EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Power Supplies (PSUs)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2012, 07:10 AM   #1
rack04
Lebowski Achiever
Senior Member
 
rack04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Age: 35
Posts: 938
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Upgrades with older PSU?

I am planning to upgrade my current system with is powered by a Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520 watt power supply. My planned upgrade consists of:

Intel Core i5-3570K
ASRock Z77 Extreme6
EVGA GeForce GTX 680
Samsung 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Noctua NH-D14
5 x 120mm case fans
1 x 140mm case fan

Will this PSU be adequate for do I need to upgrade?
__________________
Motherboard: ASRock X99 Extreme4
Processor: Intel Core i7-5820K
Cooler: Corsair H105 w/ (4) EK-Vardar F3-120
Memory: 16GB (4x4GB) Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB SSC GAMING w/ACX 2.0+
Solid State Drive: Crucial M4 2.5" 128GB SATA III
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Power Supply: Corsair TX Series 650W ATX 80 Plus Bronze
Case: Fractal Design Arc Midi w/ (5) GELID FN-PX14-12
Offline  
Old 05-07-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
Nagoshi
Canuck Chicken Chaser
Senior Member
 
Nagoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drummondville QC
Age: 26
Posts: 10,362
iTrader: 20 / 100%
On the short side, Id say. My friend has an Antec 500W with a PhII X4 and a GTX560 Ti 448 (basically a GTX570) and under load the PSU starts blowing air like crazy. My Antec 620W was able to handle that load without any hiccup or increase in fan speed, tho.
__________________

New school!: 2500K @ 4.9 1.425v // Z68XP-UD3P
2x2GB G.Skill ECO 1600 7-8-7-24 // XFX HD6950 2GB
XFX 650W Core // Apogee XT + 19" x 30 passes condenser heatsink/4 fans + MCP655-B // CM Stacker 830/red Sickleflows
Force 3 60GB/300GB Velo/320GB AAKS/1TB 7200.12

Old school high-tea-pea-sea: E8500 @ 4322MHz (455x9.5) // P5Q Pro
2x2GB HyperX 1066 5-5-5-15 @ 1092 // HIS 6670 1GB
Antec HCGamer 620W // TT DuOrb + CM 360 // 1TB 7200.12

White netbook with an Apple sticker on it: Gateway LT2106h // Atom N450 1.67GHz // 1GB RAM 667 5-5-5-15
GMA 3150 // 10.1 LED 1024x600 // 80GB 7200.4 // W7 Ult
Offline  
Old 05-07-2012, 08:08 AM   #3
Odanez
I am Jean Luc Bacardi
Senior Member
 
Odanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bavaria
Age: 31
Posts: 7,283
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The GTX680 is not that hungry, you should be able to get away with that PSU. Just run the PSU calculator http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp with your setup to be sure. And if they recommend say 500W, a good 520W unit will work, but it will be a bit too close to be safe imo.
__________________
Offline  
Old 05-07-2012, 11:41 PM   #4
kow_ciller
A billion megahurtz
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 50
iTrader: 0 / 0%
As long as you aren't pushing the CPU or gpu to their limits you should be perfectly fine.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2012, 12:23 AM   #5
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 28
Posts: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
I am planning to upgrade my current system with is powered by a Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520 watt power supply. My planned upgrade consists of:

Intel Core i5-3570K
ASRock Z77 Extreme6
EVGA GeForce GTX 680
Samsung 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Noctua NH-D14
5 x 120mm case fans
1 x 140mm case fan

Will this PSU be adequate for do I need to upgrade?
If your dropping that much money on a new build then get a new 850w+ PSU. IMO whats another ~$150 to protect your new rig?
Offline  
Old 05-08-2012, 02:18 AM   #6
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
Senior Member
 
901-Memphis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florence, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 7,652
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Your looking at around 400 watts of load on that power supply. I have that same power supply and its capable of delivering its 520 watts all day long with 80%+ efficiency. It is an under rated unit. The similar Corsair HX-620 is build off the same design as the PCP&C 750w unit.

The HX-520 uses a Nippon Chemi-Con primary cap instead of the superior Hitachi unit found in the HX-620, but regardless you have enough head room if you can't afford a power supply.

I think you would be fine to use it until you get enough miles on that HX-520 to retire it.

I can't say for certain but i would have liked to see jonny guru load that HX-520 close to 550-575 watts and see how it handled it. Regardless they ran it at 520w with no ill effects.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story2&reid=18
__________________
Intel i5 6600k @ 4.7 ghz w/1.375v
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
EVGA GTX 970 4GB SSC ACX 2.0 1455 boost clock
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev C. HSF
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT
2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
LITE-ON iHAS124-04, Corsair HX-520 PSU
Asus VS247H LED, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
PNY XLR8 CS2111 - 240 gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB


Offline  
Old 05-08-2012, 04:58 AM   #7
Nagoshi
Canuck Chicken Chaser
Senior Member
 
Nagoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drummondville QC
Age: 26
Posts: 10,362
iTrader: 20 / 100%
OP, how old is your power supply? Aging will affect it a little over time and while the unit was able to hold 550W of juice when it was brand new, after a few years it most likely wont be able to anymore.
__________________

New school!: 2500K @ 4.9 1.425v // Z68XP-UD3P
2x2GB G.Skill ECO 1600 7-8-7-24 // XFX HD6950 2GB
XFX 650W Core // Apogee XT + 19" x 30 passes condenser heatsink/4 fans + MCP655-B // CM Stacker 830/red Sickleflows
Force 3 60GB/300GB Velo/320GB AAKS/1TB 7200.12

Old school high-tea-pea-sea: E8500 @ 4322MHz (455x9.5) // P5Q Pro
2x2GB HyperX 1066 5-5-5-15 @ 1092 // HIS 6670 1GB
Antec HCGamer 620W // TT DuOrb + CM 360 // 1TB 7200.12

White netbook with an Apple sticker on it: Gateway LT2106h // Atom N450 1.67GHz // 1GB RAM 667 5-5-5-15
GMA 3150 // 10.1 LED 1024x600 // 80GB 7200.4 // W7 Ult
Offline  
Old 05-08-2012, 05:53 PM   #8
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
Senior Member
 
901-Memphis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florence, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 7,652
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I have seen audio equipment including power units and amps go for over 15-20 years without capacitor degradation, i think its less of an effect than you would like to believe. Your not going to burn up that power supply with that setup unless it was already a bad unit. I wouldn't even be worried until it had 7 years on the odometer.
__________________
Intel i5 6600k @ 4.7 ghz w/1.375v
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
EVGA GTX 970 4GB SSC ACX 2.0 1455 boost clock
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev C. HSF
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT
2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
LITE-ON iHAS124-04, Corsair HX-520 PSU
Asus VS247H LED, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
PNY XLR8 CS2111 - 240 gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB


Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking