EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Memory

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2012, 07:36 PM   #1
Stealth3si
Learning To Overclock
Stealth3si's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 235
Last Seen: 05-22-2017
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Is it worth it to upgrade my ram?

Will I notice a significant difference in art applications, heavy internet browsing, and gaming?

From what is listed in my specs, I am thinking of upgrading to the following RAM mainly because it's on sale for Labor Day.

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL
Austria  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-28-2012, 07:48 PM   #2
bravotsx
Space Monkey
bravotsx's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,743
Last Seen: 07-29-2015
Age: 34
From: Berkeley, CA
iTrader: 8 / 100%
short answer: no

why? it's still 8GB and those things you mentioned aren't necessarily bound by the memory speed of your machine. you will get a small increase in FPS (maybe 2-5% best case), no change in web browsing, and a small speedup in your art apps (again only a small increase).

with your NB @ 3GHz you're already getting a lot of mileage from your current setup
Aauria Hibedi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-05-2012, 03:52 PM   #3
mjrhealth
Learning To Overclock
mjrhealth's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 73
Last Seen: 01-01-2014
iTrader: 0 / 0%
What He said. If you really need to spend money go for lower latency ram, it pointless getting more than 8 gig it just wont get used. I have run my ram at 1333 and at the nominal 1600 and see negligible difference.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-14-2012, 03:34 PM   #4
noobie noob
Build Junky
Senior Member
 
Posts: 267
Last Seen: 10-17-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Correct! That cpus mem controller is set at 1333. Anything higher would be overclocked! That means if you buy 1600 speed ddr3 then you will have to start off at 1333 and overclock your cpu from there to bring the memory right along with the overclock. I love ddr3 1333 with low latency with stock amd phenoms. Work great! 7-7-7 timings can't be beat with the phenoms.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-17-2012, 08:02 AM   #5
reddog007
Learning To Overclock
reddog007's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 156
Last Seen: 02-20-2013
iTrader: 2 / 100%
How much ram do you use? If you run stuff like Photoshop, and like to multitask/keep stuff open, with how cheap memory is just get another 8gigs! Would only be like ~$50. If you are using 70+% RAM on 8GB, get some more. Im sure would see greater benefits from that then getting faster RAM. Shoot, based on what is in your sig, you aren't even running your current memory at stock 1866MHz speeds. It is actually underclocked!

I have 8gigs myself and constantly use between 70%~90%. I need more. .

A lot of people say that 8GB is enough and will barely be used, but just see what task manager says. It is surprisingly easy to use up 8GB FAST. I know once I make the switch to 16GB, that will be eaten up FAST too.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-17-2012, 11:23 AM   #6
Witchdoctor
"Think"
Witchdoctor's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,750
Last Seen: 04-03-2017
iTrader: 17 / 100%
I agree, not worth it
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-17-2012, 12:49 PM   #7
jmilch
486 DX/2 for the win!
jmilch's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,076
Last Seen: 09-21-2016
iTrader: 53 / 100%
Ancient threads reborn?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking