EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Processors

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2013, 07:11 AM   #1
mattmanbass
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Intel Ivy Bridge Engineering Sample OC, Help?

Ok so here goes, im new to the forum, and i dont know much about this stuff, but i have acquired an Intel Genuine Ivy Bridge processor, i was told it was a downclocked 3770, but i have no way to be sure what it actually is. Its clock speed is 2.2 idle and 2.5 using turbo boost. Under load the temp for this chip is never above 40-45 C.

The guy i bought it from said he had it stable at 4 ghz, however when i go to overclock it the multiplier only goes up to x26. So does that mean the max i can overclock this chip is 2.6 GHZ?

I want to say the chip does everything i need it to right now, and i realistically dont NEED to OC it, but i would really like to. I have an ASrock Extreme4 Mobo and a GTX 560TI 448, 8 gig memory (only 1300mhz). I ran 3d mark11 and the score was only 6150 or something, i have seen people with similar systems but with higher clocked processors get almost twice that score.

Anyways i guess all that to ask if anyone has any ideas on how i can get the most out of this processor? Especially with it being a ES and not the norm.

Thanks!
Offline  
Old 03-01-2013, 03:29 PM   #2
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
Senior Member
 
901-Memphis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florence, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 7,652
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Post up some more information about your rig. Including which heatsink your using, power supply model, RAM model, and also take a screenshot of CPU-Z and post it up so we can see how it identifies the chip.

http://www.filehippo.com/download_cpuz/


If the multiplier is locked its going to require some tweaking to overclock it but your motherboard should be able to push it a bit and you will likely be limited by other factors like cooling if it gets too hot.

Multiplier overclocking isn't the only way to overclock, its just the most simple.
__________________
Intel i5 6600k @ 4.7 ghz w/1.375v
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
EVGA GTX 970 4GB SSC ACX 2.0 1455 boost clock
Prolimatech Megahalems Rev C. HSF
NZXT Phantom PHAN-001WT
2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16
LITE-ON iHAS124-04, Corsair HX-520 PSU
Asus VS247H LED, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
PNY XLR8 CS2111 - 240 gb SSD
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB


Offline  
Old 03-05-2013, 11:54 AM   #3
Dil-tech
EA Ports
Senior Member
 
Dil-tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: STL
Age: 33
Posts: 3,213
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If it's a non-k, you're pretty much screwed. You'll get, at best, 2782mhz out of it, and that's assuming nothing else decides it doesn't like the extra frequency.
__________________
i5 3570k @ ??? (still pushing further) - Swiftech H220
ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
8 gb Samsung 30nm Green DDR3
OCZ Agility 4 256GB
Antec Quattro 850W
Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
LG W2363D w/ 3d vision kit
Sound Blaster Z
"Lets keep the thread on topic, even though it has probably been resolved through the genius that is dil-tech." - Mesce
"thats just because you canadians don't have intarweb access in most of your igloos" - D_unruled
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking