EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Website Related Info (No Post Increase) > Official EOC Folding @ Home Team
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2012, 07:21 PM   #1
slider11
Got H2O?
slider11's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 312
Last Seen: 06-29-2014
Age: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
wu's not sending/uploading... shutdown problem

first off im having the issue of the computer randomly shutting down again. right now its happening every 5-10 minutes. ive checked all the power options and screensaver stuff and its all off. it freezes for about 3-5 seconds then restarts. it has done it while running fah while not while downloading stuff. it all seems to be random times. a motherboard is about to be used as a Frisbee.


and then i recently completed a 6903 wu and it said it failed to connect to the http or whatever to send.

[16:30:14] DynamicWrapper: Finished Work Unit: sleep=10000
[16:30:24]
[16:30:24] Finished Work Unit:
[16:30:24] - Reading up to 121622496 from "work/wudata_01.trr": Read 121622496
[16:30:28] trr file hash check passed.
[16:30:28] - Reading up to 108853476 from "work/wudata_01.xtc": Read 108853476
[16:30:31] xtc file hash check passed.
[16:30:31] edr file hash check passed.
[16:30:31] logfile size: 220043
[16:30:31] Leaving Run
[16:30:32] - Writing 230869007 bytes of core data to disk...
[16:56:37] Done: 230868495 -> 222498324 (compressed to 3.3 percent)
[17:12:09] ... Done.
[17:12:35] - Shutting down core
[17:12:35]
[17:12:35] Folding@home Core Shutdown: FINISHED_UNIT
[17:12:37] CoreStatus = 64 (100)
[17:12:37] Sending work to server
[17:12:37] Project: 6903 (Run 1, Clone 27, Gen 9)


[17:12:37] + Attempting to send results [April 3 17:12:37 UTC]
[19:12:54] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[19:12:54] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[19:12:54] (130.237.232.237:8080)
[19:12:54] + Retrying using alternative port

i have crappy slow internet where i am but i wouldnt think that would cause it to not send. also i have just downloaded langouste (per the guide) and it still isnt doing anything


also when i have the -bigadv tag on it sits at this and doesnt download a new wu

[23:40:22] Could not open work queue, generating new queue...
[23:40:22] - Preparing to get new work unit...
[23:40:22] Cleaning up work directory
[23:40:22] + Attempting to get work packet
[23:40:22] Passkey found
[23:40:22] - Connecting to assignment server
[23:40:23] - Successful: assigned to (130.237.232.237).
[23:40:23] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[23:40:23] Loaded queue successfully.


at this point id like to get the shutting down issue fixed first cause folding wont do crap if its in 5 minute intervals that i have to restart ubuntu.

any help is really appreciated right now
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-04-2012, 08:32 AM   #2
jimh425
Fold more - bark less
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,357
Last Seen: 12-18-2014
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If anything, langouste will make it harder to get it to work since you have to open a port. It didn't seem to provide any real ppd benefit, so I skipped that for now. I believe I read here that jmossman had an issue with it as well.

It is possible that the cpu or northbridge is getting hot. Do you have fans blowing on the northbridge/southbridge? Did you make sure you had the thermal paste installed well for the CPU? You can check the CPU temp by going into the CMOS/Bios and looking at what it says there. I'd try just leaving the system on without doing any work and see if it shutdowns. Have you downloaded/installed the updates for Ubuntu?

If you can't find anything wrong, I'd reinstall Ubuntu and resetup fah. Leave off langouste to start.

Additional Comment:

I thought of a couple of other things that could be causing the shutdown. ECC memory scrubbing and BMC watchdog timer. Both happen on a somewhat regular schedule. They both should be off/disabled.

Last edited by jimh425 : 04-04-2012 at 08:32 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  jimh425 Folds For EOC!  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-04-2012, 04:59 PM   #3
slider11
Got H2O?
slider11's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 312
Last Seen: 06-29-2014
Age: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
ok my ecc was set to 8 hours so i turned it off. ill see if that helps
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-04-2012, 06:43 PM   #4
jmossman
Evil or Divine?
jmossman's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 276
Last Seen: 09-19-2012
Age: 36
From: Ohio
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Sent a PM to slider11 about this but figured I would add a note here on what I think it was. Think it was the kernel he was running, it's my best guess anyway. Any kernel other than 2.6.35-22-generic will crash folding constantly. Really wish they would update something on this it's been over 3 months since this problem started. So just info for anyone having trouble with this in the future, just smash the shift key during startup and grub manager will open where you select the kernel you want. Select 2.6.35-22-generic and this problem should go away.

There are other ways around this too. I just googled around and found some commands to set what kernel I wanted loaded at startup. However I lost the link and only got 2 computers setup with it so it is still an annoying problem on reboots.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-26-2012, 02:55 PM   #5
jimh425
Fold more - bark less
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,357
Last Seen: 12-18-2014
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I wrote this up since my 4p started failing tonight and I noticed I wasn't using 2.6.35-22. YMMV.

1. Determine where the grub menuentry count where 2.6.35-22 is starting at 0. (In my case, it was 2.)
nano /boot/grub/grub.cfg
2. Edit the grub file change GRUB_DEFAULT to the number in step 1. (Ctrl+x to exit. Y to save.)
sudo nano /etc/default/grub
3. Update the grub.cfg file.
sudo update-grub
4. Reboot
sudo shutdown -r 0

Additional Comment:

Just fyi, guys at hardforum are talking about problems with your same server slider11.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1689149

Last edited by jimh425 : 04-26-2012 at 02:55 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  jimh425 Folds For EOC!  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-26-2012, 05:39 PM   #6
slider11
Got H2O?
slider11's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 312
Last Seen: 06-29-2014
Age: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i might give it a try this weekend.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-26-2012, 06:59 PM   #7
Maniac
You are Roger Smith
Maniac's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,571
Last Seen: 11-08-2014
Age: 29
From: MA, USA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by slider11 View Post
i might give it a try this weekend.
Any luck uploading SMP?
United States  Maniac Folds For EOC!  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-26-2012, 08:36 PM   #8
slider11
Got H2O?
slider11's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 312
Last Seen: 06-29-2014
Age: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
no it froze the pc at 10%
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2012, 05:49 AM   #9
Maniac
You are Roger Smith
Maniac's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,571
Last Seen: 11-08-2014
Age: 29
From: MA, USA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by slider11 View Post
no it froze the pc at 10%
processing or uploading?
United States  Maniac Folds For EOC!  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2012, 05:52 AM   #10
slider11
Got H2O?
slider11's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 312
Last Seen: 06-29-2014
Age: 25
iTrader: 0 / 0%
no the whole computer froze. no response from keyboard or mouse and it hadnt had any activity on fah for about 8 hours. it seems to like to freeze or shut down right after i look at it or leave... conveniently. i had thought that problem was solved but apparently it wasnt.

im gonna mess around with it this weekend. probably a full reinstall since i dont want windows and i havent been able to do ext3 with the dual boot which might be causing some problems
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2012, 07:32 AM   #11
jmossman
Evil or Divine?
jmossman's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 276
Last Seen: 09-19-2012
Age: 36
From: Ohio
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I have no direct xp with this problem but recall many on folding forum talking of probs with ext4 partitions causing several hour hangs in uploading. Supposedly this is the reason for the ext3 partition. If you run an ext3 part and still have this issue I would definately make a post on FF and ask someone there. The mods usually aren't too much help, though they try. The members there usually have some really good advice. With a log they can figure out just about anything. I haven't been around much lately and only back in-state another day or two, but hate to hear you're having such bad luck man .

In fact this seems to be the only real cause of this type of uploading prob that I'm aware of though I'm sure there's a lot of things that could cause this. Hope you get it straightened out, and don't underestimate the FF! Gotten a ton of answers to my questions there.

Last edited by jmossman : 04-27-2012 at 07:39 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking