EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > Essential Tutorials, Guides, & Info

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2009, 01:58 PM   #41
Zer010
Powered By Gatesware
Zer010's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,832
Last Seen: 05-15-2017
Age: 32
From: Orange County,CA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoggyux View Post
I was aware of that... In fact AFAIK ALL are filled with liquid.

highly doubt thats the reason though :P
+1 to that.

Their was a thread on that a long time ago back when people were tlaking about liquid metal coolers with electromagnetic pumps to circulate the fluid. Someone cut theirs open and figured out what it was.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-11-2009, 02:04 PM   #42
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
I wonder if you could silver-plate the base of a HPDC HS and then lap that ;D that would be awsome.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-12-2009, 06:22 AM   #43
danthompsett
Resistance is Futile
danthompsett's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 750
Last Seen: Today
Age: 37
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The Plating would have to be fairly thick to be able to lap it afterwards, but yeah its a possility, Asaka made Silver Plated Heatsink a while back i think it was called Silver Mountain.
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-19-2009, 12:52 AM   #44
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
I just finished lapping my Thermalright-120 Ultra Extreme, So I am posting the pics from the process.
Notice on pics 30-37 the "mirror finish," even with the camera aiming straight to the surface results in a nice image (most lapping I have seen reflection is only achieved from an angle.)
Picture 42 shows a knife sharpener, which I used for the break in, as it was very fast.
Pictures 38-41 shows how I used tape to "stick" the copper dust to the tape so I could "clean" the sand paper (so I could use it longer) since I realized that once there was too much coper on the sandpaper, the coper would "scratch" the coper in the heat sink, making it hard to get an even surface.
Pictures 49+ shows a comparison of my Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer vs Thermalright 120- Ultra extreme.
The process was very easy once I got to the coper (the nickel finish was very hard to remove, and took at least half the time) once I got to the coper it was really easy.
The Thermalright 120- Ultra Extreme was installed using Push/Pull fans (one with clips, one with plastic fan holder.)
Temperatures were not as good as I expected (about 2-3C lower than the sunbeam's temperature) even though it had 1 more fan (though at very low RPM, ~400RPM,) However I believe the not so great temperatures were due to my fault, as I used OCZ Freeze thermal compound, which is very good (but extremely hard to apply) and in top of that is ~2 years old and and its been open for that long (though I hardly doubt that has any effect.)
I will be removing the heatsink + applying TX-2 (which is very easy to apply) and report again with the results.

As of now these are the temp results on a AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.640GHz (stock 3.2GHz) and 1.40V (stock 1.35V.)
(I wont be reporting IDLE temps ATM as they are not very important + they were very close to room temperature ~25C)
LOAD TEMPS WITH ALL FANS IN THE CASE MAXED (very noisy) ~= CPU (41C) CORES (43) Motherboard (42)
LOAD TEMPS WITH ALL FANS AT MAX SPEED THEY CANNOT BE HEARD (quasi silent computer) ~= CPU (48), CORES (50) Motherboard (48)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	253.4 KB
ID:	135677   Click image for larger version

Name:	02.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	261.3 KB
ID:	135678   Click image for larger version

Name:	03.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	215.8 KB
ID:	135679   Click image for larger version

Name:	04.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	231.9 KB
ID:	135680   Click image for larger version

Name:	05.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	227.5 KB
ID:	135681  

Click image for larger version

Name:	06.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	263.9 KB
ID:	135682   Click image for larger version

Name:	07.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	239.4 KB
ID:	135683   Click image for larger version

Name:	08.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	193.0 KB
ID:	135684   Click image for larger version

Name:	09.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	133.7 KB
ID:	135685   Click image for larger version

Name:	10.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	137.5 KB
ID:	135686  

Click image for larger version

Name:	11.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	230.9 KB
ID:	135687   Click image for larger version

Name:	12.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	203.1 KB
ID:	135688   Click image for larger version

Name:	13.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	222.4 KB
ID:	135689   Click image for larger version

Name:	14.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	218.8 KB
ID:	135690   Click image for larger version

Name:	15.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	169.0 KB
ID:	135691  

United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-19-2009, 12:55 AM   #45
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
more pics 10char
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	16.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	170.8 KB
ID:	135692   Click image for larger version

Name:	17.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	216.5 KB
ID:	135693   Click image for larger version

Name:	18.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	234.2 KB
ID:	135694   Click image for larger version

Name:	19.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	255.5 KB
ID:	135695   Click image for larger version

Name:	20.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	169.1 KB
ID:	135696  

Click image for larger version

Name:	21.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	219.2 KB
ID:	135697   Click image for larger version

Name:	22.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	218.6 KB
ID:	135698   Click image for larger version

Name:	23.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	225.0 KB
ID:	135699   Click image for larger version

Name:	24.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	172.3 KB
ID:	135700   Click image for larger version

Name:	25.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	221.5 KB
ID:	135701  

Click image for larger version

Name:	26.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	167.8 KB
ID:	135702   Click image for larger version

Name:	27.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	161.1 KB
ID:	135703   Click image for larger version

Name:	28.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	180.5 KB
ID:	135704   Click image for larger version

Name:	29.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	227.3 KB
ID:	135705   Click image for larger version

Name:	30.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	150.9 KB
ID:	135706  

United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-19-2009, 01:00 AM   #46
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
more pics 11char
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	31.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	171.4 KB
ID:	135707   Click image for larger version

Name:	32.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	174.7 KB
ID:	135708   Click image for larger version

Name:	33.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	226.8 KB
ID:	135709   Click image for larger version

Name:	34.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	217.2 KB
ID:	135710   Click image for larger version

Name:	35.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	165.0 KB
ID:	135711  

Click image for larger version

Name:	36.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	178.6 KB
ID:	135712   Click image for larger version

Name:	37.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	172.1 KB
ID:	135713   Click image for larger version

Name:	38.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	172.4 KB
ID:	135714   Click image for larger version

Name:	39.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	232.8 KB
ID:	135715   Click image for larger version

Name:	40.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	154.5 KB
ID:	135716  

Click image for larger version

Name:	41.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	227.1 KB
ID:	135717   Click image for larger version

Name:	42.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	164.0 KB
ID:	135718   Click image for larger version

Name:	43.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	409.7 KB
ID:	135719   Click image for larger version

Name:	44.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	366.3 KB
ID:	135720   Click image for larger version

Name:	45.jpg
Views:	247
Size:	178.6 KB
ID:	135721  

United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-19-2009, 01:09 AM   #47
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
last few pics.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	46.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	177.0 KB
ID:	135722   Click image for larger version

Name:	47.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	231.2 KB
ID:	135723   Click image for larger version

Name:	48.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	215.3 KB
ID:	135724   Click image for larger version

Name:	49.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	138.2 KB
ID:	135725   Click image for larger version

Name:	50.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	226.0 KB
ID:	135726  

Click image for larger version

Name:	51.jpg
Views:	223
Size:	231.5 KB
ID:	135727   Click image for larger version

Name:	Temps, Full load Lapped Thermalright, Non-Lapeed CPU, ALL fans full speed..jpg
Views:	222
Size:	452.6 KB
ID:	135728   Click image for larger version

Name:	Temps, Full load Lapped Thermalright, Non-Lapeed CPU, ALL fans working @ silent speeds..jpg
Views:	234
Size:	439.3 KB
ID:	135729  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-20-2009, 01:27 AM   #48
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Jahova's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,726
Last Seen: 10-01-2016
From: United States
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Using a knife sharpener, or anything other than sandpaper and glass, was a big mistake. You probably realize that now, or will soon enough.

What was the highest/lowest grits sandpaper you used?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-23-2009, 11:12 AM   #49
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
I used sand paper from grit 150 up to 3000 grit, my surface is extremely smooth ;D. I stopped using the knight sharpener as soon as I got to the copper layer, sandpaper worked VERY slow on the nickel. I actually also used a file to work my way on the bumps on the surface. I will work again on it, since I realise that one of the corners is not quite leveled (is a fraction of a mm higher, so extra TIM tends to go to that corner) also I am working on adquiring 5000grit and 10000grits.

Additional Comment:

So I lapped my 955 aswell, still not quite were I want it to be but I ran out of sand paper already, I ordered some extra 2500/3000 grit paper and I am going to try some 6000 and 12000 grit paper this time as well.
Now it seems my Motherboard will become (surprizingly) the limiting factor in my OCs, as it reaches temps in the 50's when the fans are at silent speed.
My CPU (with 1.425V) on full load and fans all the way up, is hovering @ 46's (room temp is in the high 20's low 30's) so not bad (cores @ 48 atm) but when I use my more comfortable "silent" speeds it can go to the low 50's (53-54C.) Granted I did screw up the TIM application this time as well, I think my OCZ Freeze have gone bad after 2y+ of being opened, so I guess I might have to buy new TIM as my old has become TOO hard to spread and as tired as I was yesterday after the lapping I just applied like whatever..

Last edited by xoggyux; 06-23-2009 at 11:12 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-23-2009, 05:34 PM   #50
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Jahova's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,726
Last Seen: 10-01-2016
From: United States
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Those are good temp results considering the voltage. TIM solution tends to seperate after a while. AS5 likes to harden on one end of the tube, and liquefy on the other.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-29-2009, 10:55 PM   #51
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Who wants to see full load on OCed phenom @ 1.425V not passing 50C on air?

I just remounted the TIM and got better results indeed:
Now @ full load, 1.425V (granted CPU is not maxed still at just 3.5Ghz since I am working on ram/fsb atm, I will raise the multi when I am done) full fans I don't break the 50C mark (CPU @ 46 cores @ 48) ambient temp 25C+ (probably 30C+ the AC is on but my room is quite hot specially with a very large window that lets the Florida sunshine enter my room :P.)
There is still hope fure more improvements, as I might get a better fan for my pulling (atm a sunbeam fan is doing that job, probably going to replace it for a yateloon or s-flex) and when mounting the TIM I realized there was excess TIM on the four corners of the CPU which means when I get more sandpaper the CPU/HS is getting a second round for perfect flatness.
Also I think once everything is done, I might buy fresh OCZ TIM since the one I have is almost 2years old (I doubt that makes any difference, but you never know :P) and I am running out anyways.


Additional Comment:

yay second round on the CPU done!
now its really smooth after 3,000; 4,000; 5000; 6,000 and 12,000 grits!
Cannot report on temps just yet as working on my case, furthermore have to do the same thing to the heatsink.. I wonder if now I can use the CPU + HS without TIM should I risk the CPU trying?



Last edited by xoggyux; 06-29-2009 at 10:55 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-29-2009, 10:59 PM   #52
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Jahova's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,726
Last Seen: 10-01-2016
From: United States
iTrader: 1 / 100%
The AMD chips after the Brisbane have a temperature sensor error. Add ~12*C to the value that is read by coretemp, or any other temp monitor application. It is a bug and there is explanation for it somewhere on the web.

Those temps are great, btw.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-29-2009, 11:05 PM   #53
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahova View Post
The AMD chips after the Brisbane have a temperature sensor error. Add ~12*C to the value that is read by coretemp, or any other temp monitor application. It is a bug and there is explanation for it somewhere on the web.

Those temps are great, btw.
uhm what that means is that 50C + 12C = 62C which is max temp they can work at? or the 62C is taking in account the bug and then the REAL max temp is like ~74C?

Additional Comment:

uhm btw I bought fresh OCZ freeze for next installation and I am adding a few extra fans to my case, I would not be surprized if I can get another 2 C

Last edited by xoggyux; 06-29-2009 at 11:05 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-30-2009, 12:04 AM   #54
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Jahova's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,726
Last Seen: 10-01-2016
From: United States
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Max operating temp is probably in the 70* (actual) area. I would not like to take it over about 55*C (actual). However, I have seen the Brisbane cores operate well above 80*C (actual).The Brisbane core I have hit 100*C once before the mobo shut it down. This was a water pump malfunction because the power strip failed, shutting off the pump.

In any event, 1.4v is a lot of voltage on air. I'm impressed it is not in failsafe from overheating. props
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-30-2009, 01:02 AM   #55
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
too bad AMD chips OC like pigs, I am actually jelous of intels which get 1ghz OCs on stock and then .1V and then they get another 1Ghz ...... and the only thing you got to worry is about the MB limit and the temp...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-30-2009, 05:32 PM   #56
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Jahova's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,726
Last Seen: 10-01-2016
From: United States
iTrader: 1 / 100%
IMHO, the new Phenom II's are better than any Intel chip, other than the Intel Extreme lineup. Some people have hit 4.5Ghz with the stock AMD cooler on the AMD 45nm processors. That's impressive in my eye's.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 06-30-2009, 06:06 PM   #57
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahova View Post
IMHO, the new Phenom II's are better than any Intel chip, other than the Intel Extreme lineup. Some people have hit 4.5Ghz with the stock AMD cooler on the AMD 45nm processors. That's impressive in my eye's.
some people? links please.
The most I see from phenom 2 are 1ghz at best (there is just a handful of people in this forum with 940/955 clocked above 3.8/3.9 as for intels? well i7 starts at 2.66 and some people got them running @ 4Ghz (1.34 ghz OC) . My 955BE (and many others as I have read) wont get much more than ~500mhz OC, and then if you want anoter 100mhz you need to stuff in a lots of volts to get it going.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-01-2009, 02:59 PM   #58
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Jahova's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,726
Last Seen: 10-01-2016
From: United States
iTrader: 1 / 100%
http://www.geek.com/articles/chips/a...-air-20090511/

just one of many.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-01-2009, 03:41 PM   #59
xoggyux
Some one Said so.
xoggyux's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,458
Last Seen: 10-20-2016
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahova View Post
Quote:
AMD reported “extreme stability” at 1.50 volts and 4.07GHz, slightly down from the 4.52GHz achieved, though some 42% above standard commercial clock rates–and this was on air alone.
I am still reading through the thread, though the fact "extreme stability" is withink quotes bothers me, probably they just got it to boot and run programs.
4.07 Ghz @ 1.5V its hardly prove they OC as good as intel's tough, much better than phenom 1 indeed. It does not states how much voltage they used for 4.5Ghz but I bet it would have been at least 1.55 which I would not put on my CPU to run it 24/7 unless I'd have a top of the line WC system.
Also Those OCs were most likely achieved outside a case which can drop at least 5C, I do not believe you could run on air the 955BE @ 4Ghz+ 24/7 stable.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 07-02-2009, 01:10 AM   #60
Jahova
Mad Warranty Voider
Jahova's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,726
Last Seen: 10-01-2016
From: United States
iTrader: 1 / 100%
It's 45nm. 45nm is 45nm in my opinion. The only advantage that AMD has in bandwidth.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking