EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Memory

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2013, 01:13 PM   #1
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Finally got CAS-7 @ DDR3-1600 Stable

Finally after having time to tweak the voltages on my Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US kit of RAM, i got it 13 hours memtest stable at 7-7-7-21 at DDR3-1600 with 1.60v. It was stable for almost an hour with only 1.55v, but unfortunately i don't have any voltage adjustments in between to see if it would have been stable at something like 1.5625 or whatnot.

They still are cool to the touch even at 1.60v. Normally i don't like to over volt RAM, but i hear this kit is pretty resilient and i had to try since i was so close on stock voltages.

Either way here it is.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cas-7 at 1600.png
Views:	109
Size:	185.0 KB
ID:	167218  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-21-2013, 01:41 PM   #2
DarkTower87
Tension Tour 2013
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2,016
Last Seen: 04-05-2016
Age: 29
From: Massachusetts
Wow some tight timings. Good job.

Additional Comment:

Do you have it at 1t or 2t?

Last edited by DarkTower87; 04-21-2013 at 01:41 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-21-2013, 02:22 PM   #3
johnerz
Just getting Old
johnerz's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,375
Last Seen: 07-10-2017
From: Chippenham UK
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Its very good stuff for the price this is mine @ 1.55volt
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mem.PNG
Views:	91
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	167219  
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-21-2013, 05:26 PM   #4
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I have it at 1T right now.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-21-2013, 06:17 PM   #5
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
That's pretty decent 901! I hope the 960T can replicate that. I think it will. I did have it at one point Cas 5 over 700mhz. The last SS I have is at only 660mhz, but I did further testing and it has the ability for over 700. Good for benching at least......But other than tight timings, I did run 1000mhz Cas 9 stable and could easily bench at 1100mhz Cas 10. Mushkin redline ridgebacks anyhow.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-21-2013, 07:32 PM   #6
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I'm getting an IBT error now about 8 passes into a max test where i wasn't before, wondering if its the RAM or not. Its weird i have been stable at these speeds before. I wonder if you can pass memtest for 13 hours and still fail in IBT on RAM?

I guess its stable everywhere else though, 8 passes is pretty far into IBT on max.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-21-2013, 08:18 PM   #7
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 901-Memphis View Post
I'm getting an IBT error now about 8 passes into a max test where i wasn't before, wondering if its the RAM or not. Its weird i have been stable at these speeds before. I wonder if you can pass memtest for 13 hours and still fail in IBT on RAM?

I guess its stable everywhere else though, 8 passes is pretty far into IBT on max.
Really the best benchmark for stability is just using it. I like Gaming. It seems to be stress enough have random read writes vs a constant calculation.

A really good stress test is F@H. I've run 13 consecutive days folding at all kinds of clocks. Temps go up and down, the mem usage goes up and down while I'm using the PC for other things while crunching numbers.

You could run Prime95 and OCCT together as well. I usually do something like that when I get questioned on my overclocks. I overkill the proof.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-22-2013, 04:25 PM   #8
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Hopefully I will remember to back it down to something like cas-9 before I put in the 960T and reinstall my os on my new 1tb drive. So I can start over with with the thubn imc speed and volts.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-22-2013, 05:13 PM   #9
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 901-Memphis View Post
Hopefully I will remember to back it down to something like cas-9 before I put in the 960T and reinstall my os on my new 1tb drive. So I can start over with with the thubn imc speed and volts.
I hope you clear Cmos like your supposed to... you won't have any issues that way.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-22-2013, 05:42 PM   #10
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I wasn't planning on it but maybe I should. I was just going to adjust my frequency back to auto and set ram timings manually back to cas 9. Is it completely necessary to reset bios on swaps?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-22-2013, 07:26 PM   #11
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 901-Memphis View Post
Is it completely necessary to reset bios on swaps?
If your installing another FX chip, I'd say hot swap it. But Phenom II also uses different HT frequencies.

You could try the hotswap, but if your OC starts getting funky, you'll reset it anyways.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-22-2013, 08:25 PM   #12
vai0
<><
vai0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,009
Last Seen: 06-29-2017
Age: 25
From: Florida
iTrader: 0 / 0%
They dont make em like this anymore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mem timings.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	294.5 KB
ID:	167232  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-24-2013, 08:42 PM   #13
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Those are some fine sticks indeed.

I myself downgraded to a 960T so I have to start all over to see if I can still run the same speeds with this setup.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-24-2013, 09:52 PM   #14
zila1
Overclocker
zila1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 287
Last Seen: 09-16-2016
Age: 58
From: Chicago
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by vai0 View Post
They dont make em like this anymore
I agree, hard to find nice sticks anymore:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Phenom II X4 965BE @ 4321MHz 6-8-6-20-28 1T.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	262.6 KB
ID:	167256  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-25-2013, 03:12 PM   #15
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,584
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by zila1 View Post
I agree, hard to find nice sticks anymore:
+1

United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-25-2013, 03:27 PM   #16
zila1
Overclocker
zila1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 287
Last Seen: 09-16-2016
Age: 58
From: Chicago
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Nice, Hi Scottie
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-26-2013, 05:46 PM   #17
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Tried cas-7 with the 960T at 2400/2400 nb/ht and it's unstable on Intel burn test with stock cpu nb volts. I guess I'll give it a bump when I get more time. I think stock is 1.25v, I wonder how much I'll need.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-26-2013, 06:15 PM   #18
vai0
<><
vai0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,009
Last Seen: 06-29-2017
Age: 25
From: Florida
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Im on the older sticks that used 1.65v
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-26-2013, 07:18 PM   #19
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 901-Memphis View Post
Tried cas-7 with the 960T at 2400/2400 nb/ht and it's unstable on Intel burn test with stock cpu nb volts. I guess I'll give it a bump when I get more time. I think stock is 1.25v, I wonder how much I'll need.
The NB/HT on that chip have nothing to do with that Mem controller. Try more Ram voltage at Cas 7 or lower other latencies for that Cas. Like 7-9-7 for example.

@ Scotty, you can push for higher clocks and it'll net you a decent score.

Pushed this one from 666 divider at auto timings. But I think the Cpu clock is what got me the decent time...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_id_932289.jpeg
Views:	67
Size:	196.4 KB
ID:	167289  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-26-2013, 07:33 PM   #20
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Oh hey Justin, you also can go for loose timings and fast clocks with that 960T.

Here's 1100mhz Cas 10 @ 1.68v 32m Pi stable. I didn't stress test this speed, however at 1000mhz it was overnight stable Prime95 and OCCT blend stable Cas 9 @ 1.5v
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	960T 1100mhz mem pi 32m stable.png
Views:	62
Size:	179.7 KB
ID:	167290  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking