EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Video Cards, TV Tuners, Monitors > General Video Card Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2008, 11:55 AM   #1
blibba
Toasting Chips
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 226
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Graphics Memory Usage Monitor

I currently use a 512mb Inno 3D 8500GT, but I'm posting this in the general video card discussion area because my question isn't really specific to one make of card.

I've heard that some 512mb cards, including mine, that were originaly conceived as 256mb cards, are unable to or rarely able to use all of their vram.

Furthermore, I keep seeing 256mb 7900s and x1900s coming up at great prices, and whilst I know there beter than my card, I'm not sure how much I need the 512mb of video ram. I play games (including Oblivion, Crysis and TDU) at 1440x900 at medium settings, with little or no AA.

So, my question is: Is there a program tht can be used to monitor the amount of video ram in use at any one time?

Thanks in advance for your comments, but I'm not interested in being told that I have a s**t card - I know, but it works great for what I use it for.
Offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 02:38 PM   #2
Giant384
NV FAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 27
Posts: 872
iTrader: 0 / 0%
i use Everest to display my video ram usage on my g15 lcd. i believe you can use rivatuner to see your ram usage.
__________________
Intel core 2 duo e6750 ~2.66ghz |MSI P6N Sli Platinum|OCZ Reaper HPC 2gb pc2 6400 |Seagate Barracuda 160gb and 200gb SATA|Sound Blaster Audigy 4|Palit 9600GT|
Offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 09:10 AM   #3
blibba
Toasting Chips
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 226
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giant384 View Post
I believe you can use rivatuner to see your ram usage.
I'm aware of that, but don't understand the user inteface of the power user tab. If you could gve me a brief explanation, or a link to one, that coul be my answer. Similarly, I was unable to find the relevant menu on Everest home edition 2.20

Last edited by blibba; 04-22-2008 at 09:21 AM.
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking