EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Processors
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2013, 06:00 PM   #461
moosteve
D10
moosteve's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,431
Last Seen: 08-16-2014
Age: 48
From: the heartland
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by racingken View Post
The best I can do for slowing down the ram is 12-12-12 it will not let me go any higher in the bios.

Ken
tighten the timings means the number reduces and the ram is faster. 7 is faster than 8. 7 is tighter than 8.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:03 PM   #462
racingken
Running System Stock
racingken's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 39
Last Seen: 04-28-2013
Age: 63
From: Stockton, Ca.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I thought he wanted me to slow the ram down a tad. I currently have them at 11-12-11 I can run them at 10-11-10, I have set them and benched with those settings.

Ken
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:08 PM   #463
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,122
Last Seen: Today
Age: 52
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 66 / 100%
The ram speed. You're running roughly 1840 or so. If you slow it down to around 1400-1600, you'll be able to tighten the timings to a CAS 9 or maybe 8. Then bench SPI again. I bet it will be faster.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:13 PM   #464
racingken
Running System Stock
racingken's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 39
Last Seen: 04-28-2013
Age: 63
From: Stockton, Ca.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
It's rated to 2133 mhz so I thought faster was better. But I can set them to 1300 in the bios and they will be 9-9-9.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:17 PM   #465
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,122
Last Seen: Today
Age: 52
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 66 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by racingken View Post
It's rated to 2133 mhz so I thought faster was better. But I can set them to 1300 in the bios and they will be 9-9-9.
Sometimes. Intel based systems can take advantage of that kind of speed, AMD can't. Much over 1700 is not beneficial on AMD's. Experiment. I think you'll be surprised. I bet you can tighten them even more manually.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:22 PM   #466
racingken
Running System Stock
racingken's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 39
Last Seen: 04-28-2013
Age: 63
From: Stockton, Ca.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks Bud, I will try 8's next.

Ken
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:31 PM   #467
moosteve
D10
moosteve's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,431
Last Seen: 08-16-2014
Age: 48
From: the heartland
iTrader: 5 / 100%
sorry if i confused things... all i saw was the "tighten the timings" post... missed the speed....
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:33 PM   #468
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,122
Last Seen: Today
Age: 52
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 66 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by moosteve View Post
sorry if i confused things... all i saw was the "tighten the timings" post... missed the speed....
All good Steveo. Only reason I saw the speed was because I was checking out one of his HWB links.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:54 PM   #469
racingken
Running System Stock
racingken's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 39
Last Seen: 04-28-2013
Age: 63
From: Stockton, Ca.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
8 timings crashed me. but got a low 17.223 with 9's thats for 1m

Additional Comment:

Here is a screen shot.

Last edited by racingken : 01-10-2013 at 06:54 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 06:57 PM   #470
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,122
Last Seen: Today
Age: 52
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 66 / 100%
Hmmm.......you were at 16.700 where you were.

EDIT- HT link is too high. Try to keep that at 2000 or so. NB frequency can come up too. 2600-2800 is good.
Might want to start a thread in the AMD section if we're gonna get you tweaking.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2013, 07:07 PM   #471
racingken
Running System Stock
racingken's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 39
Last Seen: 04-28-2013
Age: 63
From: Stockton, Ca.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I willl post another one in the AMD thread in a moment. I got into 16's

I couldn't post a photo in the new thread so I placed a link there.

I will try to add a link to the page right here.


http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=367609

Last edited by racingken : 01-10-2013 at 07:28 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-25-2013, 04:41 AM   #472
KrpaZG
Running System Stock
KrpaZG's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Last Seen: 03-07-2013
Age: 21
From: Zagreb
Athlon x3 455 - KrpaZG - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2503334
Phenom II x4 955 BE - KrpaZG - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2664151


http://hwbot.org/user/krpazg/

Last edited by KrpaZG : 02-06-2013 at 04:34 PM. Reason: ...
Croatia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-02-2013, 02:50 PM   #473
Tatsuli
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 03-04-2013
Need to join this nice club. Here is mine.

http://valid.canardpc.com/2714019

completely stable and should need to go further.
Finland  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2013, 07:51 AM   #474
racingken
Running System Stock
racingken's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 39
Last Seen: 04-28-2013
Age: 63
From: Stockton, Ca.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
This one is With the FX8350 on air

FX8350 on air @ 4846Mhz and 1.488 volts
http://hwbot.org/submission/2362565_

Ken
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-05-2013, 08:28 PM   #475
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,022
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
955BE LN2 2900mhz OC

Getting my moneys worth from a 59$ motherbaord with some LN2 and my 955BE fresh from the box. Never seen stock speeds

All 4 cores 6000mhz (verified at 5999.xx ) to hit 6100mhz all but one core was shut off.

Verification with pictures. -->

All 4 cores
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2717832

Only 1 core
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2718901

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hxgo1...ature=youtu.be
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC07008.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	428.0 KB
ID:	166363  Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC07009.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	162.1 KB
ID:	166364  Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC07011.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	288.4 KB
ID:	166365  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0672.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	318.8 KB
ID:	166366  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0548.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	232.4 KB
ID:	166367  

United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-29-2013, 11:51 AM   #476
CountMike
Mildly OC-ed
CountMike's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 295
Last Seen: 08-12-2014
Age: 66
From: Belgrade,Toronto
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Does anybody have a comment on this ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mz comp aida.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	266.4 KB
ID:	166866  
Serbia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-02-2013, 10:42 PM   #477
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,022
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountMike View Post
Does anybody have a comment on this ?
Typically I don't comment in here, but this OC looks pretty darn good!

Memory clocks are decent for the timings and you have the HT near stock for stability.

Mike, it looks A OK!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-02-2013, 11:04 PM   #478
snipestech
Love my toys!
snipestech's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 66
Last Seen: 01-05-2014
Age: 39
From: Miami
iTrader: 0 / 0%
That's sick!
@ShrimpBrime
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-03-2013, 03:16 AM   #479
CountMike
Mildly OC-ed
CountMike's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 295
Last Seen: 08-12-2014
Age: 66
From: Belgrade,Toronto
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks Shrimpy, it's my everyday workhorse of a computer so any instability could not be tolerated, Had it going to 4.2 but HT would not get close to 2000 without cracking often so I guess it is not worth pushing it any more.
Serbia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-03-2013, 05:55 AM   #480
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,022
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by snipestech View Post
That's sick!
@ShrimpBrime
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by CountMike View Post
Thanks Shrimpy, it's my everyday workhorse of a computer so any instability could not be tolerated, Had it going to 4.2 but HT would not get close to 2000 without cracking often so I guess it is not worth pushing it any more.
Nah not worth it.

But I gotta say... You had that running 4.2ghz?! I've been lucky enough to just hit 4ghz max and 3.8 was usually most stable with Athlon II.

Have you tried unlocking this one?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:22 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking