EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > Essential Tutorials, Guides, & Info

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2009, 08:28 AM   #81
FX5200
Pengwhale
FX5200's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,837
Last Seen: 05-11-2017
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Just a little info: Using pll overclocking from windows i overclocked my old dell OptiPlex GX110 with P3 CPU from an original 933Mhz to a shocking 937Mhz, i guess that about sums up overclocking a standard dell.
Aauria Hibedi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-19-2009, 10:27 PM   #82
Neox69
Ike
Neox69's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,045
Last Seen: 12-04-2015
Age: 33
From: Chicago
iTrader: 48 / 100%
^Lol, sweet OC!!! I managed 300mhz from my Optiplex 740.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-20-2009, 01:08 AM   #83
pinbender
Trying to keep up.
Regular Member
 
Posts: 99
Last Seen: 08-20-2009
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I have an old Diminsion L400c that I did a ppga to fc-pga "arch" mod on.
I put a Coppermine 700 in it now it thinks it's a L700r.
I've been mapping it out and poking pins in it. Added a fan to cool the HDs.
I had to stand the slave HD behind the master with some homemade brackets.
My ECC RAM works (I still don't know why)
More recently while studying and comparing schematics; I think I've traced the firmware lock jumper. Looks like I'll be poking a couple more pins in it. I don't know if I'll be brave enough to actually jump it in; either way I'll share the info. Maybe I'll dig out the meter first and see if the rumors are true about Dell's high voltage, new Hub frying, firmware.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-20-2009, 07:23 PM   #84
x3tech
Running System Stock
x3tech's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Last Seen: 07-31-2009
From: New York
BTW, overclocking is an option on new Dell XPS machines. I have an old XPS 720 which was the earliest of XPS machines to feature an overclock enable setting in the bios. Of course I had to use ntune or nvidia system tools with ESA support in order to slightly overclock. Unfortunately I cannot change the multiplier setting, but on the XPS released after the 720 you can change the multiplier. But FX5200 I'm quite surprised how you can OC older Dell machines to some extent. Great find! I will try PLL
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-18-2009, 02:31 PM   #85
Jinkazuya
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 04-18-2009
****! That means it would be so stupid to get a dell PC. My bros just got one from dell, recommended by his computer friend because of its warranty I think. And I am learning how to overclock a PC and then when I comes here, I read your post.

For yr info, I have another desktop, whose CPU is AMD 3000, which is not considered dual core and it has been overclocked. Compared with dell, whose CPU is i940, the speed of the AMD is just a bit slower than the INTEL i940 when turning on your PC but I am not sure about the work of the application such as converting a video. Anyway, I am not sure about the motherboard but the question is why is the i940 is so slow. Is it possible to overclock it? but according to your post, it is hardly possible.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-11-2009, 11:55 AM   #86
FieryTiger
Running System Stock
FieryTiger's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 35
Last Seen: 02-21-2011
From: Wales
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I have dell studio.. with q8200 was hoping to OC but well now i know i cant .
Not all bad though atleast i can upgrade the PSU and my graphics card also my RAM, so i wouldnt exactly say not for gamers dells just arnt future proof.
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-06-2009, 03:11 PM   #87
mikefxu
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 08-07-2009
Check my attached image. Dell Vostro 200 E4500 Stock:2.2Ghz OC:2.93Ghz. BSEL mod for FSB and extra voltage. Have 4 computers here at work that are OC the same way. Prime 95 overnight, if its hasn't rebooted overnight then OC stays.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	453
Size:	135.1 KB
ID:	137638  

Last edited by mikefxu; 08-07-2009 at 09:16 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-22-2009, 07:58 AM   #88
Mind_Reader7
Cpt. Awesome
Mind_Reader7's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,456
Last Seen: 09-29-2016
Age: 25
From: Australiaaaaaaaa
iTrader: 2 / 100%
You can use an ATX mobo in a Dell case. All it requires is drilling some holes for the stand offs and it will fit right in.
Aauria Hibedi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-22-2009, 06:40 PM   #89
Mr.Scott
Chief Engineer
Mr.Scott's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 12,584
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 55
From: Spencerport N.Y.
iTrader: 67 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mind_Reader7 View Post
You can use an ATX mobo in a Dell case. All it requires is drilling some holes for the stand offs and it will fit right in.
Not necessarily. Some Dells have the mobo mounted on the left side of the case, which means all the peripheral outputs face the wrong way. (Eg. XPS 400).

http://tweakers.mobi/nieuws/40404
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-22-2009, 09:37 PM   #90
Neox69
Ike
Neox69's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,045
Last Seen: 12-04-2015
Age: 33
From: Chicago
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Scott View Post
Not necessarily. Some Dells have the mobo mounted on the left side of the case, which means all the peripheral outputs face the wrong way. (Eg. XPS 400).

http://tweakers.mobi/nieuws/40404

Agreed, my dell optiplex 740 is that way... even if I wanted to, just wouldn't work.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-25-2009, 05:07 PM   #91
xrenovatio
Persian like the Cat
xrenovatio's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 06-26-2010
From: USA
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Why are people always so uppity about OC'ing Dells?? I mean how often do you hear people say "I want to OC my Gateway" or "Let's squeeze some more juice out of my Vaio". I think it has something to do with the fact that Dell markets their products as Gaming and High end, and because they give you so many options when building, people think they are doing a custom build. Did you notice the PS on the highest end XPS is 350w? And also, has anybody ever tried to take the mobo out of a dell? at least on my old one, it's welded to an aluminum tray! People these days...

-----

EDIT
woah, just checked the specs. apparently it's a 750w now. my b guys

Last edited by xrenovatio; 08-26-2009 at 12:26 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-25-2009, 10:16 PM   #92
Neox69
Ike
Neox69's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,045
Last Seen: 12-04-2015
Age: 33
From: Chicago
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Dude, we do it because we can... Most of us here in EOCF now we can't OC a Dell, but will that stops us from at least trying? I think not....
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-26-2009, 12:09 AM   #93
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: 06-23-2017
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrenovatio View Post
Why are people always so uppity about OC'ing Dells?? I mean how often do you hear people say "I want to OC my Gateway" or "Let's squeeze some more juice out of my Vaio". I think it has something to do with the fact that Dell markets their products as Gaming and High end, and because they give you so many options when building, people think they are doing a custom build. Did you notice the PS on the highest end XPS is 350w? And also, has anybody ever tried to take the mobo out of a dell? at least on my old one, it's welded to an aluminum tray! People these days...

Obviously you didn't see the thread on my 650 Watt Dell XPS 600 power supply, that was designed to run dual 7900GTXs

http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=323080



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiki

XPS 600 - The former flagship model of the XPS series that features an Intel dual-core Pentium D 950 processor, dual nVidia GeForce 7900GTX in SLI mode, 7200 RPM SATA hard drive, and dual-channel DDR2 RAM. This case has not changed significantly over the past several generations, with the large aluminum plate on the front. Discontinued a few days after XPS 700 launch and succeeded by the XPS 700.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-26-2009, 12:27 AM   #94
xrenovatio
Persian like the Cat
xrenovatio's Avatar
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 06-26-2010
From: USA
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by 901-Memphis View Post
Obviously you didn't see the thread on my 650 Watt Dell XPS 600 power supply, that was designed to run dual 7900GTXs

http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=323080
lolz. the PS on the $4000 730x is like 1Kw
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-26-2009, 12:57 AM   #95
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: 06-23-2017
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrenovatio View Post
lolz. the PS on the $4000 730x is like 1Kw
I know but this was in 2005. Obviously all Dell power supplies aren't created equal
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-26-2009, 01:26 PM   #96
untrueparado
n00b
Senior Member
 
Posts: 947
Last Seen: 09-29-2013
From: Los Angeles, CA
iTrader: 23 / 100%
what the hell's with dell trying to be different? why spend the extra cash making the motherboard the wrong way? that just seems ridiculous to me. dell can probably save at least $10 per system if the mobo wasnt customized that way and it would make upgrading so much easier. but again, thats why i dont buy dell desktops.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-26-2009, 04:33 PM   #97
901-Memphis
Santa Hat!
901-Memphis's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,660
Last Seen: 06-23-2017
Age: 29
From: Florence, KY
iTrader: 41 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by untrueparado View Post
what the hell's with dell trying to be different? why spend the extra cash making the motherboard the wrong way? that just seems ridiculous to me. dell can probably save at least $10 per system if the mobo wasnt customized that way and it would make upgrading so much easier. but again, thats why i dont buy dell desktops.

Its proprietary engineering, making it so you have to buy their parts. Its smart business wise, but sucks for the consumer.

Its kind of like ipod only working with ipod connectors. So you have to buy their products.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-09-2009, 04:30 PM   #98
Carozzeria
▲▼▲
Carozzeria's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,002
Last Seen: 07-16-2017
From: R.O.T.
iTrader: 22 / 100%




I did this for fun on my mother's computer. I don't like prebuilts but the potential is apparently there for these old computers atleast to make them a little more bearable.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-09-2009, 05:39 PM   #99
Sephiroth
Apple Elitist
Sephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,924
Last Seen: 03-20-2017
Age: 29
iTrader: 17 / 100%
My p8700 runs at 2.8ghz all day, yall must just be on crack or something
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-15-2009, 11:33 AM   #100
muchlife
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 10-16-2010
despite the factually incorrect information in the beginning of this post saying you can NOT overclock a Dell, here is a guide to overclock a DELL DIMENSION 9200

http://www.starless.nl/overclock.html

someone should really edit the first post to say Most dells can not be overclocked, but there are a few that can if you can find out what PLL is on the board
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking