EXTREME Overclocking Forums
Home | Reviews | Forums | Downloads | RealTime Pricing Engine | Folding Stats Contact Us


Go Back   EXTREME Overclocking Forums > AMD Specific > AMD Processors

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2009, 02:12 PM   #1
buttons
BudgetBoy
Senior Member
 
buttons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.
Age: 34
Posts: 1,117
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Athlon X4 620 on ECS a780gm board

I got this combo for $180 shipped:

ECS A780gm-a motherboard black series
Athlon X4 620 2.6ghz
2x1024mb mushkin 1066mhz memory

The board is very nice in appearance/layout. Installed windows xp without a single hitch. I set HT to 1.8ghz bumped FSB to 225 and memory down to 400.

2.9ghz, memory is at 450 --- i cant change the CPU multiplier. i want to get the memory up to 533 with the cpu at 3.0ghz... looks like im stuck so far no lockups or crashed but without the ability to adjust northbridge/cpu mulitplier i dont think im going to reach my goals.
__________________
Chieftec Dragon (alienware case)
Ultra X4 1050w PSU
Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-D3H FM2+
AMD 860K
G.skill 2x4gb DDR3 2400 CL11
Intel 120gb SSD 530
PCS R9 380x crossfire - mining ethereum
Offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 02:18 PM   #2
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,260
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Can you add voltage to the HT and NB? They may help you reach your goals.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 02:40 PM   #3
buttons
BudgetBoy
Senior Member
 
buttons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.
Age: 34
Posts: 1,117
iTrader: 8 / 100%
i am not sure, I sure wish this was the 790 chipset. I set the hyper transport to 1ghz because it was the next step down from 1.8ghz. still no crashes yet, computer running great at 242fsb all stock voltage except I bumped the DIMM up a notch so they were running in spec.

242fsb = 3125mhz and still going good. northbridge is over 2.4ghz stock voltages/heatsinks.
__________________
Chieftec Dragon (alienware case)
Ultra X4 1050w PSU
Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-D3H FM2+
AMD 860K
G.skill 2x4gb DDR3 2400 CL11
Intel 120gb SSD 530
PCS R9 380x crossfire - mining ethereum
Offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 02:43 PM   #4
ShrimpBrime
<-- My Art -->
Senior Member
 
ShrimpBrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: nowhere
Posts: 7,260
iTrader: 63 / 100%
Quote:
Originally Posted by buttons View Post
i am not sure, I sure wish this was the 790 chipset. I set the hyper transport to 1ghz because it was the next step down from 1.8ghz. still no crashes yet, computer running great at 242fsb all stock voltage except I bumped the DIMM up a notch so they were running in spec.

242fsb = 3125mhz and still going good. northbridge is over 2.4ghz stock voltages/heatsinks.
Well you'll see when the cpu needs voltage or the NB needs voltage. Do a little to both when the time comes. You might get a couple hundred mhz more from the NB on stock voltage. Always a play by ear.
__________________
FX-9590 - Formula-z - GTX Titan 6GB - Corsair 2133mhz - Antec 850w CP series - Samsung SSD -

-MadHatDelidder
Offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 02:54 PM   #5
buttons
BudgetBoy
Senior Member
 
buttons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.
Age: 34
Posts: 1,117
iTrader: 8 / 100%
I enjoy seeing how much headroom I have but since this isnt my system im going to leave all the voltages and such at default levels.


Im feeling a lot more confident at leaving this system at 3.0ghz now, just wish i could get the memory to 533. right now im at 250fsb (3.25ghz)so the memory has to be pretty close to 500mhz. running another series of benchmarks. for $99 im pretty impressed with this x4 620 chip.
__________________
Chieftec Dragon (alienware case)
Ultra X4 1050w PSU
Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-D3H FM2+
AMD 860K
G.skill 2x4gb DDR3 2400 CL11
Intel 120gb SSD 530
PCS R9 380x crossfire - mining ethereum
Offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 02:57 PM   #6
Archer0915
Whatever
Senior Member
 
Archer0915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Where Am I
Posts: 232
iTrader: 0 / 0%
You are going to have to play with that thing. It has a lot of easy overhead but it takes time to balance out the settings. Adding NB v and lowering HT are helpful and if you cant add v to nb then you have no choice you are going to have to find a way to lower the NB.
Offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 03:05 PM   #7
buttons
BudgetBoy
Senior Member
 
buttons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Mi.
Age: 34
Posts: 1,117
iTrader: 8 / 100%
yeah, he just wants to play wow -- maybe crysis. i think this cpu at 3.0ghz is more then enough for his needs. he isnt a die hard overclock enthiusiast like us.

My last computer build was strictly for benchmarks on a budget. (because im a cheapskate) i spent about $450 on a computer and all i did all day was tweak bios settings and run benchmarks lol.
its like drag racing but with computers instead of cars.

If he wants to overclock this computer, id make him get a new heatsink -- and maybe even a new motherboard.
__________________
Chieftec Dragon (alienware case)
Ultra X4 1050w PSU
Gigabyte GA-F2A88XM-D3H FM2+
AMD 860K
G.skill 2x4gb DDR3 2400 CL11
Intel 120gb SSD 530
PCS R9 380x crossfire - mining ethereum
Offline  
Sponsored Links:
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 PM.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2016, EXTREME Overclocking