EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General CPU Cooling > Phase Change, Dry Ice, LN2, Other Crazy Stuff

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2014, 04:03 PM   #1
vokus
Running System Stock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 48
Last Seen: 11-11-2016
iTrader: 0 / 0%
This section needs more activity!

This section needs more activity!

Any one who is currently using phase change setups, direct die, or chillers, or anything else that gets real cold, please post pix!

I wana see!

United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-04-2014, 04:58 PM   #2
Witchdoctor
"Think"
Witchdoctor's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,750
Last Seen: 04-03-2017
iTrader: 17 / 100%
Here's one .....

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2167.JPG
Views:	256
Size:	481.1 KB
ID:	170787  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-05-2014, 12:20 AM   #3
vokus
Running System Stock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 48
Last Seen: 11-11-2016
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Nice! How much gaming would you be able to do if you filled up the pots to full before you have to refill. Hows is liquid nitrogen made, is it something that can be made at home?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-05-2014, 01:10 AM   #4
SlaveOnDope
Please do go on.
SlaveOnDope's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,933
Last Seen: 10-20-2015
Age: 32
From: South Kakalaky
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Leave me alone!






Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by vokus View Post
Nice! How much gaming would you be able to do if you filled up the pots to full before you have to refill. Hows is liquid nitrogen made, is it something that can be made at home?
Little to none gaming. H2o cooled or phased at best for gaming. Ln2 is not cheap.
Dry ice is cheap and good for about -80f while ln2 is good for -160f.
If you want to get into subzero I have a cheap pot for sale that is great for dry ice.
You can get dry ice at some grocery stores. Harris Teeter does in my area.

Last edited by SlaveOnDope; 12-05-2014 at 01:10 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-05-2014, 03:08 AM   #5
Witchdoctor
"Think"
Witchdoctor's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,750
Last Seen: 04-03-2017
iTrader: 17 / 100%
+1 ln2 and DICE are not for gaming, they are for benchmarking.

Even phase is a bit much for gaming IMO

If you are looking for a few more FPS in FarCry 4 or something like that look into custom water cooling. it is a fun hobby and can reap some practical 24/7 results with out having to deal with condensation issues and all that.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-05-2014, 10:28 AM   #6
vokus
Running System Stock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 48
Last Seen: 11-11-2016
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I will also contribute my first effort in to the sub zero world. MY BUILD THREAD









I made a 2 min video of it running.

http://youtu.be/GQxbPt0bn-A
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-08-2014, 04:14 AM   #7
Orthello77
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 410
Last Seen: 12-19-2015
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Sweet project Vokus. love the dual A/Cs in parallel, was always a dream of mine to do that but a single one worked out pretty good for me.

Some pics i'm fond of :









Going to update my thread soon with some new stuff but my thread got closed - so just messaged the moderator to reopen .. guess i left it a bit long between updates lol.

Threads gotta be open when the big maxwell arrives next year lol .. these 780 tics are only just cutting it , i need all the horsepower i can get with this Asus 1440p 144 hz monitor .. playing Shadow of Morder - capping the 3D frame rate to 50 (50 per eye = 100 fps overall) on high everything and i'm only hitting that 50 fps target about 95% of the time at 80% resolution (think its like 1100 p or something). 3D frame rate impact is pretty sick .. about a 2.5x hit to frame rate . Always good to have a reason to upgrade ;-)

Last edited by Orthello77; 12-08-2014 at 04:26 AM.
New Zealand  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-11-2014, 12:00 AM   #8
vokus
Running System Stock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 48
Last Seen: 11-11-2016
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thank you every one! Keep posting, it seems our numbers have shrunk! I was a kid when all of you guys phased your Pentium 4s and stuff. It was so fascinating watch it all back then! Keep posting and thank you!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-11-2014, 04:48 AM   #9
maxgull
fo mo yeers
maxgull's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 5,164
Last Seen: 07-18-2017
From: Florida
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Hey WD, I am loving the DVI>VGA adapter! Did that come with the card??



Quote:
Originally Posted by Witchdoctor View Post
Here's one .....

United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-16-2014, 11:18 AM   #10
WyZe
13 years of EOCF
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,245
Last Seen: 04-13-2017
Age: 31
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by vokus View Post
Thank you every one! Keep posting, it seems our numbers have shrunk! I was a kid when all of you guys phased your Pentium 4s and stuff. It was so fascinating watch it all back then! Keep posting and thank you!
Power is too expensive these days... now that I pay the power bills and not my parents :P

Also, my ears changed, I didn't mind (or notice even) the sound of compressers running away when I was little but now it's annoying.

Now I look for performance per watt :P

I however am gearing up the old Swiftech GPU Waterblock/TEC to slap on my Athlon 5350. Should be interesting to play with Peltiers again especially on a low low TDP chip (I always wanted to get my hands on one of the ULV emebedded Barton chips back in the day). Need to fix the meanwell first though, it got a bit rusty sitting out in the barn powering the electric fence. So stay tuned for that!

Last edited by WyZe; 12-16-2014 at 11:26 AM.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-16-2014, 03:28 PM   #11
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,584
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Can't wait.
Long time no see buddy.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-16-2014, 05:43 PM   #12
Witchdoctor
"Think"
Witchdoctor's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,750
Last Seen: 04-03-2017
iTrader: 17 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxgull View Post
Hey WD, I am loving the DVI>VGA adapter! Did that come with the card??
lmao ....

eliminates black screen benching these newer cards namely the 780Ti and the 290x go black when cold using DVI. using a VGA cable eliminates this oddly enough, I don't know why only that it works ....
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-17-2014, 05:42 AM   #13
WyZe
13 years of EOCF
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,245
Last Seen: 04-13-2017
Age: 31
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Hey Mr.Scott, long time indeed, still rocking the Socket A? I still have an NF7-S at work but its got just a T-bred :P
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-17-2014, 03:29 PM   #14
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,584
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
I have a few socket A boards still running, yes.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-22-2014, 02:30 AM   #15
Dr. McCoy
The doctor is in...
Dr. McCoy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 707
Last Seen: 12-10-2016
iTrader: 6 / 100%
OK - Here's a shot of what I do when going sub-zero.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Benchshack.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	114.0 KB
ID:	170822  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-24-2014, 07:56 PM   #16
vokus
Running System Stock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 48
Last Seen: 11-11-2016
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McCoy View Post
OK - Here's a shot of what I do when going sub-zero.

Hehehe! I love how the biggest component, is a Massive Power Supply!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking