EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Video Cards, TV Tuners, Monitors > nVidia
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2012, 11:17 AM   #21
k |{z
Extreme Overclocker
k |{z's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,756
Last Seen: 07-18-2014
Age: 30
From: OP, KS
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by hostage67 View Post
Well... depends on what you are doing exactly.

Keep in mind that while a 690 will give great processing power, it won't increase the usable ram. You are still limited to only 2gb's of VRam.

If you are running a single monitor then frankly you probably only need a single 680 making the 690 mostly worthless to you unless you are after 120hz.

If you are running Surround video (5760x1080) then the extra processing power will definitely be worthwhile. On the other hand, you also could be running out of VRam, making the 680 4gb versions more ideal, but realistically with just a few tweaks mostly to MSAA you can drop your vram usage down below the 2gb limit of the 690 making it a viable option still.

So in short with a 690 or 2gb 680 you may not be able to run every setting at absolute max, but you can get pretty close. If you just absolutely must run the maximum settings then you should really be looking at the 4gb version of the 680 as that is really the only way to do it without hitting the memory cap.
Yeah I think I'm going to get the 4gb 680 and call it good. Should I need more power for nv surround, I might later invest in another 680 and will be glad I have overhead.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-09-2012, 11:58 AM   #22
WordMasterRice
Caffeine Addict
WordMasterRice's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,472
Last Seen: 08-23-2014
Age: 26
From: Henrietta, NY
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by k |{z View Post
Yeah I think I'm going to get the 4gb 680 and call it good. Should I need more power for nv surround, I might later invest in another 680 and will be glad I have overhead.
I have thought about doing the step-up to the 4 gig but to be honest my surround setup (1920x1200 x 3) is buttery smooth in BF3 so I don't really think I see a need. Not to mention I don't really like surround anyway hah.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-10-2012, 04:04 PM   #23
k |{z
Extreme Overclocker
k |{z's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,756
Last Seen: 07-18-2014
Age: 30
From: OP, KS
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by WordMasterRice View Post
I have thought about doing the step-up to the 4 gig but to be honest my surround setup (1920x1200 x 3) is buttery smooth in BF3 so I don't really think I see a need. Not to mention I don't really like surround anyway hah.
yeah to be honest, I don't like surround in most games. it makes me dizzy lol.

Additional Comment:

tigerdirect has the evga 4gb superclocked gtx 670's in stock so I just bought one. it was $489, but the reviews of the 670 show that with a light overclock it's faster than a stock gtx680. plus with 4gb of vram, it'll be good for my nvidia 2d surround and is still $200+ cheaper than the 4gb ftw version of the gtx680.

woot. just sucks that it'll get here while i'm on the east coast for a business trip all next week

Last edited by k |{z : 05-10-2012 at 04:04 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-10-2012, 04:17 PM   #24
hostage67
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,231
Last Seen: 12-14-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by k |{z View Post
yeah to be honest, I don't like surround in most games. it makes me dizzy lol.

Additional Comment:

tigerdirect has the evga 4gb superclocked gtx 670's in stock so I just bought one. it was $489, but the reviews of the 670 show that with a light overclock it's faster than a stock gtx680. plus with 4gb of vram, it'll be good for my nvidia 2d surround and is still $200+ cheaper than the 4gb ftw version of the gtx680.

woot. just sucks that it'll get here while i'm on the east coast for a business trip all next week
Well... That appears to be a pre-order, they aren't currently available.

Looks like you're at a 967mhz vs 1110mhz for the Core clock speed. And it looks like they've disabled a few of the shaders and processor units. Overall may not be a bad compromise if they can actually keep these cards in stock.

Personally I think I will still wait for the 4gb FTW 680 edition, but the 670 superclocked don't look like a bad alternative. And you are looking at about a $140 different between the two. The 670 I think would be better price/performance if that's what you are after.

Here's a pretty good review to compare the 670, 680, and 7970
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...view,3200.html

Last edited by hostage67 : 05-10-2012 at 04:29 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-10-2012, 04:25 PM   #25
k |{z
Extreme Overclocker
k |{z's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,756
Last Seen: 07-18-2014
Age: 30
From: OP, KS
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by hostage67 View Post
Well... That appears to be a pre-order, they aren't currently available.

Looks like you're at a 967mhz vs 1110mhz for the Core clock speed. And it looks like they've disabled a few of the shaders and processor units. Overall may not be a bad compromise if they can actually keep these cards in stock.

Personally I think I will still wait for the 4gb FTW 680 edition, but the 670 superclocked don't look like a bad alternative. And you are looking at about a $140 different between the two. The 670 I think would be better price/performance if that's what you are after.
well nearly ever review of the gtx670 i've read today, the gtx670 with a light overclock beats the gtx680 (both reference cards) fairly easily. considering the price difference, it's a good deal to me. the 600 series seems to be a pretty healthy jump in performance from the 500 series.

and i should mention that i plan on getting a second one in the near future
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 07:01 AM   #26
skrilla316
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 534
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 34
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Holy shnikes, They're in stock too!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 07:15 AM   #27
Sephiroth
LOL M5
Sephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,754
Last Seen: 08-19-2014
Age: 26
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by k |{z View Post
well nearly ever review of the gtx670 i've read today, the gtx670 with a light overclock beats the gtx680 (both reference cards) fairly easily. considering the price difference, it's a good deal to me. the 600 series seems to be a pretty healthy jump in performance from the 500 series.

and i should mention that i plan on getting a second one in the near future
I couldn't believe the reviews when I saw them too. <10% difference for 20% off? That's pretty awesome.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 08:51 AM   #28
Urbanfox
Power
Urbanfox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,882
Last Seen: Today
Age: 28
From: Anaheim, CA
iTrader: 16 / 95%
OC... IN STOCK... for MSRP... within week of launch? WOW.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127675
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 06:28 PM   #29
Sephiroth
LOL M5
Sephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,754
Last Seen: 08-19-2014
Age: 26
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urbanfox View Post
OC... IN STOCK... for MSRP... within week of launch? WOW.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127675
so then WTF is with all the 680 product shortages?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 07:30 PM   #30
hostage67
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,231
Last Seen: 12-14-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
so then WTF is with all the 680 product shortages?
apparently they put them all into the 670's for some stupid reason. I'm guessing they don't want people to have the 680's for some reason because there was clearly enough stock to produce them, but they felt they were better off pushing the 670's instead.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 07:30 PM   #31
Urbanfox
Power
Urbanfox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,882
Last Seen: Today
Age: 28
From: Anaheim, CA
iTrader: 16 / 95%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
so then WTF is with all the 680 product shortages?
Well, there are a lot of people who think stock is fine, it's just that they are literally selling that fast.

I don't know about every retailer, but the Newegg business rep for the company I work for says that is NOT the case for them.

Who knows.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 08:59 PM   #32
k |{z
Extreme Overclocker
k |{z's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,756
Last Seen: 07-18-2014
Age: 30
From: OP, KS
iTrader: 8 / 100%
they probably looked at previous year's sales data and realized most people buy the bang for the buck card, which is usually the '70' series cards, so they put most of their stock into that card lol. just a guess
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 09:51 PM   #33
hostage67
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,231
Last Seen: 12-14-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by k |{z View Post
they probably looked at previous year's sales data and realized most people buy the bang for the buck card, which is usually the '70' series cards, so they put most of their stock into that card lol. just a guess
Ya, except they make more money on the 680, why in the world wouldn't they make sure that card had stock on release instead of waiting even longer for a lower performing card to put their stock into. Just seems like an odd choice to me. I'm clearly missing the logic.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2012, 11:45 PM   #34
k |{z
Extreme Overclocker
k |{z's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,756
Last Seen: 07-18-2014
Age: 30
From: OP, KS
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by hostage67 View Post
Ya, except they make more money on the 680, why in the world wouldn't they make sure that card had stock on release instead of waiting even longer for a lower performing card to put their stock into. Just seems like an odd choice to me. I'm clearly missing the logic.
depends. if they sell enough volume of 670's, they can make more money with it regardless of if the 680 has higher profit per unit. sometimes volume > ppu
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2012, 10:07 AM   #35
hostage67
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,231
Last Seen: 12-14-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by k |{z View Post
depends. if they sell enough volume of 670's, they can make more money with it regardless of if the 680 has higher profit per unit. sometimes volume > ppu
That's not really the question here, they are selling out either way. So is it better to sell out at a $400 price point, or a $600 price point using the exact same hardware?

Obviously the $600 is giving them a larger profit margin considering both cards have the exact same hardware, the 670 simply has a lower clock and some disabled shaders (disabled, but still physically present).

About the only thing that might make sense to me is that the 670 processors couldn't bin high enough for the 680, but if that's the case then getting the 670 just to overclock it to 680 speeds isn't going to work well.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2012, 10:24 AM   #36
Almost Tactf
DT770 Pushed By PA2v2
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,597
Last Seen: 02-12-2014
Age: 33
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Man.....I want a new card so bad, but for a single display at 1920X1080 there is no reason to upgrade my GTX 480 SLi.....
Aauria Hibedi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2012, 12:10 PM   #37
hostage67
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,231
Last Seen: 12-14-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almost Tactf View Post
Man.....I want a new card so bad, but for a single display at 1920X1080 there is no reason to upgrade my GTX 480 SLi.....
That just means you also need some extra monitors too
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2012, 01:09 PM   #38
k |{z
Extreme Overclocker
k |{z's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,756
Last Seen: 07-18-2014
Age: 30
From: OP, KS
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by hostage67 View Post
That's not really the question here, they are selling out either way. So is it better to sell out at a $400 price point, or a $600 price point using the exact same hardware?

Obviously the $600 is giving them a larger profit margin considering both cards have the exact same hardware, the 670 simply has a lower clock and some disabled shaders (disabled, but still physically present).

About the only thing that might make sense to me is that the 670 processors couldn't bin high enough for the 680, but if that's the case then getting the 670 just to overclock it to 680 speeds isn't going to work well.
trust me, they aren't stupid. they look at how many of each card they sold the previous years, along with the profit they made on each, and come up with a weighted ratio of models to produce for maximum profit. they would be crazy not to utilize simple statistics to keep their profit at the bleeding edge of the green.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2012, 03:24 PM   #39
hostage67
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,231
Last Seen: 12-14-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by k |{z View Post
trust me, they aren't stupid. they look at how many of each card they sold the previous years, along with the profit they made on each, and come up with a weighted ratio of models to produce for maximum profit. they would be crazy not to utilize simple statistics to keep their profit at the bleeding edge of the green.
I think you are missing the point...

They clearly have a very limited number of cards being produced at the moment. So lets just give that a number so we can quantify it. Lets say they are producing 1,000 cards a week. Each week the entire 1,000 cards gets sold.

1,000 x $400 = $400,000 (GTX 670)
1,000 x $600 = $600,000 (GTX 680)

doing the simple math that's $200,000 they are losing each week, production costs are the same between the two since they are physically identical cards, the 670 simply has portions disabled. That being the case the numbers simply don't add up. Why would a company purposely sell at a lower profit margin.

What you are saying about the weighted ratio's only make sense if they have enough stock to fill the orders. But when stock is in short supply those numbers are no longer relevant since you are guaranteed to sell 100% of your stock regardless, the question is simply at what price point.

Last edited by hostage67 : 05-12-2012 at 08:13 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2012, 05:25 PM   #40
Sephiroth
LOL M5
Sephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,754
Last Seen: 08-19-2014
Age: 26
iTrader: 14 / 100%
I'm with you hostage.

The cores are identical in size, it's no cheaper to make a 670 die than it is a 680 die.

Given this there are only two possibile conclusions;
Nvidia is artifically creating supply issues
or
They're having stable yield issues with all 8 clusters enabled, and the 670's are disabled versions of the failed units.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:14 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking