EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Processors
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2009, 10:26 PM   #1
macnoma99
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Last Seen: 02-20-2009
Phenom x4 9150e

Is it even possible, or worth the trouble to overclock an AMD Phenom x4 9150e (1.8GHz)? Just wondering, guess its a NOOB question but i cant find anything on it.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-19-2009, 11:51 PM   #2
davidhammock200
Old Fart OverClocker
davidhammock200's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 20,464
Last Seen: 07-21-2011
Age: 60
From: Las Vegas, NV.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnoma99 View Post
Is it even possible, or worth the trouble to overclock an AMD Phenom x4 9150e (1.8GHz)? Just wondering, guess its a NOOB question but i cant find anything on it.
Yes, anything that can be OC'ed, should be OC'ed!
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-20-2009, 04:33 AM   #3
Neox69
Ike
Neox69's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,040
Last Seen: 10-05-2014
Age: 30
From: Chicago
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Well by the looks of it, are you using this in an OEM maker? (i.e. HP, dell, toshiba)

If you are then I would say no... If you are using in an aftermarket board then depends highly on your board's options. Generally you should be able to OC if not in an OEM....
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-20-2009, 12:41 PM   #4
macnoma99
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Last Seen: 02-20-2009
a6700f

yes, i have the HP a6700f. i just got the evga 9800 gtx+ and an ocz stealthxtreme 600w psu. is it even worth hooking all this stuff up with a processor thats only 1.8 GHZ?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-20-2009, 12:45 PM   #5
leprechanmonkie
Red Rocket Red Rocket
leprechanmonkie's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,380
Last Seen: 09-11-2014
Age: 28
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well there is no overclocking for you(well not in the bios at least)

you could see if a clockgen for your board, but probably not worth much gain
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-20-2009, 12:47 PM   #6
davidhammock200
Old Fart OverClocker
davidhammock200's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 20,464
Last Seen: 07-21-2011
Age: 60
From: Las Vegas, NV.
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by macnoma99 View Post
yes, i have the HP a6700f. i just got the evga 9800 gtx+ and an ocz stealthxtreme 600w psu. is it even worth hooking all this stuff up with a processor thats only 1.8 GHZ?
No CPU or RAM OC'ing on a HP, but you should be able to play all games at medium res with some eye candy.

Check HP's site & see what other CPU's were offered on your system & you can probably upgrade the CPU to any of them with only a BIOS update.

Good Gaming!
Dave
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-20-2009, 05:01 PM   #7
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 7,028
Last Seen: 09-16-2014
From: nowhere
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhammock200 View Post
No CPU or RAM OC'ing on a HP, but you should be able to play all games at medium res with some eye candy.

Check HP's site & see what other CPU's were offered on your system & you can probably upgrade the CPU to any of them with only a BIOS update.

Good Gaming!
Dave
No way. I'd say spend the money on a good board that you CAN Oc on lol. No point in buying a processor you still can't OC .

But if his Mobo has a 7xx Chipset he MIGHT be able to OC via Amd Over Drive.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 02-20-2009, 10:43 PM   #8
Neox69
Ike
Neox69's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,040
Last Seen: 10-05-2014
Age: 30
From: Chicago
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by macnoma99 View Post
yes, i have the HP a6700f. i just got the evga 9800 gtx+ and an ocz stealthxtreme 600w psu. is it even worth hooking all this stuff up with a processor thats only 1.8 GHZ?
Well no matter what you decide, I think you will be able to use those items and see a performance boost. The 9800 might get bottlenecked, but I am not sure at what resolution you might start to see it at.

What resolution do you game on?

As for the PSU, when I got my dell first thing I did was replace the PSU with a Rosewill 600w and threw in an 8800GT. Believe it or not with the stock AMD 5200+ I was gaming perfectly at 1680x1050. I wasn't going to max all games, but that the minimum FPS where 40(except for crysis).

Just make sure you check the pins on the MOBO PWR plug and see they match to the stock OEM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking