EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General CPU Cooling > Water Cooling - (Plain & Chilled)
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2008, 12:32 AM   #1
chronostorm
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 53
Last Seen: 11-13-2008
From: Troy, MI
iTrader: 1 / 100%
MCP655 vs MCP355

Hey guys, I'm new here, so please go easy on me

my question is this:

Which pump is better, the mcp655 or mcp355? Everywhere I look, there are mixed feelings about these pumps, with some saying the 355 is better, and others saying the 655 is better. Here, many people are saying the 355 with a modded top is better.

Which one actually is?

Thanks alot!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 12:52 AM   #2
es101346
Project Myth
es101346's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 101
Last Seen: 06-02-2011
Age: 23
From: Brooklyn, NY
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I would go for the 355 & either

XSPC Premium Laing DDC Clear Acrylic Top

or

Petra'sTech DDCT-01s Custom Acetal DDC Pump Top

Personally, I'm going for the XSPC. Because of common testing results, and it looks better ;]
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 03:24 AM   #3
PhoenixDance
Water Cooling Master
PhoenixDance's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,573
Last Seen: 03-21-2013
Age: 25
iTrader: 1 / 100%
im going from a 655 to a 350/355, i need a smaller pump
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 01:47 PM   #4
ricecrispi
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,066
Last Seen: 07-28-2013
Age: 32
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Here are the numbers. Note this is with older and stronger DDC +/ultra version. DDC 3.2 is not as powerful.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=117215

DDC 3.2 with tops review. XSPC comes out on top. Hands down and for second time. NOt the gains at very small with rectricitve loops. approximately .1 GM difference and no more. Normal restriction loops difference in tops is about .2 gpm to .3gpm. From stock DDC 3.2 tops give .5to .7 gpm difference in normal loops., same as have a second pump.
http://www.martinsliquidlab.com/DDC3...opTesting.html

Second test at overclock3d.net but it got removed it seems after receiving heat on XS forums. Reviewer did a decent job and he stood up for it. People just being silly. Results are here http://www.xspc.biz/ddctop.php



Performance is one part of equation. There is also size, noise, ease of installation, reliability, and features. The DDC wins all of these except for reliability since the mcp 655/ D5 pump is a tank.

Last edited by ricecrispi : 03-03-2008 at 01:53 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 02:19 PM   #5
chronostorm
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 53
Last Seen: 11-13-2008
From: Troy, MI
iTrader: 1 / 100%
thanks so much for the help guys.

ricecrispi, on the matter of reliability, the mcp355 isn't unreliable by any means, right? It's just less than mcp655, right?

also, jw. what are the noise levels on the mcp355?

Thanks!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 02:23 PM   #6
es101346
Project Myth
es101346's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 101
Last Seen: 06-02-2011
Age: 23
From: Brooklyn, NY
iTrader: 0 / 0%
The mcp355 isn't unreliable, but the 655 is just a beast when it comes to handling the pressure. And the noise levels on the mcp355 aren't bad, but if your trying to run a silent setup, it is not recommended. I rather give up the little noise for the performance. Not like its amazingly loud.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 03:07 PM   #7
chronostorm
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 53
Last Seen: 11-13-2008
From: Troy, MI
iTrader: 1 / 100%
thanks for your help!

[EDIT]

o yea, on jab-tech's product page for the 355, it says:

"A Note of Caution!
the MCP355 generates higher audible noise than the MCP350 and MCP655 pumps. This product is not recommended for users seeking silent operations."

Does that mean the 655 is better than the 355 in terms of noise? I've been reading much different reports on most forums. Can anybody confirm? Thanks!

Last edited by chronostorm : 03-03-2008 at 05:39 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 06:50 PM   #8
ricecrispi
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,066
Last Seen: 07-28-2013
Age: 32
iTrader: 2 / 100%
DDC 3.2 isn't loud at all. Less noisy than MCP655 IMO due to the frequency of noise the MCP 655 emits which is high pitched. I have two DDC 350, MCP655 and used DDC 3.2 for leak test. DDC is silent/almost inaudible and during leak test you can hear when outside the case but definitely not when in it.

With a top the DDC pumps are much quieter according to most users. I have DIY tops so I wouldn't know
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 11:20 PM   #9
Jimothy
Extreme Overclocker
Jimothy's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 520
Last Seen: 01-10-2013
Age: 27
From: Bellingham, WA
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I have the 655 and I cannot hear it over the sound from my radiator. The only time I really notice noise is when I power up the computer and the pump spools up.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-03-2008, 11:24 PM   #10
ValueSize
Think Change.
ValueSize's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,153
Last Seen: 04-27-2013
Age: 25
From: Chicago IL
iTrader: 35 / 100%
Another 655 user who can't hear it except for the spin up upon startup.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-04-2008, 03:23 AM   #11
PhoenixDance
Water Cooling Master
PhoenixDance's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,573
Last Seen: 03-21-2013
Age: 25
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I cant hear my 655 at all. Only when it is in contact with my case it rumbles due to vibration.

I Have since Got a 350 or a 355 im not sure as it was an ebay auction with a fuzion and a res that i won and he didnt say which it was, it has a custom top though

Im trying to built a Silent system so i hope it is quiet :S if its not i will end up selling it.

Can you change the Speed on the 350/355 like on the 655????
United Kingdom  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-04-2008, 10:21 AM   #12
chronostorm
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 53
Last Seen: 11-13-2008
From: Troy, MI
iTrader: 1 / 100%
as far as I know, the 350 and 355 don't have included speed controllers, but I'm sure there are other ways to do it (perhaps using something like a fan controller to adjust voltage?)
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-04-2008, 10:28 AM   #13
bftek
Mad Warranty Voider
bftek's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,675
Last Seen: 02-17-2009
From: Littleton, CO
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronostorm View Post
as far as I know, the 350 and 355 don't have included speed controllers, but I'm sure there are other ways to do it (perhaps using something like a fan controller to adjust voltage?)
Im curious to know if that would work.
According to the specs of the 355/350 the Sunbeam Rheobuses could handel the load if it would work.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-04-2008, 01:07 PM   #14
ricecrispi
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,066
Last Seen: 07-28-2013
Age: 32
iTrader: 2 / 100%
I have very silent optimized case. Compared to stock CM 810 stacker case this thing is silent and stacker is a noise maker, it's relative. Foam layered panels, vinyl tiles, 2mm plexi window that covers entire side case panel. All the case fans in this main rig are under 50CFM or under 1400 rpm. The two intakes are 42 CFM 1200 rpm running around 9-10V at idle with open intakes into heatcore with 1 inch shroud. Exhaust and blowhole are yateloon L running about 9V. Also had the corsair HX but downgraded to CM PSU. HDDs are enclosed. Loudest thing is screaming DVD drive.

I can still hear the MCP 655 because everything else at idle is dead silent. If I turn off the pump I can tell it's off but is very small and minimal. If TV is on you can't tell the difference. I can't tell if DDC is on or off when in the case. I also had it in HTPC case and when I changed the DDC from MCP 655 it was noticeable different sound but that case ahanix Divine5 and noisy and cheaper quality then my custom modded CM
Again it's like comparing the sound that comes for hornet or a bumble bee.

You don't need to put DDC under speed control. It will work with DDC 3.1 because it uses 8-10Watts. DDC 3.2 uses about 15watts, less than older 355 at 18 wattts. You can use using two channels on good controller.

Last edited by ricecrispi : 03-04-2008 at 01:20 PM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 03-04-2008, 03:14 PM   #15
bftek
Mad Warranty Voider
bftek's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,675
Last Seen: 02-17-2009
From: Littleton, CO
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricecrispi View Post
You don't need to put DDC under speed control. It will work with DDC 3.1 because it uses 8-10Watts. DDC 3.2 uses about 15watts, less than older 355 at 18 wattts. You can use using two channels on good controller.
How exactly would you wire it to two channels?

The Rheobuses as I already said could do it on one channel since they allow 20(30 on the new model) watts on each, leaving the pumps with more than enough extra watts and amps.

But I'm curious as how to do it with other controllers?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking