EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Memory
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2013, 12:17 PM   #1
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
3770K Memory questions.

I'm curious about getting my PC-14900 to 1200mhz effective clocks. I can't get a good boot with my Mushkins at this speed. But I think it wants to? Or I want it too at least.

Just curious if any one here has some advice for running DDR3 2400 with my current Ram sticks.

I'm running a kit very similar to these here.... http://www.mushkin.com/Memory/Redline/997008.aspx

They hump good at 1100mhz 1.65v 10-11-10-28-37 1T.

Will changing the Command rate to 2T help any?

What Ram voltages are safe with my i7 3770K? I've heard rumors that volting more than 1.65v is dangerous?

Help is appreciated! Thanks ~ ShrimpBrime~!

Additional Comment:

Let me further update real quick..

Tried multiple settings failing in a blue screen WXP home SP2 no other updates everthing seems fine tested at 1100 as stated.

I have tried Cas 10-12-11-32.... Cas 11-11-11-36.... Cas 12 x x x won't even post...

can 9 won't post. Cas 10 and 11 will start posting windows and Blue screens...

I'm close.

Last edited by ShrimpBrime : 02-17-2013 at 12:17 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 12:27 PM   #2
_DOM_
Overclocker
_DOM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 418
Last Seen: 09-21-2013
Age: 29
iTrader: 4 / 100%
seems you hitting the wall on them already you can try 2T

and i just use 1.65v for everyday use
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 03:44 PM   #3
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
1.75v wouldn't be ok?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 04:11 PM   #4
_DOM_
Overclocker
_DOM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 418
Last Seen: 09-21-2013
Age: 29
iTrader: 4 / 100%
i cant say for sure if its safe, i run 1.65v ram and its stock is 2x4GB kit 2400Mhz and 4x4BG kit 1600Mhz thats 1.5v

have you thought about just buying new ram ? for a higher stock speed ?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 04:43 PM   #5
EMU
Gold Member
EMU's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,758
Last Seen: Today
Age: 33
From: NYC
iTrader: 15 / 100%
I remember reading a thread about QPI/VTT voltage to Vdimm delta needing to be no greater than .45v... If you want to run a higher Vdimm, you need more QPI/VTT to stabilize the OC... I will try to find the source. There was a big discussion about it at XS.

Some good info:
http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=18444463
http://www.overclockers.com/memory-o...ide-ivy-bridge
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...Guide-Included)
There is a lot of good info on the XS link... it makes a great read if you have time.


Im running currently at 1.7v at 2200mhz, 8-9-8-24 1t... I have no option to adjust my VCCIO (QPI/VTT), so I am not planning to go higher on my motherboard. ( I have tried up to 1.9v though, and had no increase). Basically, the VTT is too low to actually use any increase in speed on the modules.

Last edited by EMU : 02-17-2013 at 05:16 PM.
Netherlands  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 05:54 PM   #6
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Oooh those are handy links! Great info on the QPI/VTT voltage. I didn't even think of messing with that.

The board at 2600mhz has extreme and optimization preset profiles for running those speeds. The only bummer is that I can't see these timings unless the board posts, which it doesn't lol..

From what I've read so far, 1.75v for extreme clocks like 3000, but I'm far from that speed.

I gotta double check the Ram voltage. Positive it's at 1.650v now, I wonder if a small bump would help.

Just don't want to fry anything ya know!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 06:25 PM   #7
EMU
Gold Member
EMU's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,758
Last Seen: Today
Age: 33
From: NYC
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Do you know what the IC's are on the modules? In general from what I have read, DDR3 modules are ok on air to about 1.85v (with good airflow directed on them). Some modules don't really have any increase in performance from 1.65v, some do...

You can see this voltage scaling chart of the G.Skill 2400 mem...

from: http://www.ocaholic.ch/xoops/html/mo...mid=795&page=3

I think that OCaholic tests all of its mem up to 1.75v from the reviews that I have seen... and most 2012 and newer includes voltage scaling charts...

The following link is voltage scaling of the 1600 Redline modules... I cant find much data for the 1866 modules that you have... The 2133 uses Hynix IC's...
http://www.microsofttranslator.com/B...436%26page%3D4

The only real data that I found on the 1866 modules:http://www.google.com/translate?lang...t_Review-23660


In regards to Vdimm voltage, I don't think that it is relative to speed... it is relative to the timings you are trying to run. As you can see in the voltage scaling on the image above (just used for reference), you can see how they posted multiple lines/timings and scaled them... I chose that image because it is very easy to convey the concept. I found when overclocking a used i7 920 that I had to increase the VTT considerably to gain stability with the memory overclock. I got the mem up to 2000mhz, which is a lot for that platform I have been told, and I needed 1.44v VTT to do it. Which is higher than all of the guides recommend to run the VTT.

Last edited by EMU : 02-17-2013 at 06:37 PM.
Netherlands  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 07:21 PM   #8
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
But there's risk to the i7 IMC? I've had these sticks pretty high on voltage before. The heat sinks are just fantastic on the ridgebacks.

So VTT can be increased somewhat generously before I need to worry.

What about any of the sub timings? There's a good handful on auto. Any specific changes for i7's in particular? Or leave most on auto (like I have been doing).

The chart looks great. I see 1200mhz at Cas 10 through 12 on 1.6v through 1.8v

Sounds about right. I'll try a little Ram bump to 1.7v and see if the Cas 10-12-11-36-40 1T will boot. At the same time I'll increase the VTT a couple of clicks. And maybe a touch to the QPI as well.

Again thanks for the links and reads!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 07:50 PM   #9
EMU
Gold Member
EMU's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,758
Last Seen: Today
Age: 33
From: NYC
iTrader: 15 / 100%
The i7 920 is 2 generations ago... On those, 1.35v VTT was recommended max. On air/water, 1.1v is recommended max on Ivy, but judging by some of the XS overclockers, 1.2v is the max you would want to hit... which is why 1.65v is generally the limit for memory...

VTT=QPI=VCCIO from what I understand. Different motherboards/bios call them by different names... Does your bios list both?

Heres a helpful quote from the guide on XS...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sin0822@XS
The voltages you should change for high memory overclocking on Z77 on air is the DDR Voltage, and if you like you can try increasing the VCCIO(VTT) and VCCSA(IMC) the VCCIO (VTT) can help with memory OC, however you will also need to increase VCCSA along with it on these GIGABYTE Z77 boards (except on the Sniper M3). If you want to increase VTT you need to increase IMC voltage to within 0.005v below it, so 1.1v VTT would be 1.095v IMC on these GIGABYTE boards. However I didn't really need to change it much at all.
As far as sub timings, I try to start with the XMP timings, and work my way from there. I don't set it to AUTO... And some of the sub timings can have noticeable difference in performance if benching.

An increase in voltage past 1.7v for me gave instability... random reboots... but I cannot adjust my VTT. So I speculate that if I could raise it, I could get more headroom out of my modules as well.

Last edited by EMU : 02-17-2013 at 07:56 PM.
Netherlands  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 07:59 PM   #10
_DOM_
Overclocker
_DOM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 418
Last Seen: 09-21-2013
Age: 29
iTrader: 4 / 100%
My 2400 kit I don't have to mess with any of the volts just the vdimm just set it to the xmp profile and they can also run 2600 10-12-12-31 1T 1.65v, 2666 11-13-13-35 1.65v

But when you start getting up there it depends how good the imc is on the cpu
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 08:19 PM   #11
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by EMU View Post
The i7 920 is 2 generations ago... On those, 1.35v VTT was recommended max. On air/water, 1.1v is recommended max on Ivy, but judging by some of the XS overclockers, 1.2v is the max you would want to hit... which is why 1.65v is generally the limit for memory...

VTT=QPI=VCCIO from what I understand. Different motherboards/bios call them by different names... Does your bios list both?

Heres a helpful quote from the guide on XS...


As far as sub timings, I try to start with the XMP timings, and work my way from there. I don't set it to AUTO... And some of the sub timings can have noticeable difference in performance if benching.

An increase in voltage past 1.7v for me gave instability... random reboots... but I cannot adjust my VTT. So I speculate that if I could raise it, I could get more headroom out of my modules as well.
The bios has VTT for sure and VCCIO looks really familiar... I'm already using XMP timings for 20000 sticks at 1100mhz runs decent low voltage too...

Quote:
Originally Posted by _DOM_ View Post
My 2400 kit I don't have to mess with any of the volts just the vdimm just set it to the xmp profile and they can also run 2600 10-12-12-31 1T 1.65v, 2666 11-13-13-35 1.65v

But when you start getting up there it depends how good the imc is on the cpu
Ah the memory controller. So there is a top out point. This board has memory settings in access of 3000.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 08:29 PM   #12
_DOM_
Overclocker
_DOM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 418
Last Seen: 09-21-2013
Age: 29
iTrader: 4 / 100%
yeah they have there limit its like how good they oc some are better then others... But seems a lot of the newer batches been having nice imc's

Do you have the box ? Wuts the batch #

But if your looking for 2400+ I would get some new ram there cheap
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 09:35 PM   #13
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by _DOM_ View Post
yeah they have there limit its like how good they oc some are better then others... But seems a lot of the newer batches been having nice imc's

Do you have the box ? Wuts the batch #

But if your looking for 2400+ I would get some new ram there cheap
I have the box. Not sure what the batch number is on here but I'll give you this number I see first.

BX80637173770K

And your probably right.... I should just buy some faster Ram lol
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 10:30 PM   #14
_DOM_
Overclocker
_DOM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 418
Last Seen: 09-21-2013
Age: 29
iTrader: 4 / 100%
That's not it lol

It's on the big white sticker says batch on it XD

The ram I have is 2400 cas 9 seems they don't those but there's others from the same brand team group
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-17-2013, 11:58 PM   #15
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
I got it now....

3227C387
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-18-2013, 01:40 AM   #16
_DOM_
Overclocker
_DOM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 418
Last Seen: 09-21-2013
Age: 29
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Have you found your oc already on the cpu ? seems not the greatest batch reported by other ppl
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-18-2013, 09:50 AM   #17
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Other people are correct. This cpu is good and stable up 4.6ghz. Anything beyond that is questionable. I haven't passed stability at 4.8ghz, but it's close.

But, I don't need 5ghz rig. Would be nice though
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-18-2013, 01:42 PM   #18
_DOM_
Overclocker
_DOM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 418
Last Seen: 09-21-2013
Age: 29
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Yeah I just run @ 4.5 1.2v but cold helps get it more stable at higher clocks even on the bad ones :P

just got a new one someone picked up for me at MC does 4.8 1.32v

But if my ss wasn't so loud and like a space heater I would run it daily lol
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-18-2013, 01:47 PM   #19
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by _DOM_ View Post
Yeah I just run @ 4.5 1.2v but cold helps get it more stable at higher clocks even on the bad ones :P

just got a new one someone picked up for me at MC does 4.8 1.32v

But if my ss wasn't so loud and like a space heater I would run it daily lol
I just got back form Tiger Direct a few minutes ago. Had to get another printer....

So I asked about the Malay Chips. The only thing they had was a 2500K. I didn't purchase it though. The tax is too high, nearly 10%..... But if they had the i7 Malay, I would have gotten it.

2 stores, not ONE freeking Malay chip. I've been looking

On topic of the Ram, I did get a successful post and then blue screen Running 2400 @ 1.655v. 2T blue screened faster than 1T, So I'm gonna stick 1T.

I clicked VTT up one click. QPI one click. Gonna try one more click to each and try 1.7v on the Ram this time around.

Almost had a Cpu-z!!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-18-2013, 03:55 PM   #20
_DOM_
Overclocker
_DOM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 418
Last Seen: 09-21-2013
Age: 29
iTrader: 4 / 100%
i gave up on looking for malays lol

i got a costa rica 3232A610 does better on reg cooling then my delided malay

but seem this is also a good batch 3231B415 few ppl i seen got a good oc at good volts guy that got me one had one but when he went back they had sold out

Additional Comment:

this is the ram i have http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820313235

they have 2600 4x4GB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820313245

Last edited by _DOM_ : 02-18-2013 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking