EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > General Hardware & Peripherals > Miscellaneous Peripherals
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2009, 01:46 PM   #1
Maurice
Partial to LUNAR
Maurice's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,364
Last Seen: 07-20-2014
Age: 35
From: Southern Cali
iTrader: 16 / 100%
How to get data off of DVR hard drive

I didn't know where else to post ths. My buddy has some stuff he recored with his dvr, and wanted to know if theres a way to transfer the data from the dvr to a normal hard drive or something.

Any help would be appreciated thanks.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-07-2009, 02:26 AM   #2
PommieB
Overclocker
PommieB's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,364
Last Seen: Today
From: Northern NSW
iTrader: 0 / 0%
It depends really on what the data streams are and whether they can be recognised by other programs, I use a program called VideoReDo which will run the data streams and rebuild the video, if the streams are MPG 2 then they can usually be identified renamed and restreamed, I do this regularly from a PVR with a external drive, the DVR architecture ( streams ) may be different.

Is the DVR still working, you would need to remove the drive to get at the data. What exactly is he trying to do.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-07-2009, 11:30 AM   #3
Maurice
Partial to LUNAR
Maurice's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,364
Last Seen: 07-20-2014
Age: 35
From: Southern Cali
iTrader: 16 / 100%
yes dvr is working, I just assumed that I would need some kind of adapter for the dvr harddrive. He just wants the data off the drive and working on say a computer.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-07-2009, 11:35 AM   #4
Ridewithme38
Learning To Overclock
Ridewithme38's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 248
Last Seen: 06-06-2012
Age: 34
iTrader: 1 / 100%
What make and model DVR?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-10-2009, 02:06 AM   #5
PommieB
Overclocker
PommieB's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,364
Last Seen: Today
From: Northern NSW
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I've yet to see a DVR that you can download direct to a removable hard drive, they only allow to download to Disks. I've three of them including Panasonics latest blue ray drive and it doesn't allow you to do that. I certainly wish it did. I was of the opinion that the DVR wasn't working and he was going to remove the hard drive.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2009, 03:55 PM   #6
Maurice
Partial to LUNAR
Maurice's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6,364
Last Seen: 07-20-2014
Age: 35
From: Southern Cali
iTrader: 16 / 100%
dont know what kind it is. It doesn't have to be a removable drive, I just wanted to know if there is a way to do it.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2009, 06:19 PM   #7
foy1der
Overclocker
foy1der's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 478
Last Seen: 04-23-2014
Age: 30
From: NH
iTrader: 1 / 100%
If you got it from the cable company then the answer is more than likely, no.

Additional Comment:

Of course you could probably connect the output of your DVR into the Vivo input on your graphics card and just re-record it in real time. It's low tech, but without knowing the make and model, I don't know if you have any other options.

Last edited by foy1der : 05-11-2009 at 06:19 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Aauria Hibedi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-11-2009, 08:22 PM   #8
kwiksilver
ỏ̷͖͈̞̩͎̻̫̫̜͉̠̫͕̭̭̫̫̹ ̗
kwiksilver's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 4,302
Last Seen: Yesterday
Age: 28
From: 127.0.0.1
iTrader: 52 / 100%
my comcast dvr has a firewire port and you can use it to import to the computer if you're creative use google and check out the model #.
Aauria Hibedi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2009, 03:55 PM   #9
BIOHazard87
DFI Lover
BIOHazard87's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,700
Last Seen: Today
Age: 21
From: Las Vegas,Nevada
iTrader: 1 / 100%
I believe some Tivo branded DVR's have a built in web-server you can use...
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2009, 04:38 PM   #10
foy1der
Overclocker
foy1der's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 478
Last Seen: 04-23-2014
Age: 30
From: NH
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Yes, Tivo has a piece of software that will allow you to pull the data off the Tivo box. but it comes off in a .tivo file format. You need a tivo codec (free) from tivo. I believe that converting the file from the .tivo format is a breach of the eula.
Aauria Hibedi  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-12-2009, 10:02 PM   #11
indigo
Clint HolidayEdition
indigo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,079
Last Seen: 07-07-2014
Age: 25
From: Pittsburgh, PA
iTrader: 14 / 100%
If you've got a mac floating, I think Toast has someway of pulling content off of TiVos. Apple has also hacked together, literally, ways of pulling content off cable boxes using firewire. It's pretty cool actually and there are also windows and linux alternatives.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-13-2009, 04:05 AM   #12
PommieB
Overclocker
PommieB's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,364
Last Seen: Today
From: Northern NSW
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Would it be possible to record directly to a laptop or computer using s video or hdmi, depending on what connections you have, I've done this between decks but never directly to computer.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-13-2009, 08:37 AM   #13
glfredrick
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 70
Last Seen: 07-26-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I'm interested in this topic also. I like recording series to watch when I have time, but it eats up the available storage on the DVR. I have usb output on my DVR box -- wondering if an external HD could be made to work as additional storage.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-13-2009, 08:48 AM   #14
Ridewithme38
Learning To Overclock
Ridewithme38's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 248
Last Seen: 06-06-2012
Age: 34
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by glfredrick View Post
I'm interested in this topic also. I like recording series to watch when I have time, but it eats up the available storage on the DVR. I have usb output on my DVR box -- wondering if an external HD could be made to work as additional storage.
What make and Model DVR?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-13-2009, 08:50 AM   #15
glfredrick
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 70
Last Seen: 07-26-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridewithme38 View Post
What make and Model DVR?
I need to look at it once I get back home tonight. I'll post later with the data.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-13-2009, 11:18 PM   #16
indigo
Clint HolidayEdition
indigo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,079
Last Seen: 07-07-2014
Age: 25
From: Pittsburgh, PA
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridewithme38 View Post
What make and Model DVR?
Usually the non-cable co boxes let you use external hds. I know WD makes a mybook for this exact task. Comcast is, as per usual, in a coma, and disables usb altogether. Luckily the FCC mandates that firewire be enabled else they would disable that too.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-14-2009, 07:45 PM   #17
glfredrick
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 70
Last Seen: 07-26-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridewithme38 View Post
What make and Model DVR?
Motorola DCH6466

I have Insight Communications, if that makes a difference. They are reasonably computer friendly.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-15-2009, 12:41 AM   #18
PommieB
Overclocker
PommieB's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,364
Last Seen: Today
From: Northern NSW
iTrader: 0 / 0%
A lot of DVR's have usb these days, but it's restricted to loading files to the DVR hard drive and not downloading files to a usb drive, PVR's are more likely to allow this, it would depend on the firmware and the manual usually tells you whether it's possible or not anyway, so I'd check the manual, hopefully it will become more common with newer drives.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-19-2009, 04:24 AM   #19
glfredrick
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 70
Last Seen: 07-26-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Thanks, I'll do some more digging and post any results I find.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking