EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Motherboards

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2009, 12:07 PM   #1
iSeven
Power to Compel You
Senior Member
 
iSeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ottawa, Illinois
Posts: 451
iTrader: 0 / 0%
What is 'CPU NB VID' Voltage?

I've currently been overclocking a Gigabyte MA790X board, and so far there is one main question which I am trying to get to the bottom of.

What is the 'CPU NB VID' voltage?

Of course there is the 'NB voltage', and 'CPU voltage', but I can't figure out what this third "hybrid" setting has an effect on.

Anyone who knows this answer and can provide better description, is there any general guidelines to follow when it comes to adjustment for the VID setting? For instance, should my CPU NB VID voltage be set parallel with my CPU core voltage? So far the only noticeable difference I am noticing by upping the NB VID along with the vCore is additional heat. I haven't been able to find any sort of performance or stability related gains from doing this.

I emailed Gigabyte, and the response I got from them is that increasing the voltage of this setting makes the OC settings more stable. OK, that is as generic of an answer as they come, but doesn't actually tell me anything about what it is or really does.

To squeeze some more of my questioning into the same thread--why do HT Link speeds need to be reduced quite a bit to achieve stability when clock frequencies reach high amounts? Can anyone explain the technical reasons behind this? Can someone explain the differences between the HT Link and the NB?

Sorry about so many questions, but I would really like to fully understand the AMD board archetecture.

Thanks
Offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 12:33 PM   #2
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,266
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeven View Post
I've currently been overclocking a Gigabyte MA790X board, and so far there is one main question which I am trying to get to the bottom of.

What is the 'CPU NB VID' voltage?

Of course there is the 'NB voltage', and 'CPU voltage', but I can't figure out what this third "hybrid" setting has an effect on.

Anyone who knows this answer and can provide better description, is there any general guidelines to follow when it comes to adjustment for the VID setting? For instance, should my CPU NB VID voltage be set parallel with my CPU core voltage? So far the only noticeable difference I am noticing by upping the NB VID along with the vCore is additional heat. I haven't been able to find any sort of performance or stability related gains from doing this.

I emailed Gigabyte, and the response I got from them is that increasing the voltage of this setting makes the OC settings more stable. OK, that is as generic of an answer as they come, but doesn't actually tell me anything about what it is or really does.

To squeeze some more of my questioning into the same thread--why do HT Link speeds need to be reduced quite a bit to achieve stability when clock frequencies reach high amounts? Can anyone explain the technical reasons behind this? Can someone explain the differences between the HT Link and the NB?

Sorry about so many questions, but I would really like to fully understand the AMD board archetecture.

Thanks
One NB voltage you'll see is the HT link voltage. The other voltage is the actual NB core voltage. And Also PCI-E voltage, which is also linked to the NB. That's the three voltages. The NB Vid should be the core voltage of the NB. If you raise HT/NB link voltage you may see an increase in cpu temps. This also might happen when you OC and over volt the HT/NB link to the Cpu as well.

Generally speaking raising voltage does help stability. Depending on what you are over clocking and when the voltage is actually necc, will determine how stability goes. Most people get unstable from OCing the cpu ht and NB. So adding voltage to all of it doesn't hurt any thing except you temps.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 01:27 PM   #3
ELItheICEman
#define i 0x15
Senior Member
 
ELItheICEman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 29
Posts: 2,948
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Basically, the higher you push your FSB the higher this CPU NB VID needs to go. I think to get to 260 I needed to add +0.100V to it, but I'm not 100% sure. It's really not important if you have a BE chip.

EDIT: It is important if you do have a BE chip, because the CPU NB has a separate multiplier. If you increase that, you may need to add voltage to the CPU NB VID. Just wanted to be clear.
__________________
MAIN:
Intel i7 920 + EVGA E757 SLI LE + 3x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600 + OCZ Vertex 2 120GB + 2x WD Black 640GB (RAID0) + 2x XFX 5870 1GB Crossfire + Enermax EVO Galaxy 1250W + PreSonus Audiobox USB + Custom Swiftech Water Cooling + Antec 1200 (Custom Mod) + Windows 7
SERVER
:
Intel i7 950
+ Gigabyte EX58-UD3R + 4x4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 + 500GB WD Scorpio Black HDD + 2x WD Black 1TB (RAID1) + 2x Seagate 4TB (ZFS) + Intel Pro 1000T NIC + ESXi 5.0
MOBILE:
2012 13" MacBook Air
+ Core i5 (Ivy Bridge) @ 1.8GHz + 4GB DDR3 1600 + 128GB SSD + OSX 10.10 + Windows 7

Last edited by ELItheICEman; 07-21-2009 at 01:04 PM.
Offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 08:02 PM   #4
moosteve
D10
Senior Member
 
moosteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the heartland
Age: 50
Posts: 2,457
iTrader: 5 / 100%
hhmmmm... my "assumption" was the the cpu/nb voltage, as it is labeled on my AMI bios, has to do with the on-board memory controller, a function that used to be accomplished by the actual northbridge.
so, when i am actually increasing the NB multi, i am overclocking the memory controller. if i turn down my nb overclock, i don't need quite as much cpu/nb to achieve stability. and i have had to apply it regardless of the FSB. pretty sure it has nothing to do with that.

and i personally no longer have the nb-pcie voltage setting, which i remember from so long ago on my m3a-32mvp. now i have nb voltage, and nb 1.8 voltage. i am sure one is pcie, but, of course, the asus manual goes sooo in depth.
__________________
Intel I5 4690K
MSI Z97S SLI Krait
Gskill Ripjaws@1866 8-9-9-24
Sapphire 6870
Member of the 5GHz + Club
Offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 10:40 PM   #5
crunchie
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
crunchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mandurah. Aussie
Age: 58
Posts: 1,539
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Yep, cpu/nb vid is the voltage to the IMC in the cpu. nb is on the mobo.
__________________
AMD 1090T BE @ 4050 1.375vcore
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 F3 BIOS
GSkill Flare 2x2Gb 1.65v F3-16000CL7D-4GBFLS 6-8-6-22-1T @ 1800Mhz
GSkill Phoenix Pro 120Gb SSD
Gigabyte HD6870's xfired
Corsair HX850
CM HAF-X


Offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 05:47 PM   #6
sandeepb
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
sandeepb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Age: 26
Posts: 1,681
iTrader: 0 / 0%
I have my CPU/NB up to 2.73Ghz atm but I have taken it ti 2.98Ghz before it doesn't Post.

For 2.73Ghz I had the CPU/NB VID to 1.4v and for 2.8Ghz had it to 1.45v, for 2.9Ghz+ I had from 1.4875v to 1.55v I know it's pushing it but Oh well.

Just a little guide their.

And the Hypertransport Voltage is the voltage on the Mobo Northbridge as crunchie pointed out.
__________________
- Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
- Gigabyte Z68X-UD3P-B3
- Corsair XMS3 8GB 1600Mhz
- Sapphire 5850 1GB
- HT Omega Striker 7.1
- 640GB WD Caviar Black, 750GB Hitachi Deskstar
- Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 850w
- Antec Kuhler 620 CPU Cooler
- Antec 1200
Offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 06:06 PM   #7
moosteve
D10
Senior Member
 
moosteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the heartland
Age: 50
Posts: 2,457
iTrader: 5 / 100%
really? my 2 other voltages labeled "NB" and "NB 1.8" arent the northbridge chipset, but the hypertransport is? you should quote crunchie, cause i am having a problem finding where he said that. and if you still say that the hypertransport is the northbridge, i would like a diagram explaining that.
__________________
Intel I5 4690K
MSI Z97S SLI Krait
Gskill Ripjaws@1866 8-9-9-24
Sapphire 6870
Member of the 5GHz + Club
Offline  
Old 07-04-2009, 06:26 PM   #8
sandeepb
Mad Warranty Voider
Senior Member
 
sandeepb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Age: 26
Posts: 1,681
iTrader: 0 / 0%
o, i wasn't quoting crunchie on that end.

well incide the hypertransport voltage option there is the Northbridge Voltage is what I meant to say.
__________________
- Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
- Gigabyte Z68X-UD3P-B3
- Corsair XMS3 8GB 1600Mhz
- Sapphire 5850 1GB
- HT Omega Striker 7.1
- 640GB WD Caviar Black, 750GB Hitachi Deskstar
- Be Quiet Dark Power Pro 850w
- Antec Kuhler 620 CPU Cooler
- Antec 1200
Offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 01:08 AM   #9
moosteve
D10
Senior Member
 
moosteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the heartland
Age: 50
Posts: 2,457
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeepb View Post
o, i wasn't quoting crunchie on that end.

well incide the hypertransport voltage option there is the Northbridge Voltage is what I meant to say.
that's right... your bios is most likely similar to the m3a32mvp setup. and i remember that... and mine is quite different... i believe the hypertransport is the pipeline(bus) between the chips... and i would like someone to confirm that i am thinking right.....
__________________
Intel I5 4690K
MSI Z97S SLI Krait
Gskill Ripjaws@1866 8-9-9-24
Sapphire 6870
Member of the 5GHz + Club
Offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 01:00 PM   #10
Grubbworm
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Grubbworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Acworth, Georgia
Age: 55
Posts: 4
I have a link for you that could prove useful.
http://www.techreaction.net/forums/showthread.php?t=367
It has some very useful information.
Offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 01:06 PM   #11
ELItheICEman
#define i 0x15
Senior Member
 
ELItheICEman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 29
Posts: 2,948
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Nice find Grubbworm. I saw that the other day and gave a few sections a read. It's pretty good stuff.
__________________
MAIN:
Intel i7 920 + EVGA E757 SLI LE + 3x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600 + OCZ Vertex 2 120GB + 2x WD Black 640GB (RAID0) + 2x XFX 5870 1GB Crossfire + Enermax EVO Galaxy 1250W + PreSonus Audiobox USB + Custom Swiftech Water Cooling + Antec 1200 (Custom Mod) + Windows 7
SERVER
:
Intel i7 950
+ Gigabyte EX58-UD3R + 4x4GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 + 500GB WD Scorpio Black HDD + 2x WD Black 1TB (RAID1) + 2x Seagate 4TB (ZFS) + Intel Pro 1000T NIC + ESXi 5.0
MOBILE:
2012 13" MacBook Air
+ Core i5 (Ivy Bridge) @ 1.8GHz + 4GB DDR3 1600 + 128GB SSD + OSX 10.10 + Windows 7
Offline  
Old 08-09-2009, 06:06 PM   #12
theguy39
Running System Stock
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Bios changeovers?

Hey while ago had comp that was ****ty ecs setup and when the board limited me like it is now in my current setup i was able to flash the bios wiht a biostar board equivlent bios and then get more setttings.....currently have the asus m3a yeah i should upgrade it but I want to find a way around the voltages not being tweakable for the nb and cpu....currently i cna only get it to 2.57ghz quad on my phenom 9750 asus m3a 4gb ddr2-800 1.24v sicne cannot change the cpu and nb....if neone know of a solution or a bios compatible with this board would be great help!
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking