EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Motherboards

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2016, 09:46 PM   #1
op1e
7 Strings of Wonder
op1e's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 742
Last Seen: 12-10-2016
Age: 42
From: ohio
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Older Cpu Compatability New Boards

Looking at new AMD boards for a budget build for kids. I'm seeing that cpu compatibility goes all the way back to Phenom II on this 970 board I'm looking at. Am I right to presume that I could throw my old X3 720BE in this board? I have that laying around and a couple GTX 460's that could have my daughter in a pretty capable rig (so she's not hogging mine all the time for Sims and Minecraft). I've been outta the loop on tech a few years.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/4...MD_Motherboard
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-23-2016, 12:14 AM   #2
FunkZ
AMD kicks your ASCII
FunkZ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,365
Last Seen: Today
Age: 44
From: Chambersburg, PA
iTrader: 67 / 100%
The 720 isn't listed on the compatibility chart for that board.
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/

It could be because the 720 was one of the first AM3 chips to come out, before there were even AM3 boards. On the other hand, it's a C2 core just like the 740, which IS on the compatibility chart, so it's possible it may work.

I recall I picked up a 720 BE in Feb 09 and it ran great in my AM2+ board at the time. Later in the year when I switched to DDR3 and AM3 I found it ran poorly, and dropped it for the new 965 X4 C3 core.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-23-2016, 10:16 AM   #3
op1e
7 Strings of Wonder
op1e's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 742
Last Seen: 12-10-2016
Age: 42
From: ohio
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Well it's worth a shot. If not I'll get one of the new 8 core AMD cpu's for $99. Wonder how they stack up compared to my 2600k. Gonna get a 16gb set of Ripjaws for my rig and put my 8g kit in that rig.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking