EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Software Discussion > Antivirus & Spyware

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2007, 12:02 AM   #1
Groo
Overchopper
Senior Member
 
Groo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 41
Posts: 386
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Avast, CPU hog?

I think its one of Avast's processes that bogs down my whole system.
its:
ashServ.exe

When doing the P2P thing (microTorrent/Demonoid), every minute or so it completey takes over everything. task manager says its using from 85 -99% of the CPU, usualy 99%. this lasts for about 15 seconds+ in which I can do nothing. the rest of the time my System Idle Process show 92%+

I can not lower the priority of this precess down.


Is this Avast like I am assuming?

can anything be done, while letting it do its job?
Offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 01:29 AM   #2
sutats.com
Enjoy life!
Senior Member
 
sutats.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: In the computer.
Age: 37
Posts: 520
iTrader: 0 / 0%
My friend uses Avast and I honestly think it's annoying as hell. The constant pop-up warnings. I don't know what's worse, it or pop-up ads.

There are other lighter freeware anti-virus software out there.
__________________
Love yourself and others will love you.
Offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 07:10 AM   #3
g-REttER
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SD
Age: 27
Posts: 179
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I think your best bet is to msconfig all the avast stuff and run it when you want, though I suppose that leaves your PC pretty naked till you run it. maybe try uninstall and reinstall. I think it is Avast buti recently dropped Avast for AVG free, so I'm not sure.
__________________
Dell 2407 A03, best purchase ever.
Offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 08:34 AM   #4
Zardokk
AMD/Nvidia OCer
Senior Member
 
Zardokk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indiana
Age: 24
Posts: 1,076
iTrader: 4 / 100%
I don't have any problems with Avast except occasionally at startup when it hogs everything and then shouts at me, telling me that "THE VIRUS DATABASE HAS BEEN UPDATED!" That gets annoying...
__________________
Current Rig:
Abit KN8, X2 4400+, 2GB G.Skill DDR500 GBHZs, eVGA 7600GT, Audigy 2 ZS, 160GB WD ATA Hard Drive, 500W XG Vortec PSU,
NZXT Zero, Logitech MX518, Saitek Eclipse, Logitech X-530, Hanns G JW199D

The rig's getting old, I know. I haven't been paying much attention to my PC hobby for the past...year or so. I'll probably upgrade some things soon, though.

Speed Up System Boot Times

Graphics Card Rankings
Offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 07:26 PM   #5
DasFox
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 436
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You should try Kaspersky or NOD32 nice on resources.
Offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 09:06 PM   #6
Jimmer411
I Eat Dells!
Senior Member
 
Jimmer411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puyallup, WA
Age: 33
Posts: 821
iTrader: 0 / 0%
www.activevirusshield.com is AOL branded kapersky. good stuff and free

I used to use avast, the constant updates would cause me to run at 100% cpu load all the time.
Offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:43 PM   #7
DasFox
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 436
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmer411 View Post
www.activevirusshield.com is AOL branded kapersky. good stuff and free

I used to use avast, the constant updates would cause me to run at 100% cpu load all the time.
Yeah I didn't mention the AOL Kaspersky because it lacks some things, and it's better to use the real Kaspersky, but if you have no money then it's ok.
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:20 AM   #8
awdrifter
Extreme Overclocked
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 578
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I'm using Avast and I don't think it uses that much resource. I don't feel any slow down when I play games or do video editing, for a free anti-virus, it's pretty good.
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:36 AM   #9
Groo
Overchopper
Senior Member
 
Groo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 41
Posts: 386
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I dumped Avast and went to AVG.

way better.
Offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 12:50 PM   #10
Th3_uN1Qu3
kitteh
Senior Member
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bucharest, RO
Age: 25
Posts: 3,512
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I dumped any AV's and disabled unessential services.

I've been running like that for 6 months and there's been no sign of virus infection. Of course i'm careful about what i download, but i still use P2P. And there's no virus yet.

But that gets us into that discussion again, and i don't wanna get there. If you want an antivirus that doesn't hog your PC, my vote goes to NOD32.
__________________
Case: Akasa Zen Black
PSU: Seasonic 500W
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3
CPU: Conroe E6550 @ 3.67ghz 1.39v under Scythe Mugen
RAM: 8GB Corsair XMS2 @ 1050 CL5 2.1v
GPU: Sapphire HD3870 DDR3 vmod @ 877/2034 under Accelero S1
Hard drive: Western Digital WD3200AAKS 320GB 16MB cache
Optical: Lite-On DH20A3P DVD-RW DL, Teac DV-516D CD/DVD-ROM
OS: Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Display: Nokia 920C 19" CRT @ 1440x1080 85Hz

"Don't be so hasty to say such things, friend. It's not that magic doesn't exist - you just need MORE magic." - CybrSlydr
Offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 01:30 PM   #11
DasFox
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 436
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
I dumped any AV's and disabled unessential services.

I've been running like that for 6 months and there's been no sign of virus infection. Of course i'm careful about what i download, but i still use P2P. And there's no virus yet.

But that gets us into that discussion again, and i don't wanna get there. If you want an antivirus that doesn't hog your PC, my vote goes to NOD32.
If you don't use an AV in the box, and why not? What great excuse is there not to? Because you think you can be careful enough?

Well you better use an online scanner, but then they can't remove anything.

Lots of great free AV to install, so there's no need/excuse to be without one, and be safe from hassles.

Oh I love the people too that think there's no such thing as a virus and how companies like Symantec made them up to get people to buy into all of this.

Amazing how PC geeks, some will tell you this, LOL
Offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 06:54 PM   #12
Groo
Overchopper
Senior Member
 
Groo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 41
Posts: 386
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I've gone years unprotected and virus free, but when you get one, its a real pain.

running uTorrent, AVG, PG2 and all the other background crap. I avarage 98% system idle with a min of 95%. thats with a semperon 2800+, the cheapest modern CPU around. so there is no legit reason not to run an AV.
Offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 08:03 PM   #13
Xicer
Picard never hit me!
Senior Member
 
Xicer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 24
Posts: 312
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Ive got Avast running on my sis's comp and it's not a hog at all.

Im running AVG on my comp right now, really lightweight...
__________________


Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 | Asus P5W DH-Deluxe | 2x1GB OCZ Titanium Alpha VX2 | VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 | 2x150GB Western Digital Raptors | 200GB Seagate Barracuda | X-Fi XtremeMusic | PCP&C Silencer 750w

"I am not a number, I am a free man!"
Offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 08:05 PM   #14
webstien
No spam since 2002
Senior Member
 
webstien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Age: 31
Posts: 738
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Nod32 gets a nod from me
__________________
Heatware.com

Bandwidth @ work:
Offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 08:52 PM   #15
Groo
Overchopper
Senior Member
 
Groo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 41
Posts: 386
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xicer View Post
Ive got Avast running on my sis's comp and it's not a hog at all.

Im running AVG on my comp right now, really lightweight...

It only caused problems for me when using P2P
Offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:10 PM   #16
eneuman
RTFM
Senior Member
 
eneuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rolla, MO
Age: 31
Posts: 2,073
iTrader: 8 / 90%
Eset's NOD32 is the best there is, and has the bonus of a small resource footprint. schedule in-depth AV and anti-spyware scans for when you aren't using the system.

I use:

Netgear FR-114P
NOD32
ZoneAlarm Pro
Ad-Aware SE Pro (Ad-watch is resource hog, looking to dump it)
Spybot S&D
AVG Anti-Spyware Free Edition (Deciding if its worth purchasing)
Hijack-This
__________________

Last edited by eneuman; 01-06-2007 at 10:30 PM.
Offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:25 AM   #17
DasFox
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 436
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well you know besides NOD32, that Kaspersky also has one of the higest detection rates, even the freebie is the same engine.

http://www.activevirusshield.com/ant...eav/index.adp?

I'm tempted that when my NOD32 subscription runs out I might install this.
Offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 10:32 PM   #18
python134r
Lost Again
Senior Member
 
python134r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 680
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by DasFox View Post
Well you know besides NOD32, that Kaspersky also has one of the higest detection rates, even the freebie is the same engine.

http://www.activevirusshield.com/ant...eav/index.adp?

I'm tempted that when my NOD32 subscription runs out I might install this.
Antivirusshield is a great freebee, kaspersky rebranded, Avast is a resource hog and annoying too IMHO. Used to use nod32, loved it but now I use antivirus shield too.
__________________
3570K/H100
P8Z77-LX/2x4Gb Samsung Wonder Ram HD7970 /SamsungSH223FDVD
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD / WD 1TB Black Spinner
Lian Li Pc-7B plusII/OCZ 600W Mod X Stream Modular/Z-5500's.
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking