EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Getting Started > General System Help & Questions
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2009, 06:23 PM   #1
garman
Doh!!!!!!!
garman's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 420
Last Seen: 04-03-2014
From: Fairview, NC
iTrader: 7 / 100%
SATA AHC1 mode...should I disable this feature in BIOS?

Hi Guys,

Should I enable the SATA AHC1 mode in my BIOS or disable it? Also, how about the SATA PortO-1 Native Mode? I have 2 hard drives and 1 dvd burner and they are all SATA drives. I am running XP pro. My board is listed in my sig below. I will appreciate your feedback! Any info on what these do would be helpful also. I have googled it, but didn't really find the answers I am looking for.

Thanks
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-16-2009, 09:19 PM   #2
w7bj
Tickety Tock-ock-ck-
w7bj's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 989
Last Seen: 08-24-2011
Age: 70
From: Sandy, Oregon
iTrader: 0 / 0%
That depends. That option on Gigabyte boards allows you to select Disabled, RAID or AHCI (Advanced Host Controller Interface). If you're not running your hdds in RAID, then set it to AHCI. Probably wouldn't find much on Google if you spelled it "AHC1". You would disable it altogether only if you were using IDE hdds.

On the SATA Native Mode, you enable it if your OS supports native mode, such as XP or newer. Disable it if you're running an older legacy OS like 9X or ME. Hope that helps.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 05-17-2009, 01:45 AM   #3
PommieB
Overclocker
PommieB's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 9,455
Last Seen: Today
From: Northern NSW
iTrader: 0 / 0%
If it's already enabled leave it, if your using sata drives, if you intend to reinstall, you will need to install the AHCI driver at f6 if you want to hot plug your sata drives or just set it to ide and native and it should install normally.
Australia  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking