EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Power Supplies (PSUs)
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2013, 02:12 AM   #1
hurraybabies
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Last Seen: 11-30-2014
600W PSU for 550ti/FX-6300

Hello everyone!

I'm about to dazzle in a new build. Slightly new to this, will be my second build.

I'm wondering if a 600W PSU will be enough to power a 550ti 2gb and an FX-6300. I don't plan on doing SLI on this build, but do want to try out overclocking a bit. Probably just get the 3.5 up to a 4.0GHz.

Will this do it, or should I up the wattage?

Thanks!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-05-2013, 02:18 AM   #2
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,463
Last Seen: 12-14-2014
Age: 27
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
If the 600 watt power supply in question is of good quality it will be MORE than enough. Please link us with the exact model so we can be sure, because there are still plenty of older ATX style power supplies with over-inflated 3.3/5v rails that claim to be more wattage than they are.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-05-2013, 02:30 AM   #3
hurraybabies
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Last Seen: 11-30-2014
Here it is.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153166

Additional Comment:

Also open to suggestions on any other PSU you think would be a better fit.

Last edited by hurraybabies : 03-05-2013 at 02:30 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-05-2013, 02:40 AM   #4
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,463
Last Seen: 12-14-2014
Age: 27
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
That is actually one of those power supplies that is on the low end and have had a bad reputation in the past. I would avoid them if at all possible. They are also overpriced for the quality you are getting. I have seen people run them at well below half spec with no problems, but don't want to load it too high.


I would recommend this.

CX-600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139028

or any of the more expensive Corsair models if you can afford them. The TX/HX series are higher quality than the CX.

Also XFX has some pretty nice power supplies too.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817207013


I can also recommend most any Seasonic unit.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-05-2013, 02:50 AM   #5
hurraybabies
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Last Seen: 11-30-2014
Would this one do it? I like the idea of modular.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-05-2013, 07:55 AM   #6
jbmcmillan
OLD FART
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,608
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 61
From: Langley,B.C.
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Was there supposed to be a link?
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-05-2013, 12:06 PM   #7
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,463
Last Seen: 12-14-2014
Age: 27
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
The CX-600 is modular.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139048

Also Seasonic M12II 620 is modular.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151095

If you want to step it up in the budget maybe get something more powerful, you could try the M12II 750

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151107
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking