EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Memory

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2013, 10:47 AM   #1
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
RAM Upgrade for Sabertooth 990FX R2.0

I’m looking for a RAM upgrade from what I’m running currently. I would like to go towards tighter timings and higher speed if possible. Currently, I’m running 4x2GB of these (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231193) at 1600 MHz, 9-9-9-25-40 1T, 1.50v or so.

What I would appreciate some help with is what direction to go (looser timings CL9, higher speed 2133) or (tighter timings CL7, lesser speed 1600), etc. Also, since I have an issue with pump block inlet and first RAM slot, I’d like to run 2 sticks at 4GB or 8 GB each, for a total of 8GB or 16GB respectively (8GB seems to be plenty for what I’m doing).


What is also unknown to me is the trade-off between OC’ing slower sticks vs. less OC of faster sticks.


I have only used G. Skill and have never been disappointed so I’d prefer to stick with G. Skill but feel free to propose others if you feel they are reliable. I would assume I’d be looking at something from the Ripjaws or Sniper series. Lastly, consider the board (Sabertooth 990FX R2.0) and compatibility, the QVL appears to a bit outdated. Thank You All!

Last edited by chartiet; 07-15-2013 at 12:25 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 12:57 PM   #2
AruisDante
Son of Sanguinius
AruisDante's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,870
Last Seen: 02-20-2017
Age: 29
From: Somewhere in MA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I mean, are you just feeling the upgrade bug? Or do you want more capacity? Honestly, in anything other than benchmarks, you're pretty much at peak memory bandwidth.

If you really are dead set on upgrading, I'd suggest getting a set of either 4x4GB or 2x8GB Ripjaws at 2133 CAS 9. The 2x8GB route gives you room for adding more capacity down the line, and isn't too expensive. Anything faster than that and you're paying a boatload of money that would be better off being spent on a graphics card or a montherboard/CPU upgrade.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 01:18 PM   #3
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
im feeling the upgrade bug mainly, i was just wondering if the upgrade capacity was worth the trouble and money or not

Also, im trying to get a feel for performance comparisons between say 1600 @ cl7 vs. 2133 @ cl9 or cl10 and then when oc'ing mem, do you get more out of lower freq with tighter timings or vice versa, what oc's good and what doesnt, etc.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 01:33 PM   #4
AruisDante
Son of Sanguinius
AruisDante's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,870
Last Seen: 02-20-2017
Age: 29
From: Somewhere in MA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Generally speaking (and this is a very broad generally) if you take CAS/Freq and it works out to around 0.004-0.005 you're about the best you're going to get performance wise. It's very, very hard to get under that with standard DDRX memory (GDDR is a totally different animal). When comparing RAM you can use that as a rough benchmark. Now, there are some situations where the raw bandwidth of higher frequency RAM will start to win out; once you get over DDR1600 it's usually better to take a slight hit in CAS to increase frequency. But in most situations DDR3-1600 at CAS 7 is going to perform pretty close to DDR3-2133 at CAS 9.

Back when you used the FSB/HTT/QPI to do overclocking rather than just setting the multiplier, having a higher memory speed to fall back on could be useful because of the way the numbers would work out with the limited DRAM ratios. But since your setting the DRAM speed completely independent of the CPU speed now (unless this socket is old enough that you're still tweaking the HTT speed, I haven't done AMD in a while), it's pretty much just all marketing hype.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 01:46 PM   #5
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
gotcha, very good info. thank you. no on the htt speed oc'ing (200 * 20.5)

do the 965's go up to 2133 or only 1600?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 01:54 PM   #6
AruisDante
Son of Sanguinius
AruisDante's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,870
Last Seen: 02-20-2017
Age: 29
From: Somewhere in MA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Your motherboard says it'll do 18XX. Not sure about the actual CPU. But the cost difference is pretty small, and gives you more headroom should you upgrade your mobo/CPU down the line. At the lower speed it should be able to drop down the CAS bin as well.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 02:05 PM   #7
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
sorry, the mobo and not the cpu are the limiting factors for ram speed i meant

yea, the mobo states 18xx but the qvl goes up to 2400... the mobo will go higher than 18xx im pretty sure, i remember that being an initial concern of mine when i was investigating buying the board back when

from qvl: "Memory module with memory frequency higher than 2133 MHz and its corresponding timing or the loaded XMP Profile is not the JEDEC memory standard. The stability and compatibility of these memory modules depend on the CPU’s capabilities and other installed devices."
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Sabertooth_990FX_R20-Memory-QVL.pdf (92.9 KB, 195 views)
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 03:40 PM   #8
FunkZ
AMD kicks your ASCII
FunkZ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,372
Last Seen: Today
Age: 44
From: Chambersburg, PA
iTrader: 67 / 100%
The CPU and its NB is the limitation for memory speed. You have to overclock to get anything faster than 1600. I could get my Thuban up to ~1833 (with 2000 rated sticks) but no further. You would likely have more luck with BD/PD and higher memory speeds. Otherwise you're just buying memory overhead that you can't use. I'd go for 2 sticks of 1600 that will do CAS 8 or even 7, although perceived performance over CAS 9 will likely be minimal.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 03:47 PM   #9
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
in that case, i should re-try/try harder to get back to 1600 8-8-8-24 1T with my current sticks.

on my old Crosshair III, i could reach that with no memtest errors, with this Sabertooth, I couldn't get past memtest with anything lower than 1600 9-9-9-24-1T. Maxed voltage out (1.65) and everything, couldn't get there

any ideas?

Additional Comment:

or field suggestions for a new set of 2*4GB sticks at cl9, cl8, or cl7 (cheaper $$$)

or, as understood earlier, scrap the whole thing due to minimal gains

Last edited by chartiet; 06-25-2013 at 03:47 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 03:51 PM   #10
AruisDante
Son of Sanguinius
AruisDante's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,870
Last Seen: 02-20-2017
Age: 29
From: Somewhere in MA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
That's weird that changing the MB affected your memory performance so much. What are the rated speeds for the RAM?

Realistically, there's no reason at all to upgrade unless you're getting 16GB of RAM. And even then frankly it's probably not worth it if you're going to stick with that Mobo/CPU. As I said originally, might as well just keep what you have
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 03:59 PM   #11
FunkZ
AMD kicks your ASCII
FunkZ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,372
Last Seen: Today
Age: 44
From: Chambersburg, PA
iTrader: 67 / 100%
I would play around more with your current sticks. I have the first revision of that board. Regular old 1600-rated Crucial Ballistix Tracers, 4x2Gb running ~1633 (245 at 10/3 ratio) at 8-8-8-24-36-1T on 1.7v - no other memory settings touched. I do have the NB cranked up to 2695 (11x) on stock volts, cpu multi on default.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 04:04 PM   #12
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
i dunno, i was puzzled too, check sig for current settings, let me know if you need more info

rated speed is 1600... (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231193)

can I go higher than 1.65v? with the old board, those timings were acheived at under 1.65, more like 1.64v (1.635v), tried every combination settings at 2T, couldnt get any faster
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-25-2013, 05:04 PM   #13
zila1
Overclocker
zila1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 287
Last Seen: 09-16-2016
Age: 58
From: Chicago
iTrader: 2 / 100%
The sweet spot for your ram on a 965 will be 1600 and as tight as you can run them. Good ram is really hard to find now but you can still find some decent sticks out there. If you can find some that'll go down to cas7 or if yours will tighten down more. I have those sticks in my sisters rig, I couldn't get them to drop down below cas 8.

I've tried with more speed but really what phenoms like is really tight timings:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PII 965BE 4500MHz 6-8-6-20-28 1T.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	316.4 KB
ID:	167843  

Last edited by zila1; 06-25-2013 at 05:10 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-26-2013, 08:22 AM   #14
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
very nice zila!
1) the screenie is of the same sticks I have? what are the timings for your sister's RAM?
2) what settings/voltages do you have for 4.5GHz? I would really appreciate the help getting past 4.1GHz. 4.2GHz was tough and I couldn't get her stable. Your settings would be good for reference. I notice you CPU voltage is pretty high...

Last edited by chartiet; 06-26-2013 at 08:48 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-26-2013, 11:09 AM   #15
zila1
Overclocker
zila1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 287
Last Seen: 09-16-2016
Age: 58
From: Chicago
iTrader: 2 / 100%
The SS is of these sticks: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231321

but they are hard to find now. Scottie has similar sticks and they rock.

My sisters' rig has the same sticks you have but I wasn't able to get them lower than cas 8. They run nice just the same though.

Getting to 4500MHz on PII 965 was just lucky for me, that's my gaming setting in the screen shot and it is perfectly stable as long as I can keep the temps under 55C. I would love to try an H220 and see how much cooler I run as compared to my H70 w/Ultra Kaze's in push/pull.

If you can get stable at 4200MHz you're doing real good. I usually run at that speed myself but the other night I had the A/C cranked up so I decided to do a little high MHz gaming..............

My chip runs stable 4200MHz @ 1.45v It runs real nice @ 4200
NB 2800MHz cpu/NB v @ 1.35
My ram needs 1.6v to run @ cas 6 and I of course have a fan on them. They run cool as a clam.

Every chip is different so you have to take these settings with a grain of salt. Most like more voltage. Mine just happens to work well with low volts.

You have a nice rig. Enjoy it.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-26-2013, 12:03 PM   #16
FunkZ
AMD kicks your ASCII
FunkZ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,372
Last Seen: Today
Age: 44
From: Chambersburg, PA
iTrader: 67 / 100%
My sticks are kinda old, Crucial actually rates them for 8-8-8 at 1.65v but most of the ones I see now call for 1.5v or even 1.35v - but if yours are only rated for 9-9-9 then anything more you can get out of them is no guarantee. I see you already have your NB at 2600, have you tried changing that lower or higher to see if it makes a difference in what your memory will run? Also you are setting the timings for both banks the same right?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-01-2013, 12:10 PM   #17
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
ok guys (and girls), im thinking either these;
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231536

or these;
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231445

Does one oc better than the other (better chance of hitting a cool CL6 with CL7 rated sticks or CL8, etc?)? should I just go with the lowest CL I can get? Opinions on other sticks. Thanks
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-01-2013, 03:49 PM   #18
FunkZ
AMD kicks your ASCII
FunkZ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,372
Last Seen: Today
Age: 44
From: Chambersburg, PA
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Not going to see much difference CAS7 by itself over CAS8, but they're only $7 more. If they were 7-7-7 rated, but looks like none of the 1600 are. I would say stick with what you got.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-15-2013, 12:30 PM   #19
chartiet
"What did he say...?"
chartiet's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,674
Last Seen: 01-09-2017
Age: 33
From: IA, WI, QC, FR
iTrader: 4 / 100%
I swear I asked this ?? before but cant find the thread and don't remember the answer, but, I'm pretty sure what the answer is;

Can you run 2 sticks of RAM in slots 3 and 4 in lieu of slots 1 and 2? The AIO block nozzle blocks my #1 slot. Itd be dual channel in slots 3 and 4 with nothing in slots 1 and 2. The manual and most info out there suggests that it isn't an issue. I just want to double check b4 I proceed any further.

Last edited by chartiet; 07-15-2013 at 12:31 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-15-2013, 02:06 PM   #20
MadHax
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 56
Last Seen: 04-16-2014
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Usually as long as they're in the proper channels its ok but I've run into boards that worked that way and some that didn't
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking