EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Software Discussion > Multimedia & Codecs
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 08:11 PM   #1
Urbanfox
Consigliere
Urbanfox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,977
Last Seen: Today
Age: 28
From: Anaheim, CA
iTrader: 16 / 95%
Encoding software that uses 4 full cores + AMD GPU?

Anyone know of a video converter that will use my entire CPU + at least some of my 7970?

I heard great thinks about Media Espresso, but it only uses 60-75% of my CPU and only 10-12% of my GPU.
United States  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-08-2013, 08:14 PM   #2
lundrog
Turbo VMware Nerd.
lundrog's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 388
Last Seen: 11-10-2014
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urbanfox View Post
Anyone know of a video converter that will use my entire CPU + at least some of my 7970?

I heard great thinks about Media Espresso, but it only uses 60-75% of my CPU and only 10-12% of my GPU.
5 Multi Threaded Free Video Converters for Faster Conversion


helps?

EDIT, similar topic at [H]

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1713820
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-09-2013, 06:55 PM   #3
Urbanfox
Consigliere
Urbanfox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,977
Last Seen: Today
Age: 28
From: Anaheim, CA
iTrader: 16 / 95%
First link is *'d out.

Only viable one is HB but it doesn't support the format I need.

TY, though.
United States  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-09-2013, 10:59 PM   #4
Tomek
Just Monkeying Around
Tomek's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,433
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 41
From: Vancouver
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urbanfox View Post

I heard great thinks about Media Espresso, but it only uses 60-75% of my CPU and only 10-12% of my GPU.
Perhaps you are experiencing a bottleneck due to the read or write drive's performance.

(especially true if you are not using independent read and write drives)
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 12:42 PM   #5
Urbanfox
Consigliere
Urbanfox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,977
Last Seen: Today
Age: 28
From: Anaheim, CA
iTrader: 16 / 95%
Video is on SSD writing to 2x Raid 0.
United States  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-11-2013, 12:03 AM   #6
Tomek
Just Monkeying Around
Tomek's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,433
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 41
From: Vancouver
iTrader: 0 / 0%
try it the other way around. I imagine the SSD will have a faster write speed
(which is moreoften the bottleneck)

Also check you write drives' performance meters while performing the rendering.

If it's at 100% then you know that's the bottleneck.

Cheers, T
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-14-2013, 12:57 PM   #7
Urbanfox
Consigliere
Urbanfox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,977
Last Seen: Today
Age: 28
From: Anaheim, CA
iTrader: 16 / 95%
They are just 1.5-2GB 1080P videos, so I'd be hard pressed to imagine it's an I/O problem, but I'll check tonight.

Additional Comment:

Nope, no queue length or anything.

Bah.

Additional Comment:

I'm just going to assume that outside of HB (which doesn't have the format I want) and professional software (which is too expensive) that using 100% of my CPU is just out of the question at this point.

Last edited by Urbanfox : 01-14-2013 at 12:57 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-04-2013, 08:33 PM   #8
ORL
Bring on the Liquid
ORL's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,121
Last Seen: 10-03-2014
From: Missouri
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Build a RAM disk and try again before you give up, also set the process as high priority.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-04-2013, 10:03 PM   #9
jmilch
Overqwocker
jmilch's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,067
Last Seen: 06-04-2014
From: Michigan
iTrader: 53 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ORL View Post
Build a RAM disk and try again before you give up, also set the process as high priority.
I was thinking the same thing... 6 gigs or so of ramdisk would be nice and fast...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-05-2013, 06:20 AM   #10
ORL
Bring on the Liquid
ORL's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,121
Last Seen: 10-03-2014
From: Missouri
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yep, it will remove any bottle neck storage wise. It is the fastest median of storage possible and not only destroys and buries the speed of an SSD, it makes you want to never use a platter again...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-14-2013, 12:31 PM   #11
Urbanfox
Consigliere
Urbanfox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,977
Last Seen: Today
Age: 28
From: Anaheim, CA
iTrader: 16 / 95%
There isn't a storage bottleneck. Drives usage is extremely low and there is no queue length at all.

Additional Comment:

http://www.xilisoft.com/***************.html

Still won't use 4 cores and GPU-Z isn't showing a load despite using a codec for the AMD APP, but noticeably faster than anything else I've tried in case anyone is looking for something similar.

Additional Comment:

....

http://www.xilisoft.com/video- converter.html

Last edited by Urbanfox : 02-14-2013 at 12:31 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking