EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Processors
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2012, 07:16 AM   #1
CartoonMania
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Last Seen: 05-09-2012
E4500 FSB 230 max

Hi.

I have an overclocking question.

I overclocked my intel E4500 dual core processor with 2200 Mhz to 2500 Mhz.
There is no option for changing the multiplier in the bios so I guess it's fixed to 11.
After I change the FSB to 235 computer starts with black screen but when i restart it changes the FSB back to 200 and starts normally.
FSB 230 is an upper limit it seems.
The temperature on 2500 Mhz doesn't go above 60 as I checked loading it with Prime95 and measuring temp with Core Temp program.
The processor is cooled by intel stock cooler.
I'm planning on putting additional vents inside.
It seems I have room for two additional.
Is that a good idea?

I wonder if there is a way of overclockin it more without it restarting my bios settings.

Thanks for the answers.
Croatia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 08:38 AM   #2
b1lk1
Spiral out....
b1lk1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,560
Last Seen: 12-10-2014
Age: 46
iTrader: 26 / 100%
You need to post your system specs. No way to suggest where to start without knowing what motherboard you have.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 08:46 AM   #3
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
DarkTower87's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 2,006
Last Seen: 07-10-2014
Age: 27
From: Florida
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
You need to post your system specs. No way to suggest where to start without knowing what motherboard you have.
+1. We need mobo, psu, hdd, ram, etc. You will not get too far on the stock cooler. The case fans are a good idea but a hyper 212+ cooler or better is best.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 09:01 AM   #4
CartoonMania
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Last Seen: 05-09-2012
Ok.

The processor is Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 2200Mhz.
The motherboard is MSI MS-7267.
Chipset is Intel 945GC (Lakeport-GC) + ICH7.
Memory is 1024 MB DDR2 Power Quotient International
Drive is Serial ATA Hitachi with 160 GB.
Graphics card is integrated Intel GMA950 128 MB.
Croatia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 09:03 AM   #5
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
DarkTower87's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 2,006
Last Seen: 07-10-2014
Age: 27
From: Florida
iTrader: 22 / 100%
What OS? 1 GB of RAM is pretty low. You might see more of a speed increase by upgrading to at least 2 - 4gb.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 09:11 AM   #6
CartoonMania
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Last Seen: 05-09-2012
Thank you for the answer.
The OS is windows XP service pack 3.
Buying additional hardware is not an option for me at the moment.
I'm looking for a cheap and easy way to increase computer performance.
I tried some fixes from the internet like increasing the page file, freeing up ram etc.
There is some improvement but I'm looking to speed up more.
Is there a way without hardware purchase?

Thanks
Croatia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 09:26 AM   #7
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
DarkTower87's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 2,006
Last Seen: 07-10-2014
Age: 27
From: Florida
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by CartoonMania View Post
Thank you for the answer.
The OS is windows XP service pack 3.
Buying additional hardware is not an option for me at the moment.
I'm looking for a cheap and easy way to increase computer performance.
I tried some fixes from the internet like increasing the page file, freeing up ram etc.
There is some improvement but I'm looking to speed up more.
Is there a way without hardware purchase?

Thanks
Other than new hardware there is this...
http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=363040
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 09:34 AM   #8
CartoonMania
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Last Seen: 05-09-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkTower87 View Post
Other than new hardware there is this...
http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=363040
OK. Thanks.
Croatia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 09:55 AM   #9
b1lk1
Spiral out....
b1lk1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,560
Last Seen: 12-10-2014
Age: 46
iTrader: 26 / 100%
AFter looking up that board I would say that you have about maxed out that setup at 230FSB. Even that is pushing it for that motherboard so enjoy what you can get. I would agree that saving for 2GB of ram total is the best possible upgrade for you.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-08-2012, 01:22 PM   #10
kow_ciller
A billion megahurtz
Regular Member
 
Posts: 50
Last Seen: 12-15-2012
From: Texas
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You could always try to do a BSEL mod or a hard mod on the board for voltage along with using setfsb in windows to raise your clockspeed.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-09-2012, 06:40 AM   #11
CartoonMania
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Last Seen: 05-09-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kow_ciller View Post
You could always try to do a BSEL mod or a hard mod on the board for voltage along with using setfsb in windows to raise your clockspeed.

Ok.

What is a BSEL mode and how would I perform this procedure?
Croatia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-09-2012, 07:10 AM   #12
b1lk1
Spiral out....
b1lk1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,560
Last Seen: 12-10-2014
Age: 46
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by kow_ciller View Post
You could always try to do a BSEL mod or a hard mod on the board for voltage along with using setfsb in windows to raise your clockspeed.
Did you even take 1 second of your time to check the specs of his parts to see that not only his board does not support FSB CPUs over 800, but it is entry level and would likely be nearly impossible to get a higher FSB considering it is a P945 chipset. Big swing and a miss...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CartoonMania View Post
Ok.

What is a BSEL mode and how would I perform this procedure?
Your motherboard cannot handle the 1066FSB that the BSEL mod would force it to run. You could try clockgen, but that board is just not meant for overclocking, never mind the rest of your hardware. Other than optimizing your OS and raising the FSB to the 230 that it seems to allow you, you have pretty much maxxed out what your PC will allow in terms of overclocking.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-09-2012, 08:02 AM   #13
CartoonMania
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Last Seen: 05-09-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Did you even take 1 second of your time to check the specs of his parts to see that not only his board does not support FSB CPUs over 800, but it is entry level and would likely be nearly impossible to get a higher FSB considering it is a P945 chipset. Big swing and a miss...



Your motherboard cannot handle the 1066FSB that the BSEL mod would force it to run. You could try clockgen, but that board is just not meant for overclocking, never mind the rest of your hardware. Other than optimizing your OS and raising the FSB to the 230 that it seems to allow you, you have pretty much maxxed out what your PC will allow in terms of overclocking.
Ok. Thanks.
Croatia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-09-2012, 01:22 PM   #14
kow_ciller
A billion megahurtz
Regular Member
 
Posts: 50
Last Seen: 12-15-2012
From: Texas
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Did you even take 1 second of your time to check the specs of his parts to see that not only his board does not support FSB CPUs over 800, but it is entry level and would likely be nearly impossible to get a higher FSB considering it is a P945 chipset. Big swing and a miss...
I've had success doing BSEL mods on Dell OEM boards that only "support" 800fsb. Worst-case he can take it off. Its not like he's doing a soldering mod.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking