EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Software Discussion > Antivirus & Spyware
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2007, 01:02 AM   #1
Groo
Overchopper
Groo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 386
Last Seen: 08-12-2007
Age: 40
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Avast, CPU hog?

I think its one of Avast's processes that bogs down my whole system.
its:
ashServ.exe

When doing the P2P thing (microTorrent/Demonoid), every minute or so it completey takes over everything. task manager says its using from 85 -99% of the CPU, usualy 99%. this lasts for about 15 seconds+ in which I can do nothing. the rest of the time my System Idle Process show 92%+

I can not lower the priority of this precess down.


Is this Avast like I am assuming?

can anything be done, while letting it do its job?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-04-2007, 02:29 AM   #2
sutats.com
Enjoy life!
sutats.com's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 520
Last Seen: 11-19-2010
Age: 35
From: In the computer.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
My friend uses Avast and I honestly think it's annoying as hell. The constant pop-up warnings. I don't know what's worse, it or pop-up ads.

There are other lighter freeware anti-virus software out there.
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-04-2007, 08:10 AM   #3
g-REttER
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Posts: 179
Last Seen: 04-07-2010
Age: 25
From: SD
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I think your best bet is to msconfig all the avast stuff and run it when you want, though I suppose that leaves your PC pretty naked till you run it. maybe try uninstall and reinstall. I think it is Avast buti recently dropped Avast for AVG free, so I'm not sure.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-04-2007, 09:34 AM   #4
Zardokk
AMD/Nvidia OCer
Zardokk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,076
Last Seen: 06-26-2011
Age: 22
From: Indiana
iTrader: 4 / 100%
I don't have any problems with Avast except occasionally at startup when it hogs everything and then shouts at me, telling me that "THE VIRUS DATABASE HAS BEEN UPDATED!" That gets annoying...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-04-2007, 08:26 PM   #5
DasFox
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 436
Last Seen: 06-22-2013
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You should try Kaspersky or NOD32 nice on resources.
Antarctica  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-04-2007, 10:06 PM   #6
Jimmer411
I Eat Dells!
Jimmer411's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 821
Last Seen: 01-28-2010
Age: 31
From: Puyallup, WA
iTrader: 0 / 0%
www.activevirusshield.com is AOL branded kapersky. good stuff and free

I used to use avast, the constant updates would cause me to run at 100% cpu load all the time.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-05-2007, 12:43 AM   #7
DasFox
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 436
Last Seen: 06-22-2013
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmer411 View Post
www.activevirusshield.com is AOL branded kapersky. good stuff and free

I used to use avast, the constant updates would cause me to run at 100% cpu load all the time.
Yeah I didn't mention the AOL Kaspersky because it lacks some things, and it's better to use the real Kaspersky, but if you have no money then it's ok.
Antarctica  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-05-2007, 01:20 AM   #8
awdrifter
Extreme Overclocked
Senior Member
 
Posts: 578
Last Seen: 02-24-2013
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I'm using Avast and I don't think it uses that much resource. I don't feel any slow down when I play games or do video editing, for a free anti-virus, it's pretty good.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-05-2007, 10:36 AM   #9
Groo
Overchopper
Groo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 386
Last Seen: 08-12-2007
Age: 40
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I dumped Avast and went to AVG.

way better.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2007, 01:50 PM   #10
Th3_uN1Qu3
kitteh
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3,512
Last Seen: 08-27-2011
Age: 23
From: Bucharest, RO
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I dumped any AV's and disabled unessential services.

I've been running like that for 6 months and there's been no sign of virus infection. Of course i'm careful about what i download, but i still use P2P. And there's no virus yet.

But that gets us into that discussion again, and i don't wanna get there. If you want an antivirus that doesn't hog your PC, my vote goes to NOD32.
Romania  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2007, 02:30 PM   #11
DasFox
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 436
Last Seen: 06-22-2013
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
I dumped any AV's and disabled unessential services.

I've been running like that for 6 months and there's been no sign of virus infection. Of course i'm careful about what i download, but i still use P2P. And there's no virus yet.

But that gets us into that discussion again, and i don't wanna get there. If you want an antivirus that doesn't hog your PC, my vote goes to NOD32.
If you don't use an AV in the box, and why not? What great excuse is there not to? Because you think you can be careful enough?

Well you better use an online scanner, but then they can't remove anything.

Lots of great free AV to install, so there's no need/excuse to be without one, and be safe from hassles.

Oh I love the people too that think there's no such thing as a virus and how companies like Symantec made them up to get people to buy into all of this.

Amazing how PC geeks, some will tell you this, LOL
Antarctica  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2007, 07:54 PM   #12
Groo
Overchopper
Groo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 386
Last Seen: 08-12-2007
Age: 40
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I've gone years unprotected and virus free, but when you get one, its a real pain.

running uTorrent, AVG, PG2 and all the other background crap. I avarage 98% system idle with a min of 95%. thats with a semperon 2800+, the cheapest modern CPU around. so there is no legit reason not to run an AV.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2007, 09:03 PM   #13
Xicer
Picard never hit me!
Xicer's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 312
Last Seen: 12-03-2011
Age: 23
From: Rochester, NY
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Ive got Avast running on my sis's comp and it's not a hog at all.

Im running AVG on my comp right now, really lightweight...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2007, 09:05 PM   #14
webstien
No spam since 2002
webstien's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 738
Last Seen: 03-30-2012
Age: 29
From: Montreal, Quebec
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Nod32 gets a nod from me
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2007, 09:52 PM   #15
Groo
Overchopper
Groo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 386
Last Seen: 08-12-2007
Age: 40
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xicer View Post
Ive got Avast running on my sis's comp and it's not a hog at all.

Im running AVG on my comp right now, really lightweight...

It only caused problems for me when using P2P
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-06-2007, 11:10 PM   #16
eneuman
RTFM
eneuman's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,073
Last Seen: 12-16-2013
Age: 29
From: Rolla, MO
iTrader: 8 / 90%
Eset's NOD32 is the best there is, and has the bonus of a small resource footprint. schedule in-depth AV and anti-spyware scans for when you aren't using the system.

I use:

Netgear FR-114P
NOD32
ZoneAlarm Pro
Ad-Aware SE Pro (Ad-watch is resource hog, looking to dump it)
Spybot S&D
AVG Anti-Spyware Free Edition (Deciding if its worth purchasing)
Hijack-This

Last edited by eneuman : 01-06-2007 at 11:30 PM.
United States  eneuman Folds For EOC!  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-07-2007, 02:25 AM   #17
DasFox
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
Posts: 436
Last Seen: 06-22-2013
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well you know besides NOD32, that Kaspersky also has one of the higest detection rates, even the freebie is the same engine.

http://www.activevirusshield.com/ant...eav/index.adp?

I'm tempted that when my NOD32 subscription runs out I might install this.
Antarctica  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 01-13-2007, 11:32 PM   #18
python134r
Lost Again
python134r's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 667
Last Seen: 11-16-2014
From: South Florida
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by DasFox View Post
Well you know besides NOD32, that Kaspersky also has one of the higest detection rates, even the freebie is the same engine.

http://www.activevirusshield.com/ant...eav/index.adp?

I'm tempted that when my NOD32 subscription runs out I might install this.
Antivirusshield is a great freebee, kaspersky rebranded, Avast is a resource hog and annoying too IMHO. Used to use nod32, loved it but now I use antivirus shield too.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking