EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > Essential Tutorials, Guides, & Info

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2006, 10:43 PM   #21
ARSkemp
NA
ARSkemp's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 173
Last Seen: 03-05-2016
Age: 30
From: CA
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Hey, my dell laptop is overclocked:
6800 go 290mhz/590mhz to 376/780 no prob (i can even go a bit farther artifact free, and my temps arne bad either)
pentium m 1.7 to 2.26ghz

everything runs very cool and the only thing i did was added as5
the are many people that have overclocked dells here:
http://www.notebookforums.com/
just go to the dell 17incher section.
i can agree not to overclock dell DESKTOPS however
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-27-2006, 08:11 AM   #22
DauntlessDolphi
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARSkemp
Hey, my dell laptop is overclocked:
6800 go 290mhz/590mhz to 376/780 no prob (i can even go a bit farther artifact free, and my temps arne bad either)
pentium m 1.7 to 2.26ghz

everything runs very cool and the only thing i did was added as5
the are many people that have overclocked dells here:
http://www.notebookforums.com/
just go to the dell 17incher section.
i can agree not to overclock dell DESKTOPS however
were talking procs here bub
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-27-2006, 09:05 AM   #23
ARSkemp
NA
ARSkemp's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 173
Last Seen: 03-05-2016
Age: 30
From: CA
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well the pentium m part works then
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-27-2006, 10:28 AM   #24
DauntlessDolphi
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARSkemp
well the pentium m part works then
OEM companys will not let you overclock their processors, YOU CANNOT OVERCLOCK A DELL.

I checked out that site you linked, and I saw nothing refering to overclocking a processor, I saw plenty about overclocking vid cards, but nothing about procs

I own 3 Dells, two of which are laptops, none overclock

*open mouth insert pistol* NO MORE OVERCLOCK DELLS

Last edited by DauntlessDolphi; 06-27-2006 at 10:38 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-27-2006, 07:46 PM   #25
ARSkemp
NA
ARSkemp's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 173
Last Seen: 03-05-2016
Age: 30
From: CA
iTrader: 0 / 0%
sorry probably should of given a better link:
http://www.notebookforums.com/showth...ghlight=pinmod

they used to have a sticky but maybe they took it off or somethin.

it should work for other non dell laptops too (any mobo with the same socket anyways i think), it was just in the dell section when i found it a long time ago.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-03-2006, 10:04 AM   #26
HeMaN22uNiOn
Learning To Overclock
HeMaN22uNiOn's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 146
Last Seen: 06-13-2013
Age: 28
From: Tulsa
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i got a kick out of ths lmao

this year a kid in my ap compsci class tried to tell my friends and i how he oc'd his xps total

i just dont understand why u would want to oc a dell ne wayz thats :
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-03-2006, 10:31 AM   #27
balewolf
Learning To Overclock
balewolf's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 245
Last Seen: 01-27-2017
Age: 36
iTrader: 0 / 0%
ya dells are cheap, i got a old dell free to give to my mom as a pc i looked up specs and they took a intel board ripped it apart took the extra ram slots off and some pci slots kinda lame of them but makes users have to buy a new dell if they wanna upgrade much. No fan on it just a duct the cpu had turned colors from so much heat but still worked good ole 1ghz. And they took all the decent stuff out of bios.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-04-2006, 01:30 PM   #28
DauntlessDolphi
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeMaN22uNiOn
i got a kick out of ths lmao

this year a kid in my ap compsci class tried to tell my friends and i how he oc'd his xps total

i just dont understand why u would want to oc a dell ne wayz thats :
Well according to this from the sticky: "Some Dell xps systems have a bios that allows for some mild overclocking:
Extremetech found at least one that could. Though not every xps has overclocking possibilities; older generations don't."

It might actually be possible, but I highly doubt it

dell O/Cers
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-04-2006, 07:02 AM   #29
Astral7
invidiatel
Astral7's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,514
Last Seen: 12-03-2012
Age: 43
iTrader: 2 / 100%
LMAO at you nubs!!!

Both 24/7 Prime95 and F@H Stable!!!!

DELL 520



DELL 4550
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-04-2006, 07:30 AM   #30
68Olds
Mad Warranty Voider
68Olds's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,089
Last Seen: 07-17-2017
Age: 55
From: Atlanta GA
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astral7 View Post
LMAO at you nubs!!!

Both 24/7 Prime95 and F@H Stable!!!!

DELL 520



DELL 4550
Did you have to do a vid pin mod to get the D1 2.4 Northwood from 100 to 133FSB? I have a D1 2.6A & couldn't get past 120FSB with 1.675v.

Great job, BTW!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-09-2006, 08:10 PM   #31
Astral7
invidiatel
Astral7's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,514
Last Seen: 12-03-2012
Age: 43
iTrader: 2 / 100%
They are both BSEL pin mods.

Maybe just a badly binned chip, 20% OC with that vCore.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-10-2006, 01:07 PM   #32
SamuraiRaver
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 69
Last Seen: 02-03-2009
Age: 31
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i work in a computer shop and all day i have to tell customers your system is basicly an unupgradable pos

reason being they make there systems in the 10,000's or more so 1 pence saved 1 a grand so they save a penny everywhere untill you get a dell

im waiting on the next post like this PackardBells Dells in discuise
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-15-2006, 04:24 PM   #33
kasra007
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Posts: 249
Last Seen: 07-04-2016
Age: 27
iTrader: 0 / 0%
in your stickey you said oem parts are not good for overclocking, well i kinda disagree, i have 2 OEM dell 7900 GTX both oced at 710/900, and an ati x1900XTX, they all oc perfectly. forgot to mention my 4600 x2+ oem, ocs to 2.74 ghz stable ;-)
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-16-2006, 06:02 AM   #34
Troglodyte
Learning To Overclock
Troglodyte's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 330
Last Seen: 08-22-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I think that's refering to complete PCs rather than individual parts. OEM parts tend to be exactly the same as retail except with shorter waranties and less (usually none) extras.
Ireland  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-16-2006, 07:24 AM   #35
b1lk1
Spiral out....
b1lk1's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,565
Last Seen: 07-17-2017
Age: 49
iTrader: 26 / 100%
The biggest problem OCing Dell/Hp/whatever name brand you have is that the OEM motherboards don't have a bios that will allow changes, the OEM PSU is too weak to run them stock most of the time and OEM ram has the absolute worst possible timings @ stock speeds and they won't go 1MHz higher half the time.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-16-2006, 04:46 PM   #36
Zer010
Powered By Gatesware
Zer010's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,832
Last Seen: 05-15-2017
Age: 32
From: Orange County,CA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
People are still doing this?

I thought this is for OCers that are bored?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-23-2006, 03:26 PM   #37
tom63376
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Last Seen: 11-14-2006
Wow.. So the Dells use cheap parts. Is this just the dimension line or
is the Optiplex series that is geared for business also built with cheap
parts? I ask because I bought a used Optiplex 3GHZ GX280 thinking
it was of high quality. It seems like a solid machine...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-23-2006, 03:30 PM   #38
ClassicAxe
Running System Stock
ClassicAxe's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Last Seen: 01-20-2007
From: Pensacola, FL
They are good for general use.... On the other hand, ud be better off upgrading to a nicer computer for gaming or OCing....

Can u OC procs using some kind of software oc'er on a dell?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-23-2006, 04:48 PM   #39
wanabebuff
[<:shut up:>]
wanabebuff's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 757
Last Seen: 04-30-2015
Age: 32
From: North Cackalacky
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClassicAxe View Post
They are good for general use.... On the other hand, ud be better off upgrading to a nicer computer for gaming or OCing....

Can u OC procs using some kind of software oc'er on a dell?
nope
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-23-2006, 05:14 PM   #40
davidhammock200
Old Fart OverClocker
davidhammock200's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 20,464
Last Seen: 07-21-2011
Age: 63
From: Las Vegas, NV.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom63376 View Post
Wow.. So the Dells use cheap parts. Is this just the dimension line or
is the Optiplex series that is geared for business also built with cheap
parts? I ask because I bought a used Optiplex 3GHZ GX280 thinking
it was of high quality. It seems like a solid machine...
They are very high quality & my #1 recommendation for the corporate desktop,
however they are not for Oc'ing or gaming.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking