EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Processors

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2006, 08:30 AM   #1
turb0holic
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
turb0holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 17
Exclamation Need some info on overclocking my HP laptop!!?!

I have a HP Pavilion dv1000 with an intel celeron M 1.4mhz processor. I was wondering if anyone could help me out with overclocking it. The bios are locked out from the factory by HP, so I cant turn it up that way. Can someone help me out here? Thanks!!!

-Chris
Offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 08:32 AM   #2
gurusan
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oxford, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 408
iTrader: 0 / 0%
1) Overclocking laptops is usually a very bad idea as the cooling is terrible
2) I don't even think it's possible
Offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 09:36 AM   #3
ozymandias
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Age: 33
Posts: 1,626
iTrader: 0 / 0%
you could try with utilities as clockgen, overclocking through bios won't be possibile... but as said by guru, heat is an immense problem. You might see your overclock undone by thermal trotteling. Not to mention the effect on battery life...
Offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 10:12 AM   #4
jeighty7
outside the box
Senior Member
 
jeighty7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 29
Posts: 852
iTrader: 5 / 100%
I overclocked mine. I have a Celly M 1.4ghz also. read:

1) go to the laptop section
2) read my thread http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...75#post2500575
3) DO AT YOUR OWN RISK, if you do not feel comfortable doing it, DON'T DO IT. it was really easy, but its REALLY easy to screw up.

i havent noticed much, if any heat issues. I cannot find a temp monitor to view my temps, so i play it by how loud the fan gets. not the smartest idea, i know, but it seems alright so far. As for batter life, I cannot vouch, as my stock battery is only a 4 cell battery, and it only gave me less than two hours on a full charge when it was new anyways. I'm getting a new battery soon if i can find one.

It is possible to overclock a laptop, but i would not even advise it if you don't really know what you are doing (not to brag). Laptops are much more complex and easier to screw up than desktops.
__________________
e6600 @ stock | TT Big Typhoon | Gigabyte EP45-DS3 | 2GB A-Data Extreme Edition | 670GB | XFX 7600GT XXX | Corsair 550w | Hanns-G HW191D
XP-M 2800+ @ 11x200 | TT Volcano 12 | AOpen MK79G-N | 1GB G.Skill | 120GB | ATI 9700PRO | Cooler Master 350w
Toshiba A85 | 1.4ghz Celeron pin modded to 1.866ghz | 768mb | 40GB | ATI 9100pro IGP
Offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:24 PM   #5
davidhammock200
Old Fart OverClocker
Senior Member
 
davidhammock200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Age: 62
Posts: 20,464
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Smile Welcome to the Club!

ForGetAboutIt!
__________________

Link to A64 Heatsink Guide Link to Power Supply Guide___ Sig By Monty

In Remembrance of Mary Jane Grace 11-20-09 My Loving Wife.

Last edited by davidhammock200; 10-30-2006 at 03:02 PM.
Offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 01:27 PM   #6
jeighty7
outside the box
Senior Member
 
jeighty7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 29
Posts: 852
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhammock200 View Post
ForGetAboutIt!
that is concurred.

no offense turb0holic, but in reality, its not worth it. plus, your warranty goes *poof*, as well as your laptop if you screw it up.
__________________
e6600 @ stock | TT Big Typhoon | Gigabyte EP45-DS3 | 2GB A-Data Extreme Edition | 670GB | XFX 7600GT XXX | Corsair 550w | Hanns-G HW191D
XP-M 2800+ @ 11x200 | TT Volcano 12 | AOpen MK79G-N | 1GB G.Skill | 120GB | ATI 9700PRO | Cooler Master 350w
Toshiba A85 | 1.4ghz Celeron pin modded to 1.866ghz | 768mb | 40GB | ATI 9100pro IGP
Offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:05 PM   #7
davidhammock200
Old Fart OverClocker
Senior Member
 
davidhammock200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Age: 62
Posts: 20,464
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Biggest problems with laptops are heat related & battery life,
OC'ing increases heat & decreases battery life. It is a NO-WIN situation.
__________________

Link to A64 Heatsink Guide Link to Power Supply Guide___ Sig By Monty

In Remembrance of Mary Jane Grace 11-20-09 My Loving Wife.
Offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 05:51 PM   #8
Net
for(; ;)
Senior Member
 
Net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 859
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
1) Overclocking laptops is usually a very bad idea as the cooling is terrible
2) I don't even think it's possible
Nuff said.
Offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 01:15 PM   #9
turb0holic
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
turb0holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 17
well how hard would it be to upgrade the processor?? is it a tricky thing to do? or can i just purchase one and plug it in and it will work?

Additional Comment:

also how can i go about finding the highest mhz processor my motherboard will take??

Last edited by turb0holic; 10-31-2006 at 01:15 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 01:41 PM   #10
jeighty7
outside the box
Senior Member
 
jeighty7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 29
Posts: 852
iTrader: 5 / 100%
you cannot, i repeat, cannot, upgrade a laptop motherboard. there are distinct instances where you can, but no, you can't. as for processors, try a socket 479 400mhz fsb celly-m or pentium-m, NOT PENTIUM 4!!! however, it is not smart to do this, unless you know exactly what you are doing. laptop cpu's are much more delicate, and there are 2 versions of the 479-pin socket.

you are looking down the wrong road here. Laptops arent designed for upgrading and overclocking. its not worth it to upgrade the processor. upgrade the memory and the hard drive, throw in a dvd burner if you would like. thats it.

if you really want to overclock, invest in a desktop.
__________________
e6600 @ stock | TT Big Typhoon | Gigabyte EP45-DS3 | 2GB A-Data Extreme Edition | 670GB | XFX 7600GT XXX | Corsair 550w | Hanns-G HW191D
XP-M 2800+ @ 11x200 | TT Volcano 12 | AOpen MK79G-N | 1GB G.Skill | 120GB | ATI 9700PRO | Cooler Master 350w
Toshiba A85 | 1.4ghz Celeron pin modded to 1.866ghz | 768mb | 40GB | ATI 9100pro IGP
Offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 01:51 PM   #11
bravotsx
Space Monkey
Senior Member
 
bravotsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 3,743
iTrader: 8 / 100%
show a screenshot of CPUz...if you have a dothan 400MHz fsb laptop, AND HP has similar models as your current laptop featuring a 533MHz BUS, then you are in luck.

you can do a pinmod to get to 1.866GHz.

since you'll be taking apart your laptop for this mod, i'd recommend cleaning up the factory thermal paste and using some arctic silver ceramique (if you're unsure of yourself) or arctic silver 5 (if you know what you're doing) and replace the stock thermal interface material.

i've overclocked my friend's HP nx6110 with no ill effects..the battery life did suffer a little but not too bad ~ 3:30 down to 3:00 or so; the celeron does not have speedstep technology so you get hit on battery life.

cooling wise, i used some Arctic Silver Ceramique and it's now running cooler than it was at stock...the speed increase is 33% faster across the board, except for memory read/write, which increased ~25%.

i guess you'll be needing an intel Sonoma chipset to do it. (915)

http://laptoplogic.com/resources/detail.php?id=35

oh yeah, and with rightmark, you might be able to change the powerstates and underclock your laptop if you need to; but then the omission of speedstep might prevent that. i only learned about righmark after i helped my friend pinmod his 1.7GHz pentium m.
__________________

Last edited by bravotsx; 10-31-2006 at 01:58 PM.
Offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 02:05 PM   #12
turb0holic
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
turb0holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 17
im just asking because i am not sure. i updated the memory from (2) 256 to 1 512 and 1 256 and i will be getting another 512 soon. the hard drive im gunna go from the 60gig to an 80 also. i was just seeing what i could do to get something a little better than this 1.4celeron without too much work. ive changed processors in a desktop so i was just wondering if it would be worth it to purchase the 1.8 centreno chip that came in the better models of the dv1000 and put it in mine
Offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 03:50 PM   #13
jeighty7
outside the box
Senior Member
 
jeighty7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 29
Posts: 852
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Centrino is not a processor. centrino is just a marketing gimick. all it is is a pentium m with an intel wireless card.

bravotsx is right, because thats exactly what i did.
__________________
e6600 @ stock | TT Big Typhoon | Gigabyte EP45-DS3 | 2GB A-Data Extreme Edition | 670GB | XFX 7600GT XXX | Corsair 550w | Hanns-G HW191D
XP-M 2800+ @ 11x200 | TT Volcano 12 | AOpen MK79G-N | 1GB G.Skill | 120GB | ATI 9700PRO | Cooler Master 350w
Toshiba A85 | 1.4ghz Celeron pin modded to 1.866ghz | 768mb | 40GB | ATI 9100pro IGP
Offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 04:20 PM   #14
davidhammock200
Old Fart OverClocker
Senior Member
 
davidhammock200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Age: 62
Posts: 20,464
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by turb0holic View Post
im just asking because i am not sure. i updated the memory from (2) 256 to 1 512 and 1 256 and i will be getting another 512 soon. the hard drive im gunna go from the 60gig to an 80 also. i was just seeing what i could do to get something a little better than this 1.4celeron without too much work. ive changed processors in a desktop so i was just wondering if it would be worth it to purchase the 1.8 centreno chip that came in the better models of the dv1000 and put it in mine
That would be a CPU swap, not OC'ing!

Contact tech support for your lappy &
they can tell you what upgrade CPU's are possible & all of the BIOS details.

Good Luck,
Dave
__________________

Link to A64 Heatsink Guide Link to Power Supply Guide___ Sig By Monty

In Remembrance of Mary Jane Grace 11-20-09 My Loving Wife.
Offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 04:41 PM   #15
turb0holic
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
turb0holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 17
so i just call HP and tell them what model laptop i have and they can tell me what the fastest processor upgrade I can do to my computer??
Offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 05:40 PM   #16
jeighty7
outside the box
Senior Member
 
jeighty7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 29
Posts: 852
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by turb0holic View Post
so i just call HP and tell them what model laptop i have and they can tell me what the fastest processor upgrade I can do to my computer??
no, they wont. they dont want you to upgrade it, they dont want you to open it up. you can call, yes, but i highly doubt they will help you at all.
__________________
e6600 @ stock | TT Big Typhoon | Gigabyte EP45-DS3 | 2GB A-Data Extreme Edition | 670GB | XFX 7600GT XXX | Corsair 550w | Hanns-G HW191D
XP-M 2800+ @ 11x200 | TT Volcano 12 | AOpen MK79G-N | 1GB G.Skill | 120GB | ATI 9700PRO | Cooler Master 350w
Toshiba A85 | 1.4ghz Celeron pin modded to 1.866ghz | 768mb | 40GB | ATI 9100pro IGP
Offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 05:46 PM   #17
bjoci
mes que un club
Senior Member
 
bjoci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Carolina
Age: 38
Posts: 1,749
iTrader: 18 / 100%
This thread got "smoke from electronic devices" written all over it.

__________________
Offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 06:19 PM   #18
turb0holic
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
turb0holic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 17
alright then where can i go to get my processor upgraded then??
Offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:18 PM   #19
jeighty7
outside the box
Senior Member
 
jeighty7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 29
Posts: 852
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by turb0holic View Post
alright then where can i go to get my processor upgraded then??
listen dude, it is strongly not recommended. laptops are designed for specific thermal ranges. if you upgrade the cpu, it will generate more heat, and you could do some damage. laptops are NOT designed to have the cpu upgraded. besides, for the cost of getting a better cpu, you might as well save it and build a desktop later.

if you are still willing to do this, look for a socket 479 400mhz fsb p-m or celly-m. maybe 533mhz fsb, i don't know if it will work though.
__________________
e6600 @ stock | TT Big Typhoon | Gigabyte EP45-DS3 | 2GB A-Data Extreme Edition | 670GB | XFX 7600GT XXX | Corsair 550w | Hanns-G HW191D
XP-M 2800+ @ 11x200 | TT Volcano 12 | AOpen MK79G-N | 1GB G.Skill | 120GB | ATI 9700PRO | Cooler Master 350w
Toshiba A85 | 1.4ghz Celeron pin modded to 1.866ghz | 768mb | 40GB | ATI 9100pro IGP

Last edited by jeighty7; 11-16-2006 at 07:25 PM.
Offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 10:03 PM   #20
SPD010273
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
SPD010273's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,019
iTrader: 2 / 100%
if you could fit a kickass heatsink within the 1" height requirements for lappys now a days, upgrading the CPU would be worth it. IRL... it's not. higher speed=more heat, more heat for an already crappy heatsink to get rid of, or, as in most cases, more heat to fry that brand new CPU, and maybe some other stuff too.
__________________
Rigs
[Main] i5 4690K @ 4.2Ghz, 4x8GB DDR3-2133 Geforce GTX 970 4GB, 2x OCZ Agility 3 120GB SSD RAID0, 3xLG W2346T 1080p
[Work] 2xE5645, 6x8GB DDR3-1333 ECC + 6x4GB DDR3-1333 ECC, GTX760, 2xIntel 530 RAID1, 2xSandisk SSDNow 240GB RAID0, 2xWD750GB RAID0, 2xWD1TB RAID1, 2xPerc H310, 3xLG W2346T 1080p
[F@H 1 - Offline] AMD FX 8250 @ 4.5Ghz, GTX670 4GB SSC, 4x8GB DDR3-1866, 120GB SSD
[F@H 2 - Offline] C2Q 3.6Ghz, 2xGTX680
[Athena - NAS, Webserver] PII 1045T @ 3.8 Ghz, 4x4GB DDR3-1333, Sandisk 120GB SSD, 9 x 'Cuda 2TB RAID6, 64GB SSD Cache
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking