EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Memory

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2013, 11:47 PM   #21
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I might try tweaking the RAM speed up and see where it goes on higher CAS, but i don't really wanna give it too much voltage as i don't have a backup kit now.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2013, 07:37 AM   #22
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Well I don't think 1.68v or less will hurt anything. Those sticks should stay nice and cool with even just a little air flow on them. I wouldn't be trying anything more than 1.75v without decent air flow across the sticks.

Just because there isn't any heat sinks on your sticks, doesn't mean that they will run hot if you apply a little cooling directly to them... OC'ed plenty of sticks without heat sinks on em. Just got a set in from Scotty that are sinkless and I'll be pushing on them cause they'll go in the bench rig. Gotta tweak and test them against another set I got by surprise from my brother. It's actually Triple channel X58 ram 1.65v so I don't know how the AMD chips will play with it.

And non of it is on any qualified venders list either.....
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2013, 01:57 PM   #23
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Well they won't do 1866 with cas 10 and 1.60v. I should have started lower but I was hopeful it would work.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2013, 05:28 PM   #24
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 901-Memphis View Post
Well they won't do 1866 with cas 10 and 1.60v. I should have started lower but I was hopeful it would work.
Well try more voltage. Put a fan on the sticks, they'll be fine.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2013, 06:51 PM   #25
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
I have a fan from a amd 939 heatsink that i propped up on top of the video card and in between the heatsink blowing halfway in between the RAM and the mosfets, so its getting some air, but i need one with more power, my case is really cramped with the Frio Extreme.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2013, 07:30 PM   #26
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Yea Big air coolers can take up space!! But at least it sounds like it's doing the job for the Cpu which is more important.

To Be completely honest, I've had the best times on the stock 1:5 divider or 666 and up. Cas 8 or 9 depending on the sticks I'm gonna use. But that's my experience with it so far. Same with the 3770K which is using the same Ram.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-27-2013, 09:00 PM   #27
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Going to try 7-9-8-24 @ 1.6v and give it a go again to see if that helps.

EDIT:

Seems to be stable at the above mentioned CAS-7 / 1600 / 1.6v. It passed 10 IBT Maximum passes. I am going to memtest it overnight now just to be safe.

Last edited by 901-Memphis; 04-27-2013 at 11:47 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-28-2013, 03:25 AM   #28
Dr. McCoy
The doctor is in...
Dr. McCoy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 707
Last Seen: 12-10-2016
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Here's an example of a set hitting 1000+ at CAS 6.
I did this last year just to see if the set could even do it. I did have to use looser timings overall - Maintaining a CAS 6 setting to reach 1000+ wasn't easy.... Kind of a pain in fact but I pulled it off.

Memphis, your set is doing well so keep tweaking.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CL 6 example.jpeg
Views:	109
Size:	461.4 KB
ID:	167295  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-28-2013, 07:38 AM   #29
ShrimpBrime
7GHZ CLUB
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,310
Last Seen: Yesterday
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Now that's impressive Dr.McCoy
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-28-2013, 12:11 PM   #30
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McCoy View Post
Here's an example of a set hitting 1000+ at CAS 6.
I did this last year just to see if the set could even do it. I did have to use looser timings overall - Maintaining a CAS 6 setting to reach 1000+ wasn't easy.... Kind of a pain in fact but I pulled it off.

Memphis, your set is doing well so keep tweaking.

That must have required some insane voltage!


I think im tweaked out on my memory, i don't wanna push any more voltage now that i am stable at cas 7.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	memtest picture cas 7 1700 1.6v.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	223.1 KB
ID:	167302  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-28-2013, 06:02 PM   #31
Dr. McCoy
The doctor is in...
Dr. McCoy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 707
Last Seen: 12-10-2016
iTrader: 6 / 100%
No, I was using around 1.75v's and the set is rated for 1.60v's.
These sticks have great IC's in them - They respond well to bumps in voltage and don't mind tight timings.
Bad news is they are not being sold anywhere now so you can't go to Newegg and order some or I'd be buying a few more sticks just to have them but at least I did manage to get a backup set.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-28-2013, 06:12 PM   #32
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McCoy View Post
No, I was using around 1.75v's and the set is rated for 1.60v's.
These sticks have great IC's in them - They respond well to bumps in voltage and don't mind tight timings.
Bad news is they are not being sold anywhere now so you can't go to Newegg and order some or I'd be buying a few more sticks just to have them but at least I did manage to get a backup set.
What model are they exactly?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-28-2013, 07:39 PM   #33
Dr. McCoy
The doctor is in...
Dr. McCoy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 707
Last Seen: 12-10-2016
iTrader: 6 / 100%
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231444

FYI: I've seen where some have had the same luck I've had with them, others say they didn't do so well - Like anything else it's luck of the draw.
My bad - These are rated for 1.5v's.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-29-2013, 12:00 PM   #34
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
If you RMA a set i wonder if they still have enough in stock for that or if they will give you a comparable model?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-29-2013, 01:56 PM   #35
Dr. McCoy
The doctor is in...
Dr. McCoy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 707
Last Seen: 12-10-2016
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 901-Memphis View Post
If you RMA a set i wonder if they still have enough in stock for that or if they will give you a comparable model?
I had a set once I had to RMA with OCZ - One of the sticks began acting up so I did an RMA to them.
The set I had was no longer being made and they sent me a different set that while not being rated as high, it was a larger set and proved at least just as capable as the old set ever was.
Still have the set (AMD Black Edition 2x2GB's) and they still for what they are.
If they don't have what you do in stock, you'll probrably get something similar to what I did, of at least the same rating I'd have to guess.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-29-2013, 01:59 PM   #36
zila1
Overclocker
zila1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 287
Last Seen: 09-16-2016
Age: 58
From: Chicago
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Those are really nice sticks you have there Doc. Take good care of em.

Last edited by zila1; 04-30-2013 at 07:53 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-29-2013, 10:48 PM   #37
Dr. McCoy
The doctor is in...
Dr. McCoy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 707
Last Seen: 12-10-2016
iTrader: 6 / 100%
You know I will Zila.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking