EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Intel Specific > Intel Processors

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2009, 11:53 PM   #1
issa2000
Long Time User
Senior Member
 
issa2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA (ADL)
Posts: 1,509
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Lightbulb what the max temp for a q9650 775 chip?

what max temp for a q9650 775 chip?

__________________
9650 3.6ghz INTEL
mega space + 3x ssd in raid 0
8G RAM
-I-RAM 4g
6+ DVD BURNERS
295 v2 oc card
SB X-FI FAT GAM EXT
x48 asus
28" VIEWSONIC
ETC...
usb3.0+ sata 6 etc+raid add on cards
Offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 01:47 AM   #2
Ray422
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
iTrader: 0 / 0%
71.4c
http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLB8W
Offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 05:22 AM   #3
issa2000
Long Time User
Senior Member
 
issa2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA (ADL)
Posts: 1,509
iTrader: 0 / 0%
stress testing (def heat sink

get cpu cores to 79 d celc (no crashing..)

max temp 71.4? therm design 95?

The thermal specification shown is the maximum case temperature at the maximum Thermal Design Power (TDP) value for that processor. It is measured at the geometric center on the topside of the processor integrated heat spreader. For processors without integrated heat spreaders such as mobile processors, the thermal specification is referred to as the junction temperature (Tj). The maximum junction temperature is defined by an activation of the processor Intel® Thermal Monitor. The Intel Thermal Monitor’s automatic mode is used to indicate that the maximum TJ has been reached

is 71.4 max case temp?, whats the safe cpu temp?
__________________
9650 3.6ghz INTEL
mega space + 3x ssd in raid 0
8G RAM
-I-RAM 4g
6+ DVD BURNERS
295 v2 oc card
SB X-FI FAT GAM EXT
x48 asus
28" VIEWSONIC
ETC...
usb3.0+ sata 6 etc+raid add on cards
Offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 06:02 AM   #4
Hickeydog
Terrible Human Being
Senior Member
 
Hickeydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Solon, Ohio
Age: 26
Posts: 2,527
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Safe CPU temp is 65 and under.
__________________
Not sure how you managed that, unless you put it in, grabbed her legs, and ran around like it was a wheel barrow race. -zlander79
the way I see it going down kroney is taking one for the team ball gag pulp fiction style, but instead of a gimp costume hickey is wearing his MC costume.-prudhomb
Now is always the best time to rape someone.-Phenoix
In fact, I think i'd hunt you down and force feed you so many highlighters you pooped neon yellow for the rest of your life -logan
Although ,it is nice when the guy next to you holds it and aims it for you. - @dmin
Offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 11:58 PM   #5
issa2000
Long Time User
Senior Member
 
issa2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA (ADL)
Posts: 1,509
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hickeydog View Post
Safe CPU temp is 65 and under.

wher did you get that.

im run defult 3g,

not all cpus have their safe run temp 65...
__________________
9650 3.6ghz INTEL
mega space + 3x ssd in raid 0
8G RAM
-I-RAM 4g
6+ DVD BURNERS
295 v2 oc card
SB X-FI FAT GAM EXT
x48 asus
28" VIEWSONIC
ETC...
usb3.0+ sata 6 etc+raid add on cards
Offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 05:27 AM   #6
jak2k50
Untouchable
Senior Member
 
jak2k50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wolverhampton UK
Age: 24
Posts: 574
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by issa2000 View Post
wher did you get that.

im run defult 3g,

not all cpus have their safe run temp 65...
Hes just recommending you don't take it over 65C.
__________________

CPU: E5200 2.5 @4.0Ghz w/Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7
Mobo: Asus P5K-VM (Pencil Modded) RAM: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz @ 900Mhz
GFX: Nvidia 9800GT LCD: DGM 20" Widescreen
Power Supply: Casecom 500W HDD: Maxtor 160GB SATA II
Mouse: Logitech MX518 Keyboard: Saitek Eclipse II
Case: Cooler Master Storm Scout
Offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 06:02 AM   #7
issa2000
Long Time User
Senior Member
 
issa2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA (ADL)
Posts: 1,509
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by jak2k50 View Post
Hes just recommending you don't take it over 65C.

yes i know... but it runs at 80+ at default speeds

whats the point of saying dont go beyond 65,? might as well say 20?
__________________
9650 3.6ghz INTEL
mega space + 3x ssd in raid 0
8G RAM
-I-RAM 4g
6+ DVD BURNERS
295 v2 oc card
SB X-FI FAT GAM EXT
x48 asus
28" VIEWSONIC
ETC...
usb3.0+ sata 6 etc+raid add on cards
Offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 06:21 AM   #8
Hickeydog
Terrible Human Being
Senior Member
 
Hickeydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Solon, Ohio
Age: 26
Posts: 2,527
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by issa2000 View Post
yes i know... but it runs at 80+ at default speeds
If it runs at 80+ at default speeds, there's something seriously wrong with your cooling.
__________________
Not sure how you managed that, unless you put it in, grabbed her legs, and ran around like it was a wheel barrow race. -zlander79
the way I see it going down kroney is taking one for the team ball gag pulp fiction style, but instead of a gimp costume hickey is wearing his MC costume.-prudhomb
Now is always the best time to rape someone.-Phenoix
In fact, I think i'd hunt you down and force feed you so many highlighters you pooped neon yellow for the rest of your life -logan
Although ,it is nice when the guy next to you holds it and aims it for you. - @dmin
Offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 07:16 AM   #9
CaligulaPwns
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Yeah 71.x is what Intel says and cooler is always better. Your chip, even with stock cooling shouldnt be running that warm.
Offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 04:59 PM   #10
JoeyC
I wub my puter!
Senior Member
 
JoeyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 142
iTrader: 0 / 0%
insufficient case cooling possibly?
__________________
XCLIO Blackhawk
Asus Maximus II Formula
q9550 lapped...3.8 1.25(working on it)
Thermalright Ultra 120 Rev. C
2x2gb OCZ Reaper ddr2 1150 @1116 5-6-6-15
WD RE3 250gb x 2 in RAID0
Asus Reference 5870 @ 930/1375
Seventeam 850w
Windows 7 64-bit

Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 02:11 AM   #11
issa2000
Long Time User
Senior Member
 
issa2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA (ADL)
Posts: 1,509
iTrader: 0 / 0%
its 20d cel in room - side panel open, silstone sj07

p.s at full trottle.

at idel cpu 1 (56/ cpu -2-4 54d cel) using nvidia monitor on asus rampage mboard. (defult intel heatsink. many fans).

i have a full setup to go watercooling, im just checking stability of system + max temp it gets? what actual safe temps. (max)
__________________
9650 3.6ghz INTEL
mega space + 3x ssd in raid 0
8G RAM
-I-RAM 4g
6+ DVD BURNERS
295 v2 oc card
SB X-FI FAT GAM EXT
x48 asus
28" VIEWSONIC
ETC...
usb3.0+ sata 6 etc+raid add on cards
Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 02:28 AM   #12
BRONiUS
Not impressed...
Senior Member
 
BRONiUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vilnius
Posts: 828
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Did you apply reasonable amount of thermal compound and seatted the heatsink correctly? These temps are just too high. Also, try RealTemp or CoreTemp for monitoring temperatures.
__________________

Capitalization is the difference between "I had to help my uncle Jack off a horse.." and "I had to help my uncle jack off a horse.."
Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 10:15 AM   #13
issa2000
Long Time User
Senior Member
 
issa2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA (ADL)
Posts: 1,509
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thumbs up

ok

just a note:

qualif tafe tech. (2 years etc)(build 200-400+ systems a year etc..)+ on-site tec(software+hardware)..(priv bus as well)

intel cpu heat sinks come with strips (3-or 4) pre applyed thermal strips on heat sink. been like this (temp) for over 9+ months (when first 9650 came out)(remember q9450) got that too.

and yes fitted correctly+ system cleaned reg.

maybe nvidia monitor is telling me wrong temps? ill try other cpu temps monitoring programs. ill be back with results. (so whats max safe cpu temps) for a q 9650 3g chip)?
__________________
9650 3.6ghz INTEL
mega space + 3x ssd in raid 0
8G RAM
-I-RAM 4g
6+ DVD BURNERS
295 v2 oc card
SB X-FI FAT GAM EXT
x48 asus
28" VIEWSONIC
ETC...
usb3.0+ sata 6 etc+raid add on cards

Last edited by issa2000; 05-01-2009 at 10:21 AM.
Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 10:26 AM   #14
CaligulaPwns
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Try using Realtemp/Coretemp.
Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 10:53 AM   #15
Cecil
Fix The Internet
Senior Member
 
Cecil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Akron Ohio
Age: 26
Posts: 4,453
iTrader: 100 / 100%
For 45nm CPUs, use Realtemp. Set the TJmax correctly as well.

The max temps you want to hit in stress testing (I hope you are using Intel burn test or LinX instead of Prime) should be 72C. If you can keep it under 72C, then normal use will most likely never go over 65C, keeping it perfectly safe.
__________________
PC - I5 3Ghz 4590S model, 16GB Ares 1866, Asrock H97M-Pro4, EVGA 970, Phanteks Enthoo Evolv M-ATX

Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 11:16 AM   #16
CaligulaPwns
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil View Post
For 45nm CPUs, use Realtemp. Set the TJmax correctly as well.

The max temps you want to hit in stress testing (I hope you are using Intel burn test or LinX instead of Prime) should be 72C. If you can keep it under 72C, then normal use will most likely never go over 65C, keeping it perfectly safe.
There shouldnt be a need to set the TJmax. Unclewebb has it set properly in the last several versions of Realtemp last I checked in that thread at XS.
Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 12:03 PM   #17
Cecil
Fix The Internet
Senior Member
 
Cecil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Akron Ohio
Age: 26
Posts: 4,453
iTrader: 100 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaligulaPwns View Post
There shouldnt be a need to set the TJmax. Unclewebb has it set properly in the last several versions of Realtemp last I checked in that thread at XS.
He should at least check to make sure it is right. It was not when I had my E8400 just recently.
__________________
PC - I5 3Ghz 4590S model, 16GB Ares 1866, Asrock H97M-Pro4, EVGA 970, Phanteks Enthoo Evolv M-ATX

Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 12:15 PM   #18
CaligulaPwns
Banned!
Banned
Don't ask why unless you want to join them.
It should be...what may have happened is you copied the .exe and didnt do a 'fresh install' thus leaving your config files in there and the wrong TJmax. The ****** chvell and I went over the same thing with his chip as well. That info was given to me from UWebb himself. Not sure if thats what happened to you however, just throwing it out there. It never hurts to check.
Offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 12:56 PM   #19
Th3_uN1Qu3
kitteh
Senior Member
 
Th3_uN1Qu3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bucharest, RO
Age: 24
Posts: 3,512
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Your heatspreader could be uneven. Lapping time!
__________________
Case: Akasa Zen Black
PSU: Seasonic 500W
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3
CPU: Conroe E6550 @ 3.67ghz 1.39v under Scythe Mugen
RAM: 8GB Corsair XMS2 @ 1050 CL5 2.1v
GPU: Sapphire HD3870 DDR3 vmod @ 877/2034 under Accelero S1
Hard drive: Western Digital WD3200AAKS 320GB 16MB cache
Optical: Lite-On DH20A3P DVD-RW DL, Teac DV-516D CD/DVD-ROM
OS: Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Display: Nokia 920C 19" CRT @ 1440x1080 85Hz

"Don't be so hasty to say such things, friend. It's not that magic doesn't exist - you just need MORE magic." - CybrSlydr
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking