EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > General System Help & Questions

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2017, 09:07 PM   #1
fearthisneo
Overclocker
fearthisneo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 489
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 33
From: Seward,PA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Ryzen 1700X Benchmarks

So I've had some time to play around with and get as stable as I'm currently going to get. As Asrock releases new bioses I'll try them out and see what improves. Here is some bench's for your viewing pleasure. If you have anything you'd like me to run let me know.

Current Settings:
1700X @ 3.8ghz 1.325v
Ram @ 2400mhz 16-18-18-38 1.35v
GTX 1080 @ 2126/5258
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cinebench R15.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	247.7 KB
ID:	172443   Click image for larger version

Name:	Firestrike.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	385.0 KB
ID:	172444   Click image for larger version

Name:	FirestrikeX.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	394.7 KB
ID:	172445   Click image for larger version

Name:	Time Spy.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	391.7 KB
ID:	172446   Click image for larger version

Name:	3dmark11p.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	456.6 KB
ID:	172447  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3dmark11x.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	413.6 KB
ID:	172448   Click image for larger version

Name:	3dmarkvantagep.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	249.7 KB
ID:	172449   Click image for larger version

Name:	GRW.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	344.0 KB
ID:	172450   Click image for larger version

Name:	heaven.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	253.9 KB
ID:	172451   Click image for larger version

Name:	valley.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	226.5 KB
ID:	172452  

Click image for larger version

Name:	FFHS.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	268.1 KB
ID:	172453   Click image for larger version

Name:	M2033.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	245.1 KB
ID:	172454   Click image for larger version

Name:	MLL.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	319.8 KB
ID:	172455  

Last edited by fearthisneo; 03-17-2017 at 06:28 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-17-2017, 07:35 AM   #2
Blackops_2
4.7ghz :/
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,806
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 26
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
That firestrike extreme score is like 1500 above my sig rig lol. Nice. I need to run R15 on Ivy Bridge at 4.5ghz just to see the comparison. I'm trying to hold off on the move until later revisions or Ryzen or Ryzen+ comes out and clocks better. Then i'll probably jump on a 1600x
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-17-2017, 01:39 PM   #3
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,584
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Interested in the board. Nobody has one other than you. Can you do 3200 on the ram?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-17-2017, 01:56 PM   #4
fearthisneo
Overclocker
fearthisneo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 489
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 33
From: Seward,PA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Scott View Post
Interested in the board. Nobody has one other than you. Can you do 3200 on the ram?
I have not been able to get anything over 2400 atm. Hopefully asrock will work that out with some new bioses.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-17-2017, 06:37 PM   #5
kyle2227
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Posts: 117
Last Seen: 04-19-2017
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Where your overclocks on air or liquid cooling? I bought this and it arrived today:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIAADY5BC1607

I set my cpu to the same as you 1700X @ 3.8ghz at the stock 1.325v. I have been using it for the past several hours with no issues. I have some questions. Let's say I never really overclocked before. What is a good way to test for stability? Play some cpu intensive games for a few hours?

The motherboard I have is:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...91&ignorebbr=1

And the memory I got is:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820231875

In my bios I set the memory to Extreme Memory Profile and CUPID CPUZ is showing the memory running at:

DRAM FREQUENCY: 1064.5
3:32
15
15
15
36
51
Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-17-2017, 07:05 PM   #6
fearthisneo
Overclocker
fearthisneo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 489
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 33
From: Seward,PA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle2227 View Post
Where your overclocks on air or liquid cooling? I bought this and it arrived today:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIAADY5BC1607

I set my cpu to the same as you 1700X @ 3.8ghz at the stock 1.325v. I have been using it for the past several hours with no issues. I have some questions. Let's say I never really overclocked before. What is a good way to test for stability? Play some cpu intensive games for a few hours?

The motherboard I have is:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...91&ignorebbr=1

And the memory I got is:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820231875

In my bios I set the memory to Extreme Memory Profile and CUPID CPUZ is showing the memory running at:

DRAM FREQUENCY: 1064.5
3:32
15
15
15
36
51
I'm running custom liquid. 2x RX 360 rads, EK Supremacy, Ek 1080 ftw, photon 270 w/ D5 vario.

as far as stability i run prime 95 small FFT's, F@H. or gaming for a bit. To me it seems that if its unstable you'll know pretty quick.

Looks like your ram is only running at 2133. I haven't had any luck with xmp or anything manually over 2400 with ram.

And for temps im using hwinfo64. the cpu (tctl) is what you want to pay attention to. According to AMD the 1700x and 1800x have a 20c offset. So my max temp while running prime95 was 78.3c which means it was only at 58.3c. Why they did that is anyone's guess.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-17-2017, 08:38 PM   #7
Almost Tactf
DT 1770 and a Lyr
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,712
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 36
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
That firestrike extreme score is like 1500 above my sig rig lol. Nice. I need to run R15 on Ivy Bridge at 4.5ghz just to see the comparison. I'm trying to hold off on the move until later revisions or Ryzen or Ryzen+ comes out and clocks better. Then i'll probably jump on a 1600x
If you're looking for straight up gaming, Intel is still going to take the cake for the foreseeable future. If you do anything that requires multicore processing then it's AMD hands down. The FF XIV benchmark fear had posted came in a full 6000 points lower than mine did at 16,000 vs 22,000. Only difference in our rigs is the CPU at this point and the fact that he can't get his RAM over 2400 while I'm at 3200.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-18-2017, 09:40 AM   #8
kyle2227
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Posts: 117
Last Seen: 04-19-2017
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by fearthisneo View Post
I'm running custom liquid. 2x RX 360 rads, EK Supremacy, Ek 1080 ftw, photon 270 w/ D5 vario.

as far as stability i run prime 95 small FFT's, F@H. or gaming for a bit. To me it seems that if its unstable you'll know pretty quick.

Looks like your ram is only running at 2133. I haven't had any luck with xmp or anything manually over 2400 with ram.

And for temps im using hwinfo64. the cpu (tctl) is what you want to pay attention to. According to AMD the 1700x and 1800x have a 20c offset. So my max temp while running prime95 was 78.3c which means it was only at 58.3c. Why they did that is anyone's guess.
I just got done running Prime 95 for the past 1.5 hours and I got the exact same max temp 78.3c - 20 = 58.3. Will see how I do on 3D Mark. May try to hit the 4GHZ mark but I am guessing I may have to increase the voltage slightly for that from stock voltage. Look forward to doing some game testing.
Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-19-2017, 12:26 AM   #9
Blackops_2
4.7ghz :/
Blackops_2's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,806
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 26
From: Mississippi
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almost Tactf View Post
If you're looking for straight up gaming, Intel is still going to take the cake for the foreseeable future. If you do anything that requires multicore processing then it's AMD hands down. The FF XIV benchmark fear had posted came in a full 6000 points lower than mine did at 16,000 vs 22,000. Only difference in our rigs is the CPU at this point and the fact that he can't get his RAM over 2400 while I'm at 3200.
While i don't disagree AT and truthfully don't do much outside of gaming that requires the hardware i own, i just honest to God would like to go back to AMD, even if it's only a 10% IPC gain. That might be just me being sentimental as i've only had 3 Intel Rigs in my life that i built. I also have wanted to move from 4c/8t for a while as well. Again even not having a practical reason to do so i just like the idea. I also am a firm believer that we're about to near the transition of quad cores becoming the bare minimum for games.

As of right now nothing is happening for me until AMD can get clock speeds up, or increase OCing headroom, which maybe with a new stepping we might see that. Which from my understanding means moving from Finfet 14nm as it seems to be the limiting factor according to those that still keep up with everything today. If that means waiting for Zen+, well i'm completely fine with that. A platform upgrade in and of itself would be worth the switch coming from Z77 and i think waiting for PCIe 4.0 would be ideal. As my only real complaint outside of memory speeds with Ryzen is the lack of PCIe lanes. From what little i've seen talk of PCIe 4.0 supposedly remedies that? Supposedly AMD aims to have Zen+ out by 18, as well.

Right now despite my woes with my 780s not hitting the clocks i want (still think that's PSU related) i'm pretty set. Aside from a 144hz 1440p panel and an SSD, nothing is going to happen for a while.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-19-2017, 09:56 AM   #10
ORL
Bring on the Liquid
ORL's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,141
Last Seen: 07-11-2017
From: Missouri
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Nice work, keep the benches coming buddy. Its good to see more of them.

I am really impressed with the Ryzen cpu so far. I am itching to pull the trigger but am sitting on the edge debating on waiting for motherboards/software to mature and also wondering when these start popping up in laptops. If I see them start dropping laptop processors and they come in Sagar or System 76. I may just buy the laptop instead of another desktop. I sure do love this Sagar I am on now.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-21-2017, 04:47 AM   #11
jbmcmillan
OLD FART
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,904
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 63
From: Langley,B.C.
iTrader: 9 / 100%
So MSI has does some work with the ram speeds on Ryzen.

http://www.guru3d.com/news_story/msi...ew_models.html
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-21-2017, 09:12 PM   #12
fearthisneo
Overclocker
fearthisneo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 489
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 33
From: Seward,PA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbmcmillan View Post
So MSI has does some work with the ram speeds on Ryzen.

http://www.guru3d.com/news_story/msi...ew_models.html
Asrock seems a little slower on bios updates. they havent released anything new since the 13th
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-21-2017, 11:55 PM   #13
Almost Tactf
DT 1770 and a Lyr
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,712
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 36
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Ugh, that's frustrating =/ Well here's to hoping they get off their as*es and get you some updates so you could at least run the RAM at its rated speed.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-22-2017, 08:40 AM   #14
fearthisneo
Overclocker
fearthisneo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 489
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 33
From: Seward,PA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almost Tactf View Post
Ugh, that's frustrating =/ Well here's to hoping they get off their as*es and get you some updates so you could at least run the RAM at its rated speed.
I'm going with the whole its taking them longer cause they want the next release to be of awesome performance.

Meanwhile I have been playing around with pushing my cpu and anything above 3.8ghz requires what I feel is just to much of an increase in voltage to justify an extra 100 or 200 mhz. So i guess I'll just stick to that for now. Maybe AMD will release a new stepping that increases overclocking, I'm also thinking about grabbing a Ryzen 5 1600 or 1600X to play around with, because why not?

Last edited by fearthisneo; 03-22-2017 at 04:22 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-22-2017, 03:42 PM   #15
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,584
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by fearthisneo View Post
I'm going with the whole its taking them longer cause they want the next release to be of awesome performance.
I tend to agree with you on that. They want 1 decent update instead of 4 or 5 junk one's really quick like Asus is doing.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-25-2017, 09:25 PM   #16
fearthisneo
Overclocker
fearthisneo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 489
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 33
From: Seward,PA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Well it looks like ill have to redo all my benchmarks again in a week or so since i just stepped up my GTX 1080 to a GTX 1080 ti.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-25-2017, 11:22 PM   #17
Almost Tactf
DT 1770 and a Lyr
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,712
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 36
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
lol nice! Were you able to return the 1080? or did you just suck up the hit? I considered upping to the TI myself, but I'm just gonna hang and roll to a 1180/2080 near the end of the year if they continue the cycle
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-28-2017, 05:28 PM   #18
fearthisneo
Overclocker
fearthisneo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 489
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 33
From: Seward,PA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almost Tactf View Post
lol nice! Were you able to return the 1080? or did you just suck up the hit? I considered upping to the TI myself, but I'm just gonna hang and roll to a 1180/2080 near the end of the year if they continue the cycle
I used evga's step up program. It was like $122 difference between what I payed for the 1080 and the 1080 ti. Only thing that sucks is the waterblock I bought for the 1080 won't work on the ti, hopefully I can move it on eBay.

Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk

Additional Comment:

I see Asrock released a new bios today. Soon as i get home from work im going to flash it and see if i can get my ram any higher.

Last edited by fearthisneo; 03-28-2017 at 05:28 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-28-2017, 05:58 PM   #19
CybrSlydr
Special Fish?
CybrSlydr's Avatar
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,773
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 33
From: Beverly, OH
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Appreciate you putting some benchies out for us Neo.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-29-2017, 03:01 AM   #20
fearthisneo
Overclocker
fearthisneo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 489
Last Seen: 07-23-2017
Age: 33
From: Seward,PA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Click image for larger version

Name:	download.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	9.2 KB
ID:	172509
So after updating to Asrock's new 1.60 bios I got the same results with memory. Nothing over 2400 worked. But I saw they also released a new beta 1.94 and I must say its looking alot better.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ram2933.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	232.9 KB
ID:	172510

Currently at 2933, still a no go at 3200 but definitely an improvement. Looking forward to getting my 1080ti so i can test gaming performance. I'll also run some memory tests later today comparing 2133 up to 2933 to get an idea of the difference in performance if any.

In the meantime:
Click image for larger version

Name:	CB15 3.82933.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	488.3 KB
ID:	172511
that 1646 is 3.8/2933 compared to 3.9/2400 and 3.8/2400

Last edited by fearthisneo; 03-29-2017 at 03:08 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking