EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Processors

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2017, 12:47 AM   #1
Almost Tactf
DT 1770 and a Lyr
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,712
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 35
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Post Intel 7700K Prolly Not Worth It - Video and Benchmarks

Came across this today and found it interesting. Dudes over at linus got a hold of a 7700K and put it up against the 6700K. Aside from being able to OC slightly better on an "auto" setting, when they were comparing the chips clock for clock (6700K@4.6 and 7700K@4.5) they pretty much spit out the same scores. When it came to games they were tied in and in a few scenarios the 6700K beat the 7700K for one reason or another. With the 7700K coming in at $350 and the 6700K being on sale from time to time at $290, I currently don't see a reason to go for the 7700K over the 6700K

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4A0Iks4ENIs
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2017, 05:45 AM   #2
jbmcmillan
OLD FART
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,881
Last Seen: Today
Age: 63
From: Langley,B.C.
iTrader: 9 / 100%
guru3d came to the same conclusion in saying the difference was so small unless you were upgrading from an older platform it wasn't worth it.

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...y_lake,23.html
Canada  Online
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2017, 06:19 AM   #3
Dyn0miteMat
↑↑ This side up ↑↑
Dyn0miteMat's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,404
Last Seen: Today
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Pretty much how it was last gen too. I just do basic web work and gaming and my 4690k is still doing fine
Isle of Man  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2017, 07:31 AM   #4
Slizzo
Mad Warranty Voider
Slizzo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,529
Last Seen: Today
Age: 35
From: Connecticut
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Intel publicly stated no IPC improvements are in Kaby Lake, just efficiency enhancements.

Where Kaby Lake "loses" performance in clock-per-clock cases, it is within margin of error.

JayzTwoCents was able to clock his CPU to 5GHz without issue on a Z270 board with just an H100i cooling it. He didn't have to fiddle too hard at all to achieve that. We will see what other retail samples achieve.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2017, 06:13 PM   #5
BlastMaster
Old Soldier
BlastMaster's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,485
Last Seen: 04-23-2017
Age: 40
From: West TX
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dyn0miteMat View Post
Pretty much how it was last gen too. I just do basic web work and gaming and my 4690k is still doing fine
Same conclusion I came to with my 4770K.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2017, 07:01 PM   #6
ORL
Bring on the Liquid
ORL's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,139
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: Missouri
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Intel is playing the same card and has been intending to do so that nVidia is doing with the new GPUs. They will not drop anything special for this cycle. Idea is simple, stack your lineup and wait for the competition and brand your products to be from the newly set bar. Standard business practice. On the very bright side of this the new AMD cpu looks to close a massive gap (this time realistically), being said expect a very quick followup from Intel in regards to this. The consumer will win this round unlike the last 3 rounds of CPU releases. I will be holding onto my older i7s untill at least another generation or two in order to let AMD evolve their new tech to adjust pricing.

I just hope AMD answers and Intel keeps pushing them to evolve this way. Maybe there will be balance in the force once again. I cant keep buying these blasted Intel CPUs!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-07-2017, 01:28 PM   #7
BlastMaster
Old Soldier
BlastMaster's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,485
Last Seen: 04-23-2017
Age: 40
From: West TX
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Overclockers.com Their review seems to say don't bother as well.

My conclusion is look at that 5820K all the way down in multithread/core results basically the same scores, wondering how my 4770k sits in those results.

No innovation here.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-07-2017, 01:35 PM   #8
BigE4u
Yessss!
BigE4u's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,492
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
From: Texas
iTrader: 50 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dyn0miteMat View Post
Pretty much how it was last gen too. I just do basic web work and gaming and my 4690k is still doing fine
I second that... my i5-2500k @ stock is still serving me justice, even though @ 4.0ghz, it did me even better justice.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-16-2017, 07:48 AM   #9
PhilZJ
Overclocker
PhilZJ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 904
Last Seen: Today
Age: 36
From: Floriduh
iTrader: 8 / 100%
This is pretty disappointing, I was hoping to upgrade my motherboard, ram and cpu this summer. I've been holding out a few years hoping for the 'next big thing' but I doubt anything worth waiting for will be released by then.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-16-2017, 08:41 AM   #10
un4givn85
v^
un4givn85's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 679
Last Seen: Today
Age: 31
From: Helena
iTrader: 1 / 100%
yea the only reason one should consider going from Skylake to Kaby Lake is the few extra features Kaby/Z270 brings, which isn't much and won't matter to most.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-16-2017, 06:30 PM   #11
Conroe
Mad Warranty Voider
Conroe's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,510
Last Seen: 04-08-2017
Age: 46
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Z270 does add a few more PCIe lanes and Optane support. I'm not sure about optane bit it could be the demise of SSD as we know them. It's non volatile memory in DIMM slots.

I was still using my trusty P35 Platinum up till late 2015 when I put together a ITX i5 6500 rig. A few times last year I missed not having an optical drive and I also missed overclocking. BCLK overclocking came out right after a made it and then it became obvious how much could be gained with faster memory. I regretted getting a H170 board. It became a HTPC when I built a bigger main system.

I'm happy with my Z270 board. It did cost twice what my H170 did. The audio is much better. The BIOS is too. It has never even ran my 7700k stock. It defaults to 45x all cores locked. To run it stock I'd have to manually set all the different turbo boost multipliers. Maybe it will last as long as my P35 did?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-07-2017, 11:08 AM   #12
Vampire80
A whole new world
Vampire80's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 460
Last Seen: 05-23-2017
Age: 37
From: Montana
iTrader: 23 / 100%
I got one just for my 4k viewing on Netflix. Thing gives me about 10 more frames in my games.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-07-2017, 03:09 PM   #13
Almost Tactf
DT 1770 and a Lyr
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,712
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 35
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampire80 View Post
I got one just for my 4k viewing on Netflix. Thing gives me about 10 more frames in my games.
Then you have an anomaly because these guys benchmarked 22 games and they are dead even across the board with the 6700K coming ahead by a % or two in a few instances.

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...rmance/15.html
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-07-2017, 11:01 PM   #14
Vampire80
A whole new world
Vampire80's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 460
Last Seen: 05-23-2017
Age: 37
From: Montana
iTrader: 23 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Almost Tactf View Post
Then you have an anomaly because these guys benchmarked 22 games and they are dead even across the board with the 6700K coming ahead by a % or two in a few instances.

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...rmance/15.html
Well I have mine at 4.5ghz with a de-lid. Plus I always get the latest CPU that comes out that I might be interested in.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-07-2017, 11:10 PM   #15
Almost Tactf
DT 1770 and a Lyr
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,712
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 35
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampire80 View Post
Well I have mine at 4.5ghz with a de-lid. Plus I always get the latest CPU that comes out that I might be interested in.
Which is totally fine, but the point I was trying to bring up is clock for clock the 6700 and 7700 are equal. I'm not sure why you're seeing 10 more FPS in your games with the 7700 vs the 6700. Technically my 6700 at 4.6 is out performing your 7700. That being said, is there any reason you de-lidded your 7700 and you're only running at 4.5? Seems like the chip does 4.8 pretty easily.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-08-2017, 07:21 AM   #16
Slizzo
Mad Warranty Voider
Slizzo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,529
Last Seen: Today
Age: 35
From: Connecticut
iTrader: 2 / 100%
4.5GHz is standard boost clock on the 7700K isn't it?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-08-2017, 09:19 AM   #17
Almost Tactf
DT 1770 and a Lyr
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,712
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 35
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Yep, sure is.

https://ark.intel.com/products/97129...up-to-4_50-GHz
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-27-2017, 07:47 PM   #18
Conroe
Mad Warranty Voider
Conroe's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,510
Last Seen: 04-08-2017
Age: 46
iTrader: 10 / 100%
My Strix Z270G default/auto sets my 7700k to 4.5 all cores locked. I don't even know what the two core and four core turbos are. If I wanted to run it stock I'd have to set those manually in BIOS. There is a 5ghz profile in the BIOS. It works with mine but it uses 1.4v while mine only needs 1.35v. 5ghz and 4k netflix is all Kaby has over Skylake. My smart TV plays 4K netflix just fine anyway.

Almost Tactf, did you have too remove the back plate off that 1080? It's not on the supported list. I had to take the back plate off my 480's. The RAM is too close to the top card and the cards are so close together removing it from the lower card helped the top card breath better.

Last edited by Conroe; 03-27-2017 at 07:57 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-28-2017, 12:48 PM   #19
Almost Tactf
DT 1770 and a Lyr
Almost Tactf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,712
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 35
From: Unreal Engine
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conroe View Post
My Strix Z270G default/auto sets my 7700k to 4.5 all cores locked. I don't even know what the two core and four core turbos are. If I wanted to run it stock I'd have to set those manually in BIOS. There is a 5ghz profile in the BIOS. It works with mine but it uses 1.4v while mine only needs 1.35v. 5ghz and 4k netflix is all Kaby has over Skylake. My smart TV plays 4K netflix just fine anyway.

Almost Tactf, did you have too remove the back plate off that 1080? It's not on the supported list. I had to take the back plate off my 480's. The RAM is too close to the top card and the cards are so close together removing it from the lower card helped the top card breath better.
Nope, didn't need to modify anything. She popped right in, not rubbing, no issues.

That being said I had to replace the board. I was having serious posting issues and I'm curious if it killed my CPU. It refused to run on anything but "AUTO" so I picked up a replacement and a 7700K as I'm unsure if my 6700K took damage. Stuff will be here tonight so I'll post back with my OC results on the 7700K
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking