EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Processors

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2009, 10:26 PM   #1
macnoma99
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Phenom x4 9150e

Is it even possible, or worth the trouble to overclock an AMD Phenom x4 9150e (1.8GHz)? Just wondering, guess its a NOOB question but i cant find anything on it.
Offline  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:51 PM   #2
davidhammock200
Old Fart OverClocker
Senior Member
 
davidhammock200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Age: 62
Posts: 20,464
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnoma99 View Post
Is it even possible, or worth the trouble to overclock an AMD Phenom x4 9150e (1.8GHz)? Just wondering, guess its a NOOB question but i cant find anything on it.
Yes, anything that can be OC'ed, should be OC'ed!
__________________

Link to A64 Heatsink Guide Link to Power Supply Guide___ Sig By Monty

In Remembrance of Mary Jane Grace 11-20-09 My Loving Wife.
Offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 04:33 AM   #3
Neox69
Ike
Senior Member
 
Neox69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago
Age: 32
Posts: 1,045
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Well by the looks of it, are you using this in an OEM maker? (i.e. HP, dell, toshiba)

If you are then I would say no... If you are using in an aftermarket board then depends highly on your board's options. Generally you should be able to OC if not in an OEM....
Offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:41 PM   #4
macnoma99
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
a6700f

yes, i have the HP a6700f. i just got the evga 9800 gtx+ and an ocz stealthxtreme 600w psu. is it even worth hooking all this stuff up with a processor thats only 1.8 GHZ?
Offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:45 PM   #5
leprechanmonkie
Red Rocket Red Rocket
Senior Member
 
leprechanmonkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 29
Posts: 1,380
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well there is no overclocking for you(well not in the bios at least)

you could see if a clockgen for your board, but probably not worth much gain
Offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:47 PM   #6
davidhammock200
Old Fart OverClocker
Senior Member
 
davidhammock200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Age: 62
Posts: 20,464
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by macnoma99 View Post
yes, i have the HP a6700f. i just got the evga 9800 gtx+ and an ocz stealthxtreme 600w psu. is it even worth hooking all this stuff up with a processor thats only 1.8 GHZ?
No CPU or RAM OC'ing on a HP, but you should be able to play all games at medium res with some eye candy.

Check HP's site & see what other CPU's were offered on your system & you can probably upgrade the CPU to any of them with only a BIOS update.

Good Gaming!
Dave
__________________

Link to A64 Heatsink Guide Link to Power Supply Guide___ Sig By Monty

In Remembrance of Mary Jane Grace 11-20-09 My Loving Wife.
Offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 05:01 PM   #7
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,252
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhammock200 View Post
No CPU or RAM OC'ing on a HP, but you should be able to play all games at medium res with some eye candy.

Check HP's site & see what other CPU's were offered on your system & you can probably upgrade the CPU to any of them with only a BIOS update.

Good Gaming!
Dave
No way. I'd say spend the money on a good board that you CAN Oc on lol. No point in buying a processor you still can't OC .

But if his Mobo has a 7xx Chipset he MIGHT be able to OC via Amd Over Drive.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 10:43 PM   #8
Neox69
Ike
Senior Member
 
Neox69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago
Age: 32
Posts: 1,045
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by macnoma99 View Post
yes, i have the HP a6700f. i just got the evga 9800 gtx+ and an ocz stealthxtreme 600w psu. is it even worth hooking all this stuff up with a processor thats only 1.8 GHZ?
Well no matter what you decide, I think you will be able to use those items and see a performance boost. The 9800 might get bottlenecked, but I am not sure at what resolution you might start to see it at.

What resolution do you game on?

As for the PSU, when I got my dell first thing I did was replace the PSU with a Rosewill 600w and threw in an 8800GT. Believe it or not with the stock AMD 5200+ I was gaming perfectly at 1680x1050. I wasn't going to max all games, but that the minimum FPS where 40(except for crysis).

Just make sure you check the pins on the MOBO PWR plug and see they match to the stock OEM.
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking