EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Network Hardware (Wired & Wireless)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2013, 12:58 PM   #1
Juicepod
Does this ever end?
Senior Member
 
Juicepod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ayr, ON
Posts: 309
iTrader: 0 / 0%
improving wifi signal with second modem?

We've currently changed to cable internet but noticed that the wifi signal around the house is touchy now. When we had Bell(dsl) the wifi signal was stronger. I actually still have two of the Bell modems (2wire) and I'm wondering if I can just attach the Bell modem to the Rogers one with an Ethernet cord and improve wifi strength or create a second network. So maybe some of our wifi devices can connect to the modem instead. Would I also be able to turn of the wifi signal on the Rogers modem? Not sure that would be useful or not. I don't know much about networking as you can tell.
Offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 01:21 PM   #2
jmilch
486 DX/2 for the win!
Senior Member
 
jmilch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,076
iTrader: 53 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juicepod View Post
We've currently changed to cable internet but noticed that the wifi signal around the house is touchy now. When we had Bell(dsl) the wifi signal was stronger. I actually still have two of the Bell modems (2wire) and I'm wondering if I can just attach the Bell modem to the Rogers one with an Ethernet cord and improve wifi strength or create a second network. So maybe some of our wifi devices can connect to the modem instead. Would I also be able to turn of the wifi signal on the Rogers modem? Not sure that would be useful or not. I don't know much about networking as you can tell.
The signal strength didnt have anything to do with rahter you had DSL or Cable. It has everything to do with the hardware.

And no, you cannot attach the DSL modems to your current cable modem and do anything with it. Also, you are probably describing integrated routers, since you are not saying you have a separate modem and router.

So basically your only real option would be to disable the wireless on your current combination modem/router, and run a better wireless router. Essentially not using the integrated wireless with the current modem, but using a external wireless router.

I actually did the same thing (different providers, but same idea) and my wireless signal improved significantly.
__________________
Asus Z97 SabreTooth | 4770K | Gigabyte G1 GTX 980 | Intel 750 SSD | Seagate 4TB | 4x8 GB Dominator 1866 Plat | Windows 10 Pro | Corsair M90 | Corsair K60 KB | Fractal Define R5 | Bitfenix Recon Touchscreen Fan Controller|



"Just purchased, Now how do I hide said purchase from wife?" -Mimart7
"Your dead either way. Remember..... her money is her money, your money is her money." -BigE4u
Offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 01:29 PM   #3
Juicepod
Does this ever end?
Senior Member
 
Juicepod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ayr, ON
Posts: 309
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well I connected the Bell modem to the Rogers one with and it's giving off the same ID that it had and I can connect to it and get the internet. I'm also using a Raspberry Pi connected to my TV with xbmc running and I have a wifi dongle on that but I think the connection isn't the greatest because of the Rogers modems wifi signal. I think I will trying connecting it to the Bell modem and see if it improves. I have an older wireless G router should I use that instead?
Offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 01:40 PM   #4
ORL
Bring on the Liquid
Senior Member
 
ORL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,121
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You can set both up if you desire and the devices are capable of interacting as so.

You need to know though that if the devices are both in the same channel spectrum and have all the same info that they will compete with each other and this is bad. It will destroy your network performance as they will both try to communicate with devices in range and this will cause the host interface quite a bit of confusions and collisions. In turn reducing your connections effective abilities by nearly 60%.

Can you post both routers information? Just make and model/revision and I can do from there if its possible.
__________________
Liquid Cooled Desktop //// CPU: FX8350@5.2Ghz 1.47V////4x2gig) Mushkin Ridgeback @2000-7/10/7/24/1T //// Asus 990FX Sabertooth //// SSD: 128Gb Crucial M4 SATA III x 2 //// HDD:640Gb WD Black x2 Raid 0 //// XFX 7950 //// Enermax Revo85+1020w
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Laptop#1 //// Sagar NP8268-S //// CPU: i7 4810MQ //// 16GB DDR3 //// 2x512GB SanDisk X210 SSDs //// nVidia 880m

Laptop#2 //// Samsung Series 7 Chronos //// CPU: i7 3635QM //// 16GB DDR3 //// 1TB HDD //// nVidia650m
Offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 02:20 PM   #5
jmilch
486 DX/2 for the win!
Senior Member
 
jmilch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,076
iTrader: 53 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juicepod View Post
Well I connected the Bell modem to the Rogers one with and it's giving off the same ID that it had and I can connect to it and get the internet. I'm also using a Raspberry Pi connected to my TV with xbmc running and I have a wifi dongle on that but I think the connection isn't the greatest because of the Rogers modems wifi signal. I think I will trying connecting it to the Bell modem and see if it improves. I have an older wireless G router should I use that instead?
You really arent changing or helping much like that though. Is the integrated router a G/N band?
__________________
Asus Z97 SabreTooth | 4770K | Gigabyte G1 GTX 980 | Intel 750 SSD | Seagate 4TB | 4x8 GB Dominator 1866 Plat | Windows 10 Pro | Corsair M90 | Corsair K60 KB | Fractal Define R5 | Bitfenix Recon Touchscreen Fan Controller|



"Just purchased, Now how do I hide said purchase from wife?" -Mimart7
"Your dead either way. Remember..... her money is her money, your money is her money." -BigE4u
Offline  
Old 02-09-2013, 05:57 PM   #6
Juicepod
Does this ever end?
Senior Member
 
Juicepod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ayr, ON
Posts: 309
iTrader: 0 / 0%
ok the first one which is the Rogers one that we are using now is the Cisco DPC3825 and the Bell that we use to use is the 2wire 2701HG-G. By integrated router you mean these ones that are specifically made for Bell or Rogers. I noticed that they are no WAN connections on these. All i'm wondering is if the Bell one would give off a better wifi signal.
Offline  
Old 02-12-2013, 02:46 PM   #7
T0mmy1977
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
T0mmy1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 187
iTrader: 0 / 0%
A range expander would help.
Offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 02:29 PM   #8
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Jahova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1,722
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I've done this before. First disable DHCP on the second router. Then give it a static IP address under the next subnet mask like 192.168.137.0. Connect router 1 to the gateway port of router 2 and pretty much good to go.

*edit*
Oops forgot to include set your wifi name, mode, key, and etc all the same exactly as the first router's wifi. Also, you cannot do this with a 'modem', but you can with an actual router.
__________________
Project: Nanosuit
ExtremeOCforum: Jahova
Games: B-e-t-a, =OSF=B-e-t-a, beta
Mobo : Sabertooth Processor : Sandybridge 2600K Memory : G.skill Ripjaws Video : EVGA GTX 460 PSU : Antec 750W Cooling : XSPC Rasa |
OCZ Hydropulse 500 | 120.3 Black Ice Radiator
Comcast Blast (or something):
http://results.speedtest.xfinity.com...1238529584.png
Comcast Prefered Internet:
http://speedtest.net/result/2510948610.png
Comcast Basic Internet:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2608647893.png
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking