EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > Essential Tutorials, Guides, & Info

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2011, 09:58 PM   #1
Cecil
Fix The Internet
Cecil's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4,454
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 27
From: Akron Ohio
iTrader: 100 / 100%
How To Disable Core Parking In Windows 7

Core Parking is a power saving feature of Windows 7. Its great for laptops, but for OCed PCs, you probably dont want it on. It will power down cores that are not needed, which causes the working cores to spike to full load. With it disabled, apps are more evenly distributed across all cores/threads. Not worth doing for a dual core without HT, but anything higher then that and you should do this.



Open Regedit
Go to,
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
SYSTEM
ControlSet001
Control
Power
PowerSettings
54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00
Then select "0cc5b647-c1df-4637-891a-dec35c318583", right click ValueMax and "Modify" from "64" to "0"
The go down more to
ea062031-0e34-4ff1-9b6d-eb1059334028
Right Click Attributes, and "Modify" from "1" to "0"

Then go back to SYSTEM, and close ControlSet001, repeat steps for ControlSet002 then repeat again for CurrentControlSet

File and Exit out of Regedit. Shutdown, and cold restart. Core parking should now be disabled.



Only works with Intel i3/i5/i7 CPUs.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-17-2011, 10:45 PM   #2
un4givn85
v^
un4givn85's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 680
Last Seen: Today
Age: 31
From: Helena
iTrader: 1 / 100%
seems to work pretty good

where did you come across this at
or learn it from
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-17-2011, 11:08 PM   #3
Cecil
Fix The Internet
Cecil's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4,454
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 27
From: Akron Ohio
iTrader: 100 / 100%
Found a link a while back, though its now outdated. Was doing some research about it today to see if it would have effect on BD, and after a couple hours of testing, I find out it only works for Intel CPUs

So during my research I found a few other links that all showed different ways of doing it. I combined them in to one method that works for sure.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-18-2011, 05:54 AM   #4
mimart7
Je plie, donc je suis
mimart7's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,817
Last Seen: Today
Age: 52
From: NYC
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Of course backing up our registry should be done before any modification.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-18-2011, 09:23 AM   #5
un4givn85
v^
un4givn85's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 680
Last Seen: Today
Age: 31
From: Helena
iTrader: 1 / 100%
well of course
i did make a backup, however i dont think it was needed this time lol
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-18-2011, 12:30 PM   #6
AdamV
Green Machine
AdamV's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 296
Last Seen: 03-26-2014
iTrader: 0 / 0%
did anyone actually see a performance increase out of this mod? Im sure windows can switch on a Core and get it up and running faster than anyone would even notice.
perhaps i could be wrong.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-18-2011, 01:20 PM   #7
un4givn85
v^
un4givn85's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 680
Last Seen: Today
Age: 31
From: Helena
iTrader: 1 / 100%
correct me if im wrong
but this isnt meant to increase performance
its meant to stop single threads from maxing out a single core
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-18-2011, 02:00 PM   #8
Cecil
Fix The Internet
Cecil's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4,454
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 27
From: Akron Ohio
iTrader: 100 / 100%
There is kind of a performance increase. Some people expierance micro-stuttering in anything from games, to even their mouse when core parking is enabled. If an app starts to peak or max out a core that is also working on something else, the something else could have a split second that it doesnt respond.

Leveling everything out across the cores stops that, and also, lowers heat. Thats something I noticed back when quad cores came out. A dual core E8400 at 80% on both cores was running hotter then a quad core at 40% on each core.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-18-2011, 02:12 PM   #9
DarkFox
Semi-Pro Nerd
DarkFox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,643
Last Seen: 12-03-2014
Age: 33
From: Deltona, FL
iTrader: 3 / 100%
setting it to high performance in power state, or any of the advanced options in the power config don't control this? Just wondering, I may have to take a shot at this tonight. Not that my 2600K at 5ghz ever sees a maxed core on anything but bench testing, but hey, why not right?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-18-2011, 02:19 PM   #10
Cecil
Fix The Internet
Cecil's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4,454
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 27
From: Akron Ohio
iTrader: 100 / 100%
From the places I looked, it doesnt work as well as fully disabling it.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-18-2011, 02:35 PM   #11
DarkFox
Semi-Pro Nerd
DarkFox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,643
Last Seen: 12-03-2014
Age: 33
From: Deltona, FL
iTrader: 3 / 100%
sounds similar to people still having driver crashs on NVidia cards. Not including powermizer settings in desktop cards was not as good as putting them in and disabling them so there were no potential holes in the code.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-07-2012, 05:50 AM   #12
python134r
Lost Again
python134r's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 683
Last Seen: 07-10-2017
From: South Florida
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Thanx I just saw this post.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-07-2012, 01:40 PM   #13
Metalsoft
2011 SEC EAST CHAMPS
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1,978
Last Seen: 02-04-2015
Age: 36
From: Johnson City, TN
Is there one for Vista?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-07-2012, 04:57 PM   #14
Urbanfox
I Regret Nothing
Urbanfox's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,423
Last Seen: 04-14-2017
Age: 30
From: Whittier, CA
iTrader: 17 / 95%
Anyone do any benching with this with 1-2 threaded programs?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-08-2012, 12:54 AM   #15
Clone of 501
Proficient fertilizer
Clone of 501's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 499
Last Seen: 04-29-2017
Age: 24
From: NYC
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Is there a way to make this enabled for laptops when plugged in or something?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-08-2012, 05:46 AM   #16
DSM4Life
Overclocker
DSM4Life's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 392
Last Seen: 12-26-2015
Age: 36
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil View Post
From the places I looked, it doesnt work as well as fully disabling it.
It doesn't work "as well?" I would like to have that one explained.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-08-2012, 01:51 PM   #17
Josie Wales
Extreme Overclocker
Josie Wales's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,389
Last Seen: 07-21-2017
From: St Paul
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Cecil. Great thread. Did you know MS released a update to disable core parking on AMD FX systems. I haven't tried it so don't know if it works. Here is the info:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2646060

Give it a try.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-08-2012, 03:01 PM   #18
Cecil
Fix The Internet
Cecil's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 4,454
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 27
From: Akron Ohio
iTrader: 100 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalsoft View Post
Is there one for Vista?
I think it should be the same, but I dont know. Havent found anything about it with Vista.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clone of 501 View Post
Is there a way to make this enabled for laptops when plugged in or something?
Probably. You can set it for certain power settings, so if you did it for control set 1 and not 2 (or however many you have), or the other way around, it should probably work. Though I think it would be better to have it off all the time. Dont think the power difference would change, as you would have say three threads at 10% rather then one thread at 30%, or two at 15%.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM4Life View Post
It doesn't work "as well?" I would like to have that one explained.
Windows doesnt "always" keep your power settings, and especaily with laptops that usually have an OEM program for power settings, it can get jumbled up. Ive noticed times when I set it to not turn off the screen after however many minutes, and it saves it for a while, but out of the blue will start turning off the screen after the default 20 minutes or whatever it is. Doing it in regedit makes sure it doesnt change.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josie Wales View Post
Cecil. Great thread. Did you know MS released a update to disable core parking on AMD FX systems. I haven't tried it so don't know if it works. Here is the info:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2646060

Give it a try.
I dont have an AMD FX platform anymore to try it with. I would try it out again if I did. Good to hear they added it for FX now.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-08-2012, 05:20 PM   #19
pheonix991
North Korea is Best
pheonix991's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,597
Last Seen: Today
Age: 27
From: Northwest, AR
iTrader: 6 / 100%
I did it. Lets see if it does anything for me.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-09-2012, 12:13 PM   #20
AndRicard
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 02-09-2012
yes, i know this but i modify the value and no run. Core parkink evertime actived. Help!

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bits

Tks!
France  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking