EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Software Discussion > Linux, BSD, Alternative OS's

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2013, 11:44 AM   #1
~Dad
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
~Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Age: 62
Posts: 756
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Trying to install Linux......

I'm going to install Linux (prob Ubuntu) on an old 17 inch Toshiba laptop with a dual core Celeron at 1.7 G. I down-loaded Ubuntu to a thumb drive, only to fine the Toshiba wouldn't accept a USB boot. No problem...., I'll down load to a CD. Apparently, that s/b CDs, as in the plural. Will the whole install fit on a single DVD? I'll pick up a pack on my way home today.

Before I pull the trigger on this install though, let me beg a bit of advice. This rig has a 10 y/o copy of Fedora on it, an enterprise edition at that I'm told it's BIG and SLOW and a resource hog. I'm looking for something lighter because of the old processor. I also intend on installing either Xfce or LXDE as a desktop environment, as the owner knows nothing about Linux (nor do I) and needs a DE to use it.

I know everyone has their own favorite combination, but is there an obvious problem with this choice or an obviously better choice for this application? He's going to use it with a digital pad (Wacum) to draw with.
__________________
Offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 07:23 PM   #2
AdamV
Green Machine
Senior Member
 
AdamV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 296
iTrader: 0 / 0%
ubuntu is 753mb. Im assuming this is the max limit of a CD-R (700mb) and has to be put onto a DVD.

I honestly think any ubuntu version passed 10.10 is a hog and seems slow to me.
__________________
Offline  
Old 01-11-2013, 10:15 PM   #3
jimh425
Fold more - bark less
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,456
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The live CD is larger I believe. You need to go to the distro locations to get one without the live install.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.2 - Z87 MSI Gaming-G45, Gigabyte G1 GTX 970 x 2 (sli) on air
6172 (2.1) x 4, 48 cores - Supermicro 4p, 6272 (2.1) x 4, 64 cores - Tyan 4p, 6180 SE (2.5) x 2, 24 cores - Asus 2p

Folding:

Offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 11:03 AM   #4
~Dad
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
~Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Age: 62
Posts: 756
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Thanks. Read all night and I think I'll do LUBUNTU. I thought about doing Ububtu Studio because it'd optimized towards the arts, but the source reported a lot of loose ends. It seems like much the same thing so shouldn't be too much of a chore to change if needed.

I've looked and read for the last week and still can't answer one question. Is there any Linux distro that, after initial setup, can run entirely from a desktop environment? If not, is there any distro and DE combination that is nearly able to do so?

I'll learn Linux, but fixing old machines for old people, I just don't think changing from Windows to any kind of CLI is going to work.
__________________
Offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 12:02 PM   #5
lundrog
Turbo VMware Nerd.
Senior Member
 
lundrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 402
iTrader: 1 / 100%
opensuse is also a good option.
__________________
Roger Lund - Turbo VMware Nerd.
Intel I7 3930k in Thermaltake 2.0 extreme water AIO push config
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme EATX Motherboard
Kingston HyperX Beast 64 GB Kit (8x8 GB) 2133MHz DDR3 PC3-17000 Non-ECC CL11 DIMM XMP Desktop Memory with Fan KHX21C11T3FK8/64X
3X EVGA GTX 980 SC Video Cards in SLI.
1X Samsung Electronics 840 EVO-Series 1TB 2x Crucial C400 128GB, 3x Samsung 840 pro Crucial C400 128GB drive.
2x Evga supernova 1300 g2 PSU
Corsair 900d case

Offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 01:35 PM   #6
jimh425
Fold more - bark less
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,456
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Ubuntu and I think most desktop installs don't require any command line commands. I think Ubuntu has by far the largest number of titles in their downloadble software library. You download ui software for most functionality.

If you have a PC that is capable of virtualization, install virtual box and try a few distros. They only need about 8 GB to install, and the VMS can easily be deleted when you are finished trying them out.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.2 - Z87 MSI Gaming-G45, Gigabyte G1 GTX 970 x 2 (sli) on air
6172 (2.1) x 4, 48 cores - Supermicro 4p, 6272 (2.1) x 4, 64 cores - Tyan 4p, 6180 SE (2.5) x 2, 24 cores - Asus 2p

Folding:

Offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 02:01 PM   #7
~Dad
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
~Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Age: 62
Posts: 756
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimh425 View Post
If you have a PC that is capable of virtualization, install virtual box and try a few distros. They only need about 8 GB to install, and the VMS can easily be deleted when you are finished trying them out.

I've been thinking of doing just this. VMS is the name of the program or a class of programs? Essentially, I create a virtual system within my system? Like a sandbox? Any suggestions w/b appreciated!! I will learn CLI as well, but I'd like something that I could bring up and play with while I learn.
__________________
Offline  
Old 01-12-2013, 02:45 PM   #8
jimh425
Fold more - bark less
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,456
iTrader: 0 / 0%
VMS is a system but that isn't what I meant. I meant more than one vm (virtul machine). It is sandboxing or allowing one system to act like more than one.

Go to virtualbox.org, download, and install. Then, start it, they have a wizard that walks you through step by step to create/install a vm. I'm assuming you've already dowloaded an iso. You just need to point to that iso and follow instructions on the screen.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.2 - Z87 MSI Gaming-G45, Gigabyte G1 GTX 970 x 2 (sli) on air
6172 (2.1) x 4, 48 cores - Supermicro 4p, 6272 (2.1) x 4, 64 cores - Tyan 4p, 6180 SE (2.5) x 2, 24 cores - Asus 2p

Folding:

Offline  
Old 01-15-2013, 09:01 PM   #9
Stratman
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Stratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis U S A
Age: 57
Posts: 447
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I just installed Linux Mint 14 on my system, and so far I am liking it. I am doing a triple boot with Win 7, XP, and Mint. I was having no luck getting Mint to boot until I downloaded the new version of EasyBCD, then Mint booted up just fine.
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking