EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > General System Help & Questions

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2012, 04:56 AM   #1
bonez26
Running System Stock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: farminton, mi.
Age: 33
Posts: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
reboot problem new amd system

so i upgraded my PC last month and sense then i am having trouble rebooting it i only get on actual reboot per power down then it will not boot back up i have to push and hold the power button to power down then restart the PC

my system
gigabyte 990fxa ud3
amd fx 8120 all stock
g-skill sniper ddr 3 1866 2 x 4g
nzxt 850 w power supply
windows 7 home premium 64 bit

every thing elts is the same as before
every thing is stock no overclocking
anyone have any idea what is going on?
i will be taring it down today to add water cooling to the cpu and north bridge

thanks for your help
Offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 05:22 AM   #2
maxgull
fo mo yeers
Senior Member
 
maxgull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,158
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonez26 View Post
i only get on actual reboot per power down then it will not boot back up i have to push and hold the power button to power down then restart the PC
I am having a hard time understanding what the problem is.
It shuts down by itself?
It is OK if you power it down with the power button?
It wont reboot after shutdown?
It wont wake up from sleep mode?
Please explain (with punctuation please, it is helpful).
__________________
i7-930 4GHz
Refrigerated Water Cooling CPU Heatkiller 3.0
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Gigabyte 5970
12GB Kingston Hyper-X 1600
4x Seagate 750GB B'Cudas Short Stroked RAID0 ~350MB/sec
3x 24" Samsung in Eyefinity, Logitech G15, Ideazon Fang, G25 Wheel
Offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 09:27 AM   #3
bonez26
Running System Stock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: farminton, mi.
Age: 33
Posts: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
ya sorry i just realized i didn't explain this very well ill try again lol

no it dose not shut down by itself , when i restart it manually via start button it will restart and boot up fine but if i restart it again not powering down after the first restart, it will not reboot. i have to power it down via the power button then start it back up.

this is a 24/7 machine and i never power it down i just restart it i usually try to restart it once a week just to refresh every thing but with software, and utility updates often it gets restarted more often
Offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:01 AM   #4
indyrocker
If I had a warranty..
Senior Member
 
indyrocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denver, Co
Age: 30
Posts: 315
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I had a similar issue with my Crosshair V board and it was fixed by a bios update. Ever since I up dated to the 1301 bios it has not had the issue.
__________________
main rig:
motherboard: Z97 Sabertoth Mark 1
CPU: Core i5 4690k
Cooling: stock waiting on Custom Water loop
GPU: XFX R9 290x (waiting on XSPC Razor waterblock)
RAM: 8 gigs (2x 4 gig) Mushkin Stelth @ 2133
SSD: Samsung 840 evo 250 gig
HDD: Seagate barracuda 7200rpm 1tb
Case: Thermaltake Core X9
psu: Seasonic X-750 with cablemod replacement cables
Offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:15 AM   #5
bonez26
Running System Stock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: farminton, mi.
Age: 33
Posts: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
kewl thanks i didnt even think of that ther is a bios update for my board but the update dident show any thing to do with my particular setup so i dismised it but i will try that next week and see if that works

thanks again
Offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:26 AM   #6
maxgull
fo mo yeers
Senior Member
 
maxgull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,158
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Windows 7 default for the "soft" button (from the start menu) is "Sleep". If you are using the "soft" button, and haven't changed its function in "power management" in control panel, then it is just putting the computer to sleep. It is not waking up properly....

In your BIOS, look for the "sleep state" setting, it will either be S1 or S3, whichever it is (I'm guessing it is set s1), change it to the other.

You could reprogram the "soft" button to "shutdown" instead of "sleep" in the advanced power options.
__________________
i7-930 4GHz
Refrigerated Water Cooling CPU Heatkiller 3.0
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Gigabyte 5970
12GB Kingston Hyper-X 1600
4x Seagate 750GB B'Cudas Short Stroked RAID0 ~350MB/sec
3x 24" Samsung in Eyefinity, Logitech G15, Ideazon Fang, G25 Wheel
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:53 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking