EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Hard Drives, CD/DVD Drives & Flash Media

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2006, 02:59 AM   #1
Ctraak
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Ctraak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hafnarfjrur
Posts: 106
iTrader: 0 / 0%
RAID - do I have to lose ALL my data :-(

Built a new PC two months ago. Got a Maxtor MaxLineIII 250GB and have set up a dual boot of XP Pro and Vista 64, as well as tons of progs and games. I liked the Maxtor so much I bought another one, and now want to set up a RAID 0 array to speed up some of my heavy progs n games.

Is there any way to set up the array without losing all the data on my first drive? And if I make a ghost of the first drive, will this copy across the array?

I really really don't want to do a clean install.... I've tweaked most of my software to high heaven and it's a new build. Any suggestions?
Offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 04:12 AM   #2
slash_2_2000
No fire? Go higher!
Senior Member
 
slash_2_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 29
Posts: 2,755
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well, there's always the option of going with software RAID... I'm no expert, but from what I can tell...

You can partition both drives (both partitions have to have equal space) then use WinXP's inbuilt disk manager to stripe the partitions.

It's virtually as fast as hardware RAID, from the articles I've read, but it does use more system resources on the whole owing to the fact it's running via software instead of dedicated hardware.

I might be wrong, so I'd get a second opinion.

EDIT: Oh, and something I forgot to mention... Obviously if you stripe partitions, only the software installed on the striped partition will actually benefit from the RAID. In other words, Windows won't benefit, but if you install a game onto the partition, it should.

Take a look at this: PCstats Beginners Guides: Installing RAID on Desktop PCs
__________________
Intel Q9550 @ 3.50GHz (1.184V) || D-Tek Fuzion V2 ( 50C - 60C )
nVidia GTX580 @ stock|| EK waterblock ( 42C - 45C )
Laing D5 Vario, Tygon 1/2", Swiftech MCR320-QP, 3 x Scythe Ultra Kaze 1,000 RPM
eVGA 790i Ultra || BIOS P10
8GB DDR3, Patriot PVS34G1600LLK @ 1,647MHz - 8, 8, 8, 20
2 x
60GB OCZ Vertex SSD || WD Caviar 2TB GP x ? (Always need more ...)
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude, Logitech Z-5500
Corsair HX1000W, Silverstone TJ-07, BenQ XL2410T (120Hz LED baby)
Windows 7 64-bit
Offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:26 AM   #3
Moop
Matter Out Of Place
Senior Member
 
Moop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Phoenix
Age: 60
Posts: 132
iTrader: 0 / 0%
XP software raid isn't very good. Don't use it.
You can use Ghost to make an image of your current system drive and copy it to your new array.
Install your raid drivers in XP before you make tha image. Also make sure that your imaging program can recognize your raid array. You'll probably need to have a floppy ready with your raid driver(s) on it.
I've done it many times and it works good.
Good luck
Offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 10:54 AM   #4
Ctraak
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Ctraak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hafnarfjrur
Posts: 106
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks both of you. I'll read up a bit on the software side of things, but will probably go for ghosting my existing drive and copying it over. Now, I'll have to go and buy a floppy drive!!
Offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 11:30 AM   #5
slash_2_2000
No fire? Go higher!
Senior Member
 
slash_2_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 29
Posts: 2,755
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caakman
Thanks both of you. I'll read up a bit on the software side of things, but will probably go for ghosting my existing drive and copying it over. Now, I'll have to go and buy a floppy drive!!
Floppy drives, the ancient saviour of modern man.
__________________
Intel Q9550 @ 3.50GHz (1.184V) || D-Tek Fuzion V2 ( 50C - 60C )
nVidia GTX580 @ stock|| EK waterblock ( 42C - 45C )
Laing D5 Vario, Tygon 1/2", Swiftech MCR320-QP, 3 x Scythe Ultra Kaze 1,000 RPM
eVGA 790i Ultra || BIOS P10
8GB DDR3, Patriot PVS34G1600LLK @ 1,647MHz - 8, 8, 8, 20
2 x
60GB OCZ Vertex SSD || WD Caviar 2TB GP x ? (Always need more ...)
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude, Logitech Z-5500
Corsair HX1000W, Silverstone TJ-07, BenQ XL2410T (120Hz LED baby)
Windows 7 64-bit
Offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 12:06 PM   #6
sam375
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
yeah, y can ghost the drive no big woop.
Offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 08:42 PM   #7
Ctraak
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Ctraak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hafnarfjrur
Posts: 106
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by slash_2_2000
Floppy drives, the ancient saviour of modern man.
And time warp to bad memories of waiting for Amiga 500 \ Atari ST games to load. I'm going to wear ear plugs so I don't actually have to listen to it
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking