EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > Project / Build Logs

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2017, 01:26 PM   #1
danthompsett
Resistance is Futile
danthompsett's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 750
Last Seen: 08-13-2017
Age: 37
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Faulty Bios?

Since this crazy summer weather, ive been struggling to keep the pc cool.

last night the 1300watt antec psu, you know the top of the range one that can be linked with another blow a fuse in the lead and tripped the sockets trip switch in the breaker board downstairs, whilst starting to play f1 2016.

Finally after much debate purchased a corsair 1000 watt psu from maplin stead of waiting for something more spectacular online.

boot up is tricky, and I'm panic scarred of what might happen if I attempt to play f1 2016 again lol.

So I tried on several occasions to go into bios to reset to default spec, but I cant the keyboard and mouse freeze up

Yet when it boots to windows its fine weird no?

System Spec

Asus Sabetooth R3.0
9950FX

Is it the bios or the cpu that's being annoying?
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-17-2017, 04:55 PM   #2
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,590
Last Seen: Today
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Just pull the battery and clear the CMOS.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-17-2017, 06:24 PM   #3
The Dude
I ❤ 7
The Dude's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,423
Last Seen: Today
Age: 38
From: Pennsylvania
iTrader: 14 / 100%
How many watts it's the breaker rated for? Are other outlets feed by that circuit? How old is the breaker? A 1300 watt psu should not be able to pop a breaker, even a 15amp breaker is good up to 1800 watts of draw. Maybe your breaker needs replaced.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-04-2017, 09:40 PM   #4
Talonman
Running System Stock
Talonman's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 0
Last Seen: 08-13-2017
From: Sunbury, Ohio
I agree... Big PSU's don't pop breakers, big power draw does.

Either too much total load on the breaker, or PSU was going bad.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-12-2017, 02:34 AM   #5
PommieB
Overclocker
PommieB's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,996
Last Seen: 08-15-2017
From: Northern NSW
iTrader: 0 / 0%
First thing you should do is reset the bios at default or pull the battery. From there it's a matter of determining what the problem is starting at the power source and moving to the parts, need to make sure the keyboard and the mouse are ok, try them connected to another desktop.

Could be the PS as effected other parts including the motherboard. Hope it's not the motherboard.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-12-2017, 10:15 AM   #6
danthompsett
Resistance is Futile
danthompsett's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 750
Last Seen: 08-13-2017
Age: 37
iTrader: 0 / 0%
left it as is, running 5ghz bit under what its run in the past, boots up reasonably well needs some of the usb devices unplugged to start and sometimes wont start first time, still bummed that the psu died but I get the feeling it wasn't brand new as advertised on amazon. was hoping to get 2 and use the OC-link cable life sux.

OMG they did it 12 or 16 core Ryzen CPU's called threadrippers shame there sooo expensive might as well buy intel defeats the object of being amd not intel in the first place 12 core 799 16 core 998

Last edited by danthompsett; 08-12-2017 at 10:31 AM.
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-12-2017, 12:38 PM   #7
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,590
Last Seen: Today
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by danthompsett View Post

OMG they did it 12 or 16 core Ryzen CPU's called threadrippers shame there sooo expensive might as well buy intel defeats the object of being amd not intel in the first place 12 core 799 16 core 998
Lol. They're not expensive at all for what you're getting.
They're roughly half the price of the comparable Intel CPU and blows anything Intel has out of the water.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-12-2017, 12:51 PM   #8
FunkZ
AMD kicks your ASCII
FunkZ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,391
Last Seen: Today
Age: 44
From: Chambersburg, PA
iTrader: 67 / 100%
You could play F1 2016 just as well with a Ryzen 7 chip, and still have more performance and use less power than your FX chip, without worrying whether your 1000w PSU could handle it.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-12-2017, 03:33 PM   #9
danthompsett
Resistance is Futile
danthompsett's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 750
Last Seen: 08-13-2017
Age: 37
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Scott View Post
Lol. They're not expensive at all for what you're getting.
They're roughly half the price of the comparable Intel CPU and blows anything Intel has out of the water.
fair enough but by the time the price drops to under 300 something better will probably be out again lol

Hey that's good amd has quad channel same as intel with the threadripper cpu's, first time they have the same memory channel usually amd is a channel or 2 behind intel

Last edited by danthompsett; 08-12-2017 at 04:03 PM.
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking