EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Software Discussion > Linux, BSD, Alternative OS's

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2013, 01:27 PM   #1
Gremlin256
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,323
Last Seen: 06-16-2017
Age: 47
From: Sacramento, CA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Linux Drives mapping.

I am not a Linux admin by any means.

I have installed Linux on a virtual machine. In that VM i have added three hard drives let's say 100GB, 200GB and 300 GB which are VM's as well.

So when you go into linux and do fdisk -l you will see

/dev/sdb pointing to 100GB
/dev/sdc pointing to 200GB
/dev/sdd pointing to 300GB

format it and everything works fine as it is supposed to. Now when the machine is rebooted, drives get swapped like for example:

/dev/sdb pointing to 200GB
/dev/sdc pointing to 300GB
/dev/sdd pointing to 100GB

I would like it to be as it was no swapping..

In the fstab, I mapped/mounted the drives using the UUID of the drives and it still swaps. I am trying to make it work with udev and rules.d.

I have been googling since yesterday to find out if any other way.

Can someone please provide any help would really appreciate it

Thank you
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-13-2013, 03:42 PM   #2
pheonix991
North Korea is Best
pheonix991's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,597
Last Seen: 06-23-2017
Age: 27
From: Northwest, AR
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Here's all I found.

http://superuser.com/questions/71237...each-rebooting

Not sure what to tell you. What distro are you using? Might go post on that particular forum, or talk to the IRC guys.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-21-2013, 01:05 PM   #3
Gremlin256
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,323
Last Seen: 06-16-2017
Age: 47
From: Sacramento, CA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
@pheonix991 Thank you for the link I tried that already ..
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-26-2013, 05:21 PM   #4
JoeP
Running System Stock
JoeP's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Last Seen: 06-19-2015
From: Hamilton, ON
Disclaimer: I use Arch.

Hi Gremlin,

Different distros have different ways of configuring this. Tell us what distro you're using and I'll try to help.

This page might help you:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php..._device_naming

p.s. How do you find out if someone uses arch linux? Don't worry, they'll tell you.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-28-2013, 11:46 AM   #5
thread
Mad Warranty Voider
thread's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,264
Last Seen: Today
Age: 32
From: Melbourne, Aus
iTrader: 1 / 100%
the /dev/sdx# system can get a bit wobbly with some BIOSes, but if you're using UUIDs I can't see how you can still have a problem. Can you include your fstab somewhere in your next post?

(Also, on a side note, now I read through, you appear to be using drive names rather than partition names, but it could just be for brevity here! It should become clearer when I see the fstab contents.)
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-31-2013, 10:40 AM   #6
Gremlin256
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,323
Last Seen: 06-16-2017
Age: 47
From: Sacramento, CA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Sorry for the late reply

JoeP: Using Oracle Linux v 6.4 in a VMWare environment. Tried everything that i could think of..

Once it reboots, it stays that way.. I have no idea why it even it changes in the first place..
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-02-2014, 06:06 AM   #7
thread
Mad Warranty Voider
thread's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,264
Last Seen: Today
Age: 32
From: Melbourne, Aus
iTrader: 1 / 100%
It's common (but not normal) for them to change (/dev/sdx#). UUIDs shouldn't change, they are written onto the partition AFAIK.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-02-2014, 09:29 AM   #8
Gremlin256
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,323
Last Seen: 06-16-2017
Age: 47
From: Sacramento, CA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Yes I even tried using UUIDs with the help of google and still no luck. I am just going to stick with it since it does not change any more after a dozen or so reboots..

I am thinking it has to do with how VMWare does their hard drive mapping.. I am just guessing..
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-03-2014, 03:06 AM   #9
thread
Mad Warranty Voider
thread's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,264
Last Seen: Today
Age: 32
From: Melbourne, Aus
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Even then, UUIDs should be consistent I think.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-03-2014, 08:04 AM   #10
Gremlin256
Extreme Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,323
Last Seen: 06-16-2017
Age: 47
From: Sacramento, CA
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Yes thread, it should..I found the uuid for the those drives and used those and it still would swap..
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-04-2014, 08:16 AM   #11
-=bluebird=-
7|-|3 07|-|3 9
-=bluebird=-'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,872
Last Seen: Today
Age: 37
From: Oranienburg
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You should check for the partition UUID not the drive UUID. This should be the same after the reboot, since this is written in the partition table. If you have time and a similiar setup to test, you can check it, or if not, then check it when you run into this issue the next time

greets bb
Germany  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking