EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | $ EXTREME Deals $ | RealTime Pricing | Free Magazines | Gear | Folding Stats Newsletter | Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > Website Related Info (No Post Increase) > Official EOC Folding @ Home Team
Register Forum Rules FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome Guest Visitor! Please Register, It's Free and Fun To Participate!
The EXTREME Overclocking Forums are a place for people to learn how to overclock and tweak their PC's components like the CPU, memory (RAM), or video card in order to gain the maximum performance out of their system. There are lots of discussions about new processors, graphics cards, cooling products, power supplies, cases, and so much more!

You are currently viewing our boards as a "guest" which gives you limited access to view most discussions. You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

After you have registered and read the forum rules, you can check out the FAQ for more information on using the forum. We hope you enjoy your stay here!

Note To Spammers: We do not allow unsolicited advertising! Spam is usually reported & deleted within minutes of it being posted, so don't waste your time (or ours)!


Please Register to Post a Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2009, 04:05 PM   #41
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well i got ubuntu64 to work with virtual box. but i can't figure out how to use fahmon with it though.

now here's my question: do i run ubuntu with 4 cores or 8 cores? it's weird. i started with 4 cores, but i then changed it to 8 to see how it would do, and it seemed to have gotten slower.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-09-2009, 04:20 PM   #42
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well attached is what the VM looks like. i have the computer running at 3.06 ghz now. does it look right?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	31
Size:	117.9 KB
ID:	138632  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-10-2009, 05:41 AM   #43
_MtM_
Extreme Overclocker
_MtM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 907
Last Seen: 03-22-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
twoodcc changing the amount of cores in the middle of a wu isn't going to help, idk in what order you done things?

6m frame wihtout a project/core display is not saying much, I could get ubunto running with virtual box but it started freezing up over night. Dropped the idea for now as it costs me more production then it deliverd.

If, and only if your virtual box is stable, close your current wu, and restart with ./fah6 -oneunit.

We'll get you on bigadv units after you completed this one, 3g I7 should be making points there.

Edit: btw, the connect issue is something I got as well, but I changed them to bridged and didn't need to reset dhcp leases or anything, it just worked again

When you pass 25% give me a shout and I'll prepare an how to for you tu use to get started on the bigadv wu's.. I got my fingers crossed!
Netherlands  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-10-2009, 10:03 AM   #44
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well it's already finished 1 unit now and i'm at 86% on the second. and i changed it back to 4 cores instead of 8 cores, and it might be running a hair faster.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-12-2009, 07:46 AM   #45
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well i've overclocked my machine, but just on air. here is a screen shot:

but the fans are pretty loud while folding. i think i'm going to turn it down a notch
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	58.6 KB
ID:	138694  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-12-2009, 07:48 AM   #46
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
also, here is a screen shot of my ubuntu VM running after overclocking. there isn't much of a difference really
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	37
Size:	136.3 KB
ID:	138695  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-12-2009, 08:24 AM   #47
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
attached is GPU-z screenshot. i haven't messed with the video card though (i don't think)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	138697  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-14-2009, 07:23 PM   #48
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
so should i keep running 1 smp -8 via virtual box, or 2 smp in 2 vmware notfred VMs?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-15-2009, 01:01 AM   #49
_MtM_
Extreme Overclocker
_MtM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 907
Last Seen: 03-22-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
twoodcc you haven't posted the info needed to say yes or no, no ppd figures ( and I mean complete info not a small part of fahlog.txt ).

Without those, if asked what in principle should give you the best performance: bigadv, which isn't the same as -smp 8 btw you need to use the modified client for one..
Netherlands  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-15-2009, 08:55 AM   #50
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
ok, let me try again. so i got my 2 notfred VMs working in vmware again. i also have my gpu2 client going as well. i have FahMon working with the VMs, where i could never get it to work with my virtual box ubuntu VM.

anyways, attached is a screenshot. please let me know if you think this system is setup right, or should i go for a different setup.

should i run a 3rd notfred's vm? or can i do the bigadv in my ubuntu virtual box vm?

i'm running less than 60% CPU with my current setup.

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	38
Size:	121.0 KB
ID:	138814  
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-15-2009, 11:39 AM   #51
_MtM_
Extreme Overclocker
_MtM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 907
Last Seen: 03-22-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Well I can say one thing, a single smp client on q6600 at just 3g does the same cpu output as your i7..

If I knew for sure virtual box is stable at your end, yes running bigadv would be allot more beneficial. Even doing the four core vmware hack would help allot as a two 4 core vmware clients would also do allot better in ppd. Thing is, unless you pay for the license it's only going to work for a month. Virtual box is by you reported stable, so download the special bigadv client and add the -bigadv flag with virtual box set to 8 cores.

http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?t=10697 for more info about the bigadv client ( download url's for one ).

I can only help to a limited extent, I lack proper hw to run this client personally so all info is second hand. But I'll try
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Schermafdruk.png
Views:	28
Size:	96.3 KB
ID:	138823  
Netherlands  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-15-2009, 02:59 PM   #52
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
thanks for the reply and link. from what i can tell, i'm afraid to run the bigadv units in a VM. if i ran them natively then i think i could make the time, but in a VM, would i really make it?

if i do run native ubuntu, then i can't run the gpu clients. but i should still get better PPD with just the bigadv units, right?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-15-2009, 03:59 PM   #53
_MtM_
Extreme Overclocker
_MtM_'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 907
Last Seen: 03-22-2012
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You can fold gpu's on linux, it takes longer to get working but it's possible. I don't have numbers on the virtualisation penalty with virtual box, but your I7 has both nested paging and hardware virtualisation so the impact shouldn't be that much. I think I seen more people running around 3g with the same configuration.and they made the deadline. Don't know the current cutoff on system speed..
Netherlands  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-15-2009, 05:20 PM   #54
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well i guess i might try the bigadv units then. what do you mean by people running around 3g?
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-15-2009, 08:32 PM   #55
PatonB
Folder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,220
Last Seen: 12-11-2013
iTrader: 0 / 0%
He means 3Ghz as in an OC q6600 from 2.66Ghz to 3.0Ghz.
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-15-2009, 08:36 PM   #56
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
oh ok. gotcha. thanks. i'm now waiting on my current WUs to finish, and then i'll try the bigadv ones
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-16-2009, 12:50 AM   #57
jevans64
The Folding Pylon
jevans64's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,690
Last Seen: 04-23-2014
Age: 49
From: Madison, AL
iTrader: 16 / 100%
That is one of the reasons I didn't jump on i7 right away -- didn't like the increased power usage and cost vs. good old Core 2. I'll probably buy in when hex core comes out.

I only have p2671 units but those are not much different from the other a2 units.

Q6600 @ 3.0 reports 5120 PPD on 4 cores. a2 v2.10
Q6600 @ 3.2 reports 5266 PPD on 4 cores. a2 v2.10

I think your GTX 260 s216 might be a bit low too. All of these GPUs are running nV 190.38 drivers. My 9800GTX+ @ 778c / 1890s / 1000m have 353-pointers and getting 6489 PPD and 6630 PPD. I figure you should be getting around 7500 PPD. My GTX 295+ ( 602c / 1296s ) gets just over 8000 PPD per GPU core on those. I know my GTX 285 FTW ( 702c / 1512s ) does about 9800 PPD on those.

I have 8 machines on my network and I am running 5 right now with three idle. I decided to assign ALL my VMs a static IP to help identify which host they were running on AND keep them from grabbing the same IP as an idled machine. I assigned my VMs an IP 10 higher than the static IP of the host. Makes it a lot easier if there are a lot of machines on your network.

Last edited by jevans64 : 09-16-2009 at 12:56 AM.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-16-2009, 09:55 AM   #58
PatonB
Folder
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1,220
Last Seen: 12-11-2013
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Jevs.. Your 260s ppd is low... I'm getting a reproducable 8026.11 on 353s since they came out. My 8800gt gets 600€0ppd on 353s

Maybe its cause your cards at 778C... You seem to have dis-proven nvidias 110C thermal limit
Canada  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-16-2009, 07:24 PM   #59
twoodcc
Learning To Overclock
Regular Member
 
Posts: 62
Last Seen: 07-21-2010
iTrader: 0 / 0%
well i decided to install ubuntu natively, so i can try out the bigadv units. i tried them in the VM in virtual box, but couldn't get it to work. we'll see how it goes this time.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Old 09-16-2009, 07:34 PM   #60
jevans64
The Folding Pylon
jevans64's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,690
Last Seen: 04-23-2014
Age: 49
From: Madison, AL
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatonB View Post
Jevs.. Your 260s ppd is low... I'm getting a reproducable 8026.11 on 353s since they came out. My 8800gt gets 6000ppd on 353s

Maybe its cause your cards at 778C... You seem to have dis-proven nvidias 110C thermal limit
I noticed twoodcc was only getting about 6500 on a 353-pointer with a GTX 260 c216. Your GTX 260 is right on the money for something in the neighborhood of a 1404 shader clock. I'm getting about 8000-8200 per core on the GTX 295+. I have the problem where core 0 is a bit faster than core 1, so core 0 is a solid 8243 PPD and core 1 is a solid 8026 PPD with the clocks in my last post.
United States  Offline
    Register to Reply to This Post
Sponsored Links:
Please Register to Post a Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 AM.

Copyright 2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2011, EXTREME Overclocking