EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Miscellaneous Peripherals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2009, 01:46 PM   #1
Maurice
Partial to LUNAR
Senior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Age: 37
Posts: 6,369
iTrader: 16 / 100%
How to get data off of DVR hard drive

I didn't know where else to post ths. My buddy has some stuff he recored with his dvr, and wanted to know if theres a way to transfer the data from the dvr to a normal hard drive or something.

Any help would be appreciated thanks.
__________________
I7 2600K
Gigabyte z68xp-ud3p
G.Skill DDR3 sniper 1333 2x4
Evga GTX 580 1.5gb
Dell 24" 2407 widescreen
Corsair HX620 psu
ASUS Xonar D2X
Logitech Z-5500's

"When you're born you get a ticket to the freak show. When you're born in America, you get a front row seat."
Offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 02:26 AM   #2
PommieB
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
PommieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern NSW
Posts: 9,901
iTrader: 0 / 0%
It depends really on what the data streams are and whether they can be recognised by other programs, I use a program called VideoReDo which will run the data streams and rebuild the video, if the streams are MPG 2 then they can usually be identified renamed and restreamed, I do this regularly from a PVR with a external drive, the DVR architecture ( streams ) may be different.

Is the DVR still working, you would need to remove the drive to get at the data. What exactly is he trying to do.
__________________
Solid State Drives & Controllers Thread.

Main Rig - Intel E6600 duo 2 - Gigabyte P35-Dq6 - Corsair HX620W PSU - 2g Corsair DDR2 XMS2 Memory -
Sony DRU-820 DVD Drive - XFX 8800 GTS 320Mb Card -
Vantec 3 and MX-1 external esata ( retired to dusbin )enclosures - Vantec 3 ide usb enclosure - XP and Vista OS's. ( Computer retired ).

Laptop - ASUS M70Vn-C1 - Duo t9400 - 17" HD WUXGA LCD screen - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 OEM - 4g Ram - Nvidia M9650gt graphics - Blueray reader - 512gb Crucial M4 ssd sata drive 1x500g Seagate XT disk drive - TV - 802.11n +BT.
Offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:30 AM   #3
Maurice
Partial to LUNAR
Senior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Age: 37
Posts: 6,369
iTrader: 16 / 100%
yes dvr is working, I just assumed that I would need some kind of adapter for the dvr harddrive. He just wants the data off the drive and working on say a computer.
__________________
I7 2600K
Gigabyte z68xp-ud3p
G.Skill DDR3 sniper 1333 2x4
Evga GTX 580 1.5gb
Dell 24" 2407 widescreen
Corsair HX620 psu
ASUS Xonar D2X
Logitech Z-5500's

"When you're born you get a ticket to the freak show. When you're born in America, you get a front row seat."
Offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 11:35 AM   #4
Ridewithme38
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Ridewithme38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 248
iTrader: 1 / 100%
What make and model DVR?
__________________

Stats will go up!~ i had a crash i just fixed!!
http://owner2ownerexchange.com/
My Rigs
(P4 524) 3.06HT (Buying the 672 next week)
ThermalTake CL-P0326 CPU Cooler
MSI MS-7082 Ver.1, 661FM3-L
Value Select 2GB DDR-400 (PC-3200)
(2)Barracuda 7200.11 SATA 3Gb/s 1-TB Hard Drives
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 AGP
Arctic Cooling Accelero TWIN TURBO
PC Power & Cooling S75CF 750W
Offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 02:06 AM   #5
PommieB
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
PommieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern NSW
Posts: 9,901
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I've yet to see a DVR that you can download direct to a removable hard drive, they only allow to download to Disks. I've three of them including Panasonics latest blue ray drive and it doesn't allow you to do that. I certainly wish it did. I was of the opinion that the DVR wasn't working and he was going to remove the hard drive.
__________________
Solid State Drives & Controllers Thread.

Main Rig - Intel E6600 duo 2 - Gigabyte P35-Dq6 - Corsair HX620W PSU - 2g Corsair DDR2 XMS2 Memory -
Sony DRU-820 DVD Drive - XFX 8800 GTS 320Mb Card -
Vantec 3 and MX-1 external esata ( retired to dusbin )enclosures - Vantec 3 ide usb enclosure - XP and Vista OS's. ( Computer retired ).

Laptop - ASUS M70Vn-C1 - Duo t9400 - 17" HD WUXGA LCD screen - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 OEM - 4g Ram - Nvidia M9650gt graphics - Blueray reader - 512gb Crucial M4 ssd sata drive 1x500g Seagate XT disk drive - TV - 802.11n +BT.
Offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 03:55 PM   #6
Maurice
Partial to LUNAR
Senior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Southern Cali
Age: 37
Posts: 6,369
iTrader: 16 / 100%
dont know what kind it is. It doesn't have to be a removable drive, I just wanted to know if there is a way to do it.
__________________
I7 2600K
Gigabyte z68xp-ud3p
G.Skill DDR3 sniper 1333 2x4
Evga GTX 580 1.5gb
Dell 24" 2407 widescreen
Corsair HX620 psu
ASUS Xonar D2X
Logitech Z-5500's

"When you're born you get a ticket to the freak show. When you're born in America, you get a front row seat."
Offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:19 PM   #7
foy1der
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
foy1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NH
Age: 32
Posts: 478
iTrader: 1 / 100%
If you got it from the cable company then the answer is more than likely, no.

Additional Comment:

Of course you could probably connect the output of your DVR into the Vivo input on your graphics card and just re-record it in real time. It's low tech, but without knowing the make and model, I don't know if you have any other options.
__________________
Main
- EP45-UD3R - E8400@3.6, 1.3v, HDT-S1283 - 2x2GB XMS-2 DDR2-800 - Antec Earthwatts 500 - MSI HD 4870 1GB - HAF 932 - 2x250GB RAID 0 - W7Pro -
WHS
- POS Dell 5150 - Intel 630 Prescott - 2x1GB Patriot Extreme DDR2-800 - Intel GBit PCI-E NIC - 5.75TB - WHS PP3 -
Notebook
- Toshiba M40 - Intel 760 Dothan - 250GB HDD - 2x1GB PNY DDR - XP Pro -

Last edited by foy1der; 05-11-2009 at 06:19 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 08:22 PM   #8
kwiksilver
: فͤ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ
Super Moderator
 
kwiksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Age: 30
Posts: 4,423
iTrader: 52 / 100%
my comcast dvr has a firewire port and you can use it to import to the computer if you're creative use google and check out the model #.
__________________

Primary
| 2011 Macbook Pro 15" | i7 2720QM | 16GB DDR3 | 500GB Samsung Evo SSD | 750GB Toshiba | ATI 6750 1GB | Hengedock | 27" Apple Cinema Display [2560x1440] | OSX Mavericks 10.9 & Win7 Ult | Click for a Pic |
Primary Gamer
| Intel Core i7 4930k | ASUS Rampave IV Extreme | 32GB DDR3 | AMD R290x Crossfire | 250GB Samsung Evo | 500GB Storage | CM 690 II Adv |
Secondary Gamer
| Intel Core i7 920 | ASUS Rampave III Extreme | 24GB DDR3 | AMD R280x Crossfire | 160GB Intel SSD | 320GB Storage | Hiper Osiris |
HTPC / Livingroom Gamer
| Intel Core i7 3770k | Gigabyte H67N-USB3-B3 | 8GB DDR3 | AMD 7850x | 180GB Intel SSD | 320GB Storage | Silverstone Sugo SG07 |
UNRAID Pro Server
| AMD A10 5800k | MSI FM2-A85XA-G43 | 8GB DDR3 | 22 TB Storage | UNRAID 6 PRO | Norco 2420 |
ESXi VM box
| AMD FX-4130 | ASRock 970 Extreme4 | 16GB DDR3 | VMWare ESXi 5.5 | Rackmount Rosewill 4u |
Mobile
| iPhone 6 | 64gb | iOS 9 | Jailbroken | | iPad Mini Retina | 16gb | iOS 9 | Jailbroken |

Streamers:
| Google Chromecast | Roku 2 XS | FireTV | Raspberry Pi Model B 512MB | HD HomeRun 2 ASTC |


Aفͤ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ҈ͭ҉ͮ҈ͯ҉ͨ҈ͬ҉ͧ҈ͥ҉ͦ҈ͧ҉ͨ҈ͩ҉ͪ҈ͫ҉ͬ҈ͭ҉ ͮ҈ͯ҉ͨ҈ͬ҉ͧ҈ͨ҈ͧ͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏ ͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏͏҉ͯ҈ͮ҉ͭ҈ͤ҉ͦ҈ͥ҉ͧ҈ͩ҉ͭ҈ͨ҉ͣ҈ͪ҉ͧ҈ͭ҉ͩ҈
k҉͔̣͇͉̠̩͎̺w̵̞̙̱i̪̣̺̗̜͠k̭̹̀̕ș͙͜i̢̫̘̭l̨͉̟͓̙̘̻͢v̧͓̹͡ ̙̟ͅe̢̺̺̫̹̹r҉̸̖̤̫̫̹̣
Offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 03:55 PM   #9
BIOHazard87
DFI Lover
Senior Member
 
BIOHazard87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Las Vegas,Nevada
Age: 23
Posts: 2,700
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I believe some Tivo branded DVR's have a built in web-server you can use...
__________________
1. Intel 2500k @ 4.4 / ASUS P8P67 Deluxe / G.Skill 1600 2x4GB / eVGA GTX680 / Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Hitachi 2x1TB RAID 0
2. Intel 3570k @ 4.4 / ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe / G.Skill 1866 2x8GB / eVGA GTX 670 / Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Hitachi 2x1.5TB RAID 0
3. Intel Q6600 @ 3.0 / ASUS Maximus II Formula / G.Skill 1066 2x2GB / eVGA GTX460 SE @ 720/1800 / Hitachi 2x160GB RAID 0
4. Intel Q9400 @ 3.2 / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / G.Skill 1066 2x2GB / eVGA GTX570 / Hitachi 4x320GB RAID 0
5. AMD X4 635 @ 2.9 / MSI 785GT-E63 / G.Skill 800 HZ 2x1GB / ATI HD4200
6. Intel i3 @ 2.13 / Intel PM55 / Samsung 1066 2x2GB / Intel HD Graphics / OCZ Core V2 120GB SSD
7. Intel 2.8E @ 2.8 / ASUS P4C800 Deluxe / HardCoreCooling 2x512mb 4000 / ATI X850XT
Offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 04:38 PM   #10
foy1der
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
foy1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NH
Age: 32
Posts: 478
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Yes, Tivo has a piece of software that will allow you to pull the data off the Tivo box. but it comes off in a .tivo file format. You need a tivo codec (free) from tivo. I believe that converting the file from the .tivo format is a breach of the eula.
__________________
Main
- EP45-UD3R - E8400@3.6, 1.3v, HDT-S1283 - 2x2GB XMS-2 DDR2-800 - Antec Earthwatts 500 - MSI HD 4870 1GB - HAF 932 - 2x250GB RAID 0 - W7Pro -
WHS
- POS Dell 5150 - Intel 630 Prescott - 2x1GB Patriot Extreme DDR2-800 - Intel GBit PCI-E NIC - 5.75TB - WHS PP3 -
Notebook
- Toshiba M40 - Intel 760 Dothan - 250GB HDD - 2x1GB PNY DDR - XP Pro -
Offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 10:02 PM   #11
indigo
Clint HolidayEdition
Senior Member
 
indigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 26
Posts: 1,079
iTrader: 14 / 100%
If you've got a mac floating, I think Toast has someway of pulling content off of TiVos. Apple has also hacked together, literally, ways of pulling content off cable boxes using firewire. It's pretty cool actually and there are also windows and linux alternatives.
Offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 04:05 AM   #12
PommieB
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
PommieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern NSW
Posts: 9,901
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Would it be possible to record directly to a laptop or computer using s video or hdmi, depending on what connections you have, I've done this between decks but never directly to computer.
__________________
Solid State Drives & Controllers Thread.

Main Rig - Intel E6600 duo 2 - Gigabyte P35-Dq6 - Corsair HX620W PSU - 2g Corsair DDR2 XMS2 Memory -
Sony DRU-820 DVD Drive - XFX 8800 GTS 320Mb Card -
Vantec 3 and MX-1 external esata ( retired to dusbin )enclosures - Vantec 3 ide usb enclosure - XP and Vista OS's. ( Computer retired ).

Laptop - ASUS M70Vn-C1 - Duo t9400 - 17" HD WUXGA LCD screen - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 OEM - 4g Ram - Nvidia M9650gt graphics - Blueray reader - 512gb Crucial M4 ssd sata drive 1x500g Seagate XT disk drive - TV - 802.11n +BT.
Offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 08:37 AM   #13
glfredrick
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 70
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I'm interested in this topic also. I like recording series to watch when I have time, but it eats up the available storage on the DVR. I have usb output on my DVR box -- wondering if an external HD could be made to work as additional storage.
Offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 08:48 AM   #14
Ridewithme38
Learning To Overclock
Senior Member
 
Ridewithme38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 248
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by glfredrick View Post
I'm interested in this topic also. I like recording series to watch when I have time, but it eats up the available storage on the DVR. I have usb output on my DVR box -- wondering if an external HD could be made to work as additional storage.
What make and Model DVR?
__________________

Stats will go up!~ i had a crash i just fixed!!
http://owner2ownerexchange.com/
My Rigs
(P4 524) 3.06HT (Buying the 672 next week)
ThermalTake CL-P0326 CPU Cooler
MSI MS-7082 Ver.1, 661FM3-L
Value Select 2GB DDR-400 (PC-3200)
(2)Barracuda 7200.11 SATA 3Gb/s 1-TB Hard Drives
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 AGP
Arctic Cooling Accelero TWIN TURBO
PC Power & Cooling S75CF 750W
Offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 08:50 AM   #15
glfredrick
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 70
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridewithme38 View Post
What make and Model DVR?
I need to look at it once I get back home tonight. I'll post later with the data.
Offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 11:18 PM   #16
indigo
Clint HolidayEdition
Senior Member
 
indigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 26
Posts: 1,079
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridewithme38 View Post
What make and Model DVR?
Usually the non-cable co boxes let you use external hds. I know WD makes a mybook for this exact task. Comcast is, as per usual, in a coma, and disables usb altogether. Luckily the FCC mandates that firewire be enabled else they would disable that too.
Offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 07:45 PM   #17
glfredrick
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 70
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridewithme38 View Post
What make and Model DVR?
Motorola DCH6466

I have Insight Communications, if that makes a difference. They are reasonably computer friendly.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 12:41 AM   #18
PommieB
Overclocker
Senior Member
 
PommieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern NSW
Posts: 9,901
iTrader: 0 / 0%
A lot of DVR's have usb these days, but it's restricted to loading files to the DVR hard drive and not downloading files to a usb drive, PVR's are more likely to allow this, it would depend on the firmware and the manual usually tells you whether it's possible or not anyway, so I'd check the manual, hopefully it will become more common with newer drives.
__________________
Solid State Drives & Controllers Thread.

Main Rig - Intel E6600 duo 2 - Gigabyte P35-Dq6 - Corsair HX620W PSU - 2g Corsair DDR2 XMS2 Memory -
Sony DRU-820 DVD Drive - XFX 8800 GTS 320Mb Card -
Vantec 3 and MX-1 external esata ( retired to dusbin )enclosures - Vantec 3 ide usb enclosure - XP and Vista OS's. ( Computer retired ).

Laptop - ASUS M70Vn-C1 - Duo t9400 - 17" HD WUXGA LCD screen - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 OEM - 4g Ram - Nvidia M9650gt graphics - Blueray reader - 512gb Crucial M4 ssd sata drive 1x500g Seagate XT disk drive - TV - 802.11n +BT.
Offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:24 AM   #19
glfredrick
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 70
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks, I'll do some more digging and post any results I find.
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking