EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Video Cards, TV Tuners, Monitors > Monitors & Displays

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2005, 05:54 AM   #1
tw33k2514
Floppy Drives-R-Evil
Senior Member
 
tw33k2514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 26
Posts: 2,442
iTrader: 0 / 0%
How To Use 2 different Wallpapers with Dual Monitors

Ok this Guide will show you how to use Multiple Wallpapers On Dual Monitors. I will be showing you without any additional Software needed. (Note this will work with Both ATI and nVidia Cards) So that is why i am not going to be showing any nVidia or ATI Specific Ways of doing this.

Ok so After your Dual Monitors Are Setup and you have the View Spanned across both Monitors we can begin.

Note: Read rockdude14's Dual Monitor Guide for more info on getting everything setup.

Ok lets begin .

Step One: Right click your desktop, then select Properties.

Step Two: Locate the Desktop Tab and click On it. (Pic Below)



Step Three: At Tthe bottom of the Desktop Tab Select the Customize Desktop Button.(Pic Below)


Step Four: Now in the Desktop Items window that just poped up go to the Web Tab.


Step Five: Click the New Button on the right of the window and select your second wallpapers location.


Step Six: select ok, then select Ok again on the Web Window and Apply on the Desktop Window. now your pic should be on your main screen.


Step Seven: Now Drag the Image over to the other Screen, and select Cover Desktop at the top left of the image.


Right click and select Arrange By and "Lock web items on desktop." Now you can select a standard desktop for your primary display and use the web object to cover the standard desktop image on your second desktop with the image of your choice."

Note: This Article is thanks to Maximum PC

Also a thanks to rockdude14 and his awesome Dual Monitor Guide

All images were hosted by ImageShack

Plz PM me with any suggestions. and know that the point of this guide is for people AKA me, that dont like To use Software if un necessary. and this will work on all video cards.

Hope this was helpful.
tw33k2514
__________________
Q9450 | 4GB DDR2 800 | 1GB 9800GT | X-Fi Xtreme Audio

Last edited by tw33k2514; 04-08-2005 at 07:08 AM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 11:40 AM   #2
tw33k2514
Floppy Drives-R-Evil
Senior Member
 
tw33k2514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 26
Posts: 2,442
iTrader: 0 / 0%
thanks man, took me awile cuz i had to get all the pictures to match the steps . so i had to start from scratch lol
__________________
Q9450 | 4GB DDR2 800 | 1GB 9800GT | X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 10:24 AM   #3
wooley
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Brilliant ! Just what I have been looking for without paying for expensive
(for me) software many thanks
wooley uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 08:20 PM   #4
Killer Beans
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canberra
Posts: 157
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I love you!
I have been looking for a way to do this for months.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 10:20 PM   #5
MJR
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cleveland Hts
Posts: 1,272
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Very nice!!!
__________________
Q9550 (3.9ghz 4ghz, here I come!) Asus Rampage Formula x48 8gb OCZ Platinum XFX 8800GT PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750w
300gb WD VelicoRaptor 2x 1tb WD Green 32mb cache1tb Seagate Barracuda 32mb cache Windows 7 x64
Custom H2o D-tek Fuzion CPU EK S-max NB Thermochill PA120.3 DDC 3.2

HTPC Athlon II X4 630 Asus 785M 4gb OCZ Gold 500gb Samsung F1 Windows 7
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 09:24 AM   #6
Mighty Dutch
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Mighty Dutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Staffs
Age: 37
Posts: 27
Feckin Genius!!!

WOW, I'm now the envy of all my mates. Also got Google without a taskbar item too. It just gets better. Can do as many as you like. Awesome!!!
Just the ultimate in cool
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 06:29 AM   #7
Ogre
Cruel & Inhuman Male
Senior Member
 
Ogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kalif-Maryland
Age: 41
Posts: 677
iTrader: 7 / 100%
i was making a dual screen wallapaper last night after drinking too much and i came out with a good design that my gal didnt like ..

it contains someone's .....ya know ...and i had to remove it in the morning ..LOL

but this one rocks, i am going to do this at work where i have triple screen !
__________________
[FONT="Arial Narrow"]: Current system :
Window 7 | E8400 with XP-90 | 4 GB DDR2 | BFG 260 GTX | 2 TB Hardrive
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 05:08 PM   #8
vai0
<><
Senior Member
 
vai0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Florida
Age: 24
Posts: 3,005
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i dont think i can do it w/ vista =(
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 03:53 AM   #9
garyvdh
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Talking

There is also a way to span one nice wide picture across both screens, it's pretty simple.



First, you choose a nice picture from one of the wallpaper sites that have wide-screen or dual monitor wallpaper.

To find out what the double sized resolution of your screen is, go to your Display Properties System Tab and click on settings. Take note of what your current resolution is (Note: Both of your monitors should be set to the same resolution or this will not look as nice). The bigger number is the width of your monitor. for example mine is... 1280 by 1024 pixels.

Multiply that bigger number by two (or by however many monitors you have side by side).

So the resolution for my two monitors together is 2560 by 1024 pixels.

When I do a search on Google for "2560x1024 wallpaper"... I get the following...

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&r...24&btnG=Search

One of the first sites listed is "Big Desktop Images" which has some nice widescreen Space Images!

When you have found and download a few widescreen wallpapers that you like and saved them to a folder on your hard disk, then go back into your Display Properties System Tab and click on the Desktop Tab.

Then click on the Browse button and find the wallpaper you have just downloaded. Open the new wallpaper, but you will see it squashed up in one window because the wallpaper defaults to "Stretch". Change the Stretch Option to "Tile" and your new wallpaper will span across both of your monitors! Very Nice!!!

If you want a taskbar on your second screen as well, try this little utility...

http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/

Unfortunately it's not free
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 05:25 AM   #10
PeP Brasil
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 13
i use http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/ its easy and very useful!
indispensable for who use 2 monitors
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 03:34 PM   #11
xuxi
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
xuxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Wow Too Cool!!

How Sweet is that!! Thank You! Works great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PA270003.jpg
Views:	1936
Size:	241.5 KB
ID:	109330  
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 04:02 PM   #12
xuxi
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
xuxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Multiple with Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by vai0 View Post
i dont think i can do it w/ vista =(
I was successful with XP. Ill be trying it tonight with three monitors running Vista. Have you tried yet with Vista?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 01:37 AM   #13
traveling
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
traveling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
thanks man. I think that my desk of computer will beautiful.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2007, 12:39 PM   #14
garyvdh
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Some more Free Software for handling Multiple Display Monitors!

http://www.binaryfortress.com/displayfusion/

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 08:18 PM   #15
ecksean
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
i use ultramon to span my wallpaper across my desktop it works great
only problem is getting 3 1680x1050 wallpapers or a 5040 x 1050 wallpaper

http://w.ecksean.com:8080/images/trimonitor.jpg

http://w.ecksean.com:8080/computermonitors.jpg
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:22 PM   #16
abi.allan
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
hi...

pics are awsom

try to add more...

its interesting... and much enjoying
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 10:41 PM   #17
Valdeam
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 58
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by xuxi View Post
How Sweet is that!! Thank You! Works great.
That is EXACTLY what I'm going for with my current set-up!! I love those Samsung monitors.

Valdeam
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 11:23 AM   #18
leftoverjack
Total War Addict
Senior Member
 
leftoverjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Age: 28
Posts: 220
iTrader: 0 / 0%
how do you get rid of it???


Nevermind!

i just deleted it under the web tab.
__________________
Current Rig
Mobo: Asus Sabertooth X79
CPU: Intel i7 3930K
RAM: 32 GB G.Skill DDR3
GPU: GTX470
Physx: GT240
Running Win 7 Ult 64 on: 2x OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD in raid 0
PSU: Zalman 850 Watt modular PSU
Display: 2 x Samsung T260HD
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 06:21 PM   #19
someonelse
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
i would love to thank you for this terrible piece of advice. the idea worked like crap, and now that i want to revert my desktop to the way it was, it puts the same image that failed to cover one of the desktops. in fact, i cant even stop it from doing it anytime i put a new wallpaper on. really, thanks a bunch god forbid i ever wanted to change my wallpaper again.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 09:51 AM   #20
HedoTiem73
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 6
How To Use 2 different Wallpapers with Dual Monitors

I use dual 19" LCDs for my display..how can I use 1 wallpaper across both monitors?I dont want the same image displayed on both.. Ive seen wallpapers1560x2048 in size and larger but they display the same image on both monitors.AARRGGHHTIA,Papaman
Offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links:
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking