EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > Essential Tutorials, Guides, & Info

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2006, 05:40 PM   #41
xdownsetx
Menior Sember
xdownsetx's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,366
Last Seen: 07-18-2017
Age: 30
From: Anaheim, CA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by DauntlessDolphi View Post
OEM companys will not let you overclock their processors, YOU CANNOT OVERCLOCK A DELL.

I checked out that site you linked, and I saw nothing refering to overclocking a processor, I saw plenty about overclocking vid cards, but nothing about procs

I own 3 Dells, two of which are laptops, none overclock

*open mouth insert pistol* NO MORE OVERCLOCK DELLS
When a first joined this forum i had a dell GX260, oced it from 2ghx to 2.8. They're out there, just depends if they got lazy when choosing a pll chip for that model.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-10-2007, 08:27 PM   #42
agent-007
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 21
Last Seen: 04-03-2008
And Then There Was The XPS 710....

http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/01/...ps710_h2c_com/

Not that I would ever buy one. Not sure if if can be additionally OC'd.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-14-2007, 04:59 PM   #43
datalogger
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Last Seen: 07-21-2007
Very informative thread, great read.

Thank you for taking the time to spell everything out in plain english for those of us that are near catatonic.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-21-2007, 04:12 PM   #44
Kaiz3r
OC the B3
Kaiz3r's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 82
Last Seen: 03-08-2016
Age: 28
From: Glennville GA.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Probibally gonna get burnt for this but the only oc'able Dell is the 700 series (710 and 710h2c) theres a video and yes ive seen it done but only very slightly (core2 extreme to 3.198 Ghz on the 710)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HV5bKsQT8Q

but as for any other dell no oc'ing wont work, but you can use thier copy of windows on another system, after all thats the windows im using. (got some indian guy on the other line just told him i did a slight mobo upgrade, along with a processor ram and v-card. he gave me the validation key.)
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-01-2007, 10:00 PM   #45
Vexir
Learning To Overclock
Vexir's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 71
Last Seen: 11-25-2007
iTrader: 0 / 0%
So if custom rigs are a much better alternative to Dells, (not that I doubt the fact, I built a desktop gaming rig myself), what happens if you need a laptop? I don't even know how to build a laptop, but I needed one, which is why I got a Dell..
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-03-2007, 10:52 AM   #46
thepeganator
wtf ken?
thepeganator's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,181
Last Seen: 08-16-2011
Age: 27
From: Salisbury, U.K
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vexir View Post
So if custom rigs are a much better alternative to Dells, (not that I doubt the fact, I built a desktop gaming rig myself), what happens if you need a laptop? I don't even know how to build a laptop, but I needed one, which is why I got a Dell..
Perfectly fine, you shouldn't expect to overclock a laptop, their not designed for it.

It extremely hard to build a laptop, best to just buy it off a good company and look for a long warranty.
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-12-2007, 04:44 AM   #47
nightxmarez
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 07-12-2007
Xps 410

While my xps cannot be o/ced through the bios i have stabily o/ced it through software. I have an E6400 running at 2.53 ghz. No voltage mod just pll mod.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-12-2007, 05:14 AM   #48
BIOHazard87
DFI Lover
BIOHazard87's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,700
Last Seen: 06-02-2016
Age: 24
From: Las Vegas,Nevada
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I have my 7900GS go on my Dell E1705 overclocked a bit via BIOS flash
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-19-2007, 08:12 PM   #49
ultimo679
Running System Stock
ultimo679's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 28
Last Seen: 11-18-2009
From: Michigan
where would you get the software to overclock the XPS 410
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-20-2007, 06:33 AM   #50
thepeganator
wtf ken?
thepeganator's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,181
Last Seen: 08-16-2011
Age: 27
From: Salisbury, U.K
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Try clockgen or something.

You will have to read a few guides and find out about your hardware first.
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-05-2007, 12:30 PM   #51
3lit3
Glenn37216
3lit3's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 214
Last Seen: 03-28-2017
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I use cpufsb and cpucool all the time to overclock O.E.M computers like Dell ,Gateway compaq & HP. Usually , upto about 40% overclock. I just got done with a Dell that was 3 years old. An old P4 2.4ghz easily overclocked to 3.2ghz with decent ram with loose timings. With the oem ram I was only able to get upto 2.6ghz.Also , yes you can overclock laptops with the same methods .. I recently overclocked a Dell inspirion 2600 (1.2ghz) upto 1.8ghz ...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-05-2007, 12:56 PM   #52
daboogas94e
Soulja Boy
daboogas94e's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,452
Last Seen: 01-02-2011
Age: 31
From: Near Atlanta, GA
iTrader: 4 / 100%
post some links?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-24-2007, 09:37 AM   #53
amdsucksd00d
amd rocks
amdsucksd00d's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 293
Last Seen: 04-17-2015
From: Pittsburgh, PA
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Lightbulb

I had a very knoledgable friend oc my dell dimension 2200 from 1.3ghz to 1.7ghz by pin modding it. And some if not all xps can be overclocked.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-23-2007, 07:30 AM   #54
Edvin1984
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
I got a Dell XPS720 with E6750 on it, id like to OC it too 3.2 am I out of luck and need a new mobo. The OP's post is nearly 2 years old.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-23-2007, 07:52 AM   #55
thepeganator
wtf ken?
thepeganator's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,181
Last Seen: 08-16-2011
Age: 27
From: Salisbury, U.K
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edvin1984 View Post
I got a Dell XPS720 with E6750 on it, id like to OC it too 3.2 am I out of luck and need a new mobo. The OP's post is nearly 2 years old.
Even installing a new M/B may not be enough.

The RAM will almost certainly suck (sorry), and the case might be a BTX case not an ATX.

And then your O/S wont work too.
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-23-2007, 08:11 AM   #56
Edvin1984
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepeganator View Post
Even installing a new M/B may not be enough.

The RAM will almost certainly suck (sorry), and the case might be a BTX case not an ATX.

And then your O/S wont work too.
Well I was going to upgrade the ram and going sli with the system anyways. See I did not pay for the rig, my big brother did he bough it for me as a gift for being good in College.

As for the OS, if you call Dell tech up and tell them you got a new mobo they give you the key validation for the OS and your all set.

From what I know the case in the XPS is a ATX case, and I should be able to throw in a new mobo. But I have been out of the PC building sceen for a while, any info on what mobo I should go with. I will use Nvidia card s and it be BFG made. Thanks for the help.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-23-2007, 08:19 AM   #57
CystmX
Mad Warranty Voider
CystmX's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,640
Last Seen: 02-14-2016
Age: 28
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Haha just go ebay the thing and get yourself a budget gaming PC.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-23-2007, 08:23 AM   #58
Edvin1984
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CystmX View Post
Haha just go ebay the thing and get yourself a budget gaming PC.
Not worth it, the rig is pretty good. I think I will just throw in a 8800gtx or ultra and call it a day. What ever I did not pay for the system and its fine with me.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-23-2007, 08:28 AM   #59
thepeganator
wtf ken?
thepeganator's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,181
Last Seen: 08-16-2011
Age: 27
From: Salisbury, U.K
iTrader: 10 / 100%
The Ultra aint worth it.

If your gaming below at 1680*1050 or below then the 8800gts will do you fine.
England  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-06-2007, 02:08 AM   #60
Clawhammer
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 10-06-2007
Yep Overclocking Dell's

Is a foolish endeavor, but with the xps systems using nvidia chipset mother boards. It's theoretically possible by installing ntune from Nvidia I wouldn't attest to its effectiveness tho.

Don't it suck this finally becomes a sticky and the rules change but in your defense I wouldn't even attempt to OC a dimension or optiplex half the caps on those boards are the cheapest money can buy and under out of service warranty @ stock temps lol. Ocing them would probably result in something akin to an old school popcorn popper' popping, sizzling ,and lots of steam.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking