help. Set it back to 1.8V, and brought the FSB down to 410:821, then 405:811, then 402:805, and finally 401:803. Every one of these had the same severely reduced performance in the benchmark.

Just now, I set it back to 400:801 (while maintaining the CL6 timings), which worked earlier as I had mentioned... and oddly enough, I had the same poor performance issue on this run. I did not expect that at all, being that it worked a couple of hours ago.

So to recap, with 5-5-5-15 or 6-6-6-18 timings, 399:799 runs the benchmark smoothly, and 400:801 or anything above cuts it in half.

I have no idea what is causing this!

Additional Comment:

Adjusting the FSB strap to 333 hasn't helped either. Could it be possible that because I'm running a 9800GX2, the dual GPUs don't play nice with overclocking? Just a thought

Additional Comment:

bump. any other theories?

As soon as the RAM hits the rated speed or above, the graphics card performance diminishes immensely.

Additional Comment:

I just figured out for sure it's not the RAM. I set the RAM divider to 800, and set the FSB back to stock speed of 333, making the RAM run at 889 (333:889). The performance issue does not happen. So the RAM can be overclocked. So this means the performance issue with the graphics card only happens when the FSB is clocked to 400 and above. FSB<399, no graphics issue. FSB>=400, graphics performance issues and jittery computer. Does that shed any light on the issue?
It could be that your mobo cannot handle the FSB being that high. Other than that I would make sure all power saving features are turned off. Do you have another PSU to test with?
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking