EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Website Related Info (No Post Increase) > Official EOC Folding @ Home Team

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2007, 10:58 PM   #21
HotRod
Folding Team Captain
HotRod's Avatar
Retired Staff
 
Posts: 2,000
Last Seen: 07-22-2010
Age: 54
From: VA
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefish View Post
Hey i am wondering whythis has never made it to the stickies to replace some of the older stuff we have up there yet?

Ill give it a good look over and replace the old one.....

Nice work guys.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-22-2007, 02:11 AM   #22
DSwarP
J.D. Freeman
DSwarP's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,614
Last Seen: 02-04-2016
Age: 31
From: Pennsylvania
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Lemme know what you need/want changed still.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-22-2007, 06:28 AM   #23
jevans64
The Folding Pylon
jevans64's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,695
Last Seen: 10-14-2015
Age: 53
From: Madison, AL
iTrader: 16 / 100%
I'd like to add that EMIII hasn't been updated for quite some time and a lot of the new proteins are not in the emprotz database. The GPU ans SMP clients are not supported.

Here are a couple of good alternatives that seem to have full support for all the different proteins and clients.

FahMon ( first picture )

http://fahmon.silent-blade.org/

FahSpy ( second picture )

http://www.fahspy.com/index.shtml
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FAHmon222crop.jpg
Views:	369
Size:	179.3 KB
ID:	106018   Click image for larger version

Name:	FAHspy143crop.jpg
Views:	370
Size:	225.4 KB
ID:	106019  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-22-2007, 07:32 AM   #24
magg
Senior EOCF Addict
magg's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,452
Last Seen: 10-02-2016
Age: 31
From: 127.0.0.1
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Awesome work, Mr. Swarp. Hey jevans, which one of those two do you recommend? The non-updatedness of EMIII is starting to irritate me
Iraq  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-22-2007, 08:41 AM   #25
chiefish
old school
chiefish's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,148
Last Seen: 12-16-2014
Age: 50
From: northwest N.J.
iTrader: 6 / 100%
I am trying Fahspy right now but cant seem to connect to the other comps on my network, i have it working fine on my main rig, but when i go the networked rigs it asks for a logon, yet i can access them all in my windows network screens. Any ideas?

nevermind i got it solved

Last edited by chiefish; 07-22-2007 at 01:20 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-22-2007, 09:53 AM   #26
TDOGZZ
Koenigsegg CCX
TDOGZZ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,916
Last Seen: 09-06-2014
Age: 44
From: where you live?
iTrader: 20 / 100%
thx jevans fah-spy(very nice) gives way more info than fah-mon..so i switched.(i like the pts per step/frame)

i first pointed fah-spy to fah/work and no good... just point it main fah folder<--i,m new to this stuff,lol.

i,m only folding my main rig so i can,t help with networking.

and good work w/this DS!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fah spy.JPG
Views:	351
Size:	244.8 KB
ID:	106021  

Last edited by TDOGZZ; 07-22-2007 at 10:01 AM.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-22-2007, 02:07 PM   #27
DoubleVision
Learning To Overclock
DoubleVision's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 123
Last Seen: 01-28-2010
Age: 43
From: Da 808 State!
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I'm also using fahspy at the office now, but I can't seem to get the "service F@H" to work. Does anyone know or have the tutorial to this?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-22-2007, 03:28 PM   #28
HotRod
Folding Team Captain
HotRod's Avatar
Retired Staff
 
Posts: 2,000
Last Seen: 07-22-2010
Age: 54
From: VA
iTrader: 13 / 100%
I added FahSpy.......Thanks jevans64, Good to see ya back in action.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-24-2007, 05:02 PM   #29
noremacyug
HK Fanboi
noremacyug's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,142
Last Seen: 08-23-2016
Age: 34
From: Kentucky
iTrader: 6 / 100%
MrObvious suggested that i might wanna mention this for the sticky. do with it what you want.

i've had some problems with losing WU's. it's mostly been with the SMP client, and just a handful of times with the consoles. what i've decided to do to combat this problem is to run a program called syncback. it allows you to backup any source folder(s) to any deistination(s) you choose. i've set it up to backup my entire fah folder every 30mins. so hopefully if something goes bad i'll have a copy i can fall back on rather than lose all my progress. just thought i'd mention it to possibly help others.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-06-2007, 03:54 PM   #30
propaintball
Official SpellChecker
propaintball's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,265
Last Seen: 05-13-2013
Age: 26
From: Weymouth, Dorset
iTrader: 0 / 0%
what the hell....i dont get it??!?!!? what has using computers to run this thingy got to do with diseases etc.....im so confused
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-06-2007, 09:20 PM   #31
SPD010273
Mad Warranty Voider
SPD010273's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,019
Last Seen: 04-21-2016
From: Atlanta
iTrader: 2 / 100%
read this:

Quote:
Taken from the Stanford University Folding @ Home Website

Our goal: to understand protein folding, misfolding, and related diseases

What is protein folding and how is folding linked to disease?
Proteins are biology's workhorses -- its "nanomachines." Before proteins can carry out these important functions, they assemble themselves, or "fold." The process of protein folding, while critical and fundamental to virtually all of biology, in many ways remains a mystery.

Moreover, when proteins do not fold correctly (i.e. "misfold"), there can be serious consequences, including many well known diseases, such as Alzheimer's, Mad Cow (BSE), CJD, ALS, Huntington's, Parkinson's disease, and many Cancers and cancer-related syndromes.

You can help by simply running a piece of software.
Folding@Home is a distributed computing project -- people from through out the world download and run software to band together to make one of the largest supercomputers in the world. Every computer makes the project closer to our goals.

Folding@Home uses novel computational methods coupled to distributed computing, to simulate problems thousands to millions of times more challenging than previously achieved.

What have we done so far?
We have had several successes. You can read about them on our Science page, Results section, or go directly to our press and papers page.

Want to learn more?
You can download our Executive Summary, which is a PDF suitable for distribution. Also, you can learn more by watching recent seminars (Stanford BMI ; Xerox PARC). One can also help by donating funds to the project, via Stanford University.
F@H used computers to simulate protien folding, and in particular, misfolding, which leads to cancers, diseases, and other things. This kind of research has lead to discoveries in how HIV attacks T-cells, how cells can become unable to regulate their growth (and form tumors), and other things like that.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 05:19 AM   #32
propaintball
Official SpellChecker
propaintball's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,265
Last Seen: 05-13-2013
Age: 26
From: Weymouth, Dorset
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPD010273 View Post
read this:



F@H used computers to simulate protien folding, and in particular, misfolding, which leads to cancers, diseases, and other things. This kind of research has lead to discoveries in how HIV attacks T-cells, how cells can become unable to regulate their growth (and form tumors), and other things like that.
dude, that really didnt help lol, you just wrote what was there already
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 09:57 AM   #33
MrObvious
I has a Vostro!
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 11,469
Last Seen: 12-31-2015
Age: 30
From: Hutchinson KS
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Okay what FAH does is it's a program you run on your computer that uses 100% CPU to run simulations of proteins in your cells that "fold". When one misfolds you get disease. The project is basically to simulate which proteins misfold so we can find cures for diseases such as Alzheimer's or cancer. That's about as simple as I can make it with it making sense.

Or wait:

1) Download program.
2) Simulate some cell thingy for science to analyze.
3) Save lives.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 11:02 AM   #34
propaintball
Official SpellChecker
propaintball's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,265
Last Seen: 05-13-2013
Age: 26
From: Weymouth, Dorset
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i see, why would that appeal to anyone appart from the saving lives bit?
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 11:22 AM   #35
MrObvious
I has a Vostro!
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 11,469
Last Seen: 12-31-2015
Age: 30
From: Hutchinson KS
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Have you lost anyone to cancer, Alzheimer's, etc.? Also the points involved make it much more fun. For example, a standard console can get you maybe 200 PPD (points per day), but if you buy a quad core you can get 3-4,000 PPD. See the sig at my bottom? We have almost 1 million points and have around 1,500-2,000 PPD. The stats and competition make it fun and you can sleep easier knowing you save lives at the same time. Think of it as charity.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 02:19 PM   #36
propaintball
Official SpellChecker
propaintball's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,265
Last Seen: 05-13-2013
Age: 26
From: Weymouth, Dorset
iTrader: 0 / 0%
ah cool, might start this. sounds like you lads are doing a good thing does it like changethe life span of your cpu or anything being under that stress?
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 02:25 PM   #37
MrObvious
I has a Vostro!
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 11,469
Last Seen: 12-31-2015
Age: 30
From: Hutchinson KS
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Not if you don't run like 1.8V through your CPU . Try to keep the heat away and you'll be good. The 50C rule you hear is probably good here too.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 02:26 PM   #38
frozndevl
mo' frozn foldin'
frozndevl's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 888
Last Seen: 04-20-2015
Age: 37
From: Phoenix, AZ
iTrader: 1 / 100%
no more than overclocking, and that is why we are all here
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 04:27 PM   #39
propaintball
Official SpellChecker
propaintball's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,265
Last Seen: 05-13-2013
Age: 26
From: Weymouth, Dorset
iTrader: 0 / 0%
cool, i have water cooling so not too bad, but yer, can you still use your rig whilst its "folding" or does it just DOMINATE your system? lol
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 04:49 PM   #40
MrObvious
I has a Vostro!
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 11,469
Last Seen: 12-31-2015
Age: 30
From: Hutchinson KS
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Yes you can. YOu can set up SMP folding and it'll be a big help. The only thing it might conflict with is gaming.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking