EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Memory

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 05:55 PM   #1
travy25
Silence is golden
travy25's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,677
Last Seen: 04-12-2017
Age: 36
From: Last Frontier
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Single vs Dual Channel

Is it pretty common to get a little better clock when running only one DIMM? I'm trying to figure this one out. I can run this 1045t @ 4.2 stable all day long, but only at 4.1 if I add the second stick. I don't normally play around with only one stick or ram.

It doesn't matter how loose I make the timings or crank the vdimm/cpu north bridge voltage it just won't run the same clocks stable.

I guess it puts a little bit of extra stress on the IMC but you'd think you could cure that with bumping the voltage up.

I was just wondering if AMD guys have noticed something similar or could shed some light. That is all.

Thanks
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-15-2013, 06:22 PM   #2
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,566
Last Seen: Today
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Quite common. That why in most MHz validation contests and reference clock contests, you'll see most everyone on a single small stick.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-15-2013, 06:58 PM   #3
travy25
Silence is golden
travy25's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,677
Last Seen: 04-12-2017
Age: 36
From: Last Frontier
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I figured as much, just looking for some validation. Thanks Mt. Scott. Maybe I can just run one of these 4GB DIMMs so my epeen feels bigger. These Crucial Tactical Tracers run great on AMD platforms.

Additional Comment:

But is my logic accurate, just extra stress on the IMC?

Last edited by travy25; 01-15-2013 at 06:58 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-16-2013, 05:32 AM   #4
BIOHazard87
DFI Lover
BIOHazard87's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,700
Last Seen: 06-02-2016
Age: 24
From: Las Vegas,Nevada
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I wouldn't doubt that you would get better clocks, but definitely not better overall performance...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-16-2013, 09:19 AM   #5
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,307
Last Seen: 04-17-2017
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by travy25 View Post

But is my logic accurate, just extra stress on the IMC?
Very accurate logic. Been that way for a long time. Should see higher clocks system wide running just one stick.

Not sure why.... But that's what it is.

IE: the 3100+ s754 chip wouldn't pass 2.8ghz with 2 sticks of Corsair. So I used one gig stick of Crucial..., Well the rig is in my sig. Lucky I was to not have a cold bug, the cpu hit 3200mhz max clock.

But I'd say most of the time, like usual, it's luck of the draw. Some chips will do dual channel the same as single channel.

If you ever want this 960T back (probably for a lesser price than I purchased it for) Just let me know Travy. This chip is a good one. Tops out at 4300mhz on liquid for benching, perfectly stable at the 4250mhz you had mentioned before. I've had it over 4600mhz with Turbo core. My board however has a hard time posting any voltage Over 1.56250v for some reason. So I've never pushed for that 5ghz on the chiller even. I know the board just won't do it. (comes close though)...

What';s different about this one is the IMC is better than 95% of the Phenom II's I've got to play with taking my memory speeds well over 1000mhz effective on stock voltage cas 9. Also this chip has brought my NB/HT link to 3400mhz. It'll bench and game, but I never really stress tested these speeds when normally I'm at 3ghz or less (usually 2500mhz daily.)

Since I game mostly, running more than one stick doesn't make my frame rates better cause the GTX-480 can handle pretty much anything at any res... For multi tasking I take a little hit, but then I don't really multitask at all. Play music and game is not really that hard to do on this system, so I've been happy with a 32b OS and stuck with less then 4 gigs of ram to use.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-17-2013, 03:19 PM   #6
travy25
Silence is golden
travy25's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,677
Last Seen: 04-12-2017
Age: 36
From: Last Frontier
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Yeah, that 960t did have a great IMC, great all around chip. It will bench at 4.4+ but it will need 1.6v and to be cold outside I had it in the window when it was -30F.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking