EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Website Related Info (No Post Increase) > Official EOC Folding @ Home Team

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2007, 06:59 PM   #1
chiefish
old school
Senior Member
 
chiefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: northwest N.J.
Age: 49
Posts: 1,148
iTrader: 6 / 100%
It has arrived

No not my new hardware im talking about SMP for windows 32.

We are pleased to announce the release of our Folding@Home Windows SMP client to open beta!

http://forum.folding-community.org/ftopic18531.html

You guys have been waiting for a while now so go get ya some.
__________________
Intel I970 o/c @ 3.8
Asus Rampage3 Formula
12 gigs of corsair vengance
Asus gtx570 running in 3d games mode
Intel 160gig SSD as main and two 250gig slaves

Check Out All My vintage CPUs in My Collection here
WWW.Chiefish.Com
Offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 07:49 PM   #2
Zardokk
AMD/Nvidia OCer
Senior Member
 
Zardokk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Indiana
Age: 24
Posts: 1,076
iTrader: 4 / 100%
As soon as I finish my current WU, I'll be running this. Been waiting for a while. Nice that it's finally here.
__________________
Current Rig:
Abit KN8, X2 4400+, 2GB G.Skill DDR500 GBHZs, eVGA 7600GT, Audigy 2 ZS, 160GB WD ATA Hard Drive, 500W XG Vortec PSU,
NZXT Zero, Logitech MX518, Saitek Eclipse, Logitech X-530, Hanns G JW199D

The rig's getting old, I know. I haven't been paying much attention to my PC hobby for the past...year or so. I'll probably upgrade some things soon, though.

Speed Up System Boot Times

Graphics Card Rankings
Offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 09:53 PM   #3
runlinux
MC Number Cruncher
Senior Member
 
runlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 30
Posts: 2,133
iTrader: 15 / 100%
just installed and its running on my wife's pc.
Offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 10:06 PM   #4
Wuden
wU wU
Senior Member
 
Wuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ct
Age: 41
Posts: 683
iTrader: 0 / 0%
bah and i'm away from my c2d till monday bah.
great news though. getting sick of 2 clients and trying to get ubuntu working.
__________________
Offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 10:29 PM   #5
Fourth
Dimension, The
Senior Member
 
Fourth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Age: 30
Posts: 2,448
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Excellent. Just installed and started running.

The readme states that is won't run as a service... is this true? I have to start it by hand each time I reboot?

Edit:

It seems to install and start just fine as a service. there is an entry in my services list for it. i wonder if they mean it just wont run until you login.... gonna try it out now.

Edit:

Seems to start but not until you login to a username.
__________________
Desktop
Intel C2Q Q6600 2.4Ghz G0 @ 3.0 Ghz
Biostar TP45 HP
2x2gig DDR2 1066 OCZ @ DDR2 1067
eVGA GTX 260 @ stock clocks
2x AOC 24" Widescreens

Car: 2007 BMW 328xi
Website: Crackin' Wise: Blogging about whatever I want

Last edited by Fourth; 03-17-2007 at 10:41 PM.
Offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 10:39 PM   #6
nu2this
bring it !!
Senior Member
 
nu2this's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lethbridge,Ab.
Age: 56
Posts: 531
iTrader: 0 / 0%
lol, trying it out on my "infamous" D 945--we'll see if it likes 4 cores running on it as apposed to just 2!!! Got the 2651 prot--deadline is 4 days....

yes, it has to be installed on a "logged" account...it says in readme

in task mgr; have 2 cores at 32-34%, and the other 2 at 16-18%.. hard to tell if the higher % ones are on the same core0 or core1..


edit: bah!!! d945--tossed the wu like all the others....installed on x2 3800 instead
__________________

Amd 8350@4.5ghz
Corsair H105 W.C.
Asrock 990FX Killer
2 X Sapphire 290 Tri-X 4g Oc.
2 x 8g G.Skill Ripjaws 1866
Crucial 500g Ssd , 1t Ext. Seagate hd.
Coolmax 1000w.
Zalman Z11 case
Win10 Enterprise Pre.



We can't all be hero's,someone has to stand on the sidewalk and clap!

Last edited by nu2this; 03-18-2007 at 09:54 AM.
Offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 10:41 PM   #7
Fourth
Dimension, The
Senior Member
 
Fourth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Age: 30
Posts: 2,448
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Yea, I ended up with Protein in POPC on a 4 day deadline.
__________________
Desktop
Intel C2Q Q6600 2.4Ghz G0 @ 3.0 Ghz
Biostar TP45 HP
2x2gig DDR2 1066 OCZ @ DDR2 1067
eVGA GTX 260 @ stock clocks
2x AOC 24" Widescreens

Car: 2007 BMW 328xi
Website: Crackin' Wise: Blogging about whatever I want
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 02:31 AM   #8
Taichan
Will be folding soon
Senior Member
 
Taichan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sudbury
Age: 30
Posts: 3,338
iTrader: 15 / 100%
and now the E4300 is the better cpu for folding the the E6300
__________________

EOCF IRC: irc.freenode.net #EOCF
davidhammock200 is Stickie Boy
Remember your keys Steve
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 03:48 AM   #9
THEnumber337
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taichan View Post
and now the E4300 is the better cpu for folding the the E6300
Yep, almost makes me want to upgrade right now. Although I think I'll wait until some more price cuts come our way.
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 06:39 AM   #10
runlinux
MC Number Cruncher
Senior Member
 
runlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 30
Posts: 2,133
iTrader: 15 / 100%
so why am i getting just under 1hr/% on a 3 day unit? i wont even finish it at this rate - my wife's 6300@ 3ghz....
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 06:56 AM   #11
chiefish
old school
Senior Member
 
chiefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: northwest N.J.
Age: 49
Posts: 1,148
iTrader: 6 / 100%
i usually run about 12 minutes a frame on these units, E6400 O/c to 3.3.
1 hr a frame seems high to me, my p945d takes about 30 minutes a frame and still finishes it on time with a bit to spare. Just let it run a while and see if it tightens up some.
__________________
Intel I970 o/c @ 3.8
Asus Rampage3 Formula
12 gigs of corsair vengance
Asus gtx570 running in 3d games mode
Intel 160gig SSD as main and two 250gig slaves

Check Out All My vintage CPUs in My Collection here
WWW.Chiefish.Com
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 07:39 AM   #12
NM_JJ
Need more cowbell
Senior Member
 
NM_JJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tularosa, NM
Age: 53
Posts: 408
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Exactly what I've been waiting for...I'm a happy, happy, happy man. Now I can wipe my drive, install Vista and go back to using my PC as an HTPC.
__________________


1st build: Gigabyte DS3 rev 3.3 (G)MCH +0.1V; e6600 400x8, 1.45V, 52C folding; Crucial Tracers DDR2 1066 2x1GB 800MHz, 2.1V, 5-5-5-18; Zalman CNPS9500 AT; XCLIO GOODPOWER 500W, Liteon Blu-ray, XFX-8800GTS.
HTPC: P-D 930 based Walmart HP w/XFX 7950GT. Folds 24/7.
Folding for Annoying Competition!
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 08:02 AM   #13
runlinux
MC Number Cruncher
Senior Member
 
runlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 30
Posts: 2,133
iTrader: 15 / 100%
ok, figured out why im so slow. i had a folding service running left over from vmware/linux... lol.
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 10:05 AM   #14
frozndevl
mo' frozn foldin'
Senior Member
 
frozndevl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 36
Posts: 888
iTrader: 1 / 100%
So far I'm getting around 25-26 minutes per % on the 1523 pointer. This gives me less than 900ppd. This makes me want to keep running the linux SMP since that gives me about 1300 on this same box.
__________________

DFI LanParty n4 Ultra-D (704-2bta)
Opteron 165 CCBBE 0615 EPMW @ 316x9 idle - 35c load -
52c
2x1gb G.Skill Extreme HZ PC4000 3-4-4-8-1T @ 166=RAM/FSB:5/6 DDR520
EVGA 7600GT KO 580x750 (not OCed yet)
Zalman CNPS9500
LED
Antec NeoHe 550W
TT Armor 8003SWA
Penguin Power!!
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 10:18 AM   #15
Wuden
wU wU
Senior Member
 
Wuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ct
Age: 41
Posts: 683
iTrader: 0 / 0%
SO e4300 running at 3.4 should deliver ??? ppd

900-1k?

yay
__________________
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 11:19 AM   #16
chiefish
old school
Senior Member
 
chiefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: northwest N.J.
Age: 49
Posts: 1,148
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by frozndevl View Post
So far I'm getting around 25-26 minutes per % on the 1523 pointer. This gives me less than 900ppd. This makes me want to keep running the linux SMP since that gives me about 1300 on this same box.
im going to geuss its because of running linux in 64 bit mode, i seem to think i did better ppd in vmware as well.
__________________
Intel I970 o/c @ 3.8
Asus Rampage3 Formula
12 gigs of corsair vengance
Asus gtx570 running in 3d games mode
Intel 160gig SSD as main and two 250gig slaves

Check Out All My vintage CPUs in My Collection here
WWW.Chiefish.Com
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 11:33 AM   #17
Wuden
wU wU
Senior Member
 
Wuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ct
Age: 41
Posts: 683
iTrader: 0 / 0%
any talk of a 64 bit windows smp?

that may make me move to 64 vista... ....... maybe
__________________
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 11:59 AM   #18
nu2this
bring it !!
Senior Member
 
nu2this's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lethbridge,Ab.
Age: 56
Posts: 531
iTrader: 0 / 0%
32min on a 2610 on x2 3800 @2.4...
__________________

Amd 8350@4.5ghz
Corsair H105 W.C.
Asrock 990FX Killer
2 X Sapphire 290 Tri-X 4g Oc.
2 x 8g G.Skill Ripjaws 1866
Crucial 500g Ssd , 1t Ext. Seagate hd.
Coolmax 1000w.
Zalman Z11 case
Win10 Enterprise Pre.



We can't all be hero's,someone has to stand on the sidewalk and clap!

Last edited by nu2this; 03-18-2007 at 07:24 PM.
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 12:13 PM   #19
frozndevl
mo' frozn foldin'
Senior Member
 
frozndevl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 36
Posts: 888
iTrader: 1 / 100%
So far it seems that if you can either run native Linux or run under VMware, use the linux SMP for much betterpoints
__________________

DFI LanParty n4 Ultra-D (704-2bta)
Opteron 165 CCBBE 0615 EPMW @ 316x9 idle - 35c load -
52c
2x1gb G.Skill Extreme HZ PC4000 3-4-4-8-1T @ 166=RAM/FSB:5/6 DDR520
EVGA 7600GT KO 580x750 (not OCed yet)
Zalman CNPS9500
LED
Antec NeoHe 550W
TT Armor 8003SWA
Penguin Power!!
Offline  
Old 03-18-2007, 12:23 PM   #20
runlinux
MC Number Cruncher
Senior Member
 
runlinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 30
Posts: 2,133
iTrader: 15 / 100%
im just gunna run the windows smp beta for now. 1 one my quad and 1 on my wife's
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking