EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Video Cards, TV Tuners, Monitors > Monitors & Displays
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2005, 05:54 AM   #1
tw33k2514
Floppy Drives-R-Evil
tw33k2514's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,442
Last Seen: 03-28-2010
Age: 25
From: Chicago, IL
iTrader: 0 / 0%
How To Use 2 different Wallpapers with Dual Monitors

Ok this Guide will show you how to use Multiple Wallpapers On Dual Monitors. I will be showing you without any additional Software needed. (Note this will work with Both ATI and nVidia Cards) So that is why i am not going to be showing any nVidia or ATI Specific Ways of doing this.

Ok so After your Dual Monitors Are Setup and you have the View Spanned across both Monitors we can begin.

Note: Read rockdude14's Dual Monitor Guide for more info on getting everything setup.

Ok lets begin .

Step One: Right click your desktop, then select Properties.

Step Two: Locate the Desktop Tab and click On it. (Pic Below)



Step Three: At Tthe bottom of the Desktop Tab Select the Customize Desktop Button.(Pic Below)


Step Four: Now in the Desktop Items window that just poped up go to the Web Tab.


Step Five: Click the New Button on the right of the window and select your second wallpapers location.


Step Six: select ok, then select Ok again on the Web Window and Apply on the Desktop Window. now your pic should be on your main screen.


Step Seven: Now Drag the Image over to the other Screen, and select Cover Desktop at the top left of the image.


Right click and select Arrange By and "Lock web items on desktop." Now you can select a standard desktop for your primary display and use the web object to cover the standard desktop image on your second desktop with the image of your choice."

Note: This Article is thanks to Maximum PC

Also a thanks to rockdude14 and his awesome Dual Monitor Guide

All images were hosted by ImageShack

Plz PM me with any suggestions. and know that the point of this guide is for people AKA me, that dont like To use Software if un necessary. and this will work on all video cards.

Hope this was helpful.
tw33k2514

Last edited by tw33k2514 : 04-08-2005 at 07:08 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-09-2005, 11:40 AM   #2
tw33k2514
Floppy Drives-R-Evil
tw33k2514's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,442
Last Seen: 03-28-2010
Age: 25
From: Chicago, IL
iTrader: 0 / 0%
thanks man, took me awile cuz i had to get all the pictures to match the steps . so i had to start from scratch lol
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-20-2006, 10:24 AM   #3
wooley
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 02-22-2006
Brilliant ! Just what I have been looking for without paying for expensive
(for me) software many thanks
wooley uk
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-04-2006, 08:20 PM   #4
Killer Beans
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Posts: 157
Last Seen: 07-20-2007
From: Canberra
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I love you!
I have been looking for a way to do this for months.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-24-2006, 10:20 PM   #5
MJR
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,272
Last Seen: 09-19-2011
From: Cleveland Hts
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Very nice!!!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-27-2006, 09:24 AM   #6
Mighty Dutch
Running System Stock
Mighty Dutch's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Last Seen: 06-18-2009
Age: 35
From: Staffs
Feckin Genius!!!

WOW, I'm now the envy of all my mates. Also got Google without a taskbar item too. It just gets better. Can do as many as you like. Awesome!!!
Just the ultimate in cool
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-03-2007, 06:29 AM   #7
Ogre
Cruel & Inhuman Male
Ogre's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 677
Last Seen: 04-20-2013
Age: 40
From: Kalif-Maryland
iTrader: 7 / 100%
i was making a dual screen wallapaper last night after drinking too much and i came out with a good design that my gal didnt like ..

it contains someone's .....ya know ...and i had to remove it in the morning ..LOL

but this one rocks, i am going to do this at work where i have triple screen !
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-26-2007, 05:08 PM   #8
vai0
><>
vai0's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,997
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 22
From: Florida
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i dont think i can do it w/ vista =(
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-07-2007, 03:53 AM   #9
garyvdh
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Last Seen: 01-21-2008
Talking

There is also a way to span one nice wide picture across both screens, it's pretty simple.



First, you choose a nice picture from one of the wallpaper sites that have wide-screen or dual monitor wallpaper.

To find out what the double sized resolution of your screen is, go to your Display Properties System Tab and click on settings. Take note of what your current resolution is (Note: Both of your monitors should be set to the same resolution or this will not look as nice). The bigger number is the width of your monitor. for example mine is... 1280 by 1024 pixels.

Multiply that bigger number by two (or by however many monitors you have side by side).

So the resolution for my two monitors together is 2560 by 1024 pixels.

When I do a search on Google for "2560x1024 wallpaper"... I get the following...

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&r...24&btnG=Search

One of the first sites listed is "Big Desktop Images" which has some nice widescreen Space Images!

When you have found and download a few widescreen wallpapers that you like and saved them to a folder on your hard disk, then go back into your Display Properties System Tab and click on the Desktop Tab.

Then click on the Browse button and find the wallpaper you have just downloaded. Open the new wallpaper, but you will see it squashed up in one window because the wallpaper defaults to "Stretch". Change the Stretch Option to "Tile" and your new wallpaper will span across both of your monitors! Very Nice!!!

If you want a taskbar on your second screen as well, try this little utility...

http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/

Unfortunately it's not free
South Africa  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-19-2007, 05:25 AM   #10
PeP Brasil
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Last Seen: 10-11-2007
i use http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/ its easy and very useful!
indispensable for who use 2 monitors
Brazil  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-27-2007, 03:34 PM   #11
xuxi
Running System Stock
xuxi's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Last Seen: 10-28-2007
Wow Too Cool!!

How Sweet is that!! Thank You! Works great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PA270003.jpg
Views:	1825
Size:	241.5 KB
ID:	109330  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-27-2007, 04:02 PM   #12
xuxi
Running System Stock
xuxi's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Last Seen: 10-28-2007
Multiple with Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by vai0 View Post
i dont think i can do it w/ vista =(
I was successful with XP. Iíll be trying it tonight with three monitors running Vista. Have you tried yet with Vista?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-31-2007, 01:37 AM   #13
traveling
Running System Stock
traveling's Avatar
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 10-31-2007
thanks man. I think that my desk of computer will beautiful.
China  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 12-30-2007, 12:39 PM   #14
garyvdh
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Last Seen: 01-21-2008
Some more Free Software for handling Multiple Display Monitors!

http://www.binaryfortress.com/displayfusion/

South Africa  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-23-2008, 08:18 PM   #15
ecksean
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Last Seen: 02-23-2008
i use ultramon to span my wallpaper across my desktop it works great
only problem is getting 3 1680x1050 wallpapers or a 5040 x 1050 wallpaper

http://w.ecksean.com:8080/images/trimonitor.jpg

http://w.ecksean.com:8080/computermonitors.jpg
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-31-2008, 12:22 PM   #16
abi.allan
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 10-31-2008
hi...

pics are awsom

try to add more...

its interesting... and much enjoying
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 11-22-2008, 10:41 PM   #17
Valdeam
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 58
Last Seen: 12-18-2008
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by xuxi View Post
How Sweet is that!! Thank You! Works great.
That is EXACTLY what I'm going for with my current set-up!! I love those Samsung monitors.

Valdeam
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 04-29-2009, 11:23 AM   #18
leftoverjack
Total War Addict
leftoverjack's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 220
Last Seen: 08-16-2014
Age: 26
iTrader: 0 / 0%
how do you get rid of it???


Nevermind!

i just deleted it under the web tab.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 08-29-2009, 06:21 PM   #19
someonelse
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Last Seen: 08-29-2009
i would love to thank you for this terrible piece of advice. the idea worked like crap, and now that i want to revert my desktop to the way it was, it puts the same image that failed to cover one of the desktops. in fact, i cant even stop it from doing it anytime i put a new wallpaper on. really, thanks a bunch god forbid i ever wanted to change my wallpaper again.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 10-16-2009, 09:51 AM   #20
HedoTiem73
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Last Seen: 03-05-2010
From: United States
How To Use 2 different Wallpapers with Dual Monitors

I use dual 19" LCDs for my display..how can I use 1 wallpaper across both monitors?I dont want the same image displayed on both.. Ive seen wallpapers1560x2048 in size and larger but they display the same image on both monitors.AARRGGHHTIA,Papaman
Abu Dhabi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:12 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking