EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Power Supplies (PSUs)
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2012, 08:10 AM   #1
rack04
Lebowski Achiever
rack04's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 938
Last Seen: 03-25-2014
Age: 34
From: Houston, Texas
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Upgrades with older PSU?

I am planning to upgrade my current system with is powered by a Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520 watt power supply. My planned upgrade consists of:

Intel Core i5-3570K
ASRock Z77 Extreme6
EVGA GeForce GTX 680
Samsung 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Noctua NH-D14
5 x 120mm case fans
1 x 140mm case fan

Will this PSU be adequate for do I need to upgrade?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-07-2012, 08:59 AM   #2
Nagoshi
Canuck Chicken Chaser
Nagoshi's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 10,288
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 25
From: Drummondville QC
iTrader: 20 / 100%
On the short side, Id say. My friend has an Antec 500W with a PhII X4 and a GTX560 Ti 448 (basically a GTX570) and under load the PSU starts blowing air like crazy. My Antec 620W was able to handle that load without any hiccup or increase in fan speed, tho.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-07-2012, 09:08 AM   #3
Odanez
I am Jean Luc Bacardi
Odanez's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,283
Last Seen: 12-11-2013
Age: 30
From: Bavaria
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The GTX680 is not that hungry, you should be able to get away with that PSU. Just run the PSU calculator http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp with your setup to be sure. And if they recommend say 500W, a good 520W unit will work, but it will be a bit too close to be safe imo.
Germany  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 12:41 AM   #4
kow_ciller
A billion megahurtz
Regular Member
 
Posts: 50
Last Seen: 12-15-2012
From: Texas
iTrader: 0 / 0%
As long as you aren't pushing the CPU or gpu to their limits you should be perfectly fine.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 01:23 AM   #5
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
DarkTower87's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 2,006
Last Seen: 07-10-2014
Age: 27
From: Florida
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by rack04 View Post
I am planning to upgrade my current system with is powered by a Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520 watt power supply. My planned upgrade consists of:

Intel Core i5-3570K
ASRock Z77 Extreme6
EVGA GeForce GTX 680
Samsung 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Noctua NH-D14
5 x 120mm case fans
1 x 140mm case fan

Will this PSU be adequate for do I need to upgrade?
If your dropping that much money on a new build then get a new 850w+ PSU. IMO whats another ~$150 to protect your new rig?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 03:18 AM   #6
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,463
Last Seen: 12-14-2014
Age: 27
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Your looking at around 400 watts of load on that power supply. I have that same power supply and its capable of delivering its 520 watts all day long with 80%+ efficiency. It is an under rated unit. The similar Corsair HX-620 is build off the same design as the PCP&C 750w unit.

The HX-520 uses a Nippon Chemi-Con primary cap instead of the superior Hitachi unit found in the HX-620, but regardless you have enough head room if you can't afford a power supply.

I think you would be fine to use it until you get enough miles on that HX-520 to retire it.

I can't say for certain but i would have liked to see jonny guru load that HX-520 close to 550-575 watts and see how it handled it. Regardless they ran it at 520w with no ill effects.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story2&reid=18
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 05:58 AM   #7
Nagoshi
Canuck Chicken Chaser
Nagoshi's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 10,288
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 25
From: Drummondville QC
iTrader: 20 / 100%
OP, how old is your power supply? Aging will affect it a little over time and while the unit was able to hold 550W of juice when it was brand new, after a few years it most likely wont be able to anymore.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 06:53 PM   #8
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,463
Last Seen: 12-14-2014
Age: 27
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I have seen audio equipment including power units and amps go for over 15-20 years without capacitor degradation, i think its less of an effect than you would like to believe. Your not going to burn up that power supply with that setup unless it was already a bad unit. I wouldn't even be worried until it had 7 years on the odometer.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking