EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Motherboards

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2003, 12:14 AM   #1
khuebl
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Last Seen: 11-14-2003
UNLOCKED BIOS GATEWAY/DELL/OEM Motherboard SUCCESS!

Hey all,

Just a FYI I just unlocked my Gateway OEM system BIOS!

I have a pretty decent machine -

3.06GHz HT P4 533 MHz FSB
1024 333MHz DDR SDRAM
Intel 845 Chipset

However, most of you know (or may shortly find out) about the INCREDIBLE LIMITATIONS these OEM companies (Gateway, Dell, HP, Compaq, ect) put on options for the motherboard and BIOS!

Well after 2 days of working my *** off, I now have an Intel BIOS (Not Gateway modified Intel) on my machine.

Many more options including RAM options, AGP Aperature, ect are now available to me, and my system runs perfectly.

If I can successfully overclock my PC, then I would have the best of both worlds - If I burn up my processor and/or motherboard, it would be possible to reflash the BIOS back to stock setting (if I even needed to do that), run back to the store and get it fixed for FREE under warranty!!! (But I would never do that....) Anyways,


However, the FSB settings are still locked out, I can see them but not edit them. If anyone knows how to proceed to overclocking please let me know.

My motherboard is the Intel 845GRG
My BIOS version is NOW RG84510A.15A.0033.P17 - The newest version.

If anyone knows any tips, tricks, or articles to point me towards please do so.

If anyone else would like a guide posted on how to do what I did, let me know as well!

Kyran
Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-03-2003, 07:46 AM   #2
Blackram_air
Team StarFox
Blackram_air's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,767
Last Seen: 04-29-2016
Age: 41
From: Irmo,SC
iTrader: 13 / 100%
How did you unlock it? I have a Sony with an Asus motherboard, I want to unlock.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-03-2003, 07:48 AM   #3
AntiNazi
[THE]
AntiNazi's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,245
Last Seen: 11-25-2011
Age: 30
From: pittsburgh, pa
iTrader: 10 / 100%
i thought intel boards dont allow ocing...
Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-03-2003, 11:46 AM   #4
NoAffinity
Saikyooooooo!!!!
NoAffinity's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,074
Last Seen: 08-06-2008
Age: 41
From: Poway, CA
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Intel boards don't OC...which is prolly the reason for the locked FSB settings. Has anyone ever considered swapping out the BIOS chip? I have an EEPROM burner, and I'm thinking if you flashed a BIOS chip, with the equivalent BIOS, and swapped it onto a proprietary board, you would have all options available.

Hmmm....may be looking into picking up a proprietary system just to try it.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-03-2003, 04:52 PM   #5
khuebl
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Last Seen: 11-14-2003
Basically you need to go into the BIOS and check what your BIOS id string is.

Mine was something like RG84510A.15A.0013.P11

Go to Intel website to their support, then click on desktop boards on the left.

Click on HOW DO I FIND MY MOTHERBOARD?

There will be a reference list that shows what each different motherboard's bios string should be. In my case, the RG84510A part of the string means I have an Intel 845GRG board.

If it is a board direct from Intel, the next part of the string is always 86A (86B or 86C if it is an older board)

Mine was 15A because it is OEM (Gateway, Dell, Sony, ect) will all have the same first part of the string, but the second part of the string will not be 86A

Because of this, if you try to flash update your BIOS with the Intel BIOS update, it will not let you. You have to get your update from the OEM manufacturer.

Basically what I did is find which board I have by comparing the first part of the string, then went and downloaded the correct BIOS update from the Intel website (in this case, for the 845GRG motherboard)

I then made a somewhat hybrid BIOS flash disk using the startup files from the GATEWAY BIOS flash disk but the data from the Intel BIOS flash disk. If you attempt to upgrade the BIOS normally, it will give you an error saying the upgrade is not compatible with your current version of BIOS.

To overcome this, I found on Intel's website where my BIOS jumper is, and put it to recovery mode. I then booted from the hybrid flash BIOS disk I made, and listened for the two beeps. After that, took out the disk, put the jumper back on, and turned on the computer.

Going into the BIOS now shows my bios version as RG84510A.86A.0035.P17!!!! Anytime Intel releases a BIOS upgrade now, I can just use theirs instead of Gateway's.

The last step I have now is trying various FSB speed utilities to vary the processor speed.

Kyran
Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-13-2003, 08:41 PM   #6
lnfisk
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 09-19-2004
Could you tell us the exact files you put on the
recovery disk to flash your board to intel bios?
I have several Gateway D845GRG boards I would really like to flash to intel bios, but after trying everything I can think of ..... no luck.
More info please?
Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-25-2003, 03:47 PM   #7
Mizugori
(>^-^<)
Mizugori's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 647
Last Seen: 04-15-2016
From: NYC
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Question dell mobo mystery

lol...behold the reverse engineering...

I have a Dell 8200, does anyone know what kind of motherboard it has? I cannot seem to find out; progs like Sandra just tell me "Dell Corp 8200" when I try to query the mobo type. Thanks a lot,

Mizugori
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-25-2003, 11:43 PM   #8
afrakes
Not your friend, guy
afrakes's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,666
Last Seen: 01-15-2010
Age: 29
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Open her up and look on the board itself for any model markings.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-29-2003, 08:59 AM   #9
Brett VanKirk
Explicitly Parallel
Brett VanKirk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 656
Last Seen: 02-14-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Same Here I have A Dell Dimension 8200, 1.7GHZ. 850 Chipset. If you get it to work great. I will also be trying this.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-29-2003, 09:28 AM   #10
Brett VanKirk
Explicitly Parallel
Brett VanKirk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 656
Last Seen: 02-14-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Ok guys i opened my case, know where would i find marking on what motherboard i have. Where about on the motherboard. Thanks
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-29-2003, 10:19 AM   #11
crivley
Till all are one
crivley's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 585
Last Seen: 08-17-2009
Age: 30
From: pittsburgh,pa
iTrader: 2 / 100%
look all around the mobo, or look in the dell book, or on that sticker they put on the side of your case.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-29-2003, 10:37 AM   #12
Brett VanKirk
Explicitly Parallel
Brett VanKirk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 656
Last Seen: 02-14-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Ok i got my AA number, but when i got to the intel site and put it in it does not find anything. Plus when i got into my bios i can't get my ID. i does not show it anywhere. The only thing i get is my BIOS Rev. A09. I know thats not it. Just my Bios version. Is their a prog that i can download to get my BIOS id/tag?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-29-2003, 10:52 AM   #13
Grim_CHel
hello world
Senior Member
 
Posts: 605
Last Seen: 01-28-2016
From: Far away from u.
iTrader: 8 / 100%
same as BVanKirk82387's did BIOS is A08 i don't know what to do.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-29-2003, 11:48 AM   #14
Brett VanKirk
Explicitly Parallel
Brett VanKirk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 656
Last Seen: 02-14-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Ok i got 3 programs that did a check on my computer. It says i have Phoenix Bios, and my Strong in N/A, Mobo- Dell Corp. Any suggustions, The Bios didn't help
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-30-2003, 09:55 AM   #15
Brett VanKirk
Explicitly Parallel
Brett VanKirk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 656
Last Seen: 02-14-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I tryed searching with my AA number on Intels Site. No Luck. Help.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-01-2003, 12:30 AM   #16
jcb
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Last Seen: 09-11-2006
Their is always someone posting on the Dell Forums asking if they can flash their 400SC to an Intel 875 equivelant. They say it is basically the exact same motherboard.
Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-01-2003, 08:02 AM   #17
Brett VanKirk
Explicitly Parallel
Brett VanKirk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 656
Last Seen: 02-14-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
What do you mean 400SC. I have a Dell Dimension 8200, 1.7GHz, RDRAM PC800. Can some on Tell me the Intel Equivelant. I wrote Dell a letter and they said Intel makes all of Dells Mobos, but they are to dumb to tell me what Intel Board i have. If anyone can Help that would be Great. I have the 850 Chipset. Thanks
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-01-2003, 08:16 AM   #18
Mark
EOCF Elder
Mark's Avatar
Administrator
 
Posts: 1,604
Last Seen: 10-31-2016
Age: 33
From: Louisville, Ky
iTrader: 2 / 100%
nice job unlocking your bios. the era of taking back our BIOS's has started!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-01-2003, 03:41 PM   #19
Brett VanKirk
Explicitly Parallel
Brett VanKirk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 656
Last Seen: 02-14-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well we would get ever farther if khuebl would come around or someone with more knowlege and Help me with getting my BIOS String, since i can't get it in the BIOS, and the programs i have don't help. Neither does the people at Dell. Help smart people
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-02-2003, 07:17 PM   #20
Brett VanKirk
Explicitly Parallel
Brett VanKirk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 656
Last Seen: 02-14-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I have figured some things out and wrote Intel to see if they can help me. Apparently Dell technicians are dumb @$$. If anyone could help that would be sweet.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:11 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking